Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jan 20, 2014
    93
    A brilliant marriage of mechanics, level design and music that will be played and talked about for years to come.
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    A peculiar, thrilling and essential addition to your PC games collection. Best played with friends/enemies. [Apr 2014, p.76]
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    So what we have here is a future-classic, old-school indie title for individuals and like-minded folk alike.
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    Expressed in modest trappings, Nidhogg quietly aims to recast the mold of a competitive fighting game.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    90
    The new levels feel rich and generous, and will absolutely reinvigorate the game for anyone who played it to death at indie gaming events.
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    90
    Even with a grimy netcode and a poor single-player mode, Nidhogg is a perfectly balanced multiplayer experience. Accessible for the average gamer, ideal for the pro and striking for an evening with some friends.
  7. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Nidhogg is yet more proof that a simple concept with a simple goal can work, and work well. In a way, it reminds me of a Super Smash Brothers Melee tournament; simple combat and pure competition, that’s what makes Nidhogg so amazing.
  8. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    To put it plainly, Nidhogg is incredibly fun. If you can appreciate the game’s style for what it is and you don’t have an ego as fragile as glass, you’ll delight in testing your mettle against another’s.
  9. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Nidhogg is not about lengthy stage lists, improvable online systems, fussy control mapping or AI. Nidhogg is about the purity of two friends on a couch duking it out as Daedelus’s moody dynamic electronica frames acrobatic displays of wits and reflexes. In that sense, it has no equal.
  10. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    It’s the most exhilarating competitive game I’ve played in years.
  11. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Nidhogg is a game to be enjoyed with friends while in the same room together, and it may be the best title you play that way this year.
  12. Jan 14, 2014
    90
    Nidhogg stands as one of the true kings of competitive gameplay, and that doesn't need to be patched one bit.
  13. Nidhogg is a very good game because it takes you back to the 1980s. With the basic control system, you can easily get used to teh playstyle. Daedelus has created the perfect musical score for the game. So, take your friend and play Nidhogg for hours or enjoy it by yourself.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    When i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep andWhen i first saw Nidhogg, my expectations were pretty high and I was pretty damn hyped. I was looking forward to a game with deep and extremely satisfying combat.
    Unfortunately the reality was a lot less. The game has a relatively high price tag for an indie game overall, and there is nothing to get your money's worth in it. The combat is disappointingly simple and somewhat stiff, the graphics are run-of-the-mill pixel art, there are only four levels, the single player consists of playing each of them four times and takes about 30-40 minutes. The game in general has very little to offer for such a high price tag.
    Give it a pass until it's in a bundle and then find a friend to play this with.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    3
    Mediocre game. Not many things to note in favor... maybe the gameplay is ok and the retro touch is nice. It couldn't really keep me occupiedMediocre game. Not many things to note in favor... maybe the gameplay is ok and the retro touch is nice. It couldn't really keep me occupied for more that half an hour. Full Review »
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kindThis is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kind of works but sorta doesn't) this could be GOTY 2014. The long dev cycle certainly payed off as this game is fluid and fast and crazy fun. Full Review »