Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 979 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 286
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome, the graphics have been improved a lot and other features like putting bodies in bags make this gamer exiting. This is a good game, the price es good only 30 dollars and you will have a lot of fun playing with your friends. There are people who say that the game closes all the time and crashes, but it doesn't happen often just one time after playing five hours if this happens again. I remain you that all new games that are released suffer this kind of problems but then are fixed and the games become good to play. Overkill is making efforts releasing many updating for the improvement of the game to solve these issues described above. For these people who say that the game is not worthy let me tell you that all of you are wrong. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Im enjoying it as much as I have with left for dead 2, the co-op is priceless, not only have I been searching for co-op games, but I have found one that has rpg elements Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    FIX THE MOUSE LAG! Ok, now the real review.

    Mouse lag is a serious problem in this game, but I do hold out hope that it will be fixed
    eventually.

    The heists you can commit are honestly some of the best fun I've had in a video game in a while. The strategy that goes into committing a stealth heist is fun, and the feeling of accomplishment you get from going full stealth in a mission is unequaled.

    Sometimes the AI for the enemies seems like it cheats. This is only really when you are walking behind them or hiding and they see you anyway. It's ruined more that one heist for me, though it's still fun to shoot your way out.

    Pretty good game though, would highly recommend picking it up.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    The game is a huge improvement on the original Payday: The Heist. It plays well and most of the missions allow stealth as an alternative to shooting, which is great. There are a few things that bother me, though. Guards sometimes seem to have eyes on their backs, the online play has synchronization issues between players and enemy hit-boxes don't quite match up with their model while an animation, such as staggering, is being played on them.

    The guns seem pretty generic, but there are some that are very enjoyable to use. The ability to take a saw as your primary weapon and grab a submachine gun to go with it as secondary is awesome. Some guns lack the feeling that they actually deal damage because of their sound. Weapons can be customized to a great degree from silencers and sights to stocks and barrels. Almost anything you would customize in your favorite weapon, you can, except for visuals.

    Mask customization is a big part of the game, too. After each successful job, you get a payday that consists of money, experience and a card draw. From this card you can get masks, weapon parts, money, materials, patterns and colors. Materials and patterns can be put on your mask and colors can be used to further customize the patterns. I would criticize the developer for the fact that you can only customize a mask once, but it adds to the longevity of the game. Once you have finalized your customization, you need to acquire the same mask again to switch a pattern or material, or both.

    Unlockable abilities are a great mixture of something you would expect and things that aren't found in most games of its kind. There are many things that they kept from the original game, but also many that are totally new to the series.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    Before you read this I want to point out the fact that this score is based off playing the multiplayer SOLO, no friends and playing with randoms. This game is fun for the first couple of hours playing with randoms, until you realize the payday community is filled with a bunch of pricks. Basically you will see level 50-60s in a level 1 mission then boot you for being to low a rank. People will expect you to know what to do right out the gate, and will quit at the slightest hint of the mission not going their way. Also if the host of the mission quits, and they will, the game will shut down completely, and you will lose all the cash, xp, and gear you should have gotten. The missions are also very repetitive. All bank jobs are of the exact same bank, the only difference is what is inside the vault. You will see the same problem repeatedly throughout the game. With friends the game gets an 8/10, but if you play this solo with randoms it gets a 6/10 Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    From launch until Death Wish I loved this game, me and a group of friends (we aren't very good) we quickly playing Overkill heists which felt wrong - but this was patched and knocked us down to Hard loud heists and Overkill stealth heists. We were fine with this because we were having fun.

    The Death Wish patch has ruined stealth, in my opinion (although it is echoed on Steam forums) and although the loud heists are relatively unaffected by the latest patch, I feel like I am only getting half of the game now, so for now I have sidelined the game and am hoping for a patch to correct what they have done. I would love to rate this game 9, possibly even the full 10, but that was a couple of days ago and this is now.

    Current state: Awful
    Expand

See all 286 User Reviews