Panzer Corps PC

Panzer Corps Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Panzer Corps will feature 26 scenarios on 21 unique maps, covering most major battles of the European Theatre of World War II and including a few hypothetical 'what if' scenarios based on your actions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    91
    Panzer Corps has brought back a flood of wonderful memories for me and while I fully realize that I'm a certified Panzer General fan boy and that could possibly cloud my judgment of the merits of Panzer Corps, all I know is that my campaign ended in a German defeat.
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    90
    When it comes to being Panzer General, Panzer Corps beats the pants off the competition.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Panzer Corps: Wehrmacht is a well done remake of the turn-based-strategy classic Panzer General. You control hundreds of units – tanks, artillery, infantry, ships, aircraft in 4 historical german campaigns. Additional 29 scenarios gives you the chance, to play tha Allies as well. Though the games' graphics isn't up to date, the gameplay is just great and offers great tactical and strategical variety.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Panzer Corps is a great turn-based strategic wargame that captures Panzer General's deep and involving classic gameplay.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    Wether you are a Panzer General-veteran or just a newbie who wants to try a wargame that isn't absurdly complicated or demands that you read a rulebook the size of the bible, Panzer Corps is the game to get.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 8, 2011
    80
    A great wargame that doesn't sacrifice its depth for strategic challenge. Some puzzle-like scenarios will obfuscate enjoyment. [Oct 2011, p.64]
  7. 70
    This is an incredibly fun game, but it's mostly stolen from an earlier series, and it's too expensive.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; notI'm loving this game. I haven't had this much of "just one more turn" in years. We done. I also love that the game is from the German pov; not that common. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Although it is perceived as a remake of Panzer General, this game deserves much more credit. Waiting more than a decade for a sequel to PanzerAlthough it is perceived as a remake of Panzer General, this game deserves much more credit. Waiting more than a decade for a sequel to Panzer General II, Panzer Corps was a relief. Embraced the basic concepts of the original game and added a few new features. I hope the next release involves much modern graphics and game engine. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    A truly incredible and faithful recreation of the old classic SSI Panzer General series. Needs a thorough reimagining on all fronts; USA truly incredible and faithful recreation of the old classic SSI Panzer General series. Needs a thorough reimagining on all fronts; US side/Soviets, perhaps a futuristic or cold war version. The possibilities are endless with the beautiful artwork, attention to detail and endless fun this platform provides. Would recommend to any wargamer out there wholeheartedly. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    I really love this game, i'm a long time panzer general fan. While the game is true to it's roots improvements to key elements such as AI andI really love this game, i'm a long time panzer general fan. While the game is true to it's roots improvements to key elements such as AI and balancing really improved the game and set it aside from a simple port. This one will keep me up many an hour as the original did! Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Very good game, nearly wargames, but maybe too simplistic. But, perfect for playing cool with tactical and strategical minds.
    For instance
    Very good game, nearly wargames, but maybe too simplistic. But, perfect for playing cool with tactical and strategical minds.
    For instance i've too Heart of Iron III, maybe more serious, but too long, too hard, not cool in fact.
    This one, Panzer Corps, really for have a nice time.
    Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This is the most compelling game I've played in years. It's not "one more turn", but rather one more battle. ;o) The game does a number ofThis is the most compelling game I've played in years. It's not "one more turn", but rather one more battle. ;o) The game does a number of things exceptionally well. Although a turn-based war game it is not a hard core uber-complex Grognard game at all, but rather in the "easy to learn, hard to master" category that rewards a thoughtful combined arms approach. Also, the level of abstraction in the game was a stroke of brilliance: the game consists of several branching campaigns, and although the battles are at the operational level (i.e. the invasion of Norway, the battle of Kursk), the gameplay has a very tactical "bang, bang, shoot them up" feel to it. It works very well, however, and the battles have a surprisingly high degree of historical accuracy, abstractions notwithstanding. Perhaps most importantly though, by being able to purchase, upgrade, rename, and carry over units from battle to battle, the game has a distinct role-playing feel to it which makes it extremely compelling. And I should also mention that the unit choices and upgrades available to you are nearly enormous. You can eventually even obtain the ME-262 and Komet fighters, to say nothing of a few advanced heavy bombers that as far as I know never made it to production. It's also interesting to note that you play a very de-Naziffied Germany in this game. No where is 'The Fuhrer' ever mentioned. This is a good thing though, as the Germans in WW2 created the most efficient military machine the world has ever seen and they are a blast to play. The only real down side to the game is that if you don't decisively defeat the Allies in the early-to-mid war you may find yourself facing long odds by mid-1944, although to be fair this of course was the case historically. Still in all it can be very demoralizing to see the magnificent military machine you've painstakingly built up and led through many hard-fought battles in 1939-43 get trashed by superior Allied numbers in 1944-45. Losing one of your 'pet' units is almost like seeing a favorite companion killed in Fallout: New Vegas. ;o) Still in all this game is a gem and an instant classic, and one that I will probably come back to at least a couple of times a year. If you are a fan of historical strategy games this one is not to be missed. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Copied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the oldCopied from a classic. Slitherine hasn't released anything original on its own for a long time. Thieves? Perhaps. Likely. I prefer the old Panzer General over Panzer Corps to this day! Sad no other competent publisher couldn't think of this idea instead of Slitherine. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews