Path of Exile PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1537 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    At first glance PoE does seem like an innovative and fresh game, and although it holds true in some areas there are many many problems still in the game. Just to elaborate on a few:

    1) Solo vs. Multiplayer. GGG doesn't care about solo players. Not. At. All. I've been in beta for over 2 years, that means longer than most the more "known" forumites, and when I joined in 2011 people were
    At first glance PoE does seem like an innovative and fresh game, and although it holds true in some areas there are many many problems still in the game. Just to elaborate on a few:

    1) Solo vs. Multiplayer. GGG doesn't care about solo players. Not. At. All. I've been in beta for over 2 years, that means longer than most the more "known" forumites, and when I joined in 2011 people were complaining that the game is a facerole in party and a drag as soloplayer. Well guess what, this hasn't changed at any given time over the last years. The game is still just a facerole as party and a rather frustrating experience as solo player. Show some good design and give monsters new (aoe) skills depending on how many players are in a party. Don't just increase health and damage. This would also battle the problem of multiboxers.

    2) Selffound vs. Trading. This game relies heavily on trading and playing selffound or offering a selffound mode seems unthinkable as GGG's lead designer say things like:

    "finding a unique item makes you excited because it has value to other players"

    How can someone who likes ARPG say something so utterly wrong. There are a ton of players who just want to play selffound and mostly or with friends and PoE does everything it can to alienate those people.

    3) Magic Find. Mindlessly copied from D2 although it should be known that it is a completly design as an item stat. No innovation whatsoever.

    4) Difficulty. Again no innovation whatsoever. Just a gear-check. Difficulty is only increased by increasing enemy health and damage. How about something more fun and something that actually rewards skill? Give monster different skills that require you to dodge, or make you take care not getting swarmed... oh wait..

    5)... I forgot, you can't actually make this game more fast-paced because it will desync all the time if you use something like flicker strike or high movement speed/attack speed.

    6) Skills. Although the trigger gems and support gem thing is very nice there are still missing a ton of actually fun spells. A fire witch has fireball and firestorm. Incredible.
    I know that this will get better over time but nevertheless I feel like pointing it out. ;)

    7) Item design is overall really good but the unique items often end up being a disappointment. The design goal here is to make unique items a build enabler, but especially in lower levels this makes finding one of the very rare unique items frustrating. Identifying a unique shield at level 30 and seeing that ALL it offers is the keystone passive "pain attunement" will result in you rolling eyes instead of thinking "wow what a great item".

    8) Item progression is... well. Not that great to be honest. The skill system is something new, but at the end of the day it's just inferior to a skill point based system design like TQ. Also the required links/sockets and the rather rare drops of orbs of fusing will add to making self-found an unenjoyable experience.

    Well I could go on and on, but let's just end with this:

    Path Of Exile is a decent game and I still see lots of potential, although speaking from 2 years of experience I will say that I doubt that they will now suddenly start to fix, what they ignored for so long.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2017
    7
    love/hate. Very good game that can be quite frustrating if one encounters connection problems that cripple the buzz. High quality and enjoyable game with painful pitfalls . i die only to lag or outright stupidity on my part, but way more due to lag. i have countless hours of fun with this game. painful lately to to nagging connection problems.
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Truly one of the best ARPG games to have ever been created. Awesome skills tree, great features and unique concepts. Unfortunately this game has one huge drawback. The game is online only. While this is not necessarily a negative thing, Path of Exile suffers from terrible latency and desync issues (especially if you live in a country which is not near a server). What makes it worse is thatTruly one of the best ARPG games to have ever been created. Awesome skills tree, great features and unique concepts. Unfortunately this game has one huge drawback. The game is online only. While this is not necessarily a negative thing, Path of Exile suffers from terrible latency and desync issues (especially if you live in a country which is not near a server). What makes it worse is that the game is quite intense and often even a small lag spike or desync can get you killed. Certain bosses have abilities that can 1 shot most characters, these are easily avoidable unless your latency is over 200ms. If your latency is too high you cannot fight certain bosses without a party.
    So to sum it up PoE is one of the best games I have played in years plagued by one of the worst ideas games have had in years (online only). A simple addition of offline play or more servers around the world could easily make this a 9 or 10 out of 10 game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    Path of Exile is a fun game with a lot going for it. It has a unique progression style, great artwork, and fun items. It deserves a lot of the praise that is being given to it, and it certainly our-shines a lot of the competitors. Though, there is also quite a lot wrong with the game. It's quite short, the skills are dreadfully boring, and you are almost forced into being a melee class asPath of Exile is a fun game with a lot going for it. It has a unique progression style, great artwork, and fun items. It deserves a lot of the praise that is being given to it, and it certainly our-shines a lot of the competitors. Though, there is also quite a lot wrong with the game. It's quite short, the skills are dreadfully boring, and you are almost forced into being a melee class as the others are quite bad in comparison. Other than that, it's a fairly good game and it's definitely worth going through at least once, as it is free to play. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2015
    7
    i think this game is good but i found one big problem. early game is too boring i don't know why but i didn't like it and i don't like that wtf skill tree. but it's no't pay to win game and after start game is fun.
  6. Mar 31, 2016
    6
    pros:
    -lots of depth
    -interesting currency system cons: absurdly small player inventory....cant even collect all the items that drop from one boss... and no way apparently to make it larger. This is why this game was a 6 for me... woulda been much better if you had a larger inventory. i played for 3 hours one day and counted how many times i had to go to town to sell... 15
    pros:
    -lots of depth
    -interesting currency system

    cons: absurdly small player inventory....cant even collect all the items that drop from one boss... and no way apparently to make it larger. This is why this game was a 6 for me... woulda been much better if you had a larger inventory. i played for 3 hours one day and counted how many times i had to go to town to sell... 15 times....15!!!! ridiculous

    The labyrinth (which you must clear to even get access to the xpac classes ) is designed poorly with too much emphasis on dodging clusters of traps that one shot you. Oh and you cant die in the labyrinth or you have to start all over. Terrible design and makes the ascendancy classes unaccessible.

    also no auction house.. closest they have ais a third party website where people connect to trade stuff (lol what year did this come out?? pretty sure auction houses were already a MMO staple by the time this was made)

    depends entirely on horribly calibrated RNG..everything is random , every time you try and modify an item you gotta sit there and gamble ...should be able to just set whatever stats you want... super tired of game devs using the RNG crutch . This game is so bloody RNG that you would be lucky to get anything that you want ...EVER!! this is the other reason i gave this a 6. too much rng...
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    I really liked this game at first but soon after about level 50 or so on a character it becomes more and more apparent the lack of polish and blatant oversights of fundamental game design issues.

    There was a review below by user "Rowsol" that hit a lot of the key points for flaws and holes in the game and other than the fact that you actually can respec, contrary to what he mentioned.
    I really liked this game at first but soon after about level 50 or so on a character it becomes more and more apparent the lack of polish and blatant oversights of fundamental game design issues.

    There was a review below by user "Rowsol" that hit a lot of the key points for flaws and holes in the game and other than the fact that you actually can respec, contrary to what he mentioned.

    The passive tree is a novel idea but is just jam packed crammed full of useless nodes, it needs to be made smaller with better benefits. At first it feels like there are a lot of options and room to grow but there are only 1 or 2 logical paths to even take because of the surplus of pointless nodes. In turn the excess of useless nodes grants the game absolutely no level of customization when there is only 1 "correct" or most 'powerful' path.

    The majority of the vendor recipes never even come up or are completely useless anyways. For example iron ring skill gem a completely useless ring? There are lots of pointless ones like this if you look at the wiki page for vendor recipes. Skill gems are completely worthless to sell to vendors. The only skill gem "sink" is the onyx amulet needed 1 of each type and that is even if you want a worthless white amulet with +jack to all attributes.

    The race events/leagues are made a complete static joke by the fact that the starting positions on the passive tree force you to play in 1 direction. The end game maps are extremely repetitive and don't really make any sense to me as far as the progression of the "story".

    You can just use waypoints or portal scrolls in the game at ANY point or boss battle to go back to town and completely refill all of your flasks. And if you refuse to participate in such idiotic redundancy, there are simply not enough flask slots for how many different types of flasks there are that can be utilized. The keys 6-0 are not used for anything else by default why not have at least 6 to 10 flasks? Or possibly 2 sets of flasks (like with 'X' and weapon sets), that way you could have health/mana etc on one and then maybe resists on the other

    I just think for how many things were designed in a great where there are WAY too many things that are completely obvious quick fixes that for some reason go addressed? Just because a game or something is free doesn't mean people want to play or use it if it sucks or is no fun and serves no purpose. There are A LOT of free games nowadays this is not the 90s anymore where you had to play OG Runescape.

    The idea of an economy without gold is amazing but the consequences delivered in this game are in no way worth it what so ever. All of the consumable items have insanely terrible chances of giving you anything good or actually upgrading gear to be better than what you are currently wearing.

    Trying to level and grind levels in the later game (50+) is not rewarding in any sense of the word. Literally your only option to continue progressing (especially due to drought of any useful item drops) is to clear and re-clear the same exact boring instances over and over again. The leveling curve is waaaay too skewed and unbalanced. The game needs at least another act (Act IV) to spread out the rest of the levels throughout all 3 difficulties. Right now everything is jammed within the first 60+ levels or so and it makes no sense so it forces you to repeatedly farm "end-game" maps, SNOREFEST! I know often ARPGs in this style are referred to as a "Dungeon Crawl", well never in my entire life more have I felt like I was "CRAWLing" through a game or character levels. And then in the end what is it all for? Even if you get to a high level and get nice loot and gear on a league eventually all of your crap just becomes Standard, so ridiculously pointless.

    Plain and simple this game heavily favors people who are already in end-game and have been contributing donations since closed beta and before. These people have infinite orbs of all types and can readily farm even more for all of their lower characters. So yeah if you have the ability to farm hundreds of thousands of orbs and gear then maybe it is fun to gear up a lower level character and play around. But if you are playing with your highest level character don't expect jack to ever drop that will improve your character or keep you from dying.

    Beyond countless performance issues and bugs with this game it is still a great game to try because the initial price is right.. This game has an unlimited amount of potential but as far as I'm concerned had no business leaving beta. "Room to grow" doesn't mean "let's go", disappointing. DO NOT expect this to fill the void for fans left by "Diablo II" that "Diablo 3" completely failed absolutely miserably at delivering on. This game can be fun for short periods of time, however in it's current state is nowhere near ready or capable of bringing the ARPG experience that is deserving of over a decade now removed from Diablo II.
    Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    Quite a good diabloish title with its own unique twist on the genre. The game itself has an enormous amount of depth and due to the way the gem system is implemented it's possible to use any skill in the game on a separate character allowing players to level a character and bring over their skills should they ever want to do so.
    The game also allows a ridiculous amount of customization
    Quite a good diabloish title with its own unique twist on the genre. The game itself has an enormous amount of depth and due to the way the gem system is implemented it's possible to use any skill in the game on a separate character allowing players to level a character and bring over their skills should they ever want to do so.
    The game also allows a ridiculous amount of customization when it comes to character builds to the point where it's viable to use a ranger to create a 2 handed charging swordsman due to their increased dexterity.
    Unfortunately this game also has some problems firstly it's really hard to understand and get into the game from the start. the passive tree is a huge mess for newcomers which means most likely the first and second character may become throw aways due to bad point distribution and while there are refund orbs it's generally faster and easier to simply recreate a charecter then purchasing enough to reset an entire tree.
    Second the game has no auction house and currency instead it uses different orbs that each have a use in improving equipment as tradable currency this makes it very hard for newbies to effectively trade for what they want without getting scammed or being clueless on the matter as well as making it very difficult for players who don't use fanwebsites to purchase items.
    Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2013
    5
    PoE is that cool girl you see and idolize in your mind.
    But as you got to know her better the illusion falls apart.
    PoE had the potential to be the best ARPG ever. But it is far far away from that in its current state. So what is wrong with PoE? For starters the most important thing in an ARPG is the gameplay quality. There is no point in complex mechanics if the game is not
    PoE is that cool girl you see and idolize in your mind.
    But as you got to know her better the illusion falls apart.

    PoE had the potential to be the best ARPG ever.
    But it is far far away from that in its current state.

    So what is wrong with PoE?
    For starters the most important thing in an ARPG is the gameplay quality. There is no point in complex mechanics if the game is not working properly, or not responding to your commands. PoE suffers horrible in terms of gameplay.

    DESYNCH: imagine you play Mario, and on the other side of the wall there is a small monster wandering there. When you get there you will need to pay attention to it, but no need to worry now because it is not near you. And Bam! "GAME OVER" !?
    Well it turns out that this monster was not far away, it was actually near you, even better actually you were not even where you thought you were!!
    The screen position of your char and enemies may always be wrong in PoE, and if you rely on the information on your screen you will die.. ALOT!

    You may ask "But if screen information are unreliable, how do I maneuver to avoid things in fight?"
    Well game saves you from that problem, because DESYNCH is almost certain when attempting to maneuver away from enemies, and especially doing that with high move speed or with mobility skills. So you simply dont even attempt.

    COMMAND RESPONSE: PoE is a "pick a skill/spell and spam it whole game" type of ARPG. Nothing but nothing pays as well as overfocusing a single skill for DPS. Also skills not having cooldown, and reaching ridiculous attack/cast speeds like 2-10 per second; only viable way of sustaining DPS is spamming without interruption. So even if you had 2 skills it would not be possible to use them consequently.
    So we do spam in PoE. Now the real problem; game has no command queueing code, and completely ignores the commands given while spamming attacks. Everyone in game uses auto-cast supports for their auxilary skill for that reason.

    BLAND MONSTERS: PoE has a very boring monster design, they just rush to you with a single attack/spell. ONLY utility monster in game is necromancer to raise back undead. As there are no utility monsters to drive difficulty up, as you progress game difficulty increases only by making monsters deal more damage. Spike damage scales so ridiculously that you get one shot by everything unless you invest %70 of your passives to increase max life or reaching life nods.

    TRADE FOCUSED GAME DESIGN: Drops are based on trade oriented economy. So it is as bad as D3 AH. But it is even worse because game does not have an ingame trade system other than a horrible trade chat, so ALL players use an external trade find site named poe.xyz which is exactly same thing as AH.
    Trading 15 mins will get you gear which you can not get by grinding for 10 hours.

    In conclusion PoE is an ARPG where you should
    not try to maneuver mobs,
    not rely on position of enemies or your char on screen,
    spam a single skill keeping everything else in autocast,
    increase max life nonstop to avoid one-shot kills.
    Also trade oriented drops are as bad as D3 AH.

    That is not what I expect from an ARPG.
    (based on the experience of a player who completed all endgame content)
    Expand
  10. Jan 30, 2015
    7
    Pros:
    + Many ways to build a character
    + Tons of available skills and items to build around + Some very complex and deep game mechanics not seen in other popular RPG titles + The gameplay is fun and gambling with RNG can be very addictive + Regular updates with new content, races and cool prizes + Free to play Cons: - Graphics and effects can feel a bit dated compared to some
    Pros:
    + Many ways to build a character
    + Tons of available skills and items to build around
    + Some very complex and deep game mechanics not seen in other popular RPG titles
    + The gameplay is fun and gambling with RNG can be very addictive
    + Regular updates with new content, races and cool prizes
    + Free to play

    Cons:
    - Graphics and effects can feel a bit dated compared to some other RPGs
    - Don't expect a breathtaking storyline with interesting dialogues and character development. This game is about building a character and hacking through piles of brainless monsters as efficiently as possible.
    - Playing the same character gets boring after a while - once you acquire your end-game gear and level all your skills gems, there is not much left to do but farm maps and try to acquire more wealth.
    - The level of micro-management and skill that is required in the combat is comparatively low (exceptions are a few end-game bosses).
    - The RNG of drops or crafting luck can sometimes feel unfair
    - Desync problems can be very punishing for some people

    The pros in my opinion outweigh the cons. Definitely a game you should try if you like old school hack and slash RPGs such as Diablo 2 and its various clones. For me it took 2 years of playing to finally get bored and move on to something else.
    Expand
  11. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    The fact that this gets a commercial rating of over 80 is baffling but also not surprising given the recent quality of games. I suppose we are desperate for something with depth and longevity that can be played without too many carrots, but this game is an awful lot of string and less carrot. If you are the type to want to grind forever looking for that perfect item, you'll enjoy it, butThe fact that this gets a commercial rating of over 80 is baffling but also not surprising given the recent quality of games. I suppose we are desperate for something with depth and longevity that can be played without too many carrots, but this game is an awful lot of string and less carrot. If you are the type to want to grind forever looking for that perfect item, you'll enjoy it, but you'll have to deal with desyncs and loss of xp as a result of lag killing you which drove me off entirely from playing Hardcore which is sad because I loved the challenge. After the 15th time it just got old. Each update added more desyncs and some skills are unusable in builds because it will just get you killed. Walk in a room and try to run away? Oh you are back in the room. Try to edge into a doorway to fight some monsters and didn't even enter the room? You in the middle of the room now even you've never been there. Constantly. Sad, because I could really excuse the overly pointless grinding for the sake of fun, if the game didn't have artificial ways of killing me. This isn't a 8 or 9.. It's a 7. It would have been a 9 in 1999, because that's where this game borrows most of it's uninspired gameplay from. It's 2013 and games need to be more technical this. Especially online ones that aren't stable and still want to encourage players to spend money to support it. If D3 had been successful, this game would have far less praise. Expand
  12. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    I really want to score this game higher then a 6, but what appears to be a roaring lion of a game, is really just an old scruffy tomcat yowling in the alley out back. I had heard soooooo much about this game and how it was everything that D3/Marvel Heroes/Torchlight etc etc wanted and tried to be. It was finally bringing back the true spirit of D2....yea, not really. Its not a terribleI really want to score this game higher then a 6, but what appears to be a roaring lion of a game, is really just an old scruffy tomcat yowling in the alley out back. I had heard soooooo much about this game and how it was everything that D3/Marvel Heroes/Torchlight etc etc wanted and tried to be. It was finally bringing back the true spirit of D2....yea, not really. Its not a terrible game, and its worth giving a shot simply because its free to play and reasonably fun for awhile. I mean it has a huge skill tree offering amazing options and customization, huge amounts of skill gems that add to variety, any class can be anything! Sounds fantastic....

    ... but it all is smoke and mirrors. Trust me, go ahead and try to customize your character through the skill tree without exact duplication of a cookie cutter build listed on forums....it will be an effort in futility and leave you frustrated restarting characters over and over. Try and make a high dps character by going for the dmg/crit nodes and skipping most of the 8% life nodes, I dare you. 9 out of 10 viable builds will go like this...pick up all life nodes and either blood magic or eldritch battery...done. Now for all the skill gems...well, simply join some random groups and see how many lightning strike/ethereal knives/spectral throw builds you see compared to anything else....there are a few other builds, but not many...again 90% of the skill gems you'll never see used.

    Basically you can either role some form of a tank build or you can role anything else and never see past normal difficulty. The combat while not bad is the same thing every other arpg does, spam 1 button, only way mobs get harder is increase hp/damage/resists. The orb currency is good in theory but really is just a pain, as someone said earlier...farm a bunch of low orbs, trade for higher orbs, then trade those higher orbs for a couple high end orbs, rinse repeat till you have enough high end orbs to buy something decent.

    I know I sound overly critical but I just felt deceived by this game, if it would have just said upfront that all this variety and customization was bulls**t and 99% of its "options" are only really options if you have no interest in progressing I could have dealt with that. But it feels POE really attempts to be complicated just for the sake of being complicated. Spending the time to learn all the systems just to realize its mostly worthless nonsense is a serious buzzkill.
    Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2014
    5
    To be honest i expected a lot from this game, but i ended up playing with a bad copy of diablo 2.5
    Not saying that this game is crap, I'm saying that it needs a lot of improvement, after reading in the loading screen that this game has been developing for 7 years, well... I can't help myself thinking "7 years and that's all you got ?"
    Overall the graphics and the effects are good, but
    To be honest i expected a lot from this game, but i ended up playing with a bad copy of diablo 2.5
    Not saying that this game is crap, I'm saying that it needs a lot of improvement, after reading in the loading screen that this game has been developing for 7 years, well... I can't help myself thinking "7 years and that's all you got ?"

    Overall the graphics and the effects are good, but the game has some major problems with fps (FYI, I'm running a mid-high end pc) I got coninuous fps spikes and this occurred not only when the map was crowded and I were spamming stuff, but also while running around alone.
    Also, I don't understand the decision of not having a single player or, even better, an offline mode, we all know that guns don't kill people, but lag does.
    Another aspect I don't like is the active skill system, an original idea overall, but poorly fulfilled, a good old skill tree would have been better and less confusing imho.
    The passive skill tree, however, is a real gem, although is the copy of Final Fantasy X skill tree, but still, is nice, you have to plan in advance what you will become and choose wisely your path, I couldn't wait to level up just to look at the tree and place my skill point.
    But let's go back to another unpleasant aspect of the game, the story, is there one? I don't know what to say, honestly, I think it is almost invisible, you just play to reach the next map, that's all, I didn't have the feeling of going on a quest to kill the "evil enemy", just... killing stuff, dropping stuff, having lag/fps spikes, I didn't even finish the game due to boredom.
    Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    If you are a Diablo fan, this is your holy grail. If you are after more of an RPG, this is your grave. This is a standard ARPG (which I pretty rather like to call as "Character Building Game" instead) with one of the deepest character building system ever. That's just about where all the fun is. There is next to no story, no choice but a linear world through which you senselessly killIf you are a Diablo fan, this is your holy grail. If you are after more of an RPG, this is your grave. This is a standard ARPG (which I pretty rather like to call as "Character Building Game" instead) with one of the deepest character building system ever. That's just about where all the fun is. There is next to no story, no choice but a linear world through which you senselessly kill everything that moves regardless of what it actually is and how it actually fights. All monsters are really just hollow graphics that are nothing more than target practise for your character and your character is just another souless look-alike with no customizable face so everyone of the same class looks the same... clones everywhere. I would like to give it a 6 rather than a 7 but the fact that it is a good representation of a arpg, I won't pull it down that much. All in all, they should have given such a deep character building game more soul. Expand
  15. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Nothing drops. People complain about nothing good ever dropping in Diablo 3, hell this game is no better. At least in Diablo 3 you're constantly finding upgrades while leveling up. In Path of Exile, progressing through the acts and various difficulties can be extremely difficult, not because the content is hard but because there are so many stupid "gear checks" in the game. If you've beenNothing drops. People complain about nothing good ever dropping in Diablo 3, hell this game is no better. At least in Diablo 3 you're constantly finding upgrades while leveling up. In Path of Exile, progressing through the acts and various difficulties can be extremely difficult, not because the content is hard but because there are so many stupid "gear checks" in the game. If you've been unlucky with drops, you're going to be extremely frustrated watching your character die again and again. The game is absolutely brutal for those who aren't interested in the whole trading aspect of the game.

    Unique items are also a driving factor for many players in action RPG's, and they're just far too rare in this game. In about 100 hours of play time, I found maybe 5-7 unique items, all were worthless for my character. It's one thing to have the exceptional, top-level Unique items be ridiculously rare. But even the medicore/ low-level uniques are tuned to almost never drop. On the official Path of Exile website, the developers state that "Path of Exile is a game about items." Well, hell, the items never drop! It's boring.
    Just killed the final act boss?? Congratulations, here's a bunch of worthless blue items and two medicore rare items for you. Oh, I'm sorry...were you expecting a unique or even a semi-decent rare item? AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHA.

    Decent game, love the passive skill tree and the amount of character customization...but item drops are just stupidly tuned. I won't be playing this game again until we see some drop-rate buffs.
    Expand
  16. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    You have a handful of classes, with very little that separates them, except what they can skill up in their passives tree. the game is extremely bland, it was an obvious attempt to mimic diablo 2, in almost every way shape and form that was realistic, except it has none of diablo II's flavor, or it's uniqueness, all of the said classes share the same exact skills. Of course there will beYou have a handful of classes, with very little that separates them, except what they can skill up in their passives tree. the game is extremely bland, it was an obvious attempt to mimic diablo 2, in almost every way shape and form that was realistic, except it has none of diablo II's flavor, or it's uniqueness, all of the said classes share the same exact skills. Of course there will be skills that benefit a hunter more, or a witch, but in general you have a single pool of spells that all classes share.

    The game is also very unforgiving, you end up making it to max rank, realized you were building like a jerk and the game does not help you at all. You're either forced to find the LARGE amount of orbs of regret, or reroll the character from scratch.

    This game is for only the most hardcore of diablo players, and will probably be forgotten by anyone beyond that.
    Expand
  17. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    I have played this game since March 2013. I rate this game a 75/100 overall. I am not a Fan-boy, or a hater. I do like playing it overall. I am not going into the numerous minor likes, and dislikes. Try to stay on the major points.

    Pros 1. Endless character creation ability 2. Free game to start 3. Constant biweekly updates, and real fast emergency patches to fix major bugs 4.
    I have played this game since March 2013. I rate this game a 75/100 overall. I am not a Fan-boy, or a hater. I do like playing it overall. I am not going into the numerous minor likes, and dislikes. Try to stay on the major points.

    Pros
    1. Endless character creation ability
    2. Free game to start
    3. Constant biweekly updates, and real fast emergency patches to fix major bugs
    4. Overall good graphics, and improving with each patch.
    5. Massive passive skill tree- It has over 1450 in it. Many are not needed for your particular build, but it's there for you to choose.
    6. Guild system

    Neutral

    1. You eventually need to buy micro-transactions for stash slots, not free in the end-run.
    2. Drop/crafting system have way to much RNG layers. Need to reduce the RNG v.s. toying with the magic find quality, and rarity. Hard, but not impossible to get anywere with the current structure.
    3. Map system is the end-game. Due to RNG again it's hard to progress in this area. Just as likely to run out of maps and be totally stuck. This last point is being addressed currently.

    Con's
    1. Horrible Trade system- Needs massive changes. Right now it's run by 24/7 players who have the time. It can take hours, or even days to find what you want to buy. And finding a buyer who will sell it without trying to rip you off. The sell side is no better. You must learn to use poe.xyz/ poe.explorer, or your never going to figure out anything. Of-site websites dealing with availability/ prices for buy/sell.
    1A- In-game spam trading is the pits, worse thing I have ever seen, no way to even filiter it, it's just endless fast scroll. RMT sites start spamming you too for next 20 minutes.

    2. Desync- Major problem in this game with several of the melee builds like cyclone. Lesser of a problem for casters/ranged.

    3. Lag issues- Dropping, I suspect over the next several months this will be a thing of the past.

    4. No real PVP system for those who care, for those who don't..... no negaitive here.

    I do believe that if they fix the trade system, get the drop/craft RNG lessened, and fix desync/lag this game currently has the potential to be the WOW of the ARPG market. However it will only be a niche game (50.000 players) if they don't correct these areas over the next few months. Only time will tell now.

    Again overall score 75/100 with potential to be 97/100
    Expand
  18. Jan 31, 2014
    5
    Almost giving it a 7, semi hard core to hard core players please read on for perspective.
    Way too many posters here did not level past 60.
    8 for concepts Would be 9.5 out of 10 but the huge exception of crafting. For end game be prepared to farm for endless hours to attempt to upgrade gear. Imagine farming thousands of crafting items and maybe not get premium item upgraded. And it
    Almost giving it a 7, semi hard core to hard core players please read on for perspective.
    Way too many posters here did not level past 60.

    8 for concepts
    Would be 9.5 out of 10 but the huge exception of crafting.
    For end game be prepared to farm for endless hours to attempt to upgrade gear. Imagine farming thousands of crafting items and maybe not get premium item upgraded. And it took thousands of drops and crafting items to get there. Now you can trade but there is no formal trading system. If you want a 2nd and 3rd part time job well this is your bread and butter. Want to somewhat gear a few characters past 70, good luck. It is better if you trade constantly for marginal gains, but imagine logging on and spamming trade chat every day getting your for sale equipment listed on 3rd party sites instead of playing.

    5 for Connectivity
    DESYNC will kill you. If you like to use skill at the margins in stead of power spamming be prepared to be annoyed. There are really cool races for points for a few mediocre items that are enjoyable but the better I do at these races is most correlated to managing desync. Hardcore leagues you have to really spec defensively and or group. If you play casual for end game a death costs you 10% of a level of experience although it won't drop you a level.

    I paid up because I feel like supporting the direction of game design they tried, but they would be much better off as a division of Blizzard getting some bandwidth, proper PR and support charging a few bucks a month. The free to play unless you want cool visuals or reasonable inventory space is weak for long term viability. The made huge leaps from D2 and yet made some rookie mistakes all at the same time.

    I can only pray someone comes along and learns from their mistakes. Happily ready to pay 10-20$ a month for that privilege.
    Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Path of Exile is a free to play ARPG. The appeal of the game is the depth and complexity that can go into creating your characters. The passive tree is a large web of skills, and crucial decisions to how your character will be play are made in here. Players are free to navigate the tree any way they want. The tree supports the skill gems that a character uses, which can be linked togetherPath of Exile is a free to play ARPG. The appeal of the game is the depth and complexity that can go into creating your characters. The passive tree is a large web of skills, and crucial decisions to how your character will be play are made in here. Players are free to navigate the tree any way they want. The tree supports the skill gems that a character uses, which can be linked together with support gems to change the way a certain skill will work. At first glance, this is all very complicated, but after a little experience it all clicks together and makes sense.

    The complexity of the game only really applies to the character creation. The combat itself is lackluster, mainly because the monsters are unimaginative and lack any real challenge or AI. The only challenge at points are often only based on the quality of gear your character has managed to find. Having life and high resistances is nearly mandatory, however finding gear is rare and is completely random. Crafting is mainly just gambling, with no way to predetermine what you can roll on your gear.

    The funnest part is when your character begins to really come together. When your passive tree, skill gems and gear are synced up together your character starts to feel powerful. The only problem is getting to that point can take forever. At the upper levels, you will need to spend hours grinding areas for enough experience and gear to comfortably head into the next zone. Gaining enough experience starts to really slow down and the grind can become boring.

    I think this game is great on paper. In reality it's a decent game that has a lot of flaws. It can too often become a boring grind, with monsters that are just too vanilla. There are also a few technical issues that can really hurt the playing experience. The netcode will often cause your character to warp to a different spot and the graphical demands on your computer are too high for the actual graphical quality. The game requires a lot of patience from the player.
    Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    A average game that despite some clever ideas, doesn't really play out well. In the end it becomes a very grindy hack'n'slash with poor, laggy, and uninspired combat.
  21. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    Think diablo 2 clone with better graphics and more interesting skill system, and you get Path of Exile. Nothing more, nothing less. Free to play is a good model for this game, it's not pay to win.
  22. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    How harsh can you be on a game that's free? That being said there are a lot of things that rubbed me the wrong way about PoE. The most important one is the complete focus on it being an *action RPG*. I will for instance claim that Diablo1 was a "hack-n-slash-RPG". And I will claim that Diablo 2 was a "hack-n-slah-RPG". I will however claim that both Diablo 3 and PoE are pure "action RPGs".How harsh can you be on a game that's free? That being said there are a lot of things that rubbed me the wrong way about PoE. The most important one is the complete focus on it being an *action RPG*. I will for instance claim that Diablo1 was a "hack-n-slash-RPG". And I will claim that Diablo 2 was a "hack-n-slah-RPG". I will however claim that both Diablo 3 and PoE are pure "action RPGs".

    What do I mean by this? What I mean is that Diablo 1 & 2 were hack-n-slash games but the focus was still on the RPG elements, story and character progression. Diablo 3 and PoE on the other hand focuses entirely on killing as many monsters as fast as possible and simply getting better gear, to face more monsters. There are very few RPG elements in PoE, there is very little reason for you to move forward in the game other than to "grind". For me this utterly destroys the game since it feels very shallow and devoid of meaning.

    Just like Diablo3 is PoE a decent time-killer if you just want to sit down and kill some monsters for a couple of hours. But just like Diablo 3 it's nowhere near the story telling genius we had in Diablo 1 & 2.
    Expand
  23. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    I've played an analyzed this past year's biggest ARPGs; D3, Torchlight 2, and Path of Exile. Torchlight 2 is the best, Path of Exile is next, while D3 is last. PoE is a good game, no denying that. Good combat mechanics and skills. Unfortunately this is combated by poor map exploration (due to map color; blank space indicates where you are while a line-pattern indicates the boundaries,I've played an analyzed this past year's biggest ARPGs; D3, Torchlight 2, and Path of Exile. Torchlight 2 is the best, Path of Exile is next, while D3 is last. PoE is a good game, no denying that. Good combat mechanics and skills. Unfortunately this is combated by poor map exploration (due to map color; blank space indicates where you are while a line-pattern indicates the boundaries, its confusing). The environments are bland without any real depth. The environments are also extremely bleak and depressing. The camera is zoomed in too far compared to D3 or Torchlight, and there is no option to zoom it out further. When I am trying to explore or being ambushed by a mob, it helps to have the extra vision.

