Payday 2 PC

Payday 2 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3498 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything fromPAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked upSo much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2016
    9
    Prueben un mod y hablamos :3 xD
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!! BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!! BUY
    Prueben un mod y hablamos :3 xD
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    BUY GOTY OR YOU GONNA HATE IT!!!
    hates gona hate!
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    The graphics aren't amazing, and it still lags a ton even in 800x600, and the same computer runs almost every game in at least 1280x768 withThe graphics aren't amazing, and it still lags a ton even in 800x600, and the same computer runs almost every game in at least 1280x768 with all settings high and no lag at all.
    I love Payday, but this game is just so optimized that I can't even play it.
    Still giving it a 1 because it LOOKS like a fun game.
    Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2016
    0
    microtransactions are killing this amazing game. 2013 - best PC game. But only 2013,2014.
    Amir lied. Game filled with bugs, DLC's and now
    microtransactions are killing this amazing game. 2013 - best PC game. But only 2013,2014.
    Amir lied. Game filled with bugs, DLC's and now micro-transactions.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2015
    0
    Overkill flat out lied to the player base when they said no microtransactions. We already have more than $100 in DLC on top of the base game,Overkill flat out lied to the player base when they said no microtransactions. We already have more than $100 in DLC on top of the base game, but apparently that's not enough money. Don't get me wrong, this game is fantastic and still one of my favorites, but when the company lies like that, then talks down to the community for being angry, I just have to stop playing. Do not give any more money to Overkill; they don't deserve any money. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2015
    0
    Was promised no microtransactions. Now we are given Payday 2 CSGO edition. New update introduced horrible balance with a pay to win system.Was promised no microtransactions. Now we are given Payday 2 CSGO edition. New update introduced horrible balance with a pay to win system. Makes the game unfair and completely ignores people who put tons of money and time into the game. I used to love this game but now I don't play it anymore. Its the same story all over. Absolutely destroyed the community in the process of all this. This game will die soon unless the developer changes something right now. Most of the people I know are already turning to other alternatives. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2015
    0
    Been playing since 2013, I clearly see where overkill and payday 2's downfall are at.
    Overkill promised no microtransactions and they put it
    Been playing since 2013, I clearly see where overkill and payday 2's downfall are at.
    Overkill promised no microtransactions and they put it ingame anyway.

    That is coming from someone with 2k+ gamehours and have bought all DLCs excpet the clover character pack and the alesso heist DLC.
    Expand

See all 1549 User Reviews