Organ Trail: Director's Cut Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Organ Trail is a retro zombie survival game. Travel westward in a station wagon with 4 of your friends, scavenging for supplies and fending off the undead. Members of your party might die of dysentery or you might have to put them down yourself when they get bit. Faithfully recreated as ifOrgan Trail is a retro zombie survival game. Travel westward in a station wagon with 4 of your friends, scavenging for supplies and fending off the undead. Members of your party might die of dysentery or you might have to put them down yourself when they get bit. Faithfully recreated as if it were on the Apple 2, Organ Trail offers amazing 16 color art and retro beeps and boops. Packed full of zombie mechanics, themes and references, this is a must have for any zombie survival fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Through wit, ingenuity, and good old fashioned sadism, it manages to succeed against the odds and provide a truly rewarding spin on a number of classic ideas. For the price, you really couldn't ask for more.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    May 31, 2013
    71
    Occasionally repetitive, sometimes puerile but for the most part amusing. [June 2013, p.89]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    70
    A lightweight survival lark, but one that proves itself worthy of the great pun in its title. [December 2013, p.85]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Organ Trail is like what another reviewer said, a spoof of Oregon Trail while using the zombie apocalypse genre which is becoming reallyOrgan Trail is like what another reviewer said, a spoof of Oregon Trail while using the zombie apocalypse genre which is becoming really repetitive. Organ Trail is not exactly going to win awards nor is it going to be touted as an influential game but it is however, fun. Fun, especially if you're a fan of zombie-related media like say Zombieland. Gameplaywise, its actually very straightforward, you and five friends travel in a station wagon across the United States from the east to the west. Along the way, you'll endure many hardships and situations like bandits and zombie hordes and the usual random scripted event. The game is merciless on the harder levels and certain achievements will require you to replay the game in order to achieve them. If there is one horrible aspect of the game, then that's the shooting mechanics. Shooting is NOT the fun part of Organ Trail despite it being a zombie game or a parody of a zombie game.

    Still, the game is fun from the indie aspect and it is quite cheap on Steam. It would probably be better off as a free game but I guess you have to support indie game designers for at least trying. And Organ Trail is indeed worth it if you're not expecting another Left 4 Dead or sumtin.
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Organ Trail, a spoof of the educational Oregon Trail, takes place in a post-apocalyptic America with zombies. This game is fun, however theOrgan Trail, a spoof of the educational Oregon Trail, takes place in a post-apocalyptic America with zombies. This game is fun, however the shooting mechanic takes a while to get used to. Still, this game is great, you should be playing for hours and there is a lot of replay value. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    Organ Trail: Director's Cut is a spoof of Oregon Trail. The game is inexpensive and very addicting. What other reviewers don't seem toOrgan Trail: Director's Cut is a spoof of Oregon Trail. The game is inexpensive and very addicting. What other reviewers don't seem to understand is that the firing mechanism was designed for the player to actually put some effort into combat, rather than just "click.. enemy died, click... enemy died" That wouldn't be fun. Collapse
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Fun stuff. Needs a little tinkering here and there with certain elements, but otherwise you get good bang for your buck. Pick it up cheapFun stuff. Needs a little tinkering here and there with certain elements, but otherwise you get good bang for your buck. Pick it up cheap while you can Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    Much has already been said, I add my vote and some of my own considerations:

    - the game is ok, nothing to say about it, but it seems not
    Much has already been said, I add my vote and some of my own considerations:

    - the game is ok, nothing to say about it, but it seems not polished enough to grab your attention for more than... two, three hours...
    - the graphics, "minimal", seems too simplified for a PC game
    - some event, but not much variation, at the end

    So, this can bring us to a 7, or a 8, if you like the style of game and have some fun.

    Frankly, despite the very low price (excellent, I would say), after only two hours of play I had enough: overall, the game seemed somewhat bland.
    Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    This game is only for those that find the era of Commodore 64 appealing. As I'm not the biggest fan of the style nor the gameplay mechanicsThis game is only for those that find the era of Commodore 64 appealing. As I'm not the biggest fan of the style nor the gameplay mechanics I'm unable to appreciate this "minigame" of zombie survival. The gameplay consists of minigames where you either walk and shoot or drive with a car in a retro-pixel-world and occationally stop to scavenge for resources though scavenging sounds too good as it's usually the minigame where you shoot zombies and collect the resources by walking over them. The price is very low so I can't warn about that but for me this game represents free-ware gaming. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    2
    The only game ive ever paid for that does a back step and becomes worse than the free flash version on there website. Throw in random eventsThe only game ive ever paid for that does a back step and becomes worse than the free flash version on there website. Throw in random events that do nothing but chain together ways to screw you over and unintuitive aiming controls and ZERO save options and you have one frustrating experience. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews