PlanetSide 2 PC

PlanetSide 2 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PlanetSide 2 is an MMO FPS set in an online persistent world where the war wages non-stop and the balance of power shifts with every base and territory captured and lost.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    95
    Be warned though, this is a very addictive game, and it could spoil your previous favourite shooter with its incredible sense of scale. It's astonishing to see a free to play game deliver such a polished package, that also breaks new technological boundaries.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    As a mix of shooter and MMO, PlanetSide 2 is nothing short of a triumph: not quite the best of both worlds, but certainly the best attempt anyone has ever made to fuse them together. Alone, it's worth checking out just to witness its epic scale for yourself - and with the right friends by your side, PlanetSide 2 is an unforgettable experience.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jan 16, 2013
    90
    Playing solo? Dock ten points. Otherwise, this is one of the online PC games for thrills. [Feb 2013, p.91]
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    While some may argue there are better options in the market, Planetside 2 could stand on its toes with an ERP of 50€. Since it's absolutely free, simply blasts every competitor away.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The feeling of potencythat grips you when you storm through the map alongside hundreds of your allies is one of a kind. Neither Call of Duty nor Battlefield can provide you with this impression of taking part in something grand. [1/2013, p.56]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 21, 2012
    80
    Free-to-play online shooters have a new player in the field. If you prefer large scale battles PlanetSide 2 offers great potential. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    SoE had a clear goal in mind with Planetside 2: the same game with prettier graphics and more accessibility. In both regards, it's a success. The massive war atmosphere is there. Let's hope that it will evolve in order to trump a possible weariness of the basic war mechanics with new stuff and a storytelling element that writer Marv Wolfman could contribute.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Brilliant. The start can be grinding but once you've learn what to do then it's amazing! 250+ hours in game and I am not stopping. TheBrilliant. The start can be grinding but once you've learn what to do then it's amazing! 250+ hours in game and I am not stopping. The combined arms can be frustrating but with a little planning and teamwork can be pure bliss. A year on and this game is only getting better. 10/10 Expand
  2. May 26, 2015
    10
    Best game to use cheats on and it's free. Love to use esp, aimbot and teleport. When I get banned I just make a new account. Players get madBest game to use cheats on and it's free. Love to use esp, aimbot and teleport. When I get banned I just make a new account. Players get mad and send me private messages saying they reported me. As if that's gonna work. Keep them coming boys. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Best FPS i've played in a long time. Do you like large open maps? Ok, how about an entire planet?? So much better than Battlefield games, andBest FPS i've played in a long time. Do you like large open maps? Ok, how about an entire planet?? So much better than Battlefield games, and its FREE. Totally worth at least trying it out. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Planetside 2, is one of the most impressive games I have played in terms of scale. The maps, or "continents" that you fight on are enormousPlanetside 2, is one of the most impressive games I have played in terms of scale. The maps, or "continents" that you fight on are enormous and simulates a real war, requiring both skill and strategy in order to be successful. For a F2P game it is definitely worth a try. Saying this, however, planetside 2 has some frustrating flaws in ts presentation.
    Pros: The game is huge in scale and beautiful in look. Large fights with Platoons can be very fast-paced and exciting. Free-to play.
    Cons: Planetside 2 requires a decently strong computer to play and its scale can lead to a lot of travelling on foot just to get into a gunfight. Newcomers have very little room to improve and the game is easily dominated by those who have more experience. "Certs" the points with which you use to purchase upgrades take a long time to get and in order to unlock a gun you must play for a great deal of time. Lastly, the any vehicle can quickly kill you, which leads to many frustrating moments while playing.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    The good... Maps are amazing, sound is great, grafics are good for a game of this scale, it's free. The bad... bugs, no in-game tutorials,The good... Maps are amazing, sound is great, grafics are good for a game of this scale, it's free. The bad... bugs, no in-game tutorials, hard learning curve, pay-to-win. And more importantly... you fight for nothing. The last point is what annoys me the most about this game. I would have given it a good 8 or even 9, but i have to be honest. You virtually fight for nothing. The continent is persistent and each faction has a safe zone near their gate that cannot be conquered. This means that no empire can trully conquer a continent, and thus you have no solid goals in this game. You managed to expend the control of your empire on the continent? Pointless, log-in the next day and you'll need to conquer them again. Over and over and over... This is a big flaw in my opinion. But if you don't mind killing stuff for no reason, this game is just for you. Dust 514 is more promissing i think. Sure it has a smaller scale, it's on the PS3 only, grafics are good but not on par with PS2. BUT... you fight for something, what you do has consequences. And that alone my friends makes Dust a much better game. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    3
    Massively overrated. If your not being killed or run-over by your own team-mates, your either running to a fight and generally one-shotted byMassively overrated. If your not being killed or run-over by your own team-mates, your either running to a fight and generally one-shotted by enemy players that you could have been unloading a whole clip into their head. Either that or they are lag jumpping around. I have a high end PC and i find the graphics for this disappointing. If you get in a good fight of 50 to 150+ it can be interesting but thats all this game is, an endless fight over buildings nothing else Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2015
    0
    This game is trash over half the playerbase are hackers... dudes flying around in aircrafts at like 10x speed people have silent aim and dontThis game is trash over half the playerbase are hackers... dudes flying around in aircrafts at like 10x speed people have silent aim and dont even have to shoot at u to kill u its actually stupid no wonder this game is dying Expand

See all 526 User Reviews