Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will embark on a spectacular crime spree of six heart stopping heists, including blasting their way through a downtown bank vault robbery, managing hostages in an armored car hijacking and even a midnight infiltration of a top-secret, high-security facility. Additionally, PAYDAY: The Heist challenges players with dynamic environments and adaptive enemy tactics - meaning no scenario will ever play out the same way twice. Teamwork is essential to ensure crew members provide cover under fire, guard key access points, break through various security measures and keep civilians in check. Survive wave after wave of the best that law enforcement can deploy as they shift strategies in response to player actions and gameplay style. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    One of the best ways to spend 20 bucks. Incredibly strong and fascinating online action. [December 2011, p.83]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Payday: The Heist is maybe Left 4 Cops, but still a very good interpretation with nice own ideas. Continous, massive cop slaughtering could use some tweaking, as it gets somewhat monotonous. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    Payday: The Heist is one of the biggest surprises of this hot autumn market, marked by triple-A titles of absolute value. If you have 2 or 3 friends to play with, the title Overkill is a highly recommended purchase. Our congratulations to the developers for the insight: we hope to continue to support their creature with new additional missions and already we dream a sequel with an advanced AI and techinal sector. A must for lovers of the co-op.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    78
    Bottom line, it might not have all the bells and whistles that the blockbuster FPS games that are being released, but it doesn't have the same price tag, either. And you'll definitely get a lot of bang for your buck with this game.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    73
    Payday is already better than other low-budget multiplayer shooters (Lead and Gold, Killing Floor). It serves as a nice distraction after a hard day's work.
  6. 70
    Entertaining cooperative multiplayer is why you should try this unconventional shooter. Technical issues and obsolete visuals prevent a higher rating. [Jan 2012]
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Payday: The Heist has a brilliant concept at its heart, and that's further rounded out by some great art direction and some solid level design that makes a few of the missions real fun to play. Unfortunately, though, budget production values are evident in the graphics and limited selection of levels, and these factors inevitably come into conflict with a higher-than-expected price point.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 143
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    hahaha iu luv dis game fk hatres anyone hoo a8ts dis game is gayyyyyy lolololololololollololol i just think dis game deserves less bad reviews lulz haha Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Gladio77

    the idea of the game its to rob no to kill random people, i anderstand that you think its unrealistic but if they dont make those
    limits the game will change a lot. Collapse
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 to offset the IDIOTS that think ANY game, no matter how bad, deserves a 0 (as they did for the PS3 review). In actuality, the game is about an 8.5. It has solid graphics (not the best, but clean), and great gameplay. Most heists are a huge challenge on normal, and I can't even imagine playing them on the higher difficulties yet. Decide what to unlock by pressing tab then numbers 1-3 ingame, and you get additional skills and unlocks. The downside to it is some of the sound work and lack of direction on some of the heists. Do NOT play single player, multiplayer is where it's at. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    Upon playing about 25 hours with my friends I think it´s time for a rundown.
    Let´s start with the good things:
    - Incredibly
    Atmospheric: The music is some of the best I heard in a while and it really makes you feel the intensity of the battle and the quiet moments + the music at the end of a completed heist makes you really feel like a smart gangster.
    - Great Leveldesign: For people who say they hate that this game is only shooting, you aren´t really that right. There are more then one way for a lot of the missions. For Example Mercy Hospital, you can go in and play a game of chance with the Teddybear Chainsaw (shooting) or hold people hostage, shoot down the cameras, dress up as Doctors and get the blood from him without even killing one person and there are more examples, some are really just shoot missions but incredibly stylistic.
    - Customization: While it takes some time to get all of the items it is not really annoying because you always have a reason to do what you do as a player since every mission should be 1-2 Levels up. Plus the Items really differ, from Health Packs to Sentry Guns or Shotgun to SMG you got it, except Sniper Riffle but why would you snipe on a heist?
    - Great Co-Op experience: This is the most important point, you need to have 3 to 4 people playing this game with you and a Teampseak or Skype Server but if you do, oh my is this game fun. You really need to come up with a strategy if you want to do Achievements or beat the Overkill difficulty, and only one of you needs the DLC so that everyone can play (You still don´t have the Technician class but what counts are the maps). And if you don´t have friends, or they don´t like Videogames, there probably are some cool people you can meet on the Internet.

    But there are also some bad things about this game:
    - No Explanation: Until I figured out I was able to Change my Class (Tab + 1-3) I was already level 11 and even if I love the level design you can get easily lost, you will be right on your track a few seconds later but nontheless annoying.
    - Unrealistic: While you have the feeling of being an amazing sophisticated Robber, you really start wondering if you just killed the entire Police department of ... the USA and I don´t know but it just bugs me that the enemies are so numerous but so weak.
    - Difficulty: It is always challenging which is a good thing but sometimes the game just feels to pull out a **** you Card by letting a Spec Ops leap into you from above and knocking out 1-3 People instantly.

    Resume: Payday is an incredibly immersive and fun Co-Op Shooter which has tons of replay value and variety but has some problems here and there. All in all, definitely worth to check out if you have friends
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    I'm really not a fan of games where you don't need any shooting skills (guns without recoil and stuff like that). But Payday is AWESOME game!!!

    Gameplay score is pure 10!!! I'm giving 8 only because bad graphics and too less maps which make game repetitive. Don't be fooled with bad graphics! This game is deserved to be played!
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    This is a fun but casual co-op game, basacally you start on a map and have to complete several objectives and survive waves of law enforcement, theres no real story or plot, and there shouldnt be one, you can play this game for hours, or just quickly play a game or 2 before going tro work, this game does however need more content, the few available maps are not quite enough to stay intresting for too long and replayabillity would be higher if there was more. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Think of "Left 4 Dead", but with cops and robbers instead and about a million times harder. I don't know why the developers thought it'd be a good idea to make the game so fricking hard, but I won't be spending money on the second one. Expand

See all 143 User Reviews