    Overall, great game considering its free.
    Expand
  24. Dec 23, 2013
    5
    You get what you pay for! In this case, that amounts to an entertaining side-scroller that's free and easy to learn. User forums and support are generally friendly and helpful. An asset is the ability to develop your alter in any number of directions with the vast talent tree. I have trouble getting immersed due to the fixed, high-angle perspective. Also game-play gets very repetitious atYou get what you pay for! In this case, that amounts to an entertaining side-scroller that's free and easy to learn. User forums and support are generally friendly and helpful. An asset is the ability to develop your alter in any number of directions with the vast talent tree. I have trouble getting immersed due to the fixed, high-angle perspective. Also game-play gets very repetitious at times. Although you mainly play in an instance by yourself, save points are few and far between. It strives for an open-world feel but you may feel severely constrained and numbed by the milieu. I haven't ventured into the PvP part of this game, and that's not my forte anyhow. The game seems solo-able and I haven't found much in the way of fellowship opportunities. For fantasy role-playing fans, Skyrim and Guild Wars 2 seem much superior experiences, or you can wait a few months of Elder Scrolls Online. Expand
  25. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    This is a great game (similar to Diablo gameplay) but what's with the region locked!!!??? I was playing from Australia and need to travel out of country to work for months. After I have updated my Steam Client, it has locked me out from continuing. Please update the system to trace the user profile and not the network IP!!!!!

    I also agreed with some comments on the chat system - the
    This is a great game (similar to Diablo gameplay) but what's with the region locked!!!??? I was playing from Australia and need to travel out of country to work for months. After I have updated my Steam Client, it has locked me out from continuing. Please update the system to trace the user profile and not the network IP!!!!!

    I also agreed with some comments on the chat system - the chat screen is way too big which block a big area of your screen.....
    Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Path of Exile is a game with a lot of good ideas damaged by some poor execution. The world is fittingly dark for people who enjoy that (most of the ARPG audience I suspect) but it is too afraid to get away from that, and most of your time staring at the same grey, brown, gloom over and over. For people who can't get enough of that, that's fine, but some variety wouldn't go amiss. Act 3 hasPath of Exile is a game with a lot of good ideas damaged by some poor execution. The world is fittingly dark for people who enjoy that (most of the ARPG audience I suspect) but it is too afraid to get away from that, and most of your time staring at the same grey, brown, gloom over and over. For people who can't get enough of that, that's fine, but some variety wouldn't go amiss. Act 3 has a few areas of contrast, but you're soon back into the gloom, it just gets kind of repetitive.

    The passive tree is neat, but it does more to offer players ways to screw up their character than ways to customize. The keystones are neat, and allow real ways to modify your character in meaningful ways, but the path to get there is very boring with lots of +10 stat nodes, and often, if you take the wrong path, you could find yourself getting one shot before you've even completed the second difficulty.

    Because regardless of how you build your character, you need a lot of HP to survive, or you'll find your health globe yo-yoing all over the place. Considering there are no easy re-specs, you could find yourself trudging through the aforementioned boring gloomy areas just so you can slightly tweak your character to be able to take a hit or two.

    I think it's a good game for something that's free, but if I had to pay for it, I wouldn't recommend it.
    Expand
  27. Oct 28, 2013
    6
    This game brings interesting currency and skill systems. The action skills themselves are hit or miss, better than TL2, but not as polished or satisfying as D3. All the currencies may seem daunting at first, but combined with the loot system, they give a good balance and longevity.

    The world is gloomy and gritty, which is refreshing to see after all the cartoony that most games seem to
    This game brings interesting currency and skill systems. The action skills themselves are hit or miss, better than TL2, but not as polished or satisfying as D3. All the currencies may seem daunting at first, but combined with the loot system, they give a good balance and longevity.

    The world is gloomy and gritty, which is refreshing to see after all the cartoony that most games seem to push. However, I find the world and its characters entirely impersonal and forgettable. This takes away from the immersion and really exposes the game for what it is an endless grind.

    Lack of passive skill respecs is a major drawback for this game. I imagine this is blasphemy to those that enjoy POE, but "fun through restriction and repetition" is a concept that i never found enjoyable. Tried to level a Summoner Witch but hit a brick wall? Tough luck, go reroll.

    This could be a fun game if you have 100s of hours to invest in it, but in this day an age with so many options out there it would have to be truly exceptional. Which I don't think this game is.
    Expand
  28. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    There is a semi decent game, but I can't put up with only being able to see about a 10 foot square of it. The view is TINY tiny tiny. Crazy, can't see how it gets such good scores.
  29. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    Take away the F2P and you have a very, very average ARPG. The skill tree that looks so amazing at first glance is entirely passive, so you will spend all your points increasing health by X% or damage by Y%. The graphics are good, but overall the world felt uninspired. The trading and economy could have been done better, and there being no gold or money really annoys me for some reason.Take away the F2P and you have a very, very average ARPG. The skill tree that looks so amazing at first glance is entirely passive, so you will spend all your points increasing health by X% or damage by Y%. The graphics are good, but overall the world felt uninspired. The trading and economy could have been done better, and there being no gold or money really annoys me for some reason. Netcode is very spotty, and endgame is extremely grindy, though to be fair most ARPGs are like that. I think if I had spent money on this I would have walked away feeling disappointed. Expand
  30. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    Path of Exile is a Free, free-to-play, that is definitely not pay-to-win. I've seen a lot of people complaining about there being no offline solo. Well, this is technically an MMO. It's completely worth the price (free) and might keep you occupied for 40+ hours, so the only thing to complain about is the horrible latency problem (it's not horrible, but it's noticeable). Now for myPath of Exile is a Free, free-to-play, that is definitely not pay-to-win. I've seen a lot of people complaining about there being no offline solo. Well, this is technically an MMO. It's completely worth the price (free) and might keep you occupied for 40+ hours, so the only thing to complain about is the horrible latency problem (it's not horrible, but it's noticeable). Now for my personal rating scale.

    The Girlfriends Review

    Enjoyable Story/Lore: 1.7/2.0
    Fun with Friends: 1.8/2.0
    Gameplay/Combat: 1.3/2.0
    Engine Feel, Latency: 1.0/2.0
    Game Mechanics: 1.5/2.0

    Total: 7.3/10.0

    Summary: This game is definitely worth playing, even if it only scored a 7.3 on the GF scale
    Expand
  31. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    I will give this game a 5 out of 10. Why you ask? Well, 5 points for a fun game. Minus 5 points for not being able to trade in global chat. I tried to sell my end game gear in global chat and was warned by the moderators not to post them in global chat. Well, suck my motherfu*king co*k! So, that is why I gave the game a 5 out of 10.
  32. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    Purely luck based.

    POE is the "unofficial successor" to the eminently respectable Diablo 2. And while it has inherited some good points it also inherited all the bad things. To bring it to the point: This game is completely luck based. Player Skill and the skilling itself (called passives here) are more or less irrelevant compared to the items. In this game you have to find the right
    Purely luck based.

    POE is the "unofficial successor" to the eminently respectable Diablo 2. And while it has inherited some good points it also inherited all the bad things. To bring it to the point: This game is completely luck based. Player Skill and the skilling itself (called passives here) are more or less irrelevant compared to the items. In this game you have to find the right items, the right number of sockets in these items, the right color of sockets, the right skills and so on. If you run out of luck on just one of these you hit a wall at lvl 50 that you cant pass.
    Of course in order to give the player a chance you can use "orbs" to change the properties of an item, but that is also purely luck based. You can use one orb to get the desired result, or you can use 1000. I wanted to change the number of sockets on one item in order to use a skill with the needed amount of linked support skills. For that I used up ALL orbs I found in the game so far (like 50 hours) and I didnt get one step closer to the needed amount of sockets (wanted to change it from 3 to at least 4, never got more than 3 even though up to 6 are possible).
    Like in Diablo 2 the good items are only possible to find in areas where you wont be able to get without having luck in the first place, which turns this game into a stupid grind game (half of the party lobbies are farming lobbies with people running around in the same area for hours cause they cant continue the real game without a lucky drop). that may have been ok 12 years ago (in Diablo 2), but today thats just bad. Therefore this game is only for die hard fans of Diablo 2, who want to get the same game with better graphics. Those who want to play a game thats "up to date" should play Torchlight II instead.
    Expand
  33. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    I've logged about 200 hours with this game and gotten couple characters to final stages of merciless difficulty, and had mostly a good time.

    The game picks up slow at the start, but quickly gets going. You smash foes collect loot, and develop your character. The character development is unforgiving, forcing you to think what skills to pick, a glass cannon with massive dps might sound
    I've logged about 200 hours with this game and gotten couple characters to final stages of merciless difficulty, and had mostly a good time.

    The game picks up slow at the start, but quickly gets going. You smash foes collect loot, and develop your character.

    The character development is unforgiving, forcing you to think what skills to pick, a glass cannon with massive dps might sound cool and it will even work on normal and up to cruel difficulty levels, but beyond that it will be very hard to be advancing with such a build, so if you want to go the distance you have to sacrifice dps in favour of survivability. This is all very good in my opinion and for new players there is no need to be afraid of the massive skill tree, you'll be navigating it in no time.

    The journey up to about mid merciless difficulty is a lot of fun, and can be done by most build with self gearing. At about lvl 65+ is where the grind starts to set it and the game becomes very much an elitist affair.

    Because there are so many mods on a given piece of equipment, a good combination of these is very rare, and you need good equipment to be doing merciless difficulty without too much frustration. So there really two choices, grind the same map over, and over and over again, in hopes that one of those rares that drop are actually worth anything, or sell your soul and trade for some gear with other players.

    I like steady progression with these kinds of games and there is literally an artificial block put in place in Path of Exile. One of my character is doing Piety and Dominus runs because they are the best bosses for low tear end game gear, but those are same bosses on the same maps populated by the same monsters. And after doing this for a week, with xp bar craaaaaawling slowly forward I must say the game got really boring.

    XP bar crawls forward a bit faster in maps, which are random areas with high lvl monsters, but even there, there is only so much to see and do. While Grindin Gear Games doesn't charge you to play the game, most other players at high levels will, for allowing you the privilege of joining them on a high lvl map run.

    Well to make long story short the game stops being fun at later stages, but definitely worth playing though. Oh and if you are playing for any significant amount of time, remember the game is free, but devs definitely deserve a reward for making a good game, don't be a cheap skate, spend some cash in their "cosmetic stuff only" shop.
    Expand
  34. Oct 16, 2014
    7
    Quite a good, enjoyable game. Fun for a while. But like with usual hack and slash games, I got bored with it after a while, just feels a bit too repetitive and only about loot and not much else.
  35. Nov 28, 2014
    7
    This game is very complex and customizable, which requires good planning and strategy. The more you play the more you find it enjoyable. You can play however you like, there is little to no restrictions your personal style, if you wan't to play an archer Witch, you can. If you want to make personal build, why not? A lots of new content updated every month. The developers of this game isThis game is very complex and customizable, which requires good planning and strategy. The more you play the more you find it enjoyable. You can play however you like, there is little to no restrictions your personal style, if you wan't to play an archer Witch, you can. If you want to make personal build, why not? A lots of new content updated every month. The developers of this game is very friendly and listens to the community closely. Do not let the learning curve/game mechanics hold you down! Expand
  36. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    When I first played the game in closed beta about TWO years ago, I thought the visuals looked pretty promising although I expected they would still be a bit improved, the animations (both character and vegetation) looked a bit stiff, there was quite a bit of clipping while walking around, there were issues with footsteps being heard even though no enemies were around and possibly more. IWhen I first played the game in closed beta about TWO years ago, I thought the visuals looked pretty promising although I expected they would still be a bit improved, the animations (both character and vegetation) looked a bit stiff, there was quite a bit of clipping while walking around, there were issues with footsteps being heard even though no enemies were around and possibly more. I felt that the gameplay was great and now they just had to work on the presentation.
    But over those two years, not ONE of the things I just mentioned was fixed (there is also no sound via SPDIF something I've never experienced before and an issue that was reported to them a long time ago). It seems to me they only worked on more and more content. And apparently, that's what people enjoy. Good for them. But not for me. Personally, I don't care about one playthrough taking 100 hours (or whatever I haven't actually finished the game and possibly never will). I'd rather have 20 hours of a game that is all-around polished. And if you happen to feel like that too, try The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing instead. That felt a lot more like a top notch ARPG, despite having its own minor flaws.
    Expand
  37. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Despite being free, it's better than Diablo 3. There are some interesting concepts here, the barter system, the skill tree and the weapon gem systems. Really though, this is a hack and slash game at its core and it does a good enough job.
  38. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    Pretty fun hack and slash with decent story. Played game about 60 to 70 hours total game time playing 3 different class types until i realized how frustratingly complex this game is. Even with the 15 plus hours i went through guides, builds, understanding different moves etc. this game just drained me. I think this is good for people that have no life because it is soooo time consuming inPretty fun hack and slash with decent story. Played game about 60 to 70 hours total game time playing 3 different class types until i realized how frustratingly complex this game is. Even with the 15 plus hours i went through guides, builds, understanding different moves etc. this game just drained me. I think this is good for people that have no life because it is soooo time consuming in order for it to be effective. I think game could be sooo much better if re-spec was so much easier. The fact you get through the game and realize you should've gone a different rout, your better off re-rolling a new character which sucks. Expand
  39. Nov 27, 2013
    6
    What's not to like? It's free.. it looks good.. it's a damned site more impressive than Diablo 3 (just for variety of skills, etc.)
    You've got nothing to lose by trying it I was pleasantly surprised!
    :)
  40. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    a good diablo 3 clone.
    Nice scene,a nice rpg,gameplay feels better than other arpgs.Overall it has all the things that diablo 3 was missing.Although the grind,it is addictive without noticing too much of it.
  41. May 23, 2014
    6
    This game is focused on too much to be like D2 in artstyle and character builds, it just lacks fun.
    Embeding skills into gear is just a ridiculous idea.
    Giant skill tree seems good at first but lose your way in midway and you have to go get some help from community at some point. There are no ragdoll physics or anything, and animations are a little bit rough around the edges. But it's
    This game is focused on too much to be like D2 in artstyle and character builds, it just lacks fun.
    Embeding skills into gear is just a ridiculous idea.
    Giant skill tree seems good at first but lose your way in midway and you have to go get some help from community at some point.
    There are no ragdoll physics or anything, and animations are a little bit rough around the edges. But it's acceptable for a f2p game I guess.

    I couldn't finish the game, it just got too boring.
    Expand
  42. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    Path of Exile along with DotA 2 are the best F2P games I've ever played. Content-wise there's really nothing to complain about.
    As an ARPG, it isn't as fluid and beautiful as Diablo 3 - but it has that oldschool feeling and gameplay that facilitates user interaction, very similar to Diablo 2.
    The complaints I have about this game would be that it's somewhat rigid, unstable difficulty
    Path of Exile along with DotA 2 are the best F2P games I've ever played. Content-wise there's really nothing to complain about.
    As an ARPG, it isn't as fluid and beautiful as Diablo 3 - but it has that oldschool feeling and gameplay that facilitates user interaction, very similar to Diablo 2.

    The complaints I have about this game would be that it's somewhat rigid, unstable difficulty scaling and that the current desync problems make it a game unfit for Hardcore or certain builds.
    Expand
  43. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    Path of Exile is clearly a labour of love. It's a wonderful game with some fresh ideas and good mechanics that breaths some more life into the traditional ARPG format.

    It is similar to Diablo 3, Torchlight 2 and Titan Quest in general gameplay. All your standard things such as levelling up, loot, random levels and monster slaying are here. Where it differs from the aforementioned games
    Path of Exile is clearly a labour of love. It's a wonderful game with some fresh ideas and good mechanics that breaths some more life into the traditional ARPG format.

    It is similar to Diablo 3, Torchlight 2 and Titan Quest in general gameplay. All your standard things such as levelling up, loot, random levels and monster slaying are here. Where it differs from the aforementioned games is the skill and level-up system, which is an interesting change. As you level up, you gain passive skill points to spend on things such as damage, armour, critical chance etc.

    You gain your active skills from a variety of different gems, which can be freely plopped into items you find - and taken out without a fuss. This allows you to quickly swap skills in and out - completely changing your play-style in a matter of seconds. These gems also level-up with you and become more powerful. You can create powerful combos by linking support gems with active skills to augment your favourites.

    This balance between "permanent" passive skills and changeable active skills is actually really good and works well together. You can still build a character to exactly what you want - and the passive skill "tree" is absolutely huge.

    Different classes start the game at different points in the skill tree, meaning they can gain access to abilities that suit them best earlier than other classes, but it also means, with a bit of work, you can turn pretty much any class in the game to do something different. It's unique and very well rounded.

    As a free-to-play game, it's a must try for anyone that likes the format. It's a great game, made even better by being free to play. At no point does it feel like you *have* to pay to get the most out of it, like some other FTP games I have tried in the past.

    Go on, give it a whirl, it's free!

    Jimbo Rating: 7/10
    Expand
  44. Aug 13, 2017
    7
    Update after 3.0:

    Path of Exile is great in many areas, but somehow still no fun. They got a lot of things right, but one very wrong: Diablo always allowed you to jump into the game and enjoy it without spending time planning builds, buying items etc. Try that in PoE and you will get slaughtered. You can't even level up, because the constant deaths take away all the XP. Even when you
    Update after 3.0:

    Path of Exile is great in many areas, but somehow still no fun. They got a lot of things right, but one very wrong: Diablo always allowed you to jump into the game and enjoy it without spending time planning builds, buying items etc. Try that in PoE and you will get slaughtered. You can't even level up, because the constant deaths take away all the XP. Even when you can kill most things easily, you keep getting one-hitted by bosses. The only way around this is knowing every in and out of the game and having exactly the right build and items.

    So if you like planning and building your character more than actually playing the game, PoE is for you. If it's the other way around, it is not. This is not a game that you can mindlessly enjoy for a few minutes every day. It makes you work for everything.

    + Very complex skill system with endless build possibilities.
    + Fluid combat and good controls.
    + Brings back the Diablo 2 atmosphere and gameplay.
    + Ladder system and fun challenges.
    + Good content updates.
    + Free to play, but not pay to win. Very fair and good shop system.

    - There's no other end game content except maps. All normal maps are too low to get any XP on.
    - The end game maps get boring after a while and managing them is tedious.
    - Game mechanics are not explained at all. I didn't know about ascension until a player told me about it.
    - Bad mini map (exactly like the one in D2).
    - No ingame trading system. There are decent websites, but it's still tedious.
    - The skill tree is often changed and reset. I don't wanna spend so much time thinking of a new build and re-allocating all the skills after every patch, on all my characters. They don't even help the player by indicating which skills he had chosen before, it's just "f*ck you, your build is gone".
    In a game like Diablo 2, resetting the skill tree would be acceptable, but if you have a game like PoE with billions (?) of skill combinations, you have to find a better way to not f*ck over the players time and time again.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2014
    100
    Grinding Gear Games has created something special here, and given it gratis to the world.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 11, 2014
    88
    Hack & slash games are addictive because they follow a simple formula: kill, kill and kill some more. Path of Exile is no different in this regard. During your quest in the perilous continent of Wraeclast you need to slay thousands and thousands of monsters but it never gets boring because there are a plenty of fresh ideas like the very vast skill system and barter-based economy that differentiate it from other similar games. But it's not a perfect game. The story is weak and the difficulty level is too low in the beginning. [Dec 2013]
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    84
    An exceptionally generous free-to-play action-rPG. What it lacks in punch it makes up for in depth and value for money.