Nuclear Dawn PC

Nuclear Dawn Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play as a soldier in a war-torn post-apocalyptic landscape, modelled on modern cities, and take the fight to your enemies as armoured, assault or stealth infantry, using various weapons and loadouts to accomplish your objectives. The first person shooter action in Nuclear Dawn is hard, fastPlay as a soldier in a war-torn post-apocalyptic landscape, modelled on modern cities, and take the fight to your enemies as armoured, assault or stealth infantry, using various weapons and loadouts to accomplish your objectives. The first person shooter action in Nuclear Dawn is hard, fast and unforgiving, with weapons that rely on skill and tactics more than on twitch reflexes and map memorization. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Nov 27, 2011
    83
    A surprisingly deep and well-designed FPS/RTS hybrid. A Team Fortress 2 alternative that needs a community to thrive.
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    80
    Despite some art direction issues and the lack of a tutorial system, dedicated players will have some fun here.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    If InterWave manage to grow alongside the community, Nuclear Dawn could become the most important FPS game to arrive in a long time. Right now, it's a welcome replacement for Team Fortress 2 and stopgap until Natural Selection 2.
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    72
    As I said before, it may not be perfect, but it's a step in the right direction for the genre. It'll be interesting to see what improvements come to the game as the minor bugs are ironed out. And even more interesting will be where we go next, now that Nuclear Dawn has shown us what a game is capable of doing.
  5. 70
    It could do with a practice mode or some proper tutorials to introduce newcomers to the commander mode, but if you're up for a challenge or find a decent server, Nuclear Dawn is an exciting take on a genre that's usually lacking new ideas.
  6. Nov 27, 2011
    65
    It's unfortunate to see Nuclear Dawn suffer from such simple errors, as underneath these tiny flaws is an above-average game with some new, interesting ideas at its core. If you're playing with friends or get lucky with a random server, it can be a lot of fun - but often that's not the case and as a result Nuclear Dawn doesn't quite earn the recommendation it's otherwise capable of receiving.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    40
    Nuclear Dawn is a game that can reach great things if it was put together more coherently. Bugs, balance issues, and an uninspired use of the apocalyptic settings make for a game that feels competent at best and incomplete at its worst.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 10 out of 62
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    This game is a much needed breath of fresh air that has a very faithful fan base. Players cooperate well and talk on headsets, not in everyThis game is a much needed breath of fresh air that has a very faithful fan base. Players cooperate well and talk on headsets, not in every game but its there. It does not take long to learn all the basics and it's a fun learning process that rewards with a little patience.Although a few bugs that still need to be sorted out but the devs have been very engaging in this since beta testing was done. Updated regularly and steady player activity. This game will be a favorite for many to come. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn offers a fast action packed class based shooter that will engage players who enjoy games like Team Fortress, Battlefield, Day ofNuclear Dawn offers a fast action packed class based shooter that will engage players who enjoy games like Team Fortress, Battlefield, Day of Defeat, etc. The RTS component of ND (which is only playable by 1 player on each team, the randomly elected commander) offers up tactical scenarios that are more challenging and un-predictable than other strategy games.

    The strange thing about Nuclear Dawn is that possibly the most frustrating part of the game (well, the only game mode that is available at the moment) is also what becomes the most satisfying part. The commander has to learn to take care of the FPS troops on the ground to gain their trust and loyalty, so that they follow orders and steamroll the enemy according to his or her tactics.

    I'm giving this game a 10 because, whilst I don't feel like it is the perfect iteration of this hybrid genre, I definitely believe that with community feedback and a few patches Nuclear Dawn will mark a significant turning point in the niche of the genre and market that it appeals to. InterWave have promised the addition of better more interactive tutorials, AI players and commander controllable AI squads, new weapons, research, structures, and game modes in the weeks and months to come. By all accounts, the developers are offering the 'service' of an expansive game with a long life, no doubt drawn from the influence of Valve.

