One Finger Death Punch Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    80
    One Finger Death Punch delivers a fast, challenging, compelling combat experience in the simplest way possible.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    70
    This is a game to play when you are waiting around for something, need to quickly blow off some steam, or if you’re a maniacal completionist. The depth behind the simplistic control scheme is impressive up to a point, until it all starts to get a bit samey.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is just brilliant! Very simple, yet very entertaining. But i personally feel it's a but too cheap for what you get out of the game.This game is just brilliant! Very simple, yet very entertaining. But i personally feel it's a but too cheap for what you get out of the game. Other then that, Must Buy, Must Play, Gotta Love. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This game uses very simple mechanics but executes them extremely well. The result is a fun, unique, and addictive game. Combined with theThis game uses very simple mechanics but executes them extremely well. The result is a fun, unique, and addictive game. Combined with the fact that One Finger Death Punch is dirt cheap, this game is a must-have. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game is a stick-man fighting game that is just awesome to play and is so much fun! Buy it now and you will have a lot of fun.

    The
    This game is a stick-man fighting game that is just awesome to play and is so much fun! Buy it now and you will have a lot of fun.

    The enemy become harder and harder and there are lots of different challenges that keeps changing the game which makes it interesting.

    For only $4 this is a must buy!
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    I was a bit sceptic at first, seeing that the game only used two buttons, but I'm now convinced that the developpers have pulled off aI was a bit sceptic at first, seeing that the game only used two buttons, but I'm now convinced that the developpers have pulled off a brilliant and simple game. It has a real arcade vibe and is meant to be played as such. You often find yourself jubilating from that much sought after arcade frenzy while completing a two minutes level, killing two enemies per second, clicking five times in the same timespan and all of that without breathing.
    The art design is pleasing although non essential. You do tend to ignore the graphics part and concentrate on not dying.
    The difficulty ramp-up is too slow due to a ridiculously long campaign. The game starts off really slow and easy and ends up being so fast you physically cannot click fast enough with your mouse to kill the stickmen in time. Overall, the campaign mode could use a bit of work and maybe the emphasis on it is too strong.

    All in all, really good for both casual players and hardcore arcade gamers in the "simple to play, hard to master" philosophy.
    Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    Who would think such a simple concept could be so much damn fun. The game is nonstop action that requires all your attention and keepsWho would think such a simple concept could be so much damn fun. The game is nonstop action that requires all your attention and keeps perfectionists like me coming back for more.

    The UI definitely could use some work, such as a restart button for levels, but it can easily be looked passed due to just how much fun the game is.
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Holy crap this game is simple and utterly challenging at the same time. Hard to believe it uses only two buttons (Keyboard, mouse orHoly crap this game is simple and utterly challenging at the same time. Hard to believe it uses only two buttons (Keyboard, mouse or controller are all supported). With this simplistic control scheme you might expect the game to get old but no sir!

    The genius behind this game really shines through with intense action, detailed graphics (yes they are stick figures but the backgrounds alone are really well done) and amazingly smooth action.

    I can not recommend this enough, especially for the price point!!
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    I don't know how they did it, but this simple two-button game is simply hilarious! All modes have you attacking left and right (one button forI don't know how they did it, but this simple two-button game is simply hilarious! All modes have you attacking left and right (one button for each direction), while enemies come at you from both sides. The variety and complexity of enemies increase as you move to more difficult levels, but it's always just a question of how you want to use those two buttons to clear them out.

    The stick figure graphics may be seen as simple, but they are functional and I have no problem with how the game looks.

    Certain enemies will have weapons that they drop when you kill them, or that they throw at you from afar. These weapons can often be picked up and used to increase your attack range or one-hit kill specific enemies. My favorite is the ball that you can just kick at enemies, and it comes back as long as you hit someone with it and don't miss the ball when it returns to you.

    Some levels play slightly different than the standard mode. There are boss levels, where you do nothing but fight one difficult enemy to the death. There are also levels where you just block knives being thrown at you from both sides. Some levels give you a light sword and just throw running trash mobs at you, finishing off with a minor boss enemy, and so on.

    You can also unlock and use passive skills that allow you to do things like fire a bow three times instead of just one, or that creates a shockwave on your next attack once you have killed x number of enemies. It never complicates the controls beyond the two buttons, though, which I think is a good decision.

    Just about anyone should be able to play this, and the goal is to master it. Reminds me a lot of how the older arcade games worked, which I think is the strength of this game.

    My only real problem with the game is the lack of proper sound options. As I recall, music and announcer voice can only be turned off/on, and there is not even a toggle for sound effects.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews