Need for Speed: Rivals Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 537 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own setWelcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never ends as both sides compete in all-out warfare featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a copper or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    85
    Need For Speed ​​Rivals is fast-paced, convincing and fun above all. AllDrive beats down barriers between online and offline once and for all but the 30 FPS anchorage on PC would not be good for enthusiasts.
  2. Games Master UK
    Dec 19, 2013
    85
    A scintillating return to form that's all style...and no little substance. Blistering arcade racing. [Jan 2014, p.76]
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Rivals is a good street racer that adrenalizes again the Hot Pursuit brand with ludicrous speed and beautiful landscapes. The 30 FPS limitation on the PC screams revenge nonetheless.
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun and enjoyable racing game that sports really nice looking visuals and a strong multiplayer mode. There's nothing really new and incredibly exciting, but everything works fine.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    79
    The good news: Rivals tops The Run and Most Wanted. The bad news: Rivals does not live up to the great Need for Speed legacy. If you are playing solo, racing Redview County is fun for a few hours, but the longer you play, the more repetitive and boring the gameplay gets.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    It's most certainly a launch title racer and it's not doing much to rectify that. I'm reminded of the limited scope of Motorstorm as a launch racer for PS3. Like Motorstorm, however, the core Gameplay is solid enough to earn a recommendation to NFS fans.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    Simply put, while Rivals can be fun with the right people and in the right doses on the right platforms, it is very poorly suited to PC gaming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 142
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most WantedThis game is a blast to play. Fun game for fans of the franchise and arcade racing fans in general. I feel like this game is what Most Wanted should have been. Handling has improved, more customization options than ever before, and the multiplayer (which, is basically the whole game considering you're always connected to other people) is innovative and fun. Being able to race other players with the press of a single button is awesome, and the presence of player cops will always keep you on your toes (haven't tried the cop career yet, though I imagine it's a blast taking everyone's speed points).

    Only negative is the game isn't amazingly optimized for the PC. I have a few hiccups while running it (though, for comparison, I have none at all while running Battlefield 4).

    This game was a great buy with the $10 off code from McDonald's for Origin. There is plenty of content and replay value to be worth $40 over and over again.
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    I felt compelled to write a review of this game to counter the many misleading opinions of other posters. Let me start off by saying thatI felt compelled to write a review of this game to counter the many misleading opinions of other posters. Let me start off by saying that whatever technical issues the game had when it was first released seem to have been fixed now. It barely skips a beat on my system: X64 OS, i7 processor, 16 GB RAM and GTX570 graphics card. Other complaints are (now) equally unfounded as you CAN skip most of the annoying cutscenes and immature story (by pressing A on the controller or Enter on the keyboard) and Events CAN be restarted.

    The writing is probably the biggest downside in an otherwise class act and the 'sexy' female instructor voice is getting a bit old. However, everything else -- from the slick menus to the environmental effects -- has obviously had considerable thought and effort applied to it. All of the little touches -- like the realistic accumulation of dirt on the vehicles -- clearly show how much pride Ghost Games has taken in their work.

    The graphics and gameplay are where this title really shines, although it doesn’t look much on the 360. I didn't care for Hot Pursuit (2010) and Most Wanted (2012) but this game is closer to Burnout Paradise (2009) than any other since and -- for me -- that's a huge plus. In fact, in many ways it actually improves on the original formula as you would expect. The learning curve is relatively steep but it's a highly intelligent and rewarding game for those willing to put the effort in. It doesn't all gel straight away. You have to play it a while to 'get it' and appreciate its nuances. I had mixed feelings in the first hour or so but now I have to stop myself playing to go to bed. That's the sign of a good game!
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    Great game.

    Play it on a console if you can, because it's capped at 30 fps. In my opinion, that's the only thing holding it back from being
    Great game.

    Play it on a console if you can, because it's capped at 30 fps. In my opinion, that's the only thing holding it back from being the best PC racing game to come out in years. Gameplay is incredibly addictive, story is okay and could be better, cops are aggressively fun, cars rule.
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    1
    Fun game, unless you want the multiplayer experience they think exists. AllDrive is a useless feature in a "world" that features only 6 otherFun game, unless you want the multiplayer experience they think exists. AllDrive is a useless feature in a "world" that features only 6 other real drivers (which might be great for console).. which you would think would mean no lag, but with no server choice, you just get player cars that teleport everywhere. The game might as well be offline and single player. Playing with friends is ok, but not when you're up against jerky opponents who can go into a hideout with cops all over them, or just benefit from a random server migration.

    That on top of all the other issues... It's another good concept that has be killed by EA's laziness.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    0
    Cant play the game my gamepad is not supported, why the hell only work xbox controller. seem they are not supporting the gamers anymore,i amCant play the game my gamepad is not supported, why the hell only work xbox controller. seem they are not supporting the gamers anymore,i am done with nfs their last releases are crap anyway. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    Beautiful graphics, boring gameplay...

    FPS CAPPED TO 30 on PC... Just don't buy this game as it is not worth it. A typical console port
    Beautiful graphics, boring gameplay...

    FPS CAPPED TO 30 on PC...

    Just don't buy this game as it is not worth it. A typical console port blablablabla....
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I do not know what else to say about the guys who produce this series, nfs is going into the pit gradually over rivals, this game with anI do not know what else to say about the guys who produce this series, nfs is going into the pit gradually over rivals, this game with an awesome graph, the system runs and persecutions without breaks makes the game good, the more over 2 hours played you already start to get sick of running the same way, with the same police behind you, there is no the slightest difficulty in releasing the cars, the goals are pathetic, there is a great repeatability in the game that makes you give up right outside the game and castrated at 30 fps, which makes the experience even worse, with several drops fps throughout the game, do not buy the game, not to be wanting to be playing jumping mountains and playing beats beats with police. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews