Orion: Dino Horde Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also released as "ORION: Dino Beatdown") ORION: Dino Beatdown is an Open World, Class-Based Cooperative Survival Sci-Fi FPS. The game puts five players together in huge, endless environments in which they must work together to accomplish objectives and survive the devastating Dinosaur horde.

    Players earn in-game credits which can be used to upgrade their abilities, purchase new weapons, unlock weapon upgrades and call in vehicles in order to ensure survival.

    Experience the future as never before. Make use of Jetpacks, Medic Guns, Cloaking Devices and equip yourself with state-of-the-art weapons ranging from Shotguns, Machine Guns, Rocket Launchers, Laser Rifles. If that isnt enough then simply tear up the environments in a number of vehicles ranging from Hover Bikes, Buggies, Mechs, Tanks and VTOLs.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A poorly-made, unashamedly dumb game that nevertheless offers equally dumb entertainment. [July 2012, p.69]
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    45
    While Orion: Dino Horde has potential, it will certainly fall short of even modest expectations. If it weren't for there already being quite the track record of bad Jurassic games, I'd suggest that fighting dinosaurs has never been so dull. A shame, since it's evident that the developers put a lot of time into it... it's just too bad they didn't focus on making it fun.
  3. May 1, 2013
    35
    It may be fun if we play with friends for a few hours… but it may be not. There are many games fighting in the FPS genre, and it's very hard to find something worth highlighting in this one.
  4. May 9, 2012
    30
    It's out and it costs money, despite being far from ready for prime time. Even as a quirky indie release with a budget price, Orion asks for too big a leap of faith that it'll eventually work out.
  5. May 24, 2012
    30
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is a disaster. Bugs, glitch and the lack of contents plague the entire production. It is more an alpha version than a finished game.
  6. May 14, 2012
    20
    Apart from the bugs, the game is just so utterly unappealing, aesthetically and from a gameplay perspective, that it feels almost like a tech demo (of tech from 1999), rather than an honest-to-goodness release title. Please don't waste your hard-earned dough on this mutt.
  7. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Orion: Dino Beatdown is an entirely broken FPS. [Sept 2012, p.77]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 189
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I love this game, and have even bough several of my friends copies, and we have put in countless hours of fun into this gem.
    I have heard
    lots of "how it was before it was updated" but I assure you, Dino Horde is a whole new game packed with fun and challenge.
    Even now, the devs are working hard to keep a good experience coming. It's time to reward their hard work and dedication; get the game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    I dont know why people complain about this game, i think it is very enjoyable, fun to play with friends,and the bugs that people seem to complain about(example:cant connect servers/lobbys, vehicles like Vtols crash around, dinosaurs pop to outposts,walk trough walls and other that kind of lies. I havent met any of these so said "real bugs" in the game. I can connect the game lobbys when i want, the game has crashed only 2 times for me, the dinosaurs are not phasing trough the walls, VTOLS and other vehicles work like they should. The complaining about the sounds aint true, atleast i dont have them, weapons sound just like they should( except the Revolver, but it might have intergrated silencer like WW2 STEN had). Buy this game for real, you can enjoy it, or hate it doesnt make my life different. Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    The game is buggy, but even so I enjoy it as is. The bugs being patched and all of the promised free DLC will be amazing. I am more than patient as the game only costs about 8$ less than that if you buy the 4pack.

    It has room for improvement but I enjoy it as I said. Even with bugs I have figured out ways to play to the best of my ability despite tons of t-rexs coming after me (I hope they allow us to turn on T-Rex swarm in the patches to let us continue this)
    Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    I just bought this game, and have played around 4-5 hours. I wasn't expecting a ultra-polished AAA title. What I was expecting is a lot of shooting dinosaurs in the face with a machine gun while flying around in a jetpack. This game delivers on that front. The gameplay modes are unexplained, but after a little clicking around I figured out what one I liked best. All in all, I really enjoy playing this game. The vehicle controls are kind of weird, but pretty much exactly like Borderlands/Borderlands 2 controls. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    7
    It's fun in Multiplayer, I don't understand why you'd hate the game?!
    You can play it for many hours and still have fun....
    Which some TOP
    titles can't say about themselves.... Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    1
    Just a very buggy amateurish attempt at game making. People involved have no idea of the difference between mod making and a commercial release. Not worth even the 8.00 its selling for. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    Terrible money grab. I've never seen a game more lied about, they really have a relentless PR department. It's a scam, even for a dollar this game is a waste of your time and money. This game is worse than a beta, but it's not even tagged as early access. Also, they change the name once their review score gets too low(they're about to do it again), so that's a good example of what kind of people are behind this. Expand

See all 189 User Reviews