Overlord II PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregP
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Like a lot of my friends, I had played the first Overlord and expected this to be a similar game. Having the same ups; fairly straightforward, lots of stuff for completionists, evil fun, and generic childish jokes. This recipee for the first one was a great success but got rather repetative quickly and I stopped playing it. Overlord 2 on the other hand has done away with alot of the Like a lot of my friends, I had played the first Overlord and expected this to be a similar game. Having the same ups; fairly straightforward, lots of stuff for completionists, evil fun, and generic childish jokes. This recipee for the first one was a great success but got rather repetative quickly and I stopped playing it. Overlord 2 on the other hand has done away with alot of the boring repatition. You may use the same means to getting the goal (IE possession) but everytime its abit different. Stealth, aggressive, puzzles. This has left me playing this game for hours on end and wanting more. You can really tell how the developers have matured from there previous game and really put something great out. This RPG adventure game is well suited for those that would enjoy some evil humor, single player campaign, and lite puzzle solving. Expand
  2. TehL.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Have to give it a straight ten. Awesome idea and game, and loved it to continue playing with my Overlord. I don't understand some critics (could have made ALOT better?) and wish they would be somewhat more objective or realistic. To Byron B.: You're distorting the vote by installing a demo (?) of the game that messed up your system? Game itself works flawlessly for me, and if Have to give it a straight ten. Awesome idea and game, and loved it to continue playing with my Overlord. I don't understand some critics (could have made ALOT better?) and wish they would be somewhat more objective or realistic. To Byron B.: You're distorting the vote by installing a demo (?) of the game that messed up your system? Game itself works flawlessly for me, and if you don't have directX I don't know how you play other games. Most of them WILL install it without asking, if it isn't already. Expand
  3. AlexC
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    I am really loving this game. It is better than the first in everyway - graphics are much improved; the game is more fun; you can bring your favourite minions back from the dead; you can now control or destroy towns; your minions can mount wolves, spiders etc; the game is longer and the missions much less linear...the list goes on! Most of the reviews are positive...if you aren't I am really loving this game. It is better than the first in everyway - graphics are much improved; the game is more fun; you can bring your favourite minions back from the dead; you can now control or destroy towns; your minions can mount wolves, spiders etc; the game is longer and the missions much less linear...the list goes on! Most of the reviews are positive...if you aren't sure, try the demo and see for yourself. I think this game will become more popular over the next few months. If you enjoyed the first game then I am sure you will LOVE this one! Expand
  4. JamesCP
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    This isn't a review it's a critique of the demo on steam. I had the same issue with the Overlord 2 Demo. Don't install it from steam, get it from a differen't site. I got mine from gamershell and it worked fine after the appauling steam demo. James
  5. GerardH
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    This plays more as an extension of the 1st. It's a solid sequel that is only hampered by amount of new comedy material and how linear it is, although the 2 times the minions break out in song is a ROFL experience. This is a sequel that is definitely more linear than the first. It seems like it could have been MUCH better as a sandbox type of game. Comparatively speaking, the 1st This plays more as an extension of the 1st. It's a solid sequel that is only hampered by amount of new comedy material and how linear it is, although the 2 times the minions break out in song is a ROFL experience. This is a sequel that is definitely more linear than the first. It seems like it could have been MUCH better as a sandbox type of game. Comparatively speaking, the 1st feels real open for the majority of the maps, the 2nd feels like you have 1 path to take. Overall, IGN is extremely wrong and biased in their review. Expand
  6. BobbyA
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    I never thought it possible to improve upon the first but with more customisation, great graphics, some new features and more comic charm Overlord 2 joins my list of favourites.
  7. cesari.
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    I love this game its even better than the first one I especially love the whole minions mounting creatures thing especially when I make them mount fire breath salamanders.
  8. jordanz
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    As someone who never played the first game this one is a riot and a blast. Graphics are amazing and you don't have to worry about the control scheme the consoles use.
  9. SergeT
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    A very well-rounded game that employs elements of hack-n-slashers and RTS. Given a ten because the game is just FUN.
  10. KarlP
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    This game was amazing the controls worked very well and the game was purely fun all the way through. Other then the frustration of losing minions with larger hordes I think this game came out great.
  11. JonG.
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    This game has very beautiful enviornments and lots of funny moments (IGN must be dead inside). I thought it was quite fun. That said, why is it that every user who gives a pc game a bad review is always some vindictive moron who can't figue out how to run his machine? (Hint: 9/10 times it's you, not the game. Can't handle that? Buy a console and shut the f up.)
  12. FredrikE.
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    I have tested both overlord I and II but overlord 2 takes the price. Its a litel short which i give it a 9 but also that you can upgrade your weapons like in the first overlord. Otherwise its pretty good. Its good story. The most evil things to do. Also you got rewards if you dominated the city's. That was a good feature. But the upgrade option was a good one. Also the throne I have tested both overlord I and II but overlord 2 takes the price. Its a litel short which i give it a 9 but also that you can upgrade your weapons like in the first overlord. Otherwise its pretty good. Its good story. The most evil things to do. Also you got rewards if you dominated the city's. That was a good feature. But the upgrade option was a good one. Also the throne animation. Its one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  13. OrderanL
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I played overlord 1 then the second one. There are some great improvements in the second one but there are still troubles like the minion random acts and the game wich could be longer. Overwise, the game was great.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This game has in spades what so many games lack: fantastic exploration, a sense of humor, and unique art direction. The gorgeous environments make you feel like you're on vacation--so nice after all the brown/gray settings of most games. Yeah, the minions could be easier to control., but that actually plays into their nature, and occasional accidental minion death seems appropriate. This game has in spades what so many games lack: fantastic exploration, a sense of humor, and unique art direction. The gorgeous environments make you feel like you're on vacation--so nice after all the brown/gray settings of most games. Yeah, the minions could be easier to control., but that actually plays into their nature, and occasional accidental minion death seems appropriate. Reviewers saying it's more of the same are full of it. The game's been taken to the next level in just about every aspect. Just exploring your own castle environment is terrific fun because it's been so creatively expanded. The wolf-riding minions, the siege engines, the battle mechanics, and the organized armies you fight are further examples. These same reviewers drool over all those WWII shooters, and you'd have a hard time telling them apart from EACH OTHER much less see the difference between installments within the same series. Expand
  15. TureVoice
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Reviewers have the job to try and reflect the public's opinion, not sculpt it. This game deserves a better score than what it has and anyone who believes we shouldn't attack the reviewing companies really doesn't understand what they are supposed to be doing.
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    Overlord 2 was fun, even great, but at times it can be just as much a hit or miss as the first one was, or even like pikmin. For me I thoroughly enjoyed myself, tbh. The only thing I was rather perturbed about was the very clunky animations for ever actor. It's improved a lot from the first one, the game is fun, but it never really comes clicks for me in the way the human characters moveOverlord 2 was fun, even great, but at times it can be just as much a hit or miss as the first one was, or even like pikmin. For me I thoroughly enjoyed myself, tbh. The only thing I was rather perturbed about was the very clunky animations for ever actor. It's improved a lot from the first one, the game is fun, but it never really comes clicks for me in the way the human characters move and talk. I would rather like to see if they can outdo themselves in a sequel though! Expand
  17. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    I really love this game. Controlling the minions is great fun, with the exception of the spider temple level which made me want to break the game in two. If I were you, I'd go get the first game as well because both are easily worth the cheap price you'll find them for today.
  18. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    Much like its predecessor you're in control of your minions, but this time they are a lot smarter when it comes to not running directly into lethal situations on their own. They still will if you tell them to though. As for the gameplay, it has been massively improved. Sadly the spell system is pretty much gone, but in return you can do so much more with minions that you'll hardly evenMuch like its predecessor you're in control of your minions, but this time they are a lot smarter when it comes to not running directly into lethal situations on their own. They still will if you tell them to though. As for the gameplay, it has been massively improved. Sadly the spell system is pretty much gone, but in return you can do so much more with minions that you'll hardly even notice. The evil tower is bigger than ever, you can have more mistresses and there are a lot of clever puzzles. The only downside is that it makes me greedy as a player. Next time I expect more tower customization, more enslavement options and more things to toy with like putting statues of myself everywhere and turning the captured towns a little less bright. Expand
  19. JuliusP
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    After playing&loving the first game, i hoped for a good sequel. even the sequel is a bit too short, i enjoyed it like the original game. the minion-mounts are a nice idea and other features like capturing towns are good too. the thing i liked most in the first game and which is still included in the sequel is this black humor, that makes me laugh again and again. the fat wisps are just a After playing&loving the first game, i hoped for a good sequel. even the sequel is a bit too short, i enjoyed it like the original game. the minion-mounts are a nice idea and other features like capturing towns are good too. the thing i liked most in the first game and which is still included in the sequel is this black humor, that makes me laugh again and again. the fat wisps are just a brilliant idea. i´m playing the german version and the voices fit very well to the characters. "Gunther, spuck das aus!" Expand
  20. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I know is not a 10 game at all, but whit those all who put 0 i had no option

    i think is a very great game, you will enjoy as much for a 10$ game can do

    Awesome idea and game, and loved it to continue playing with my Overlord. I don't understand some critics (could have made A LOT better?) and wish they would be somewhat more objective or realistic.
  21. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Even on 2013 I still waiting for the next cold winter evenings to play on to that majestic game. Best colourful areas, best sound and flashy original gimmicks. For me OL2 is top 10 for PC & any console
  22. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just can not stop! you NEED to play this game. I just love the minions, oh an Gnarl! You just have to love them all. I love this game. Although the most bugs are audio related, after 40 + play throughs you know what to do! I loved the minion possession.

    Play Overlord and serve the master, now!!!
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 91
    Overlord 2 offers a lot of options for customization, be it in the form of minion upgrades, spell specializations, and purely aesthetic options like how to decorate your fortress and which of your mistresses you choose to favor.
  2. Overlord II could do many things better, but its delightfully malicious humor is without compare. Do yourself a favor and buy this game.
  3. Overlord 2 is a solid sequel of the first one, a game that surprised many people thanks to its charm and originality. Now, the surprise factor is gone, but Triumph Games has made wise improvements over the weakest elements of their previous work, which makes this an enjoyable experience and a recommended title.