Painkiller: Redemption Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The player will continue the story of Daniel and Belial as they join forces for the first time to end the bloody conflict between heaven and hell. You will discover all new maps, fight off literally thousands of demonic fiends, and lose yourself in the intense gameplay rounded off with anThe player will continue the story of Daniel and Belial as they join forces for the first time to end the bloody conflict between heaven and hell. You will discover all new maps, fight off literally thousands of demonic fiends, and lose yourself in the intense gameplay rounded off with an absorbing heavy metal soundtrack. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    68
    Redemption is enjoyable if you're a fan of the series or just have a hankering for mindless shooting, but everyone else should probably steer clear.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    55
    Although better than the orribile Resurrection, Painkiller: Redemption is a cheap-but-cobbled-together new chapter in a series that has nothing left to say.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    48
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    40
    Painkiller: Redemption is only recommended for fans of the franchise. Remaining players need more graphics and better gameplay; there're much better FPS in the market.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    40
    As much as I love impaling skeleton warriors with the Stake Gun, if I'm paying for this experience I want something new. [June 2011, p.72]
  6. Mar 21, 2011
    30
    A bunch of fan made levels. For some reason sold as a full game. [Apr 2011, p.99]
  7. 20
    While this may sound like a marketing victory Redemption takes you on a journey into the real game of hell. [Issue#203]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    To be honest this was the first game in the painkiler franchise that I played. "oh good" I thought, I can finally see what all the fuss isTo be honest this was the first game in the painkiler franchise that I played. "oh good" I thought, I can finally see what all the fuss is about. The game is gory, fast paced, the weapons are imaginative, the levels are diverse, and the the enemies are relentless. So why does it bore me? though there are plenty of weapons and all of them with secondary fire but they're all introduced at the start and are almost identical between the two characters that you play as aside from a few. There are allot of enemies but they suffer from the rpg-issue of being reskined. There are a few enemies with special abilities but since you literally kill thousands of enemies every level you will already have them smeared across a nearby wall before they can become a real threat. The arena-like progression almost seems like a rule in the level design. They try to mix it up but every area that you fight enemies in will be in some kind of boring and wide open space. I only recommend painkiller redemption if your a hardcore fan of the series and I don't represent fans but I can't help but feel like even they might be tired of the series since there's four other expansion packs already. Collapse
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    8
    My only gripe was that being new to the series, it pretty much just tosses you in after a short text scrolling introduction to the story, andMy only gripe was that being new to the series, it pretty much just tosses you in after a short text scrolling introduction to the story, and there's no tutorial. After a week, however, the company has released an update with a brief tutorial. Good job, glad to see dedication to fixes! Feels like an old DOOM 2 game, simple, pick up ammo n money, kill everything. Quite fun! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    3
    This one and the wacked out previous incarnation of PK (Resurrection) are two sides of the same coin. This new one does not have the bugs ofThis one and the wacked out previous incarnation of PK (Resurrection) are two sides of the same coin. This new one does not have the bugs of many previous ones, especially Resurrection, but it lacks the interesting maps and spooky atmosphere of any of the originals and even the awful Resurrection. Redepemption has none of those mind-blowing, super creepy re-imaginings of what purgatory would be like: instead Redemption takes really bland maps from the originial Painkiller online deathmatch features, pretties them up a bit....and then is just nothing but mindless, repetitive killing. None of the elegant scares of the original - hell even Redemption is better at that. No brain strategy in how to kill these guys. It's just run around and around and fire at a bunch of bots. Part of the dark fun of the original two Painkillers was that sense of revelation and awe at this wild, disturbing world. While Redemption has none of the technical bugs of even the original or subsequent knockoffs - which really fills one with hope for the franchise's future - it has zero imagination. Now if only the crew that did Resurrection and the crew that did this one came together....we might have something cool again. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    3
    This last installment of the PK franchise does surpass previous ones, but it is still far away from the original. You will find yourselfThis last installment of the PK franchise does surpass previous ones, but it is still far away from the original. You will find yourself fighting endless waves of dozens of simultaneous enemies in small cramped spaces, usually for as long as 10 minutes, then you move to the next room, rinse and repeat, more like a Serious Sam approach if you tell me. The maps are dull, in fact they are recycled deathmatch arenas from previous PK games and somewhat adapted for SP play. To summarize, if you are a true vanilla PK fan, you should still avoid this like hell, and only the bargain bin price mark saves this from being utter rubbish. The devs also promise future free DLC as well as coop implementation, if they get the coop going, this might be worth rechecking. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    3
    First Painkiller was a decent game this is not a decent game. The level design is boring and awful. I felt like I was fighting hordes ofFirst Painkiller was a decent game this is not a decent game. The level design is boring and awful. I felt like I was fighting hordes of enemies in small narrow corridors and tight rooms enclosed in a dull factory environment. None of the grand epic design of Painkiller or Overdose where has all the amazing art work gone? A empty greyed out shallow shooter, whatever comes after beta and alpha, this game is that... Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    It was veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery stupid!

See all 10 User Reviews