Portal PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 4296 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    The Good: The writing is goddamn near perfect. The black humor, wonderful dialogue, and fantastic voice acting is perfect. The game mechanics work great, no glitches to speak of. The characterization of GLaDoS is great and make her (it?) my favorite game character. It's challenging, but not hard, the AI's decent, and the game is short, but that's good because it doesn't overstay it'sThe Good: The writing is goddamn near perfect. The black humor, wonderful dialogue, and fantastic voice acting is perfect. The game mechanics work great, no glitches to speak of. The characterization of GLaDoS is great and make her (it?) my favorite game character. It's challenging, but not hard, the AI's decent, and the game is short, but that's good because it doesn't overstay it's welcome. The Bad: Well.....um....there's......you know what? There's nothing bad about Portal. Seriously. The Ugly: No graphics issues to speak of. The games looks great. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very nice experiment of VALVe. I really enjoyed it. Loved the humor, loved the voice, loved the puzzles. Well yes, it's short. But there's a lot of levels made by community. And the archievements. And the advanced chambers. And cake. Cake is not a lie. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This game is the second best game I have ever played. It is quite short, but it is very fun and immersive. Can't wait for portal 2! Great addition to the orange box. 2000th review!
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    This is a great, fun, innovative puzzle game that I though was going to just be a fun game. But when I played it, I was blown away by its brilliance. It was probably one of the best games that I have ever played in my entire life. It is well worth the price of $15(current price) and I would bye it even for $100. The only problem is that the game is just a bit to short, but Valve is makingThis is a great, fun, innovative puzzle game that I though was going to just be a fun game. But when I played it, I was blown away by its brilliance. It was probably one of the best games that I have ever played in my entire life. It is well worth the price of $15(current price) and I would bye it even for $100. The only problem is that the game is just a bit to short, but Valve is making Portal 2 now and I'm sure that they will fix that problem in Portal 2. I would deffinetly go bye this game RIGHT NOW if I were you. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Portal has solely raised my expectations in video game humor forever. The game mechanics are absolutely brilliant and have just begun to pave an exciting road to endless possibilities. I could play this game over and over.
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    Do most people on here only know how to give 10's and 0's? The game certainly doesn't deserve a perfect 10, but it does deserve high points. Portal is an innovative game because it brings a new concept to, um, FPS (it's not really a FPS, because there is no shooting). You start out in the testing environment where the concept and control are all explained to you in such detail you'dDo most people on here only know how to give 10's and 0's? The game certainly doesn't deserve a perfect 10, but it does deserve high points. Portal is an innovative game because it brings a new concept to, um, FPS (it's not really a FPS, because there is no shooting). You start out in the testing environment where the concept and control are all explained to you in such detail you'd have to be stupid to not figure it out. Once you have completed stage 19, you break out of the testing area of the facility and begin to figure out your way (following clues) to the main computer's chamber where you have to figure out how to destroy with just the portal generator in your hands and the brain in your skull. To your surprise, when that happens, the game abruptly ends, and you will be saying, "Wait, that's all!?". But along the way you will get plenty of laughs (if you have a sense of humor), and the ending credits are just priceless. There are bonus maps and achievements to earn after you beat the game. That said, this game is very lacking. First of all, there is no multiplayer, and all the 'puzzles' can be solved with a narrow set of solutions. There are no multiple paths either. You simply go in the only direction available and when you get to a spot you can't go any further, you just figure out how to keep going using your portals. Overall, the game is fun, innovative, and humorous, but hours of entertainment it will not provide as the game is so short that you will be wondering why it even cost anything at all-- even with the bonus levels. If you can get it for a few dollars, I would recommend buying it., but one thing is for certain, this game does not deserve a perfect 10 as so many have given it-- it doesn't even deserve a 9. An 8, however, is just the right score. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the way Portal makes you think, but giving it a 10 would be too much! Why is this? I could basically run thru it, so there weren't any really challenging problems (they could have been a way to get bonuses or something). I think it was ok to be short, because it was based on a few, about 5-7 ideas, and didn't have a compilcated plot. What I hated about this, was the end part of the game, which was too long. The boss was ok to me.

    In short: an overrated, mostly enjoyable game with a couple of great ideas
    Expand
  8. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    The most critical thing on the game is how short it is. Valve knows how to put an end to a game. I mean: Why do you want a game which requires 20 hours to finish it, if the whole game is gonna be repetitive?
    Valve done well. It's a great game, a great add to the Half Life series, and has its own light. Portal has a lot of potential. And if you are one of the guys who think that portal is
    The most critical thing on the game is how short it is. Valve knows how to put an end to a game. I mean: Why do you want a game which requires 20 hours to finish it, if the whole game is gonna be repetitive?
    Valve done well. It's a great game, a great add to the Half Life series, and has its own light. Portal has a lot of potential. And if you are one of the guys who think that portal is too short, take a look at the advanced challenges, and then tell me
    Expand
  9. Koo
    Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. Even if you have Portal 2 I would recommend playing the original Portal. After a challenging first run through the test chambers you are treated to (surprisingly interesting) developer commentary. Additionally, there are a number of bonus maps. While not everyone will like the game's humour, I did, and any motion sickness you may experience by travelling through the portals can be solved by limiting your game time to 2 hours or less. Disorientation and motion sickness caused by travelling through the portals is the only downside to this game in my view. For the game itself though, I rate it 10/10. Expand
  10. Feb 3, 2011
    10
    The game took me by surprise! I didn't expect that much entertainment and joy from a puzzle game! The 1st instant i started playing i became fan of portal! The way u could use surrounding and items around is something new!
  11. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Great game, compelling storyline and puzzles. The engine is near-perfect thanks to constant patching and expert level design. Too bad the game is too short, and the challenge maps are too easy. I can't wait for Portal 2!
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I bought this only recently on Steam... and man, this game is pretty damn good.
    Graphics: early HL2 engine, hairy muff. - pretty good for the age (now a few years old)
    Concept: 3D puzzle ... ... (but not a shooter)... you just get a portal gun which makes. Portals! Everyone is getting off from the concept, but I really loved the "story", which seems to be taken somehow from 2001; space
    I bought this only recently on Steam... and man, this game is pretty damn good.
    Graphics: early HL2 engine, hairy muff. - pretty good for the age (now a few years old)
    Concept: 3D puzzle ... ... (but not a shooter)... you just get a portal gun which makes. Portals!
    Everyone is getting off from the concept, but I really loved the "story", which seems to be taken somehow from 2001; space odyssey (HAL).

    It is fairly short, finished the story in only two days. But, that said, the length felt just... "right". Just at around the time that the portal puzzles were getting old- it managed to keep pace and move the story to the last segment of the game.
    There are bonus levels and puzzles so you can be entertained a bit longer...

    ... and.... one of the best end sequences Ive seen in an age!! WOOOOT!
    Expand
  13. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    Portal is a challenging puzzle game from Valve. Valve is known for their fantastic, original games, and Portal is no exception. Each level is fun and creative, each puzzle unique. Portal does a fantastic job with slowly easing you into the game play, instead of forcing you to jump off the deep end. In addition to the fun puzzles, Portal keeps you entertained with the humorous commentary byPortal is a challenging puzzle game from Valve. Valve is known for their fantastic, original games, and Portal is no exception. Each level is fun and creative, each puzzle unique. Portal does a fantastic job with slowly easing you into the game play, instead of forcing you to jump off the deep end. In addition to the fun puzzles, Portal keeps you entertained with the humorous commentary by GLaDOS, one of the best villains in videogame history. Although the story is short, most likely will take from 3-5 hours, depending how fast you catch on, there are a few different modes to choose from. In addition to the Developers commentary, there are separate challenges (such as least portals and least steps) for each puzzle. Finally, you can always play your fellow Portal Player map creations. In the end, this game is a must-buy for all gamers, even if you dislike puzzle games. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    Short game but it never outstays its welcome. Great and fun level design. I laughed at a few lines, but didn't find it as amusing as I hoped but I only care about game-play and it exceeded my expectations.
  15. May 31, 2011
    10
    I heard so much about this game that i had to try it. i bought it off steam for $9 and considering that i enjoyed this as much if not more than most AAA games yet paid less than a standard Xbox arcade game blows me away. i could not find a single flaw, i had a few audio glitches while playing on my mac but overall the graphics are still great and has no game play flaws that i could find atI heard so much about this game that i had to try it. i bought it off steam for $9 and considering that i enjoyed this as much if not more than most AAA games yet paid less than a standard Xbox arcade game blows me away. i could not find a single flaw, i had a few audio glitches while playing on my mac but overall the graphics are still great and has no game play flaws that i could find at this price. Expand
  16. May 12, 2012
    8
    Kinda old game for a review, but has a great concept that it's still fresh to this day, and it is still a great and original game that works, it's fun, and I enjoyed to the last. Why the 8? Well, it's very lacking: I finished it about 4-5 hours in total (but for some reasons my timer is reseted, ARGH!), and yes there are timed challenges, but in my opinion that's just a plus because it'sKinda old game for a review, but has a great concept that it's still fresh to this day, and it is still a great and original game that works, it's fun, and I enjoyed to the last. Why the 8? Well, it's very lacking: I finished it about 4-5 hours in total (but for some reasons my timer is reseted, ARGH!), and yes there are timed challenges, but in my opinion that's just a plus because it's the same levels (I would have prefered specific time challenges with proper made maps, instead). The graphics are extremely simple but works and gives a strange impression of alienation, which fits the purpose of the plot. And yes, the plot is good, but very very slow to increase the pace: only the last part of the game gets really good and interesting, with a "not bad" final boss to beat, which is good. In general, I really liked this game, especially because it was incluced within the orange box, so It was a great deal, but on it's own....well yeah, it's still worth! Expand
  17. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    A beautiful game, very interesting and clever. If someone haven't played this game, they must have been missed one of the greatest puzzle game of all time. If there is something to complain about this game, it must be its length (I wonder if I play too fast or the game is too short, but I play it less than 4h!). The game is very fun, perhaps some puzzle is very hard to solve but actuallyA beautiful game, very interesting and clever. If someone haven't played this game, they must have been missed one of the greatest puzzle game of all time. If there is something to complain about this game, it must be its length (I wonder if I play too fast or the game is too short, but I play it less than 4h!). The game is very fun, perhaps some puzzle is very hard to solve but actually there are several ways to pass a level. A great success project of Valve and let's check for the Portal 2 in someday!!! Expand
  18. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Probably my favorite game I've ever played. Funny, emotional, puzzling, and really fun. There is also a great sense of mystery to the game that makes it really fun to play at 2:00 in the morning. Portal proves that a video game can be art.
  19. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Easily the best action puzzle game Iâ
  20. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Portal has been one of my favorite games since the day I played it. It's extremely funny, really makes you think, and has lot's of replay value. If you haven't played it yet, what are you waiting for? Go buy this!
  21. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Although sometimes frustrating, never seemingly impossible. It takes awhile to figure out some puzzles, but I never had to actually look up a walk-through to get through it. Yes, the game is short... But it was still really enjoyable for the time I played it. And I don't really think the point of it was to be a long game, more just a fun one. Definitely a creative and original game. It's a buy.
  22. May 7, 2011
    9
    Portal is a great game, It has a nice storyline, and the test chambers are very challenging. But after playing an old 2007 game and playing it 3 times in a row, I prefer the sequal, that just came out last month. Although the true reason i give it a 9, Is because it is a short game, and the puzzles are simple, I like the harder test chambers, But there basically extras in the design ofPortal is a great game, It has a nice storyline, and the test chambers are very challenging. But after playing an old 2007 game and playing it 3 times in a row, I prefer the sequal, that just came out last month. Although the true reason i give it a 9, Is because it is a short game, and the puzzles are simple, I like the harder test chambers, But there basically extras in the design of this game. I beat Portal, 3 times. Its pretty easy once you've played it. It only took me a simple 2-3 days to beat this game. It took my friend 3 hours of sitting to beat this game, plus the boss level. This game is although a great design, and the credits song is stuck in my head, I agree you all should play portal 2, but you should seriously play THIS portal so you understand the consept of portal 2. Expand
  23. May 9, 2011
    10
    Portal is a great concept, brilliantly executed. Wonderful, intuitive puzzle design, a great visual aesthetic, and some of the funniest dark humor narration you could want. Short but there's not a bad moment to be found and the price is low!
  24. May 10, 2011
    10
    Short, sweet, charismatic, funny, and teased my head for awhile. The perfect length and a great experience, highly recommended for anyone that can spare the 4 or so hours it takes to complete, it's well worth it.
  25. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Portal in my opinion is a very original game. It offered something entirely new. It's a puzzle game but it's not just any puzzle game. It has a soul and a charm. The gameplay mainly consists of using a specialised handheld device to create 2 portals, one orange and one blue. Entering one of those instantly causes the player to exit out the other one, and this simple element alone isPortal in my opinion is a very original game. It offered something entirely new. It's a puzzle game but it's not just any puzzle game. It has a soul and a charm. The gameplay mainly consists of using a specialised handheld device to create 2 portals, one orange and one blue. Entering one of those instantly causes the player to exit out the other one, and this simple element alone is utilised in a variety of ways to solve a wide range of different puzzles, involving buttons and cubes, turrets, electricity balls and death traps. Additionally to the puzzle solving, the game has a somewhat of an interesting humourous feel to it, ending up with a wide variety of inside jokes that many people still use on the net repeatedly. So far the main drawback for me is that the game is very short, even though it's short and sweet. There are additional challenges that get unlocked once you complete the game, but if you've enjoyed this and want a full-length game, then I'd highly suggest you try Portal 2. Expand
  26. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    When people saw the trailers for Portal, they knew it would be a fun mechanic, but nobody expected the amazingly engrossing character of GlaDOS. These two factors combine to make one of the most original PC games of all time.
  27. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    I can not see why 39 people say this game is bad. I mean, if it's because the game is short, just get Portal 2. But Portal 1 is still awesome! Well, some people could say you could complete it in a day, but that's a lie, just like the cake. It can take up to 2 weeks to complete. I mean, I completed it in 4 days. But the challenges make wanna play it over and over!
  28. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Unique uses of portals, plus dark humor, plus plot, gives this game....not quite all ten. Why? I wish they would have came up with this idea sooner, because the game is REALLY short (2-3 hours average). And getting the 2nd game, I felt like there could have been no need for a sequel (yet) if Portal would have been a hit already.
  29. May 27, 2011
    10
    While a short game, the high level of polish and wonderful humor have this game as a comparison point for almost all modern games to be held to. The style, level design, and humor come together to make a wonderful, easy to play (though sometimes hard to beat), enjoyable game.
  30. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    The simplicity to this game in one aspect makes the story a little bit more disturbing and mysterious than its sequel. GLaDoS seems to be a glitching robotic system that has an unintentional desire to kill through her little glitches, which slowly evolves into an obvious artificial-intelligent insanity. The game is very well-made and is one of the best first-person puzzle games out there,The simplicity to this game in one aspect makes the story a little bit more disturbing and mysterious than its sequel. GLaDoS seems to be a glitching robotic system that has an unintentional desire to kill through her little glitches, which slowly evolves into an obvious artificial-intelligent insanity. The game is very well-made and is one of the best first-person puzzle games out there, and it's one of the best Valve games out there. The game is very short, but very fun. I can probably beat it in about half an hour and still have a great time doing it. The story is simple enough, but yes it has some very disturbing aspects about the implied history of the machine intelligence GLaDOS, and the portal system itself is very inventive and entertaining. This is a game you have to play at least once, just like it's sequel. Expand
  31. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing. i notice that it is short, and im okay with that because it was just suposed to be a quick little game on the orange box so that people might ask for a sequel, all the other orange box games may be long but all of them were sequels, along with epic. this game is a full time puzzle game with some fun humor. all puzzle games once you think about are actually short, butthis game is amazing. i notice that it is short, and im okay with that because it was just suposed to be a quick little game on the orange box so that people might ask for a sequel, all the other orange box games may be long but all of them were sequels, along with epic. this game is a full time puzzle game with some fun humor. all puzzle games once you think about are actually short, but finding out the puzzle is what makes it long. and does length really matter? if its a fun game then don't gripe about the game. it is fun. Expand
  32. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Clever, puzzle game, which changed a genre. Still no perfect, as it was quite short, and it was too linear, both in terms of whole jurney through the all puzzles. Hovewer even with single tool, you still have multiple ways to solve each puzzle.
  33. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Portal is one of the few games to exist in the industry that contains some genuine science fiction. Its an obvious opportunity of interactive games to create original science fiction but sadly is missing by most popular titles in the industry. Portals focus on good design and puzzle solving rather than the immaturity of violence and 'bad-ass'ness makes it stand out as intelligent from thePortal is one of the few games to exist in the industry that contains some genuine science fiction. Its an obvious opportunity of interactive games to create original science fiction but sadly is missing by most popular titles in the industry. Portals focus on good design and puzzle solving rather than the immaturity of violence and 'bad-ass'ness makes it stand out as intelligent from the dumb gaming crowd. Portal is funny, intelligent, flawlessly designed and does not over stay its welcome - the short length is by design and is a good thing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
  34. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Portal by Valve, was at first, nothing more than a test for the new physics system, now it has it's own sequel. Awesome graphics, outstanding gameplay, a great storyline, and a well thought out series of tests and challenges combine to make this ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER!!! I highly recommend it. It's money well spent.
  35. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Valve you did it again, you created a whole new idea to add you your arsenal are games this game along with portal 2 are just a must have must experience game worth the 50$ but i'm patience and waited for the summer sale 30$ =p
  36. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Portal introduced a brand new and exciting way to play games, and even though it was short, it has so much potential. The puzzles, dialogue, and of course, the song at the end can not make this a bad game. Valve still put a lot of effort into a game they were unsure about as they do with all of their games. The puzzles are somewhat hard at first but never frustrating, which makes the gamePortal introduced a brand new and exciting way to play games, and even though it was short, it has so much potential. The puzzles, dialogue, and of course, the song at the end can not make this a bad game. Valve still put a lot of effort into a game they were unsure about as they do with all of their games. The puzzles are somewhat hard at first but never frustrating, which makes the game so much fun to play again and again and again. It can be finished in 1-3 hours if you're smart, and maybe even half an hour, but there are challenges and acheivements you can complete, and of course, dozens of fan-made maps and mods. Valve just gave us a taste of this addictive cake, and we are still hungry for more, even after Portal 2, which accelerated the portal mechanic and gave it more power. Expand
  37. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Portal is a great Puzzle Game. The Puzzles are Great, The Graphics are better then the Sequel, the Humour is good. And it may be short but once you beat it you unlock Advanced Maps, these are alot more Challenging and add even more fun. Portal continues to provide you with fun even after you've beaten it. It's a great Game, but my only Complaint would be the fact it's very short
  38. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Yes, I realize Portal was very short. But I would rather have a quality game that lasts about six hours than a piece of trash that lasts 20. And Portal is one of the most innovative, funniest, and mind-numbing games you will ever play. The puzzles are challenging enough to be satisfying, but not so tough that they're impossible to solve. Add to that the dark humor of GLaDOS and theYes, I realize Portal was very short. But I would rather have a quality game that lasts about six hours than a piece of trash that lasts 20. And Portal is one of the most innovative, funniest, and mind-numbing games you will ever play. The puzzles are challenging enough to be satisfying, but not so tough that they're impossible to solve. Add to that the dark humor of GLaDOS and the best video game song ever, and you've got an amazing game. Expand
  39. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This game is really short, but seriously, what a pleasure to play it.
    It's fun and inventive, incredibly, you need to think the first time you play it, I mean, you really need to think about how to resolve tests, not all of couse, but it is different of all this ultra-over-shooting games which are really boring.
  40. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite games of all time! Although it sounds like a stupid game if you explain it to someone that's never heard of Valve before, people really give it a chance. It' s a post-apocalyptic first-person puzzle game, about an old science research company, and you are one of the last humans after a hostel take-over of the evil robot/computer, GLaDOS, and are forced to complete a series of pointless puzzles, being promised a cake at the end, but finding out the hard way that it is a lie!I t's a great game! I really recommend it! Expand
  41. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    Very smart approach to design: take simple idea and make such a grandiose application of it. In Portal you have one device which makes two holes - point of entry and point of exit - and you solve spacial puzzles with it. The Guidence AI's voice adds hilarity, and there is actually a plot behind the game. It's pretty short, but there are many user-made maps available for download. VeryVery smart approach to design: take simple idea and make such a grandiose application of it. In Portal you have one device which makes two holes - point of entry and point of exit - and you solve spacial puzzles with it. The Guidence AI's voice adds hilarity, and there is actually a plot behind the game. It's pretty short, but there are many user-made maps available for download. Very pleasant and innovative must-have game. Expand
  42. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    best game I have ever played. creative game play, nice puzzle design. plot is also good. but this game is a little short. Orange Box is really cheap though, I think everyone should play it.
  43. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    A magnificent game that is only stained by its length. While the game lasts around 5 to 7 hours the first time you play, you'll easily finish it in less than 3 hours once you know how to complete the puzzles. However, Portal brings you in a very unique universe and that what it's all about. You'll enter a world that is unbelievably cute but dangerous at the same time: this is why Portal isA magnificent game that is only stained by its length. While the game lasts around 5 to 7 hours the first time you play, you'll easily finish it in less than 3 hours once you know how to complete the puzzles. However, Portal brings you in a very unique universe and that what it's all about. You'll enter a world that is unbelievably cute but dangerous at the same time: this is why Portal is so particular. Your brain will be your best friend. You have no weapon, besides a gun that fires two linked portals. The designers made the levels in a clever way with several ways to solve them. But what is even better is that you don't even *see* the other ways until you reach the "hard" mode of the game: indeed, you even have more challenges waiting for you in the very same rooms that you passed in the normal adventure after completing the game. And you'll see that... you'll eventually start thinking with Portal. Expand
  44. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't like bad things so let's clear them up now:
    It's too short: I kept waiting for training to end, but training is the game
    The last battle is too easy: the timer's for 6 minutes!

    That is all:

    This game is the best PC game ever!!!!
    Through the 2 hours that you play, GLaDOS will guide you through the test chambers, while trying to kill you, and you must solve puzzles, and in the end, escape Aperture laboratories.
    You can't deny the brilliance of this game...
    unless you like COD...
    from start to finish, so pick it up NOW.

    + Addictive as heck
    +Humour is great
    + COD lovers will go away
    -Its too short
    - Last battle disapoints

    96%
    Expand
  45. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    When I found out that there is such a game called Portal i decided to try a demo version. After completing 2 levels all my doubts about buying it or no went all the way outta window. Next day i went to the store and bought it. Now I have the game 100 % completed, 50 hours spent playing it on Steam and one thing I can say - it is the work of genius. In fact, a crew of geniuses - Valve. WhatWhen I found out that there is such a game called Portal i decided to try a demo version. After completing 2 levels all my doubts about buying it or no went all the way outta window. Next day i went to the store and bought it. Now I have the game 100 % completed, 50 hours spent playing it on Steam and one thing I can say - it is the work of genius. In fact, a crew of geniuses - Valve. What they managed to deliver here are unique atmosphere and puzzles that can challenge both newbies and hardcore sons'O'biches. Some people say - the game is f'n short. My answer is - try time, step and portal challenges and you'll see that you were wrong. The voice acting is brilliant, as it combines humor with sci-fi touched scary monologues. The story is great too - it has this you-didn't-expect-this hilarious moment. Some can say that it's not so cool when you play Portal for the 2nd, 3rd time - you already know what will happen. I think it would be great to have a memory eraser to play it like the first time. And, by the way, Portal gave birth to characters that are among the most popular in game industry now. You know who I'm talking about, monsters._) Expand
  46. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Ellen McLain's performance in Portal 2 made her an instant hit with Valve fans. McLain shows an amazing talent with voice acting, and singing.

    Portal, itself showed gamers a new way of thinking. It was rare to see a game that was so much fun without shooting everything in sight, which made Portal different from a general game. The storyline is brilliant and clever. Portal wasn't too short
    Ellen McLain's performance in Portal 2 made her an instant hit with Valve fans. McLain shows an amazing talent with voice acting, and singing.

    Portal, itself showed gamers a new way of thinking. It was rare to see a game that was so much fun without shooting everything in sight, which made Portal different from a general game. The storyline is brilliant and clever. Portal wasn't too short at all. It wasn't a game - It was a test. A test that did so well it got itself an amazing sequel that sold millions of copies. Those who gave Portal 10 would agree - Portal is a game you will never forget. Even when your old and senile.
    Expand
  47. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the most creative games that will ever be put on the market.

    The game was not meant to be long, it was meant to be fun, and enjoyable throughout the whole game. Although many people complain about how short the game is, if you really think about it, there are more than 18 chambers in the game with some complex puzzle solving. The simplicity of the game is what
    This is probably one of the most creative games that will ever be put on the market.