    InterWave has a lot to learn but have a great attitude toward game development and their customer's opinions. Definitely one to pick up if you're a supporter of indies... and definitely one to watch if you're a fan of Valve.
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic, so long as you don't expect to kick ass as soon as you get in the game (as the two bad reviews state theyThis game is absolutely fantastic, so long as you don't expect to kick ass as soon as you get in the game (as the two bad reviews state they thought they should). Also, it's fantastic if you absolutely hate playing games where anyone can do just that, and love playing games where it REQUIRES teamwork. That's right, an online multiplayer game that YOU WILL NOT DO WELL IN unless you work together. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    This game is like Battlefield 2 with Towers. That's the best way to describe it I guess. I think it is highly overlooked by the media andThis game is like Battlefield 2 with Towers. That's the best way to describe it I guess. I think it is highly overlooked by the media and players and deserves way more recognition. Finally a good game beside all that military / realistic crap we get nowadays. It cannot and does not want to compete with Battlefield or Call of Duty. But, it is still good. It could use more weapons and more unlocks in general, just for the variety but I don't feel like that I am missing too much. It is fun, it can be intense and when you think you just won, the enemy can turn the tide of the battle and come back to kick your sorry a*** if your commander fails to see the weak points of his makings. But, for people like me that dislike BF or CoD, this is a more than worthy alternative. It is also designed in Source Engine which makes it run smooth. Granted, it has some minor bugs and problems, but nothing game breaking so far after 22 hours playing it. Buy it! Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    Just got this game recently and I have enjoyed my time playing it so far. Haven't experienced any "gamebreaking" bugs that dNIde talks aboutJust got this game recently and I have enjoyed my time playing it so far. Haven't experienced any "gamebreaking" bugs that dNIde talks about it. The learning curve is a bit steep (especially for the commander role), but you can't play it like your normal CoD, "I'm a hero and I am going to go solo their team", it's not that type of a game. It's a team game. Spend a few minutes watching some videos and you should be good as far as getting started. It's a good game, however if you are a bit uneasy about it, the price will be going down and they are said to have a free weekend soon. Would much rather be playing this game then shelling out $60 bucks for another worthless BF or CoD installment. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    Nuclear Dawn is a class-based FPS game with RTS-elements and a mixture of Natural Selection, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars and Battlefield 2142Nuclear Dawn is a class-based FPS game with RTS-elements and a mixture of Natural Selection, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars and Battlefield 2142 where the "Consortium" dukes it out against the "Empire" on approximately 7 maps. Each time starts with a small base and there are several resource points that have to be captured in order to generate resources so that the commander, whom is chosen by opting-in at the beginning of the battle, can expand his base and hopefully be more tactical than the opposing commander. This is also the game's weakside: if a commander is horrible at what he's doing, the team will surely suffer a frustrating loss. On the other hand, being a commander is very exciting and feels like a huge responsibility, it adds much more depth to what would otherwise be a rather bland FPS game with very little customisation for players. You can choose the arch-type of soldier you wish to play such as the Exo (A tank with massive amounts of health), support (Who can be divided into a medic and an engineer), a scout that can cloak and perform instant take-downs and the Assault that can spot cloaked units and generally comes with very accurate weaponry. Unfortunately,there is no way to customize kits. The engineer will always have a shotgun and the medic will always have a subpar SMG. The game also suffers from a series of bugs that have never been fixed, the most annoying one being the reloading bug where you suddenly find yourself unable to reload your firearm until you switch it around. This can happen up to 3 times in a row if you're unlucky. Given that the game has not seen a patch for over 6 months, I think it is safe to assume these problems will never be fixed and the server count seems to be at an all-time low, with only 2 European servers out of 6 actually being in use. It is obvious that this game hasn't got very long to go any more which is a shame because the maps aren't bad looking and neither are the graphics, the guns feel good when you're firing them and the controls respond well in most cases. It's a very good FPS but its release is anachronistic; the game mechanics used would have fit well in the Battlefield 2142-era where it would have been hailed as a highly innovative and engaging game. For a 2011-release, it's just too old-school but I'd still recommend it if it's for sale. There are still plenty of good rounds to be had and the people playing, save the slow-learners, seem to be know what they're doing and are generally pleasant to be around. I have found absolutely no signs of cheating, I think the game just isn't interesting enough for people to troll because of the low player count. Highly recommended for if you're a fan of the aforementioned titles. (and don't forget you can practice commanding by playing a game with bots!) Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    well mi last post was erased so here comes a new one,the game is not bad but is so dead that i have to give a 0 because i dont want peoplewell mi last post was erased so here comes a new one,the game is not bad but is so dead that i have to give a 0 because i dont want people buying this dead game and wasting money. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews