User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2012
    7
    Are there bugs? Yes. There are plenty of them. At one point, I was hunkered down in a bunker and a T Rex decided to pop on in and phase through the wall and give me a "How Do You Do" by promptly ripping my face off. But it all boils down to Is It Fun.
    Yes. Oh yes.
    I found myself chuckling gleefully as I popped a few into the horde of Raptors that for whatever reason decided I'm the best
    Are there bugs? Yes. There are plenty of them. At one point, I was hunkered down in a bunker and a T Rex decided to pop on in and phase through the wall and give me a "How Do You Do" by promptly ripping my face off. But it all boils down to Is It Fun.
    Yes. Oh yes.
    I found myself chuckling gleefully as I popped a few into the horde of Raptors that for whatever reason decided I'm the best snack, not as if there are any other dinosaurs to chew on. Of course, there is the triumphant feeling when you taking down your first T Rex with nothing but the puny little starting pistol.
    However, like I said, there are more than plenty of bugs.
    Menu selection also fire your gun, and while jetpacking through the air, the pterodactyls chasing me had meshed into a massive blob that could only be identified as an aerial dinosaur orgy.
    T Rexes phase through the walls as I have mentioned, and there was one point were I couldn't get the game to start, the smarmy **** All in all, it is a good game, but it cannot be a great game until the issues are patched, and more of the extinct bastards are added.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    Okay, here's the deal and the down-low. I first played this game after seeing that it had a free couple of days on Steam, and I decided to check it out after remembering that one of my favorite Youtube gameplayers, Criken, had played it. After starting the game up and joining a glitched match, I decided to solo it, and it is honestly some of the most fun I've had in a video game in a longOkay, here's the deal and the down-low. I first played this game after seeing that it had a free couple of days on Steam, and I decided to check it out after remembering that one of my favorite Youtube gameplayers, Criken, had played it. After starting the game up and joining a glitched match, I decided to solo it, and it is honestly some of the most fun I've had in a video game in a long time. Sure, the graphics aren't great. Sure, the gameplay is kinda funky at times. Sure, the guns and weapons in general don't look or feel like Battlefield. But all in all, I think this is actually a good game. Most of the bugs that people are talking about down there are before some patch updates and fixes, and I truthfully believe they should give the game a second chance. Keep in mind, this isn't supposed to be a 5-star legendary title from a major company, it's just an indie game that is struggling in a market of overly-scrupulous consumers, and I am giving it the chance as such. This isn't going to be a game I play thinking I will receive some major storyline or super realistic gameplay, but it is something I will play when everything else pisses me off and I want to have fun. That's the keyword here, FUN. The game isn't revolutionary in terms of anything, but neither is Call of Duty or Battlefield anymore. In my personal opinion, Battlefield 3 also gets a 7 for being boring and unoriginal. "But Hisoka, Battlefield is the best thing ever!" Not anymore it's not. But this isn't about Battlefield, it's about Orion: Dino Horde. And I like Orion: Dino Horde. The last thing, which in my opinion is a plus, is the fact that all the DLC packs that add a bunch of content to the game, are free. Completely free. So, support this game and it will continue to get even better, rather than gripe about something and make no moves to change it, you slugs. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    It's fun game with dinosaurs and vehicles and some pretty great maps with medium quality altough the lighting is great it could howerver use more content as in weapons and dino's
  4. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    Orion: Dino Horse is a nice little SF shooter. And then some more.
    You play either as a soldier from one of three classes or - in some modes - as a dino.
    You already got it: soldiers and dinos are not in the same team. Until now I did not play a lot, just enough to know, I will play more. You have a select of weapons, tools and abilities to choose from, there are human classes
    Orion: Dino Horse is a nice little SF shooter. And then some more.
    You play either as a soldier from one of three classes or - in some modes - as a dino.
    You already got it: soldiers and dinos are not in the same team.

    Until now I did not play a lot, just enough to know, I will play more.
    You have a select of weapons, tools and abilities to choose from,
    there are human classes different dinos, much to do.

    And if you really don't want to move through grass which is as high as you
    to be attacked by dinos and kill them with your gun or just - as assault at least -
    use your jet pack to fly to the next little hill and use the scope to kill some,
    if you REALLY don't want to do that.. then you are a lost case.
    It is so much fun.

    The graphics are not top notch but really nice enough so you enjoy to look, if you have the time.

    And now, sorry, I have to go and either kill some dinos, or some soldiers... depends on the auto-select.
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    not that bad I enjoyed it for the most part. It is much funnier if you know the people you are playing with. Dino horde is a good overall cheap game after the update I think its pretty good for the 10-15$ have a lot of potential I would really like to see it go somewhere
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    There's a weekend sale on Steam where you can get Dino Horde for $0.99. My friends and I picked it up since we'd heard how funny it was, both because of it being buggy and just the general game play, which is pretty unique. I can definitely say with the little we've played so far that the game is definitely worth picking up on a sale like this. It's unique, fun, silly, still buggy, butThere's a weekend sale on Steam where you can get Dino Horde for $0.99. My friends and I picked it up since we'd heard how funny it was, both because of it being buggy and just the general game play, which is pretty unique. I can definitely say with the little we've played so far that the game is definitely worth picking up on a sale like this. It's unique, fun, silly, still buggy, but playable (better than DayZ at least), and a good LAN game. It reminds me a lot of the old Starship Troopers game COOP mode which we would LAN. That game was also unpolished but offered hours of laughs and good times if you can get over its buggy nature and just enjoy it. The same goes for Dino Horde. Ignore the past negative reviews, the latest release is playable and fun. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    now,before the update that this game got,it was terrible,bugs everywhere and provided no fun.however,since the update the game has no bugs (that i have seen)and provided hours and hours of Dino-slaughter.of course the game is not flawless.it is not a fully optimized and great looking game,it still manages to be fun and complete.i recommend yo buy it on sale otherwise make sure you want itnow,before the update that this game got,it was terrible,bugs everywhere and provided no fun.however,since the update the game has no bugs (that i have seen)and provided hours and hours of Dino-slaughter.of course the game is not flawless.it is not a fully optimized and great looking game,it still manages to be fun and complete.i recommend yo buy it on sale otherwise make sure you want it because its 15 dollars. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2014
    7
    The Game has a interesting Setting, but also many bugs. The graphic looks very nice, but animations and effects (like blood, explosions etc.) are very bad. It is definitely not a game for graphic-freaks, but it makes a lot of fun. Its a nice game for a easygoing round of team-fps, but nothing more.
  9. Feb 26, 2014
    7
    There is a lot of unfair hate onto this game, I myself have been enjoying this game quite a bit, yes animations are bad and sounds, but this doesn't make it worse than cancer as it might seem from how some people are acting, It got excellent co-op and is very enjoyable to kill dinosaurs trying to break your generator and such, the idea of it is great, wasn't executed as well as could beenThere is a lot of unfair hate onto this game, I myself have been enjoying this game quite a bit, yes animations are bad and sounds, but this doesn't make it worse than cancer as it might seem from how some people are acting, It got excellent co-op and is very enjoyable to kill dinosaurs trying to break your generator and such, the idea of it is great, wasn't executed as well as could been though, but that doesn't make it a bad game, it's a great game at what it does do, I would rather play this game than many of other games I own. Expand
  10. May 14, 2012
    5
    My children like this game because they can easily use the steam 'join game' feature to fight dinosaurs together online. The graphics, audio, and general quality of this title are not of a high standard, however, despite it's rough edges Orion: Dino Beatdown is a fun experience for young gamers.
  11. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    The game was a bad game at launch, but the people have worked on it a whole bunch since it has released. The team is still working on it and has further plans for 2014. The game has improved significantly and deserves a fair score between the 6-8 range. Also, the graphics aren't anything spectacular, but graphics don't make the game. The game play for ORION is interesting enough to where IThe game was a bad game at launch, but the people have worked on it a whole bunch since it has released. The team is still working on it and has further plans for 2014. The game has improved significantly and deserves a fair score between the 6-8 range. Also, the graphics aren't anything spectacular, but graphics don't make the game. The game play for ORION is interesting enough to where I want to play it even without stellar graphics. It was a work in progress, but this game shows the dedication and hard work of the two that have been making this game. On another note, this game doesn't deserve a perfect score due to some bugs, not major ones, but significant enough to drop the score. The menu is also quite bare and doesn't give you an idea of the game type you are selecting and finding the right one could be a hassle (if you don't know what you're looking for). Other than that, the game mechanics are interesting and the game play is fun. I'll enjoy quite a few hours on it. Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2014
    7
    I don't know how this game was when it first launched. It could have and very well was a huge turd swirling around in the gaming toilet waiting to be flushed away into the void with all the other games collecting there that no one cares about. I must tell you though I've played this game just recently and like a fighting champion worthy of the Rocky Theme music. This game has madeI don't know how this game was when it first launched. It could have and very well was a huge turd swirling around in the gaming toilet waiting to be flushed away into the void with all the other games collecting there that no one cares about. I must tell you though I've played this game just recently and like a fighting champion worthy of the Rocky Theme music. This game has made strides to redeem itself. Is it a perfect 10 hell no but it's a damn solid 7 in my eyes. If this game was as bad as people make it out to be then major kudos go to the team behind it for proving once again it is possible to polish a turd. Expand
  13. Jun 6, 2014
    7
    It's fun in Multiplayer, I don't understand why you'd hate the game?!
    You can play it for many hours and still have fun....
    Which some TOP titles can't say about themselves....
  14. May 9, 2012
    7
    The game is pretty fun. Imagine left 4 dead or killing floor but with dinosaurs. Its good old dino shooting fun. Bit unpolished but its getting regular patches and the lead developer is so involved in the community. I would definitely recommend this
  15. May 5, 2012
    7
    I agree with Scarecrow13. At first, I was completely turned off to the game, but after relaxing a bit and even speaking with the developers (who were very helpful and polite) I've been able to enjoy the game despite the bugs. The parts that work well give this title a lot of potential and the parts that don't work well are generally not game-breaking. I think with some patching this gameI agree with Scarecrow13. At first, I was completely turned off to the game, but after relaxing a bit and even speaking with the developers (who were very helpful and polite) I've been able to enjoy the game despite the bugs. The parts that work well give this title a lot of potential and the parts that don't work well are generally not game-breaking. I think with some patching this game will be great. Plus, at under ten bucks and the promise of free DLC, I think it'll be well worth it to see where this thing goes. They can't all be AAA right out of the gate, but this game could be awesome with a little fixing up. Expand
  16. May 9, 2012
    5
    Its not the best game out there but overall it runs great and it's fun shooting the dino's. Not to mention this game will get regularly patched with more classes, more dinos, just more things to make the game better
  17. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    Not bad, but not necessarily good either. i played the first game (dine-beat down), than God i didn't pay any money for it because it was a pathetic excuse for a game. i decided to try this game when i saw it was free for the weekend (even after reading there were barely any improvements). i am not sure, but personally the game worked fine for me, i was able to play just fine, i didNot bad, but not necessarily good either. i played the first game (dine-beat down), than God i didn't pay any money for it because it was a pathetic excuse for a game. i decided to try this game when i saw it was free for the weekend (even after reading there were barely any improvements). i am not sure, but personally the game worked fine for me, i was able to play just fine, i did notice a few bugs and glitches, but nothing game breaking. so at the very least the game is playable, but that still doesn't make it good. i had such high hopes for this game, but sadly i fell short of my expectations. don't get me wrong, if you find a good server and play with some guys who know what they are doing, it can be enjoyable, and hectic, even fun. although there are still some problems, for example AI seem rather mindless, which is not at all believable for a dinosaur (they would almost be more be more believable as zombies), game-play gets repetitive, not that well balanced (it is either really easy, or really hard, i didn't notice a middle ground).

    long story short, the developers appear to have finally fixed some of the bad glitches that ruined the game, making it at least playable, and even good for a few hours of mindless fun, but definitely not for the asking price.
    Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed playing this game. It has a lot of faults and its extremely short. I would probably feel bad about the purchase if it hadn't been in a bundle. The weapons are usually fun to play with, the dinosaurs are dumb but sometimes hard to deal with. The vehicles you get in end-game are very cool. Its multi-player only with few players and what servers are available aren't stable. It alsoI enjoyed playing this game. It has a lot of faults and its extremely short. I would probably feel bad about the purchase if it hadn't been in a bundle. The weapons are usually fun to play with, the dinosaurs are dumb but sometimes hard to deal with. The vehicles you get in end-game are very cool. Its multi-player only with few players and what servers are available aren't stable. It also takes too long to play, and then, one play-through is enough. I have no desire to play it again.

    If you're looking for a dinosaur survival game, I'd say look elsewhere. Its not up to par with, say, Dino Crisis 2 which came out in ~1999. But if you get in a bundle then try it out.
    Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2014
    6
    Objectively this game is pretty bad, mainly because of the bad AI and stiff animations, but due to it being co-op, and it's crazy concept & gameplay, it still manages to be loads of fun. The developers still update it, too, and so far every update has added something good.
  20. Aug 19, 2014
    6
    Now this game isn't bad and it isn't good But it is better than some games on steam that you can find me and my friend's bought copies and when we play this game together when we can get the chance we have lot of fun! but... this game has BUGS alot of bugs!
  21. Sep 18, 2014
    6
    I wrote a review on this site before on ORION: Dino Horde (now ORION: Prelude).

    Has my opinion changed on the game since January 2014? Yeah, not really. I'm not gonna write a fully-fledged review. Just gonna slap some issues, very very very briefly tell you the gameplay and get to the final score. ORION: Prelude is still as fun as it was in Dino Horde, however, I've ran into some
    I wrote a review on this site before on ORION: Dino Horde (now ORION: Prelude).

    Has my opinion changed on the game since January 2014? Yeah, not really.
    I'm not gonna write a fully-fledged review. Just gonna slap some issues, very very very briefly tell you the gameplay and get to the final score.

    ORION: Prelude is still as fun as it was in Dino Horde, however, I've ran into some pretty glaring issues.

    Prelude has too many FPS issues and the graphics don't really look all that different from Dino Horde.
    There are also lots of lobby issues. You can invite people and they say they can't join the lobby, you make your lobby private and it becomes public for some reason and all that stuff.
    I've also ran into some modeling bugs, but I just fiddled with the graphics a bit and they were fixed.

    The gameplay is more or less the same as in Dino Beatdown/Horde, just with less bugs when playing the game. You won't clip through walls or fall over the world, no. But you could see some twitchy dinosaur animations and the occassional dinosaur spazm. Controlling vehicles can be a bit tricky for a first timer (you steer your vehicle with your mouse, excluding the tank and mech). You have 3 classes to choose from - Assault, Support, Recon. Assault has a jetpack, Support has a medi-gun (which heals players (duh)) and Recon has a cloaking ability (which makes her invisible (duh))

    Music-wise - it's decent. Has some great songs to listen to, but they can get boring real fast. I'd suggest getting your own songs. Though the voices of the 3 classes (Assault, Support, Recon) can become quite annoying over time.

    Would I recommend ORION: Prelude to you? Definitely.
    Considering the 0.79€ price tag on Steam, I'd say it's a steal.
    Seriously, compare the only 10.99€ price tag with the new 0.79€ price tag. Wasn't really worth it before, but now I'd say yes.

    Grab some friends too! A 4-pack will cost you 1.99€ only! And no, it's not a discount, it's the real price.

    ORION: Prelude
    6/10
    Has so much room for improvement and it definitely will improve. The game has a very bright future.
    Expand
  22. Aug 29, 2014
    6
    It may be bad, but at least it's not COD Ghosts! Pretty much a worse Planetside 2 with Dinosaurs. Ah well, at least your money's worth for $1 but there's probably better ways to spend that too.
  23. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    It's a relatively decent game, and it's only a dollar. I got it for free, and I have to say that if you look past the bad graphics, it is reminiscent of a decent game. It looks like an indie game and a personal project rather than a big triple A game, and as a new upcoming software engineer, I have to appreciate the time and thought put into this game. It isn't low enough to have a 36/100,It's a relatively decent game, and it's only a dollar. I got it for free, and I have to say that if you look past the bad graphics, it is reminiscent of a decent game. It looks like an indie game and a personal project rather than a big triple A game, and as a new upcoming software engineer, I have to appreciate the time and thought put into this game. It isn't low enough to have a 36/100, especially for its very low price of 1 dollar, and I advise giving it a shot before deeming it unworthy.

    Remember that people put time and effort into producing a game like this, and the fact that they're charging so low causes me to give them even more respect. Overall, I can not say this is a good game, it is very underdeveloped, but it does have content, hence I am giving it a 7/10.
    Expand
  24. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    It's pretty obvious that this game is trying to be exactly like Halo...with uhhh, dinosaurs. They really make it no secret either; the graphics, art style, and gameplay are almost identical in every way possible. The layouts of the maps are also very similar, you drive around in vehicles that bare a striking resemblance to Halo vehicles, and oh yeah, you're in space too. Yep, that's right,It's pretty obvious that this game is trying to be exactly like Halo...with uhhh, dinosaurs. They really make it no secret either; the graphics, art style, and gameplay are almost identical in every way possible. The layouts of the maps are also very similar, you drive around in vehicles that bare a striking resemblance to Halo vehicles, and oh yeah, you're in space too. Yep, that's right, it's dinosaurs in space. Who woulda thought, right? Even the announcer's voice sounds like they tried to replicate the announcer from Halo. Which I suppose isn't a bad thing, Halo is now dead for the PC anyway, and if you're going to steal from a game, Halo is a pretty good one to steal from. Don't believe me? Well pay the dollar to see for yourself!

    Which brings me to my next point, this game only costs a dollar, the price of a cheeseburger. It also works perfectly with a 360 controller, feels like a AAA title from a few years ago, has dinosaurs galore in it, and like I said only costs 99 cents. What more do you want from a game that costs less than a taco? Sure it's got some problems, but they seem pretty minor when you take the price into consideration. Even if you get just a few hours of gameplay out of it, you're still getting a great deal.

    So basically it boils down to the community with this one. As with every other 'online only' shooter, 'Orion: Prelude' will need to rely entirely on it's player base to keep it around, and seeing as how the developers seem dedicated to improving it, along with the low price point, I can see this game only gaining in popularity. All-in-all, if you're looking for something familiar, without having to shell out a lot of money, and are really into first person shooters, then you can't go wrong with this title.
    Expand
  25. May 11, 2013
    0
    Say what you want about Duke Nukem Forever. Say what you want about Aliens Colonial Marines. But at least they were pretty much for the most part telling you what you were getting into. I have never seen a game company go so far out of their way to deceive its customers. (watch Total Biscuits WTF is... video for this game) I give the worst game at least a point as, you know, it at leastSay what you want about Duke Nukem Forever. Say what you want about Aliens Colonial Marines. But at least they were pretty much for the most part telling you what you were getting into. I have never seen a game company go so far out of their way to deceive its customers. (watch Total Biscuits WTF is... video for this game) I give the worst game at least a point as, you know, it at least functions as a game. But i will not give this blatant cash grab, deception of a game any points. save your money. Collapse
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    30
    Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised that ORION: Dino Horde was such a disappointment. The gaming industry has been rife with rumors about scurrilous behaviour concerning a very similar title, Dino Beatdown. ORION: Dino Horde's rough edges suggest that it has been quickly brought to market and cynically shoveled out to gamers in the vain hope that its over the top premise will bring in a few bucks.