    The game was not meant to be long, it was meant to be fun, and enjoyable throughout the whole game. Although many people complain about how short the game is, if you really think about it, there are more than 18 chambers in the game with some complex puzzle solving. The simplicity of the game is what makes it the best game there is out there, and now it's free, and if you don't own the orange box already, or you are thinking of buying portal alone, its definitely worth the money. But, if you are not willing to buy a game that is fairly short, you might wanna look into renting it. Well worth the money.
    Expand
  48. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    45 minutes on second play though. Yeah- short. But this game is original. Innovative. A concept which works quite well. Haters gonna hate, but it's not even meant to be a full game. The initial concept was just so original and entertaining. I like to think of it as a "Mirror's Edge but with the skill element taken out". It's kind of a strategic first-person platformer. As a full game I45 minutes on second play though. Yeah- short. But this game is original. Innovative. A concept which works quite well. Haters gonna hate, but it's not even meant to be a full game. The initial concept was just so original and entertaining. I like to think of it as a "Mirror's Edge but with the skill element taken out". It's kind of a strategic first-person platformer. As a full game I agree it's way too short and the entire game feels like a tutorial. But this was a component of the Orange Box and even so it's not priced or promoted as a full game. It's just a unique arcade game. The real play time, of course- comes from the challenge maps and modes, with medals awarded for least time, least portals and least steps. The only issue here is that least steps is practically glitching. It really doesn't work well at all. Least time requires dexterity while least portals requires strategy, so there's something for everyone here. Overall it's a great idea and this is reflected by the positive user and critic reviews. Expand
  49. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    This game deserves a good score for its creativity. It's a good game & worth playing especially if you like puzzles. The only downside that I found is that its incredibly short because I finished it in under 2 hours.
  50. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This game is very entertaining. What sets it apart from all the other games is the simply beautiful graphics, the smooth gameplay, addictive story, and flawless concept!
  51. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    A narrative, as well as a puzzler, Portal works on every level it's almost scary. It doesn't overstay its welcome, but it doesn't seemed rushed. A near perfect game.
  52. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Despite the Metacritic ratings; many of opinions I heard of Portal were mixed. Some said it was short, others complain of the linear level design and unspectacular graphics. Yes, Portal is only 2 hours long. Yes, the progression is linear. Yes, the Source engine graphics are not exactly Crysis. But ultimately, these factors actually contribute to why Portal is such a great game: it'sDespite the Metacritic ratings; many of opinions I heard of Portal were mixed. Some said it was short, others complain of the linear level design and unspectacular graphics. Yes, Portal is only 2 hours long. Yes, the progression is linear. Yes, the Source engine graphics are not exactly Crysis. But ultimately, these factors actually contribute to why Portal is such a great game: it's tightly designed, well-executed and unique. Anyone who likes puzzle games or even video games in general should seek this out to see what all the fuss is about. Expand
  53. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    I bought this game from Orange Box and i was very impressed with this game, very challeging and entertaining, helps who understanding the meaning of the word Portal and the puzzles are simply fantastic. One of things i really like are the turrels which makes those very cute sounds and the ending music. I found this game better than Portal 2, this one doesnt bored me at all, it makes wantI bought this game from Orange Box and i was very impressed with this game, very challeging and entertaining, helps who understanding the meaning of the word Portal and the puzzles are simply fantastic. One of things i really like are the turrels which makes those very cute sounds and the ending music. I found this game better than Portal 2, this one doesnt bored me at all, it makes want to explore everything. Expand
  54. May 21, 2012
    10
    An amazing and Innovative game, yeah its short but hell it has more fun then a lot of big games (CoD).
    GLaDOS is awesome and very funny, the puzzles aren't to easy but they are also not frustratingly hard.
    This is a must buy for anyone who hasn't played it yet and a could game to go back and play again.
  55. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Yes, it's short. No, it's not very challenging. This is in my top 3 favourite games of all time. The soundtrack, the mood, the story, the humour. I love it all, and the cake was delicious.
  56. May 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favourite games. The portal mechanics were unique and well-coded. The story was amazing. The cake became a meme for a reason. The extra levels were also really challenging and kept me playing it for a lot more time.

    What I never got into me is the companion cube. I burned the sucka the moment I was instructed to and never got in any way attached to it. Was I even supposed to get attached to it? Who cares anyway.
    Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Really fun game, inventive and nothing like it out there today...unless there is and i dont know about it :P anyways i have nothing bad to say about this game other than its way way to short so i give it an 8...for 10 bucks? dont drink that 6 pack on friday and instead play this, its worth it :)
  58. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    Games like Portal are not trying to have hundreds of hours that will mostly be uninteresting and mindless but hey, most of what's on TV is even worse. No, games like Portal instead make a very interesting experience, one that will make a real impact on your mind, rather than try to eat up lots of your time. And that's not even mentioning the downloadable maps and stuff which I'm sure byGames like Portal are not trying to have hundreds of hours that will mostly be uninteresting and mindless but hey, most of what's on TV is even worse. No, games like Portal instead make a very interesting experience, one that will make a real impact on your mind, rather than try to eat up lots of your time. And that's not even mentioning the downloadable maps and stuff which I'm sure by now is numerous.

    I downloaded it from Steam and gave it a shot. I was instantly intrigued by the game mechanics, for a variety of reasons. I highly recommend it. The puzzles aren't too difficult, I beat it in 6 hours and that's including the time I spent screwing around in infinite corridors for me to chase myself through, trying to save the companion cube and getting stuck for a few minutes here and there. Don't play it expecting something to kill time like it's an MMO or TV, just soak in the game mechanics because they are fascinating. In addition, the game does have some story, atmosphere and humor for you. Give it a shot.
    Expand
  59. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Portal is a amazing game which all gamers should try out at least once. The game is so worth it, you can get it for a cheap price on Steam, if you are a fan of Puzzles and short games, you will surely love this game. The amazing character GlaDos and the unique gameplay by itself is more than enough reason to get this game now.
  60. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent puzzle game, the only game in first person as elaborate puzzle. It has a really interesting story and characters very striking (albeit few). The mechanics is playable spectacular and innovative portal system is very well done, thought with physical puzzles and portals at once. Graphically the game is not spectacular or anything, but meets a striking and interesting art section,Excellent puzzle game, the only game in first person as elaborate puzzle. It has a really interesting story and characters very striking (albeit few). The mechanics is playable spectacular and innovative portal system is very well done, thought with physical puzzles and portals at once. Graphically the game is not spectacular or anything, but meets a striking and interesting art section, although it is appreciated that the game is very well optimized for use over several sites at once. The cast of voices (even though limited only to the machines) is very well chosen, with humor and a story behind them very compelling. The sounds are very well made and is one of the games with the best soundtracks out there. This game is highly recommended, even if you have a short duration, is still a great game and giving for more (see Portal 2). Expand
  61. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Purely superior in experience to the 2nd portal in every way. Great story, great player engagement, great pace of introducing new ideas. After playing this one, the 2nd one felt redundant and the story felt incredibly forced. They changed their mind on where they were taking this game when they patched the end cutscene to change from you being free to being dragged back inside .. thenPurely superior in experience to the 2nd portal in every way. Great story, great player engagement, great pace of introducing new ideas. After playing this one, the 2nd one felt redundant and the story felt incredibly forced. They changed their mind on where they were taking this game when they patched the end cutscene to change from you being free to being dragged back inside .. then sealed off the portal world from ever influencing the half-life world, which was very disappointing to say the least. That aside, a very fun game overall which I actually put probably about 20 or 30 hours into doing various advanced puzzles and repeating the game once or twice just because it was fun. Expand
  62. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    finally, something new and creative comes to the gaming arena. Its been a long time since I have seen anything this creative and fun to play. The game is short, so get it while its on sale somewhere.
  63. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Portal is revolutionary! Once you clear through the story mode and advanced maps, you still have nearly impossible challenges to play through. Work towards challenge perfection for hours of Portal fun!
  64. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Portal is a first person puzzle shooter with a nice array of challenges to complete. The main feature is the portal gun, which lets you make a blue and orange portal on the floor/wall. Walk through one portal and end up at the next. This feature take a second to get use to, but is a blast to mess around with. The major flaw though is that the levels do take a while to pick up, andPortal is a first person puzzle shooter with a nice array of challenges to complete. The main feature is the portal gun, which lets you make a blue and orange portal on the floor/wall. Walk through one portal and end up at the next. This feature take a second to get use to, but is a blast to mess around with. The major flaw though is that the levels do take a while to pick up, and re-playability is low for this game. You will get a fraction through the game before the levels become reasonably difficult. In the end though, all the levels are a blast to play. The story is a simple one with several jokes tied in that make the game a little more fun. The length of completing the game is something to comment on. It is kind of a let down when you realize you get to the end and its only been about 2 to 3 hours. There are advanced versions of some levels that extend the length of the game in a very unforced fashion. Furthermore there are challenges, such as beating the levels very fast or using a limited number of portals. This adds another few hours or so. Lastly, there are achievements actually worth doing that do change the way to approach the levels. Adding all these features together ran me about 12 hours of gameplay so far. I have a few more challenges and achievements to complete, so give or take 15 hours to do everything in the game. Right now you can get Portal for $10 which is a fine price for the game. You will get your moneys worth for that low of a price. The biggest problem is those few beginning levels difficulty. It's fine to have a 2 to 3 hour game, but when a good 15 minutes feel like tutorial, its a little annoying. Also the difficulty was fine, but harder levels would be nice, ones that really challenge the player. Expand
  65. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    Portal is a very slow and carefree game that you can enjoy playing on your own. The puzzles are fairly easy to solve and the developers must have thought that they were more challenging because the game was pretty short. You get lonely playing it though :|
  66. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I think this game might be perfect. No, seriously, this might be a perfect game. It is so well balanced, and the plot is perfectly integrated with the gameplay. I like it better than the sequel, to tell you the truth. But it may be that the multiplayer in Portal 2 is what puts that game ahead.

    Anyway, I think this game is a must for any serious gamer. period.
  67. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    This game is just wonderful, the concept of solving puzzles using the portal gun is just great, I just wish this game was longer, just like the sequel. The main single-player is great but after playing Portal 2 I feel the puzzles were way to easy. Apart from that there are challenge modes and a developer commentary to keep you busy and although there is not much replay value you will comeThis game is just wonderful, the concept of solving puzzles using the portal gun is just great, I just wish this game was longer, just like the sequel. The main single-player is great but after playing Portal 2 I feel the puzzles were way to easy. Apart from that there are challenge modes and a developer commentary to keep you busy and although there is not much replay value you will come back for more. The humor is extremely good, its hilarious sometimes to hear what GLADOS has to say adding to the overall experience. This game is just great and for the low price of 9.99 dollars on Steam this is totally worth it. Expand
  68. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Portal features a superb game mechanic in the form of the portal gun, and the puzzles you can solve with it. The setting is unique and interesting, but what really makes it perfect is the storyline and the humour. Brilliant. Too bad it was so short though.
  69. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    this is a great game is very great igra.Prosto super.Prosto mega.Super yumor.Super golovolki and five times as much cool vasche klasss.valve rulit.mogete.
  70. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Took me 4 hours or so. Contains an interactive "developers' commentary" and additional challenges. I don't have anything new to add to the discussion about this game, I think, but you can think of it as a 3d problem solving simulator. It's almost on-rails as you progress linearly through the campaign, each stop a reflection on the problem presented. The 3d approach introduces an aspect ofTook me 4 hours or so. Contains an interactive "developers' commentary" and additional challenges. I don't have anything new to add to the discussion about this game, I think, but you can think of it as a 3d problem solving simulator. It's almost on-rails as you progress linearly through the campaign, each stop a reflection on the problem presented. The 3d approach introduces an aspect of exploration as you try to get a grip of the elements of each puzzle. There's some sort of a story progression subtly woven into the game as you play. No cutscenes and few 'distractions' from the core gameplay. Expand
  71. May 13, 2012
    10
    Portal really surprise me by showing me the new way and new concept of gaming. Yes, the game is really short, but it is never repeats itself. I know people would say other games are longer, and stuffs, but ask yourself, you do the same thing over and over again (Lvling, farming, fighting the same kind enemies over and over, you get it.) and that is why they are longer. Great humour in thePortal really surprise me by showing me the new way and new concept of gaming. Yes, the game is really short, but it is never repeats itself. I know people would say other games are longer, and stuffs, but ask yourself, you do the same thing over and over again (Lvling, farming, fighting the same kind enemies over and over, you get it.) and that is why they are longer. Great humour in the game too. I always enjoy the sarcasm in the game. Good job to the team. You guys made a game that deserves 10/10. Expand
  72. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    If the score of a game is an indication of how much of an impression it made on you, I think most would agree Portal ranks at the top. Writing comedy is hard, and finding such memorable and hilarious comedy in a video game is incredibly rare. The fact that Portal manages to contain just that, while being highly original and thought-provoking, demonstrates just what a work of genius it is.If the score of a game is an indication of how much of an impression it made on you, I think most would agree Portal ranks at the top. Writing comedy is hard, and finding such memorable and hilarious comedy in a video game is incredibly rare. The fact that Portal manages to contain just that, while being highly original and thought-provoking, demonstrates just what a work of genius it is. If any game can be held up as an example of art, this is it. Valve are the masters at creating compelling and immersive environments- and the setting of Aperture can easily feel real. GLaDOS is the perfect example of how fantastic writing and acting can create a beloved character. Portal is gaming at its finest- truly a genre-defining title, and one that will leave the player both wanting and satisfied at its conclusion. Expand
  73. May 7, 2012
    10
    Eight hours of pure fun. Short and sweet. It's cheap and you'll love it. Grab it. How to describe it? It is a puzzle game. It doesn't take itself too seriously and it has an excellent sense of humour. GET IT.
  74. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    This review was meant for Dear Esther: Portal 2 was a hight 10 for me I LOVE Portal 2. Dear Esther was a low 1 for me. Did not enjoy Dear Esther. Waste of my time sorry. I felt the potential for this game to be almost what Myst was when it first started that genre of story driven games. However, I very quickly found myself bored and I love English accent narrations especially but it wasn'tThis review was meant for Dear Esther: Portal 2 was a hight 10 for me I LOVE Portal 2. Dear Esther was a low 1 for me. Did not enjoy Dear Esther. Waste of my time sorry. I felt the potential for this game to be almost what Myst was when it first started that genre of story driven games. However, I very quickly found myself bored and I love English accent narrations especially but it wasn't enough to hold me to the end. I found myself aimlessly wandering around. I couldn't pick up anything nor save the game. Not for me this game had potential it was beautiful the scenery.â Expand
  75. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This simply is a great game the story is simple and funny but still quite strong it doesn't go on for to long and the mechanics themselves feel refreshing unlike the stale mass produced FPS games that are released on a monthly bases. This game never bored me and it actually is one of few none strategy/fight/race/etc. games that actually made me feel like replaying it (far) more than justThis simply is a great game the story is simple and funny but still quite strong it doesn't go on for to long and the mechanics themselves feel refreshing unlike the stale mass produced FPS games that are released on a monthly bases. This game never bored me and it actually is one of few none strategy/fight/race/etc. games that actually made me feel like replaying it (far) more than just once. Even tough the levels are quite small it gave a huge feeling of freedom because the rooms just seemed infinitely bigger when you were allowed to portal trough them. For those who are done playing the original levels there still are a lot of player made levels that grant an even bigger (or lesser) challenge. Expand
  76. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    This was a brilliant break to the Multiplayer's and Singleplayer's that currently flood this market. If your addicted to half life, call of duty, gears of war, halo, or any other of these great games and you find yourself wanting a little more then I suggest portal. I found myself enjoying every puzzle, all challenges and the great and amusing story line. This game can amuse you whetherThis was a brilliant break to the Multiplayer's and Singleplayer's that currently flood this market. If your addicted to half life, call of duty, gears of war, halo, or any other of these great games and you find yourself wanting a little more then I suggest portal. I found myself enjoying every puzzle, all challenges and the great and amusing story line. This game can amuse you whether your on console or PC, but if you are on PC you'll get the chance to experience the community made maps adding several extra hours of fun. But there is a downfall to this fun including the puzzle as if you find it hard to complete puzzles then this is not the game for you, it's puzzle after puzzle after puzzle. So do I recommend this game yes but if your not a puzzle person then I suggest trying out the console version first as you'll have a chance to return it if it does not live up to your expectations. Expand
  77. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    Witty, progressive, and simple. Pushes the standards of 3D puzzle-games to a new and intriguing realm. A must play for any puzzle-game fan, but probably not for the fans of conventional 'shoot-em-up' FPS games.
  78. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    For me, this game is better than Portal 2, because even as a small game, he has a great story, but the game is kind of easy. Only the Advanced Chambers, in the Bonus Maps, are more difficult.
  79. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Valve have always treated PC games to the best in gaming entertainment. Now arrives a new IP from the studio's responsible for Half-Life. Portal is a 90 minute first person puzzle game set in the remains of Aperture Science, Black Mesa's only rival in the realms of science. You play Chell, the only remaining test subject for the Aperture Science Handheld Portal Device, or in layman's termsValve have always treated PC games to the best in gaming entertainment. Now arrives a new IP from the studio's responsible for Half-Life. Portal is a 90 minute first person puzzle game set in the remains of Aperture Science, Black Mesa's only rival in the realms of science. You play Chell, the only remaining test subject for the Aperture Science Handheld Portal Device, or in layman's terms the Portal gun. As you are set to complete test chambers created by GLaDOS, the corrupt computer program running Aperture. Chell must escape Aperture and destroy GLaDOS to make sure these experiments never continue. It plays like any Valve FPS and looks like Half-Life 2 but a lot more sterile (white). Portal is one of those rare gems that come around every now and again (usually from Valve) that change the way games work, they change the way games are seen and they change the way games are played. Portal is one in a million. Expand
  80. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    In my humble opinion Portal represents the pinnacle of game design. With it's utterly unique and creative game mechanics, and intelligent level designs, Portal proves that a puzzle game can be much more enjoyable than the horde of First Person Shooters that dominate the gaming industry.
  81. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    If finished the game at least 5 times, it is short but very fun to play. Getting the achievments is also very funny. The game itself may be short, but there are many mods available like e.g. portal prelude, which steps the difficulty up, many custom maps etc etc so you get unlimited play time! The portal concept was very innovative and it's so much fun to play!
  82. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Portal is sheer brilliance. The gameplay is amazing and innovative, it has hilarious humor, and a good plot. Literally the only big issue is how short it is.
  83. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    I've never been a puzzle games fun but i can say i regretted not buying it sooner, anyway you must think with portals to be able to complete it, this game is not very long but you still a nice challenge, and that mean you have to get this game and the sequel for be able to understand what's really going on down there, anyway both awesome.
  84. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    Five years after it's release I just found out how great game this game is! If you - like me, missed this game, it's not too late to play it. This is a fantastic game, and I recommend you playing this one before you start with the even better sequel!
  85. May 5, 2012
    9
    I enjoy playing this game on both the pc and my PS3. It seems to run better on the pc than portal 2. Even so, I enjoy playing them both equally. What's neat about both games is finding secrets.
  86. May 9, 2012
    9
    Portal is funny, clever and interesting, with an extremely short single player. It simply doesn't beat Portal 2, but still It is amazing. When I was playing this game, It remembers the Half Life 2 atmosphere (quiet and alone). The plot is amazing, but people, why the Users Review for Portal 2 is 8.4, I still can't understand. Anyway, I give 9 points for Portal.
  87. May 10, 2012
    10
    This game is why limited budgets and resources can create games of the highest quality. It's clear that we had a motivated and passionate team who poured their very hearts and souls into this game. They didn't waste resources on useless garbage. The Tutorial IS the gameplay. The story isn't played through boring cutscenes, you interact while the story is conveyed to you by theThis game is why limited budgets and resources can create games of the highest quality. It's clear that we had a motivated and passionate team who poured their very hearts and souls into this game. They didn't waste resources on useless garbage. The Tutorial IS the gameplay. The story isn't played through boring cutscenes, you interact while the story is conveyed to you by the antagonist, a hilarious AI.
    The gameplay is amazing and the physics are just stunning. I could not find a way to describe it..

    This is revolutionary and simple. Hardcore gamers and Casual gamers will love this game. After this experience you will be buying all Valve games.
    Expand
  88. May 19, 2012
    10
    Portal is an amazing game with astoundingly innovative gameplay. It may be short, but it makes up for that with progressive difficulty and good humour.
  89. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    When i first heard about Portal i was a bit sceptical. Could a game where you just place portals really be interesting or challenging? Yes it could. The game is lots of fun and even though the puzzles are't that hard they can still confuse you a bit every now and then. The game was pretty short though and there didn't really happen anything except solving tests in the first half of theWhen i first heard about Portal i was a bit sceptical. Could a game where you just place portals really be interesting or challenging? Yes it could. The game is lots of fun and even though the puzzles are't that hard they can still confuse you a bit every now and then. The game was pretty short though and there didn't really happen anything except solving tests in the first half of the game. Nevertheless a very nice game, i would recommend it to those that doesn't already have it. Expand
  90. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Portal is a puzzle game like no other, set in a world that seems to defy the odds. You will work your way through twenty something puzzles and discover the world you think you know, is nothing compared to what it really is. It's ingenious and really makes you think in order to progress. If you can think outside of the box you can pass through this game easily while learning about the worldPortal is a puzzle game like no other, set in a world that seems to defy the odds. You will work your way through twenty something puzzles and discover the world you think you know, is nothing compared to what it really is. It's ingenious and really makes you think in order to progress. If you can think outside of the box you can pass through this game easily while learning about the world around you. Expand
  91. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    though the game is incredibly short; it is still impressive. The puzzle's will keep you busy and the cruel humored GlaDoS will keep you entertained. the graphics are your typical valve graphics powered by source.
  92. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quick and conceptual, Portal is one of the best physics puzzle games I've played yet. It must've been developed well because the voice-acting, amount of puzzles and the puzzles themselves is just one big clump of AWESOMENESS. The only flaw is the program it runs; hl2.exe, which I'm guessing is Half-Life 2. They forgot to make the game "itself" if that makes any sense, but it even holds a connection with Half-Life 2... sorta... Expand
  93. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    This game was great, though I watched walkthroughs on Youtube because I'm pretty bad at solving puzzles, but the puzzles themselves are well thought out and really intelligent. The story is good, even though there are only two characters, but it feels like one because the main character Chell doesn't talk. She grunts, but doesn't talk. Valve made epic games, and this is one of them.
  94. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Most original game I have played in the past few years. The storyline and the graphics are very interesting. Overall opinion: Okay, definitely worth buying.
  95. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Even though it has indeed been quite a few years now since I first ever played this game at a friend's house, followed IMMEDIATELY by me purchasing it for myself to play on MY computer, my love for the original "Portal" game has not diminished even a single bit!!! I can still so EASILY remember how unbelievably quick I was to become completely engrossed in this "first-of-its-kind"Even though it has indeed been quite a few years now since I first ever played this game at a friend's house, followed IMMEDIATELY by me purchasing it for myself to play on MY computer, my love for the original "Portal" game has not diminished even a single bit!!! I can still so EASILY remember how unbelievably quick I was to become completely engrossed in this "first-of-its-kind" game-play. I even went so far as to try by best at brainwashing my own father into playing it. (And much to my surprise, he gave it a try after watching me play a bit on my PC, and of course, quickly came to love it every bit as much as I.) Add to that list my own younger brother, who was and is still a hardcore "console" player. Sure enough though, as soon as he found it available for purchase on the X-Box 360, he was up all night long playing it as well. In conclusion, I would very much like to also add-in the factor of this beautiful game's UNBELIEVABLE "RE-PLAY" value. I've not ever kept any official count or anything, but it I had to guess, I am quite comfortable in guessing that I've played back though the same game again, over and over, trying new and different techniques each and every time, no less that a few hundred times within the past few years. :) To some, that fact will no doubt just appear stupid, and easily a target for such words as "has no life", "still living at home with Mom", etc... It's OK though, because, to all the rest out there who ALSO fell in love with Portal years ago, YOU no-doubt "understand". :) Expand
  96. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    This game was simply fantastic in most every way: it is humorous, dark, intriguing, fun, challenging, and innovative. While it is pretty short and the graphics are not particularly good, I don't hold this against it considering how cheap it was (basically free in the Orange Box) and because it was a small-team effort with impressive results. I was glad to see this game get a big-budgetThis game was simply fantastic in most every way: it is humorous, dark, intriguing, fun, challenging, and innovative. While it is pretty short and the graphics are not particularly good, I don't hold this against it considering how cheap it was (basically free in the Orange Box) and because it was a small-team effort with impressive results. I was glad to see this game get a big-budget sequel that could be longer with higher production values, but the original Portal remains a gem in the video game industry. Expand
  97. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Innovation at it's finest. Portal provides much humor and action, something that is very elusive from writers, designers, developers, and creators alike. It is very challenging too. Anyone who doesn't like it can't use their damn brain. It's a damn humorous puzzle action story so **** YOU!
  98. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed playing portal, it was new and different to most games out there, a puzzle game that I could actually enjoy and not just sit there with a blank look on my face. The game runs very smoothly and I did not find any glitches at all. Not the best game in the world, but it did keep me entertained.
  99. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    Awesome game. Introduces an amazing concept, story, and all around style to the world of gaming. The only con I can think of is the fan base. All of the **** running around saying, "LOL the cake is a lie guys amiright!!!" But you cant blame the developers for that. And to the ass hats complaining it was so short? This game was made by a small team within valve. It was just padding for TheAwesome game. Introduces an amazing concept, story, and all around style to the world of gaming. The only con I can think of is the fan base. All of the **** running around saying, "LOL the cake is a lie guys amiright!!!" But you cant blame the developers for that. And to the ass hats complaining it was so short? This game was made by a small team within valve. It was just padding for The Orange Box, and kind of an apology present for half life 2: episode 2 being delayed. It was never expected to explode like it did. Even thought it was only a couple hours, those hours were some of the best of my gaming life. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 82
    The idea behind Portal ends up being more brilliant than Portal itself. Regardless, we definitely had a lot of fun with what is there and appreciate the level of polish and thought that went into the presentation.
  2. Portal is a magnificent puzzle game. The titillating wrongness of every solution and the wonky thinking required to get there make you feel like a space-folding genius, and yet you'll almost never get stuck.
  3. One of the most interesting and delightful things Valve's ever done, but also one of its least fulfilling. If only we had our own portal gun to bridge the gap to the first infusion of new content, perhaps we could forget it.