Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit 2 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become the "Champion Road Racer" by conquering numerous racing events, all carrying rewards such as: cars, tracks and high performance upgrades. The game challenges the driver to dodge traffic, police and natural elements in high speed and high style... true NFS style! Evade any copsBecome the "Champion Road Racer" by conquering numerous racing events, all carrying rewards such as: cars, tracks and high performance upgrades. The game challenges the driver to dodge traffic, police and natural elements in high speed and high style... true NFS style! Evade any cops encountered, as getting busted just might end your career. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Killer aerial shots, intense chases, and a rock-infused soundtrack make for a heart-pounding ride. [18 Oct 2002, p.124]
  2. The sad thing is that even when you use high res modes such as 1280*1024, you still don't get anywhere near the feeling of a true photo-realistic ambience...All things considered, NfS: HP2 is one heck of racing experience.
  3. The game has an all around solid polished look, and still manages to retain a steady frame rate without any slowdown.
  4. Overall I’m disappointed by the physics of this game.
  5. It certainly is a good arcade-style driving game, but it's nowhere near as fun as the PlayStation 2 version.
  6. The ability to be the cop and call up backup such as the chopper and spike strips is a noble attempt but just not enough. They are fun to use but a few tweaks do not make a game.
  7. While it's great to see it return to the PC after a three-year absence, it doesn't reach the heights of previous editions. [Feb 2003, p.67]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. PashaSonic
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    The best game ever!!!
  2. Justin
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    Great cars, graphics, levels, and every thing!!!!
  3. Evan
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    Sick Game! Super fun in every way. Try using a steering wheel it is so much fun. The cops are way funner in this game than in the first one Sick Game! Super fun in every way. Try using a steering wheel it is so much fun. The cops are way funner in this game than in the first one because they arent perfect. The only thing that could make this better is if my computer didnt crash when i was 70% or so done. Expand
  4. RicardoM.
    Nov 12, 2002
    9
    This game is the best of the EA Games. The cars are real we can chage the graphics, controls, etc. Do not forget the patch who is out now. This game is the best of the EA Games. The cars are real we can chage the graphics, controls, etc. Do not forget the patch who is out now. Well, what i have to say more? Is better than the Need For Speed 5 Porsche Unleashed but one problem: the cars. We can't addon different cars who is very bad. Expand
  5. MikeXDevil
    Feb 10, 2003
    8
    I think this game is great, very good graphics, fun fast paced game. The problem i have with it is that you can't tune your car! I loved I think this game is great, very good graphics, fun fast paced game. The problem i have with it is that you can't tune your car! I loved tuning my car in NFS High Stakes, and my tuned cars kicked ass. Overall, it's a good game, but if you like racing sims like the Gran Turismo series, then stay far away from this game. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    This game isn't all that great. Porsche Unleashed is much better. The graphics are nice but the tracks and races are boring. The two cons areThis game isn't all that great. Porsche Unleashed is much better. The graphics are nice but the tracks and races are boring. The two cons are that some races are way too long and get frustrating when you're just about done and crash, and the tracks don't have enough stretch to go fast. What's the point of simulating a 500hp+ car when there's not enough room to max it out? Just when you're about to pass 200mph there's a sharp turn and you have to go back to 80mph. I found that very disappointing. Also there's a chase camera which is underdeveloped, it hurts your eyes when you play in that mode. The cars never get damaged and there are no ramps to jump off. Play Porsche or Underground instead. Expand
  7. LaurenceC.
    Dec 5, 2002
    5
    This is a step backwards from the previous 2 NFS games. The main attraction to me was owning, tuning and lovingly taking care of the cars I This is a step backwards from the previous 2 NFS games. The main attraction to me was owning, tuning and lovingly taking care of the cars I could afford. This is just a cheesy ramfest, with no damage system, no depth, questionable handling, and no purpose other than to line EA's pockets with undeserved cash. Sya needs to have his eyes checked mind, this game looks gorgeous. Collapse

See all 31 User Reviews