Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pid is a unique platforming adventure game from Might and Delight.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Pid is an imaginative, well-designed platformer with all of the bells and whistles for the price of lunch.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    75
    Mixing up platforms and puzzles, Pid offers old-school difficulty and a very enjoyable experience. Definitely recommended for those who want to go back in time and make the most of a game that will bring us many hours of fun.
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    75
    Pid can best be described as a typical indie game: it offers a unique world, interesting audio-visual presentation and great platform gameplay with a twist. The gameplay does have some shortcomings, but overall it's a fun game.
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    68
    The learning curve ain't too steep for your average punter, but the overall difficulty is. The many, many deaths of Kurt can be demoralising and extremely frustrating; however despite this it does grow on you after a while - especially with another player to share the experience.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    65
    Pid's world is charming, graphics and music create a wonderful atmosphere and the puzzles are clever. But on the other hand the game punishes you for every mistake and could infuriate a Tibetan monk. [1/2013, p.66]
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The cold heart beneath the cuddly surface fits the dark tone of the game, which beneath all the whimsy tells a melancholy story. Even so, players drawn in by Pid's dreamy visuals might end up feeling betrayed.
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    Beautiful game, with some nice puzzles, ruined by your character's inability to perform the platforming as well as you need.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    The studio was partly responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, and although I was never a big fan of that game, I love PID.

    Joining the
    ranks of Bastion, Limbo and Braid - this game is one of my favourite XBLA releases to date. It's beautiful to behold, controls flawlessly (played using a 360 controller) and the soundtrack is AMAZING. The game echoes a lot of old school platformers but bring the premise to more modern standards. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    Everything about this game has it headed fast toward my list of personal classics. Immediately, the aesthetic is phenomenal. The graphical style is at once endearing and friendly, and dark and menacing. This is all accompanied by a soundtrack consisting mostly of this somber sort of jazz, the kind of sweet, slow sound that might make you imagine a coffeehouse at night or a smokey speakeasy. I all feels sort of dreamlike and eerie and draws you into its haze, but it never once feels out of place within its own world. Moving on to the actual gameplay, most of the puzzles are pretty interesting. Each new mechanic is introduced in a clever way before throwing you into a room that uses it, so you should never be rushing into a section that features something that you have absolutely no understanding of. The way the elements combine can often present you with a plethora of options for getting around a given obstacle, but amazingly without making the game feel simple. Even with all of your options, it feels challenging fairly frequently. Of course, the punishment for making mistakes is generally just returning to a checkpoint, which is only pertinent in the middle of a tough boss battle, when you have to restart after making an error. I would not consider this a downside, however; a great deal of the game's purpose is exploration and trying new things yourself, so punishing you severely for some idea not working would hamper the feel of this one big time. The combat (destroying enemies) is mostly based on using the environment to your advantage, which I'm always a big sucker for. There are bombs and such to deal direct damage, but you can only carry a handful, and fresh pickups of the attack items aren't exactly common.
    The platforming portion of the game does, I have to admit, come with its flaws. The controls aren't super tight; Kurt (your hero) is a pudgy little bugger, which you are often reminded of by his occasionally frustrating momentum. For the most part, your momentum making the controls feel loose isn't something that kills the game. It just takes a little time to understand that you have to be kissing a wall to stick directly to it instead of falling through your gravity beam, or that turns aren't exactly instant. There are two things that do get very irritating, however. When you have some extra hits, there is virtually no invulnerability time, but you do a little knock-back move. The end result is that it's very easy to get stun-locked; expect to lose all of your armour instead of just a peg if you get hit. Second, is that the burst beam item you get later is a touch dodgy. For regular use, it's fine, but there a couple puzzles that require precision and timing with it, which is fine. What is not fine is seeing the visual effect indicating that you did exactly what you were supposed to do, but seeing that it simply didn't take. Nothing is worse in a game than seeing that you did something optional and very difficult correctly and not receiving your dues for your success.

    Now, recommending this game is tricky. It really takes someone who likes to get lost in that kind of strange, stylized atmosphere, and liking both puzzle games and platformers is important as well. Anyone who meets all of these criteria, though, should find themselves engrossed and mesmerized by PID.
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Muy buen juego, no sé porque tiene nada más que un 6,3... Lo unico que podria justificarlo es la elevada dificultad que tiene. Pero esta realmente muy currado, y el estilo como que todos son marionetas me encanta :3 Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Don't expect a perfect platformer expect a charming interesting world with gorgeous graphics a sweeping score and unfortunately some bland sections and over the top difficulty. Collapse
  5. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    An absolute adorable game, with nice animation and nice music to relax you with some puzzles and platforming. Kinda reminds me of Deadlight but without any zombies, just... robots. But be warned! It can get boring really quickly, and me personally, I got so bored that I removed it from my PC which is a shame because the art looks nice... I mean who on earth would make a puzzle platformer this difficult 9 hours long!?! Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    3
    Well... this is the most beautiful and most frustrating game I've ever played... the 3d graphics are excellent and they were the only thing that kept me pushing forward. Whoever was level designer for this should be shot in the head and burned. At times it feels like Mario Frustration all over again... it's not about difficult puzzles or clever mechanics... you always know what you have to do... but executing it is frustrating and awful.
    The achievements are probably impossible to get too... all constelations? all souvenirs? sometimes you see the souvenir and you have to die 100 times til' planets align and you get them... boss fights with random mechanics like lights that follow you sometime make it extra frustrating... don't touch this, watch someone playing it online.
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2014
    0
    Forgot I even played this soon after uninstalling it. It's hard for me to review it because I can barely remember it now. I figured coming in to say that however was good enough for a review. I do remember getting this traded for me for a code I was giving away. I was like, "sure, whatever, no idea what that is, may as well take it and try it." I should have turned down this free game and just let him have the code for free. Games like this used to be free to play in your website's flash. Now they sell on Steam for money. Do yourself a favor. Go to a flash game website. There are tons of these, for free to play. Or buy any other platformer that exists instead. You could throw a rock out into the open ocean and probably hit a platformer better than this one now days. We're not exactly at a shortage for them.
    -Drain (Steam)
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews