User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 151
  2. Negative: 40 out of 151

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    I just got this game on the Steam sale, and even getting it half off I think I just threw away $20. After playing for 2 hours I doubt I will spend any more time with this game. First the good: the game seems to be a unique take on fantasy tropes (similar to Dragon Age) which was the thing that first interested me about it. Also, the graphics seem to be pretty well done and I encountered no graphical glitches in my time playing. Now the bad. I should have read some of the reviews more carefully, because then I would have known what to expect. Combat is just you choosing abilities and waiting for you character to execute them. I think the developers were going for sort of a rock paper scissor counter mechanic, but my experience so far is you could basically just randomly choose abilities and get the same results. Not only that, but when you pause to issue orders you can not issue movement orders, so it becomes almost impossible to avoid melee. After 1 or 2 battles this system is so extremely lackluster and boring, that I can't imagine how the good points of the game could counter balance the combat. If the combat had just been ok, or kind of bad, I think the good would make this worth playing; unfortunately the combat is AWFUL.

    One final note: I should have actually read the positive reviews first instead of just looking at the score, because most of them are just things like "I am just balancing the troll reviews." Well shame on you, because you basically are trolling people yourself. You make the score look much higher than it should have been. I certainly would have not wasted my money on this game had I realized that was why the score was higher (I will admit this was certainly my fault, but it is frustrating none the less).

    Bottom line: this game is wasted potential. It seems like it could have been great, but the combat is so bad it ruins it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This is basically exactly the same as the game of thrones RPG when it comes to game play etc..
    The game does have amazing graphics But here is very little else going for this game..
    The combat systems is terrible, you basically just click a bunch of commands like what attacks you want to use & then wait for like a minute for your guy to finish his attacks..
    If your hoping for a Action
    RPG like Fable or kingdoms of amalur you will be highly disappointed.
    Don't be fooled be the awesome screen shots in magazines & websites, this game feels like your not really playing just clicking a bunch of buttons & then sitting back waiting for your guy to finish & just watching.. while if you compare the game system to kingdoms of amalur for example that game feels like it you doing the fighting.

    Summary, Don't buy this game..
    Collapse
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    3
    I had really high hopes for this game but I'll start with the good. The game is nice to look at and I love the setting/storyline. Now the bad, which unfortunately just crushes all my hopes and dreams. I came into it expecting a good solid hack and slash adventure where I could romp around with a huge unstoppable orc.(or sit back and have fun assassinating people with the goblin). But the combat system is AWFUL!!111!!!1ONE!! You dont actually do any fighting, just queue up some moves and then stand there getting hit by enemies while you auto attack. Seriously, send some strongly worded letters to the developer and do NOT buy this game. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    This is quite honestly the worst game I have played this year. In all honesty the game is beautiful in it's design and I love the dark feel it gives off, but You CANNOT enjoy it. The fighting in this game is what made me give it a 2. If i factored it in with everything else it would be a 6 but the game's fighting took ALL of the fun out. I feel bad to because the game looked very interesting, although the way abilities chained together and how primitive the combat system was just made me smash my head of my desk. I bought this game 50% off on steam, so I also got it for my brother since he showed me it. And we are both pissed. He watched me play it and said no way am I installing that garbage. The fact of the matter is do NOT buy this game. I feel sorry saying this for the developers because I feel like they tried but the combat system is absolute GARBAGE. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    1
    Graphics Ok..
    Narrative Unique..
    Gameplay Zero i am surprised to see high scores from magazines and users for that game..instead of buying this game, just hand ur money to a homeless man...
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    1
    Very bad. I could not finish the game and I play lots of crappy games to conclusion. The voice acting was okay. The game is also very boring. The combat is bizarre, stupid, and gets old really fast. The developers could have done something interesting. There is a major problem in the video game industry with a lack of imagination. This game is a perfect example of that.
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This is basically exactly the same as the game of thrones RPG when it comes to game play etc..
    The game does have amazing graphics But here is very little else going for this game..
    The combat systems is terrible, you basically just click a bunch of commands like what attacks you want to use & then wait for like a minute for your guy to finish his attacks..
    If your hoping for a Action
    RPG like Fable or kingdoms of amalur you will be highly disappointed.
    Don't be fooled be the awesome screen shots in magazines & websites, this game feels like your not really playing just clicking a bunch of buttons & then sitting back waiting for your guy to finish & just watching.. while if you compare the game system to kingdoms of amalur for example that game feels like it you doing the fighting.

    Summary, Don't buy this game..
    Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 72
    An interesting experiment of an “intellectual” action game, with unique protagonists, a story with strokes of magnificence and dilemmas. Alas, its launch is badly-timed (many blockbusters around this time of year). Of Orcs and Men is not for everyone, but at least all fantasy fans should have a peek. [December 2012]
  2. 60
    Action adventures with orc and goblin in leading roles aren't too usual. Unfortunately, there is not much to offer – gameplay is flat and eye-catching visuals can't save it all. [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Of Orcs and Men's few design issues don't prevent it from being a fun, table-turning take on the age-old conflict.