Night in the Woods PC

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2017
    100
    A warm, moving tale of alienation and redemption in the era of late stage capitalism.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 18, 2017
    100
    Beautifully created adventure game will catch you not only for its visuals, but mainly by the way it observes the problems of young adults. [Issue#273]
  3. Mar 23, 2017
    100
    While I can try to find something negative to say about the game it would be absolute nitpicking and at this point, nothing comes to mind. I can certainly say that Night in the Woods’ relatable and lifelike story won’t be for everyone, and I can imagine some finding the characters too whiny or depressing. However, I think the people who enjoy these kinds of stories and characters will be in for one of the best examples of lifelike interactions and relatable storylines in a game to date. Night in the Woods blends beautiful art, a nuanced soundtrack, and expertly crafted, human writing into a single, cohesive experience.
  4. Mar 14, 2017
    100
    While slow in patches when it deviates from its core strengths, or occasionally fiddly in its mini-games, the game is buoyed by its dialogue, warm and charming art style, and Holowka’s soundtrack, which keeps even the occasionally clunky platforming from feeling too tedious.
  5. Mar 6, 2017
    95
    I'd been looking forward to Night in the Woods since its announcement and crowdfunding campaign way back in 2013, and I still ended up being surprised at just how much it affected me. It's a bittersweet tribute to slackerdom: a tale of existential crisis and failure, and the odd sense of comfort that failure may result in. Even when your world is crumbling, there's solace in family taco night or the predictable evening talk show hosts, who spout the same catchphrases night after night. We've all had our own personal nights in the woods, but in the words of Possum Springs' welcome sign, "You're not lost, you're here."
  6. Apr 5, 2017
    90
    Adventure of unusual style that excels with characters, script, the atmosphere, the style and even mini-games. Do not miss it especially if you love great stories.
  7. Apr 2, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Mar 13, 2017
    90
    Despite some slightly uneven pacing, Night in the Woods is a mature, honest and fun tale of how it feels to be lost in a damaged world. This is the indie game you just have to get your paws on.
  9. Mar 13, 2017
    90
    Night in the Woods is an universal game about the fear of becoming and adult. A fear to struggle with politics, money and family. A fear to lose your beloved ones and yourself. A fear to life itself. But it's also a survival guide to life and adulthood and one of the best written videogames of the last few months.
  10. Mar 7, 2017
    90
    The detailed characters and excellent writing tell stories that can be hilarious and heartbreaking and, as Mae, you develop some relationships with people you truly care about. The conversations and little moments that come from hanging out with friends are what make Night in the Woods such a special experience.
  11. Mar 2, 2017
    90
    Night in the Woods is a reminder of how emotionally tepid most other titles are in comparison.
  12. Feb 28, 2017
    90
    Though its charming and angsty story works well on its own merits, it’s special because of how it prioritizes conveying emotion over telling a straight narrative.
  13. What will stick with me long after everything else about Night in the Woods fades away is its main protagonist, Mae. She is such a fully realized character that I felt like I knew her – or, at least, that I’ve known people like her.
  14. Feb 28, 2017
    88
    Contrary to what may seem by seeing a couple of images, Night in the Woods is, in a conversational adventure form, a punk call, an existential, social, economic and political review. Mae's adventure is the sentimental reflex of an twenty-year-old young adult.
  15. Feb 24, 2017
    88
    Night in the Woods is a strange tale with an even stranger cast of characters, but it revels in its oddities. The excellent writing pulls off a realistic sense of cynicism, childlike wonder, and comradery between friends. With its careful balance between adult themes and youth, it captures a stage of life that is confusing, frightening, and thrilling. The sluggish pacing can drag, but players fill the time by building friendships and understanding the grim secrets of a town they once again call home.
  16. Feb 25, 2017
    87
    Its ability to swerve from the amusing hijinks of its vibrant heroes into very real, and very serious subject matter without feeling forced or unnatural was a pleasant surprise that kept me invested in its character drama long after I’d said goodbye to Possum Springs for the first time. But just like Mae, I know I’ll be back soon.
  17. Games Master UK
    May 19, 2017
    85
    A delightfully different narrative experience that offers the perfect blend of serious and silly. [Apr 2017, p.79]
  18. CD-Action
    Apr 5, 2017
    85
    During 12 hours I spent with Night in the Woods it grew from an average game to a member of genre’s elite. [04/2017, p.42]
  19. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 24, 2017
    85
    Anthropomorphic animals of Night in the Woods are far more humane, honest and touching than human-like robots of many other games that try to tell a simple, down-to-earth story. [Issue#218, p.58]
  20. Mar 8, 2017
    85
    This little game hides a great message. Its realistic tone and characters makes this work special, scarce and valuable.
  21. Mar 3, 2017
    85
    Night in the Woods reminds me of an old, relatively unknown PC adventure gem called The Adventures of Willy Beamish. It's unconventional, deals with a younger character, and while irreverent, has a lot of commentary on life that applies to just about everyone. I have a feeling Night in the Woods is going to benefit a lot from word of mouth the same way Undertale did, but just in case it doesn't, take my recommendation - go play it.
  22. Mar 2, 2017
    85
    Witty, smart and great to look at, there are many worse ways to spend your time than a Night in with Night in the Woods.
  23. Mar 3, 2017
    82
    I wish there was more to do in Night in the Woods, but that doesn't stop it from being a delight. I love that it addresses something relevant and honest. It's a slice of life that speaks to a generation and explores a world with unusual depth.
  24. Mar 2, 2017
    82
    A dialogue-heavy adventure with a moving story, lots of written text, discoveries and secrets and mini-games.
  25. Feb 28, 2017
    82
    A beautiful, heartfelt coming of age story that says something about life, and cracks a few jokes in the process.
  26. Edge Magazine
    Apr 16, 2017
    80
    Perhaps that's Infinite Fall's ultimate triumph: with a group of 2D animals it's built a cast that's more rounded and identifiably human than any mo-capped blockbuster. [May 2017, p.116]
  27. Mar 14, 2017
    80
    Night in the Woods may be a pastiche of influences, but as far as video games go, there’s really nothing else like it, and there’s a lot to be learned from spending a dozen days in Mae’s life—about her and her friends, about yourself, about America and towns forgotten by time.
  28. Mar 4, 2017
    80
    Although it’s told through the lenses of cute cuddly woodland creatures, Night in the Woods‘ narrative themes of isolation and insecurity are nothing to shake a stick at. Despite its pitfalls Infinite Falls’ story about the declining heartland touched me more than any game has any abject right to.
  29. Mar 3, 2017
    75
    Night in the Woods isn't perfect. I'm not perfect. You're not perfect. Life isn't perfect. But as the game itself tries to espouse, if you've got the patience, you may find that there is true beauty in that revelation.
  30. Mar 1, 2017
    75
    Night in the Woods is a charming game. I was fascinated by its general atmosphere, graphics and music, which I found amazing. It’s a good adventure overall, with very well written dialogue, but its bare mechanics made it relatively boring for me. The player doesn’t really have to do that much, remaining extremely passive. It’s interesting how the designers were able to deal with difficult themes such as depression, anxiety and child abuse in a very congenial way, without sounding too inane or obnoxious, but they did put a lot of accent on these aspects making the real plot marginal.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    Night in the Woods wastes just a little too much time before getting to the heart of a story about the value of life when life doesn't seem worth living. Buy it.
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    For the most part, though, Night in the Woods is a triumph, comparable to Gone Home in mood and thrust, but with a delicacy and a humour that is all its own. [Recommended]
  3. Mar 7, 2017
    At turns juvenile, snarky, beautiful, and brilliant, this game is utterly essential.
  4. Feb 24, 2017
    The main plot of Night in the Woods didn’t move me much, and in fact it disappointed me a little in its shift from relatable ‘people stuff’ into grander, supernatural machinations. But for me the plot was secondary to the experience of kicking around town, bumping Mae up against everybody’s lives, seeing myself, who I could have been, who I’ll never be.
  5. I started off really not liking it, I grew to completely love it, and I walk away from it with so much love but a wobble of doubt. It’s by far the most elaborately graphical piece of interactive fiction, but in being so it suggests it’s going to be other things too, and it’s hard (certainly at first) to let go of all that, just let it be what it is. Get there, forget about what else it might be, and for me at least, it got me good.
  6. Mar 2, 2017
    Night in the Woods is great at subverting power fantasies. There are moments where you have no choice but to screw up. You simply choose how you screw up because that's how unattended mental illness can be.
  7. Mar 14, 2017
    The game lives most brightly in its quiet moments of melancholy: in the silence after Mae’s shitty teen band lets the last chord fall silent; in the second when they reflect on how honest the music they just sang was; in the quiet conversations where they admit to themselves and each other that it’s not even a specific future that they want. They just want to die somewhere else. Somewhere theirs.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Feb 25, 2017
    3
    i knew nothing about this game before going in. didn't even watch the trailer just say the art style and genre. unfortunately the pace is justi knew nothing about this game before going in. didn't even watch the trailer just say the art style and genre. unfortunately the pace is just way way to slow. i even fell asleep playing it. it mostly focuses on the narrative on not any real type of gameplay. i kept feeling this would make a much better short graphic novel.

    i like the art style and the music but it's not enough to keep me entertained.

    oh and another annoyance is the linearity. i recall early on going to the video store looking for angus, speaking to some girl there who never spoke of angus... that is until, i'd gone to another store spoke to someone who said angus was at the video store and when i went back the girl she now spoke of angus.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2017
    9
    NITW is like someone took parts of Bojack Horseman, Life is Strange, Stranger Things and the better coming-of-age movies and mixed them allNITW is like someone took parts of Bojack Horseman, Life is Strange, Stranger Things and the better coming-of-age movies and mixed them all together in the rustbelt to create something sincere and unique. ----------------

    What I appreciated the most in my 8 1/2-hour playthrough was how the raw realism in the script, the setting and the narrative (including its main theme) blended so well with the cute, papercraft-resembling visuals and cozy musical score. ------------------------

    The main character and her little group of friends were far from the cool, faux-witty and jaded hipsters I expected, and soon I wanted to see what would happen next, to see if I could get them to laugh or get a chance to make them feel better. The dialogue sequences were full of cute jokes, funny pastiches on "woke" lingo, flirting and some tense cringey moments that felt natural without being devoid of the writer's personal touch.-----------------------

    This game is strong and has no real substitutes. I wish it was scarier at times and offered a slightly more elaborate ending, but I was satisfied with and slightly shaken by my journey. This game is serious, heavy and topical, but it doesn't *try* to be, and that means it is worth playing a few times to understand how it accomplishes something many game creators fail at.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2017
    7
    Night in the Woods is really slow, but has really nice story. There's a lot of common themes of depression/anxiety/apathy in there, which forNight in the Woods is really slow, but has really nice story. There's a lot of common themes of depression/anxiety/apathy in there, which for me helped me really connect with the characters.
    Pacing wise, it starts out slow, but had enough to keep me going until the end (where it gets better and better).
    It does feel a lot like Life is Strange, but feels less involved.
    Full Review »