Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nidhogg is the epic award-winning fencing tug-of-war, full of graceful acrobatics and clumsy stabs. IRL yelling and excitement may occur, in this ultimate two-player showdown of fast-paced fencing and melee attacks. Beware, advantages in Nidhogg are often fleeting, as new opponents continually spawn in your way. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jan 20, 2014
    93
    A brilliant marriage of mechanics, level design and music that will be played and talked about for years to come.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    90
    Nidhogg is a game to be enjoyed with friends while in the same room together, and it may be the best title you play that way this year.
  3. Jan 20, 2014
    90
    Even with a grimy netcode and a poor single-player mode, Nidhogg is a perfectly balanced multiplayer experience. Accessible for the average gamer, ideal for the pro and striking for an evening with some friends.
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    80
    Nidhogg is definitely a blast if you have a few friends around, and it's easy to see why it has been hyped up over the last few years.
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    80
    Nidhogg is a game that is messy and finely tuned, at the same time. It’s certainly niche, definitely esoteric, but for those that it does tickle, (especially those who have a friend to play with in real, physical space), it’s the kind of experience that is unlike anything I can think of, and since first coming across it years ago, has been talked about with a sense of wistful nostalgia by anyone I know who’s played it. And that’s got to be worth something.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    75
    With human competition Nidhogg stages captivating sword fighting duels. But the surprisingly deep fighting system suffers from lack of content and a weak campaign.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    65
    Just like a skilled swordsman, the developer of Nidhogg disarmed me and lured into a trap – you either miss one of the best fighting experiences ever made, or pay $15 for what is basically an incomplete game.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This game is nearly flawless in my opinion. The combat is smooth and skillful, the graphics are original and defiantly are a treasure to see every time you load up a map. Each map has its own feel, style, and play method and always keeps you on your toes. The single-player is challenging and has a great difficulty curve that eases you into the hard, final bosses. Overall the only flaw with the game is the minor fact that during multi-player, people have developed the strategy to, as soon as they get the initiative, run past you, making it nearly impossible to stop them, but in the case of local play, this could be easily solved. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    One of the most fun and original fighting games I've ever played. It's simple, and I believe thats where some of the negative reviews come from. If you have a competitive buddy who wants to play a fighting game, this is the game for you. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most fun games I've played in recent memory. If they add more maps and fix the matchmaking system (which at the moment kind of works but sorta doesn't) this could be GOTY 2014. The long dev cycle certainly payed off as this game is fluid and fast and crazy fun. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    For an Indie game, this game had reached its potential unlike many others. Although I hate the P2P only servers, this game still had blown me away with the excitement and fun-ness of it all. Good Job Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    Nidhogg is a small game developed by an indie developer Messhof. While the game isn’t the longest one I have ever played, it is definitely THE best local multiplayer game I have played in a long time. You can literally spend countless hours playing the local multiplayer against your friends.

    In Nidhogg there is only one objective , kill your opponent by out-stabbing them by using only three sets of stances, high, middle and low. Maneuvers such as, rolling, dive-kicking, neck-snapping and sword-throwing are also at your disposal. While it may sound simple at first, the game is really hard to master, and sometimes it gets a little bit frustrating when you get stabbed couple times in a row.

    After you kill your enemy you have to run to the right in order to advance to next level, the enemy can do the same thing, if you get killed, he can run to the opposite direction, this will get you back to the previous screen, and this gets really annoying because sometimes the enemy instead of fighting you, will just run past you just to get you back to the previous screen. Each ‘level’ is divided into couple smaller ones. In single player, there is a total of 17 AI opponents, the first one being the easiest and the last one, the toughest(I don’t know if that’s true but when I’ve played it, the game got harder every time with each AI opponent). At the end of each level your character is eaten by a giant dragon-like creature, by the name of Nidhogg, you can’t avoid it though(trust me, I’ve tried), I don’t know what’s the point of that but It’s kind of hilarious and random.

    The art style is what I love the most about this game, it has that surreal look to it, kind of like Hotline Miami. The player animations are also worth mentioning because of how smooth and realistic they are, and also it feels really satisfying when you stab someone.

    On the other hand, the game also has some flaws, one of them is the online multiplayer, it is seriously lacking in features and is very unstable, I kept being disconnected from matches, and I have experienced serious lag during several online matches. You can’t even properly communicate with your opponent because the chat can’t handle longer messages.

    As I have said before, the single-player consists of 17 AI opponents, which is great but the same can’t be said about the level variety, there is only 3 or 4 different levels which are re-used during the 17 battles in the single-player. I really wish that there was more variety in level design, maybe we’ll get them in later updates.

    Nonetheless, If you enjoy playing games with your friends then this game is for you but If you don’t like the local multiplayer I would still recommend sure the game isn’t very long, but the multiplayer is still there, it might be a bit lackluster but who knows maybe the devs will add some new features to the online multiplayer.
    Collapse
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    the mechanics are very fun and addictive. you will tire of it eventually, but it's good value for money while it lasts. the graphics are unique, but may prove slightly headache-inducing for some. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    1
    Game is too simplistic. The mechanics could have been a lot better, the level are decent but they could have been a whole lot better. It gets very boring very quickly until you realize there's not much left in the game for you to do. Go from A to B as fast as you can. That's it. 1+ for the effort. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews