Need for Speed: Most Wanted Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel theCombining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel the thrill of the ride as they hit the streets in an open world environment where drivers can tune their cars to compete against any class of vehicles or use their wits to out-fox the law to satisfy their need for speed. Need for Speed Most Wanted delivers a unique, fast-paced and gripping ride in the racing genre as players build up their Rap Sheet and street cred to move their way up the Black List to become the most wanted racer on the streets. Players go head-to-head with the top drivers on the scene as well as strategically evade more than half dozen cops at any one time. Also included are a dynamic open world, new gameplay and customization as well as tuners, supercars, muscles and sports cars. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.
  2. Computer Gaming World
    90
    Does Most Wanted feed my adrenaline addiction from start to finish? No - repetition, while unavoidable in a game ilke this, ultimately does in the game's ability to raise your blood pressure. But while it lasts...damn, it's good. [Feb 2006, p.80]
  3. PC Gamer
    86
    A superb arcade racer that's a feature or two away from greatness. [Feb 2006, p.88]
  4. Fantastic gameplay variety, and stunning graphics make this a worthwhile investment if you own a high-end PC.
  5. Most Wanted brings the police back in force, and the game benefits greatly from it.
  6. The addition of smart and relentless police pursuers has reinvigorated this popular driving series.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    It’s a nice, clean package that delivers enough hi-octane chases and enjoyment to warrant a purchase. [Christmas 2005, p.121]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 89
  2. Negative: 6 out of 89
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Even with the cheesy story of you losing your BMW to some douchbag and having to gain up a blacklist to challenge him, it was great. TheEven with the cheesy story of you losing your BMW to some douchbag and having to gain up a blacklist to challenge him, it was great. The physics were amazingly good, not like what you would see in Hot Pursuit 2010 and that crappy Most Wanted 2012. You would take corners without drifting, which I liked. The AI were well balanced as there was no OP rubberbanding, but some was noticeable, which was ok. Next are the cop chases, which is the meat of being "Most Wanted". Gaining heat = more roadblocks, more aggressive cops and crazy manoeuvres are required + speed. Getting in trouble with the cops were awesome. The car selection was good with good customization, but not as enhanced as the Underground series or the new Need for Speed 2015. This was the high point in the Need for Speed series, and it's totally a game you could get and continue playing over and over again. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story that pumps you up and beautiful car selection.
    Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    One of the bests nfs, the history was really nice, the gameplay and graphics really good too, and who doesn't like the most epic car from nfs,One of the bests nfs, the history was really nice, the gameplay and graphics really good too, and who doesn't like the most epic car from nfs, the M3? It's just really nice, i really recommend it, if you're a fan from the nfs you will like this one. Expand
  5. MarkS.
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick I have played all of the NFS games and this one is certainly the best of the lot. In the previous games I usually just played the "Quick Race" feature. I did try the career mode some, but it was not as addictive as Most Wanted. My progression in Quake 4 has slowed considerabley since buying this game. I just keep wanting to play NFSMW. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2017
    8
    One of the greatest 5 games of all time and best 3 racing games of all time. It is insanely fun, and I can only hope that pursuits will beOne of the greatest 5 games of all time and best 3 racing games of all time. It is insanely fun, and I can only hope that pursuits will be made better than this, but I doubt it will ever happen. Expand
  7. TylerM.
    Nov 28, 2005
    1
    The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving The only inovation in this game is the graphics. Everything else is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, games should be moving towards unlimited possibilities, not linear racing with almost no exploration. The gameplay is very limited, the racing feels sticky. Reminds me of Rad Racer.... If all you care about is graphics, this is the game for you. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews