Necrovision PC

  • Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: May 18, 2009
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 77
  2. Negative: 20 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    2
    The fancy is okay, but the implementation is terrible. The graphics is too old, some sounds and musics is sucks. There are a lot of bugs. Bad story, monoton, boring. The AI is one of the worst in games history (maybe the Sniper: Ghost Warrior is the worst which i played).
  2. HW
    Dec 17, 2009
    6
    Entertaining for the first half hour or so, then it just gets dull. The WW1 setting lasts the whole of the prologue, then its like Doom with better graphics and more weapons. Combo attacks are good fun, but even blowing several heads off in a row it gets boring when you see "Russian Roulette!" pop up on your screen. It sorta detracts from the mood, which isnt brilliantly set in the first Entertaining for the first half hour or so, then it just gets dull. The WW1 setting lasts the whole of the prologue, then its like Doom with better graphics and more weapons. Combo attacks are good fun, but even blowing several heads off in a row it gets boring when you see "Russian Roulette!" pop up on your screen. It sorta detracts from the mood, which isnt brilliantly set in the first place. And while the gameplay is simple enough once you get used to it, its just not as much fun as it could be. Although there are some exceptions... duel weilding a pair of machine guns is pretty fun. If the only thing you want to do is blast the living hell out of a few not-too-bright enemies, this is a great game for it. Loads of gore, plenty of weapons, and as mass slaughters go, a nice easy hacking session. But if you want a serious FPS with a proper storyline, which doesnt have a boring cutscene every five minutes, avoid this like the plague. I think the best i can say about this game is that you dont have to use steam to activate it. Hooray! Expand
  3. ColinH
    Apr 16, 2009
    3
    Not what i expected, i really am trying to like this game but it infuriates me at every turn, the first thing that got my attention was the (movement), i found that every time i moved i would be tripping/stuck over something or having something block my path very frustrating when all you want to do is get through the door or having to jump up stairs!? (shooting) i can understand zombies Not what i expected, i really am trying to like this game but it infuriates me at every turn, the first thing that got my attention was the (movement), i found that every time i moved i would be tripping/stuck over something or having something block my path very frustrating when all you want to do is get through the door or having to jump up stairs!? (shooting) i can understand zombies taking 4 or 5 shots to kill or having to de-cap them but live humans surviving not only 1 shot but 3 or sometimes 4 shots to the chest, you kill zombies with less bullets. (Character) the main character is a cheesy take off painkiller. apart from these really bad bits (especially the movement) the game is pretty fun to play, graphics are good and so is the sound. but i can only give it a 3. Expand
  4. richardm
    May 21, 2009
    3
    This game is very poor indeed the graphics are outdated.And the controls are very cumbersome witch makes it really hard to control player and weapons.
  5. TonyT
    May 27, 2009
    7
    Graphics are ok. Nothing new. Gameplay is pretty smooth on my 4870X2 and Core I7 @ 3.6 ghz, but had to turn texture rendering down to medium to get a constant 60fps, otherwise everything else is set to max except aa is at 4X. Gameplay wise, it's not as good as painkiller, The shot gun in painkiller where you can actually feel the blasts is not there. People take four to five bullets Graphics are ok. Nothing new. Gameplay is pretty smooth on my 4870X2 and Core I7 @ 3.6 ghz, but had to turn texture rendering down to medium to get a constant 60fps, otherwise everything else is set to max except aa is at 4X. Gameplay wise, it's not as good as painkiller, The shot gun in painkiller where you can actually feel the blasts is not there. People take four to five bullets sometimes which doesn't make sense. The voice acting is kind of cheesy, but can be overcome. The storyline isn't all that interesting so far, but then again I'm only on chapter two so it could get better. Killing zombies and vampires is cool though. Overall it seems like a decent shooter game. A game you can pick up for an hour or two when you feel the need to let off some steam. But since this is comming from some devs that made painkiller, I have to say painkiller was much much better! Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2014
    4
    A game I really wanted to enjoy but was let down by : weak controls , annoyingly poor enemy Ai and a complete lack of atmosphere. A combat heavy WWI sim would work if it focused on the visceral horror of trench combat, a WWI shooter could work with a strong plot and likeable lead character. A WWI survival horror could work in a counting-every-bullet, monsters-in-the-trenches kind of way.A game I really wanted to enjoy but was let down by : weak controls , annoyingly poor enemy Ai and a complete lack of atmosphere. A combat heavy WWI sim would work if it focused on the visceral horror of trench combat, a WWI shooter could work with a strong plot and likeable lead character. A WWI survival horror could work in a counting-every-bullet, monsters-in-the-trenches kind of way. This is just a weak WWI Doom wannabe. Sad to see a lot of potential wasted. For a game that came out 5 years after the first painkiller(!) this certainly seems like an inferior predecessor. Expand
  7. RaymondF
    Apr 17, 2009
    5
    Gives me a headache. I don't think it's as good as Painkiller, which some of the devs that made NecroVision worked on. Graphics are decent. I think if this were around $10 or less it would be a ok purchase.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    It's funny how people give it a 2 or 3 after probably playing this for... like 1 hour. This game starts dull, where you fight supernatural creatures with WW1 weaponry, but 2-3 hours into the game, you also get supernatural powers and become a powerhouse of destruction... and fun. GRAPHICS: It's the PK engine, so don't expect anything great. SOUND: Cheesy voice acting, but some nice weaponIt's funny how people give it a 2 or 3 after probably playing this for... like 1 hour. This game starts dull, where you fight supernatural creatures with WW1 weaponry, but 2-3 hours into the game, you also get supernatural powers and become a powerhouse of destruction... and fun. GRAPHICS: It's the PK engine, so don't expect anything great. SOUND: Cheesy voice acting, but some nice weapon sounds. Repetitive music. Expand
  9. May 31, 2011
    9
    Great game if you love Painkiller or similar games.
    Lots of undead to blast away (though I'd love some more), interesting story and enough dynamic gameplay to keep you interested all the way through.

    Though it needs to be harder (on a higher difficulty), more monsters and co-op mode.


    Review is based on NecroVision: Lost Company
    seams it doesn't exist on Metacritic
  10. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I guess if ZacharyB can score this game without playing it, I can too. I'm happy to see WW1 get some attention without worrying about how accurate a video game is. I really don't think anyone is going to become confused about whether or not World War 1 involved zombies. 10/10 to make up for the guy being an ass.
  11. ZacharyB
    May 21, 2009
    2
    I cant say that i have tried the game, but the summary of what the game is alone makes me want to refuse trying it. For the past 5-6 years companies have been taking real time events and horrible twisting them to more interesting, but completely unreal plots. You want to tell me how this game has walking tanks, rocket launchers, and crazy undead creatures in a World war 1 setting? We I cant say that i have tried the game, but the summary of what the game is alone makes me want to refuse trying it. For the past 5-6 years companies have been taking real time events and horrible twisting them to more interesting, but completely unreal plots. You want to tell me how this game has walking tanks, rocket launchers, and crazy undead creatures in a World war 1 setting? We shouldnt be reminding ourselves about these events with untrue facts, and thats exactly what games like this are doing. Expand
  12. Warti
    Mar 3, 2009
    8
    Great game with masss action and great graphic if you have and good computer.
  13. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    The game is fun. If you ever played the old 'Return to Castle Wolfenstein' this game will give you a little nostalgia. The graphics are not the bad either, not spectacular, but great. The zombies and weapons are fun to use and the array of different weapons are great too! Also the physics and fun to play with as well and the voice acting isn't that bad minus the main characters. But, thisThe game is fun. If you ever played the old 'Return to Castle Wolfenstein' this game will give you a little nostalgia. The graphics are not the bad either, not spectacular, but great. The zombies and weapons are fun to use and the array of different weapons are great too! Also the physics and fun to play with as well and the voice acting isn't that bad minus the main characters. But, this game is not without its flaws. You will find yourself killing that same respawn soldier in that window over and over and over again. Also you will tire of hearing the germans shout "I am defending!" since thats usually all they say. This game also makes aiming for the head very critical on harder difficulties since it will take 5+ rifle rounds to down 1 enemy with 15 more enemies to go. But, the one this that will irratate you is your character cheesy one liners after every kill and every event and every cut scene... and after the 100th time of him saying "What the H-ell is going on here?!" and "Remember my naaaame!" you will want to strangle a small child. Expand
  14. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    This game is fun it has the right feel for a shooter game, does lack on the story line a bit.. The character your playing can use more emotion in the voice. I'm into any zombie shooter game and there are very few goods ones out there. So I gave this game a good rating.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. games(TM)
    40
    An insipid and trite game that struggles with plot, consistency and character, settling instead for a mindless headlong charge. [Mar 2009, p.118]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Crazy as hell Necrovision brings a new perspective to the events of World War One. Strictly a linear action shooter excels with an unconventional set of weapons and frantic boss fights. Unfortunately, the graphics don't match the extreme HW requirements. [Feb 2009]
  3. A game that can be fun, but overall not so good. Great visuals and an interesting combat system, with some good moments. But its story is not as good as it should be, gameplay is a bit harsh playing with keyboard, and it's so typical that it isn't a fun experience overall.