Need for Speed: Undercover Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a uniqueNeed for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a unique technology that generates incredible high-performance moves at 180 miles per hour during breathtaking highway battles. A mix of computer graphics and live-action movies immerses gamers in the rich world of the Tri-City Bay Area. The city’s open-world environment features over 80 miles of roads, including an enormous highway system that sets the stage for highway battles. These high-speed, high-stake chase sequences push players to the limit as they fight off cops and opponents while whipping through traffic at 180 miles per hour. An intelligent new A.I. mechanic delivers a realistic and high-energy action driving experience. Going back to the franchise’s roots, Need for Speed Undercover features more aggressive and intelligent cops whose sole purpose is to take down the player quickly and by any means necessary. Need for Speed Undercover also features the series' signature car customization, real-world damage and realistic driving physics. The game includes some of the hottest licensed cars such as the Audi R8, BMW M6 and Lexus IS-F. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Gamers.at
    84
    Undercover is significantly more fun than ProStreet and offers far more long-time playing motivation as well. [Issue#17]
  2. It hurts to say it but, “the need for speed” is lacking in this latest rendition.
  3. Instead of being some kind of "Best of" Need for Speed: Underground is nothing more than an uninspired generic racing game with high hardware requirements. It's a good game, but still very disappointing, because the good parts of the game are just like in NfS: Most Wanted and the new bits don't work very well.
  4. PC Zone UK
    68
    Gets boring quickly. [Feb 2009, p.82]
  5. PC Gamer UK
    62
    Neither the need or the speed. [Jan 2009, p.82]
  6. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  7. 50
    Need for Speed Undercover is a poor game with a ton of problems, both technically and in terms of design.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45
  1. sdfsdfsdfdsdf
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good goodgood good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been playing Undercover a lot recently, in fact as of now I have finished it. I am surprised to see such low ratings for a game that I enjoyed so much! I thought it was a great improvement from Carbon and Most Wanted. The story, just like in the other NFS games that carry the same theme (Carbon and Most Wanted), was immersive, and I enjoyed it. I will admit though, a few scenes were a little cheesy, but I thought that the whole plot line was interesting. It was cool to feel that the whole time I was simply an undercover cop looking to infiltrate and disable a lucrative criminal organization--in fact so undercover, that I literally would act like a racer, and break the law, and win races to win everyone's respect to deceive them, and shut them down. I felt a lot like Cross, the Bounty Hunter from the other games, except that I was even more, not just a ring leader of cops. Of course I am mainly in it for the racing, and not the story that they tagged along. With the other arcade racing games, the car physics and handling are of course unrealistic, but that is what makes the game fun. If I want realism, I would be playing a game like Gran Tursimo, or a game in the NFS Shift series. It is simply fun to race, it is what you make of it. It is not extremely hard or easy. Depending on the cars you use will obviously make the game harder or easier. Games like these are usually not about the difficulty, but simply the adrenaline of street racing, running into cops, and driving fast. I will admit, there have been a couple events that took me a couple tries. The most difficult events for me were the highway duels, but it depends. A lot of them were easy, but when you are paired with a proper opponent, definitely not so easy. I needed to basically swerve through dense highway traffic, travelling at about 200 mph to actually win. Any time that I would run into a single car, then the opponent would pass me, and it would be hard to recover. They definitely amped up the cops a bit also. It was usually ok, but now I quiver in fear whenever I am in a pursuit, and then they say that "the Feds are taking over this pursuit". The federal police are scary. A seemingly endless stream of spike strips and roadblocks, SUVs and cop cars. For once, I had to be scared of getting my beloved ride impounded, and I had to take them a little bit more seriously. That is most definitely when the cops get serious, definitely harder than the cops from the other games. The cops are really good at keeping up with you, and making you wipe out. Also if you are not careful enough, the spike strips can easy get you, and you're done. The game went relatively quick for me though, I have finished the game in a mere 16 hours. What impressed me the most however out of everything was the customization, and how in depth it was, something that a lot of racing games lack. Sort of like carbon, we have the Autosculpt feature for all parts of the car, you are able to color many parts of the car, and basically do whatever you would like with any decal; skew, move, rotate, scale, just to name a few. The possibilities for vinyls are essentially limitless. I was a little disappointed with the options for car bodies however, as there are not many to choose from. Also I didn't even like how a lot of them looked, so I used the stock Autosculpt on my cars. In the NFS series, this game carries on with the same theme as Carbon and Most Wanted, which I thought personally were excellent street racing games.

    When I first loaded up the game, I was put in an awkward place, already starting out racing in a car that I did not even choose, and I had really no idea what was going on. This game took me a little bit to get used to, but once I did, I loved it. Honestly, the only thing I could think of that would make the game better is if it had more things to do. After you are done with the main storyline, you are pretty much finished with the game. You can still race of course, and mess with cops, but let's also not forget about the online. The online seems really cool actually, but no one seems to play it. I want to actually try it out.

    Obviously it's not the best game ever, but I enjoyed it a lot, and I see nothing really wrong with it, I mean for what it is. Definitely better, and much more in-depth than games like the NEW nfs: mw... what a joke. Nothing close to what the old nfs mw was like, although it gets better ratings.

    I highly recommend this game if you liked Carbon and Most Wanted.
    Expand
  3. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun andThis game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  4. AigorUppercut
    Mar 8, 2009
    4
    The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the previous installments of the NFS franchise. Somehow related to Need for Speed Most Wanted (mainly because of the police chases) the resemblence ends right there. It's impossible to compare such a good game like MW to Undercover. The physics are awful (all the cars handle as if the road itself was made out of rubber), the car customization system is very limited, and it's difficulty rises from a very (VERY) easy start to end with a nonsensical dificulty as you reach higher levels, whereas oponents cars can outrun you every single time, even when you use your NOS to pump some juice into your engine, the AI goes faster and faster until their car crashes into something or you pass along it with your NOS bar empty. Perhaps you may think that I'm overlooking some important aspects like graphics, sound and others. Yes, the game looks really good and has an acceptable soudtrack, but gameplay is always my main concern and that's where NFSUC fails. To all those things that I critizised in the upper paragraph, you may add the ridiculous high system requirements required to experience a pleasant game experience. Even when my system is far from being high end (an e7300 with 2Gs of RAM, coupled with an overclocked 512mb HD 3850) the game on highest settings (no Vsync) ranges from a minimal 32 to a top 48 FPS, with 45 being the most common value. That sounds nice, but the game suffers from random FPS drops and suttering. And it's not the processor or RAM, when checking CPU usage the game never reached more than 3/4 of it's total capacity. This issue is common, even with stronger systems (q6600, 4Gs, 8800 GTS) the anomaly persists and it gets very annoying when your car is racing at 350 km/h and you suddenly find yourself in danger because the game stuttered and left you in the wrong side of the road with little time to react. And NO, the official patch did nothing to solve this issue. So, taking all that's been said, my humble advise is to stay away from this one. It seems that fans of the good'ol NFS games will have to understand once and for all that EA will keep smearing a good name with lousy, unfinished games. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser
    Yeah, fun game but way too frustrating.
    You piled with 8+ police SUV's and expected to destroy them along with the additional police cruiser that spawns every 60 seconds.

    You do this for every cop chase scene, it gets real old and boring real quick.
    Expand
  6. Tuure
    Dec 30, 2008
    2
    The game doesn't bring anything new to the series. Just like every EA-game so far... Unrealistic handling, boring storyline, boring The game doesn't bring anything new to the series. Just like every EA-game so far... Unrealistic handling, boring storyline, boring races with nothing new to them etc. This game was just like playing Carbon, except the graphics were amazing and the best so far. There's few new things, such as taking out some "gang-members" by crashing into them which was just stupid. The game ended by taking out some other street-racers and that's it, also the game was way too easy. I have bought few NFS's, but I'm not gonna waste my money on any of them anymore. Expand
  7. Tulatin
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving physics are terrible. Beyond that, the vehicles sound like the bastard child of a singer and a ricer rocket. Perhaps the only redeeming quality of it is the return to an arcade field, but who are we kidding? Don't waste your time, don't waste your money, don't even waste the packets, and if you do, for the love of god, don't waste a DVD9. Maybe EA can bundle it together with ProStreet and sell the NFS: Shit Pack to recoup some losses. Or maybe they just need to develop Big Rigs 2 next. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews