Orion: Dino Horde Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 389 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur horde.

    Players earn in-game credits which can be used to upgrade their abilities, purchase new weapons, unlock weapon upgrades and call in vehicles in order to ensure survival.

    Experience the future as never before. Make use of Jetpacks, Medic Guns, Cloaking Devices and equip yourself with state-of-the-art weapons ranging from Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, Laser Rifles. If that isnt enough then simply tear up the environments in a number of vehicles ranging from Hover Bikes, Buggies, Mechs, Tanks and VTOLs.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A poorly-made, unashamedly dumb game that nevertheless offers equally dumb entertainment. [July 2012, p.69]
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  4. May 9, 2012
    30
    It's out and it costs money, despite being far from ready for prime time. Even as a quirky indie release with a budget price, Orion asks for too big a leap of faith that it'll eventually work out.
  5. May 24, 2012
    30
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is a disaster. Bugs, glitch and the lack of contents plague the entire production. It is more an alpha version than a finished game.
  6. May 14, 2012
    20
    Apart from the bugs, the game is just so utterly unappealing, aesthetically and from a gameplay perspective, that it feels almost like a tech demo (of tech from 1999), rather than an honest-to-goodness release title. Please don't waste your hard-earned dough on this mutt.
  7. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is an entirely broken FPS. [Sept 2012, p.77]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 190
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I love this game, and have even bough several of my friends copies, and we have put in countless hours of fun into this gem.
    I have heard
    lots of "how it was before it was updated" but I assure you, Dino Horde is a whole new game packed with fun and challenge.
    Even now, the devs are working hard to keep a good experience coming. It's time to reward their hard work and dedication; get the game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Purchased while on sale for $0.99, watching the game play videos I assumed this game would be a lag nightmare or somehow not live up to any decent expectations. It proved to be the best gaming purchase I have made in years. Even for 20x what I paid this game would be worth it, as the key to any good game it is very fun! Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    The game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more than patient as the game only costs about 8$ less than that if you buy the 4pack.

    It has room for improvement but I enjoy it as I said. Even with bugs I have figured out ways to play to the best of my ability despite tons of t-rexs coming after me (I hope they allow us to turn on T-Rex swarm in the patches to let us continue this)
    Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    It seems to me that people are being overly harsh to this game. I have over 200 games in my steam library, 100's of games on consoles, dozens of other games on my PC and have been gaming since the mid 1980's....This game is pretty fun. I experienced no real bugs either. Maybe Im lucky? It's not an overly deep game, but it seems to be fun at what is. Ignore the 0's and 1 scores. These types of score abuse the system and are unrealistic. Very few games actually deserve a 0. That said, if it crashes badly on your system, then it does. And I can see it getting a bad score, but I have had ZERO crashes or bugs. I say give it a try when its on sale. See for yourself and ignore the silly extremists with their "0" ratings. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    The game was a bad game at launch, but the people have worked on it a whole bunch since it has released. The team is still working on it and has further plans for 2014. The game has improved significantly and deserves a fair score between the 6-8 range. Also, the graphics aren't anything spectacular, but graphics don't make the game. The game play for ORION is interesting enough to where I want to play it even without stellar graphics. It was a work in progress, but this game shows the dedication and hard work of the two that have been making this game. On another note, this game doesn't deserve a perfect score due to some bugs, not major ones, but significant enough to drop the score. The menu is also quite bare and doesn't give you an idea of the game type you are selecting and finding the right one could be a hassle (if you don't know what you're looking for). Other than that, the game mechanics are interesting and the game play is fun. I'll enjoy quite a few hours on it. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    1
    This game has had by far one of the worst launch builds i have ever had the opportunity to play. The menus hardly worked, joining/creating multiplayer or solo games was impossible many times, and the few times i did manage to get in the game it felt clunky and horribly unbalanced. The Devs are saying a god patch is coming today that will make everything "better" so hopefully they have managed to fix the majority of the bugs. However until more DLC comes out there just isnt enough to this game to keep me really interested only 3 dino types 1 of which can insta kill at long to close range using projectiles and melee, 3 classes of which 2 are suicidal choices unless you camp buildings or vehicles, 3 maps, and no real persistence to the game since you lose all items/upgrades at the end of each match and there is no ranking system. At this point the only thing that would make this game really fun is 5 player co-op but with MP completely broken for most people right now that's not really an option. Hopefully in a month or 2 once the game is properly patched and some DLC has been released the game will be more enjoyable. I just hope that the launch and lack of content doesn't drive away the community. UPDATE: Patch 1 made the server browser and hosting/joining games at least possible for a good number of people. However crashes and bugs are still pretty bad. The patch even brought about a lot of new bugs since once again spiral was in a rush and did not test the patch thoroughly in an attempt to save time. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    Terrible money grab. I've never seen a game more lied about, they really have a relentless PR department. It's a scam, even for a dollar this game is a waste of your time and money. This game is worse than a beta, but it's not even tagged as early access. Also, they change the name once their review score gets too low(they're about to do it again), so that's a good example of what kind of people are behind this. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews