Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip fromIn the desolate mountains of Colorado, horrors await inside Mount Massive Asylum. An abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in complete secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something entirely different. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    93
    Red Barrels have done a fantastic job combining an intensely disquieting setting, a unique visual look, and an incredibly effective camera gimmick to ensure that nobody escapes Mount Massive without a few nightmares.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    Outlast perfects this self-inflicted madness in every area of its design, and it's absolutely petrifying. I love it.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    85
    It’s certain not to appeal to all gamers, and while I often personally use games to relax and blow off steam, I find that after playing an hour or so of Outlast I’m too wound up to play anymore. Good thing then that the whole game is about five hours long.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Outlast is the pinnacle of a less is more design philosophy. While other horror titles use jump scares and musical cues Outlast utilizes startling imagery and precision timing to make you call for mommy.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    80
    A little but perfectly accessible, even greatly playable game. It puts forward its hero protagonist and his helplessness, its whimsical hazard, and its great number of properly placed scripts. While playing Outlast you will relive plenty of convulsive experiences, but you will chuckle at the very same time. Gameplay aside, if the game was a bit more creative, it could get a better grade.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    78
    The initial hours, when played with a survivor’s unsure intent are electrifying, illuminating a slice of fast, animal terror. Before long, it settles into the mechanical, methodical, human realm, challenged by a few creative late-game curves. By all means check in, get a physical, but you might want to opt for outpatient care.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    As a budget Steam release, Outlast offers some cheap thrills for fans of the survival horror genre. Unfortunately its underwhelming visuals, combined with Red Barrel Games’ over-reliance on jump-scares ahead of more psychological frights, made my experience with it feel similar to walking through a haunted house: It’s scary, but not in a very clever way.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 276
  1. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    I honestly do not have a bad thing to say about this game. Horror is by far my favorite of the video game genres but they are very rarely doneI honestly do not have a bad thing to say about this game. Horror is by far my favorite of the video game genres but they are very rarely done correctly, or in the same manner rarely are they scary. This game had me scared, I literally jumped up out of my chair at one point. The game mechanics are simple but that is the beauty of this game because the fact that you have very little control is what makes it so scary. It is also absolutely gorgeous. The details in the texture is phenomenal and the camera is a great touch. It really makes the mood ominous. I was engaged the entire time.

    I read that some believe there is no story but I disagree whole heartedly. The story is there but you have to discern it from the context of the level as well as documents you pick up along the way. Usually document driven stories suck! I hate reading a million pages of boring crap that is some back story forced down our throats. But they did it just right, not too much reading as to take away from the game but just enough to get you curious as to what is really going on in the asylum.

    I lied a little bit because I do have one negative. There are times when the "search for something" puzzle gets a bit repetitive. You run away from the same creatures in the same way then hide to wait for their patrol path to reset. But honestly the game itself is so engaging that it didn't really bother me. I give it a perfect 10.
    Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    Absolutely best horror game I have ever played (and I have played plenty of them). You will be terrified not because of jump-scares (even thatAbsolutely best horror game I have ever played (and I have played plenty of them). You will be terrified not because of jump-scares (even that there are), not because of gore and hideous "creatures" (even that there are), but because of the greatly designed environment of mental asylum supported by atmospheric ambient. The story is amazing and with the style of actual game-play provides truly scary and adrenaline ride. Go for it, if you like to be scared when using bathroom at midnight. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Absolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is afterAbsolutely my favorite horror game to date. I felt the immersion within the first 10 minutes of game play. The best time to play is after nightfall. Lights off and undisturbed. Turn up the AC for a chilly room. Then blast the surround sound. You will not be disappointed. Collapse
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Awesome, scary and refreshing game. Finally a great horror game worth playing again. Hopefully the developers continue the franchise to bringAwesome, scary and refreshing game. Finally a great horror game worth playing again. Hopefully the developers continue the franchise to bring out even better/scarier sequels or prequels.

    Red Barrel Games, you guys are awesome! Keep up the good work and continue making terrifying games. :-)

    PS. The next installment could be a little more original/inspiring. That's the only critique I can find for Outlast.
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    I don't have a lot of experience with these survival horrors and it's not usually the sort of game I would bother with. Gameplay wasI don't have a lot of experience with these survival horrors and it's not usually the sort of game I would bother with. Gameplay was satisfying despite not being able to shoot/kill anything or anyone and while it was scary it parts, you get the feeling that it could have been executed a lot better because you kind of know when something scary is about to happen too predictable.
    A major issue for me was performance. It don't see why it needed to eat so many frames, it didn't look that amazing to me.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    If you want something like Amnesia: The Dark Descent, then this is the game to play. It's not as atmospheric as Amnesia, nor is the storylineIf you want something like Amnesia: The Dark Descent, then this is the game to play. It's not as atmospheric as Amnesia, nor is the storyline as intriguing, but you will still love Outlast start to finish.

    The scares are all done the right way. You will find yourself jumping out of your seat many times. You will find yourself in constant paranoia and getting bursts of fear-induced adrenaline for the large chunk of the game. The gameplay isn't mind-blowing, but still holds up extremely well.

    The only negative point I'll give this game is that some of the level design is very poor, and you could find yourself running around in circles or possibly getting killed because it can be cramped, confusing and repetitive, though that doesn't ruin the game in any sense. Overall, if horror games are your thing, this'll probably be in your top 10.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    This game was a total waste of money for me. I expected a different, though still fine tuned atmosphere in concert with the music as AmnesiaThis game was a total waste of money for me. I expected a different, though still fine tuned atmosphere in concert with the music as Amnesia The Dark Descent. I was thoroughly disappointed. This game is made of cheap scares to the fullest. Being set in an Asylum is already far from original for a terror game. The same plot than so many games about a uber evil corporation doing experiments blah you know the drill. Almost ALL scares I had where predicted before hand: "Oh this door is closed, I bet there will be a 5000db sound that will scare me to death." Every every time it happened. Seriously go buy Amnesia the dark descent instead of this veteran-made mainstream unoriginal terror game. Expand

See all 276 User Reviews

Trailers