Postal 2 PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 309
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. princej3
    Apr 9, 2003
    7
    If you're expecting a new Half-Life like FPS, you WILL be disappointed... if you know what this game is about, and are the kind of sick f*ck who wants to play it, you will absolutely LOVE it... (i did) it could've been more inovative tho, and did have the occasional problems... all in all, i give it a very strong 7/10.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    i`m a little bit love this game because its like GTA to the First Person Shooters and it was funny game,but well its a controversy game because there are Osama Bin Laden on this game lol....
  3. May 31, 2012
    7
    While certainly the older I got, the more my tastes in video games became more refined, I honestly never changed my mind so much about this game, even after playing widely acclaimed games such as Portal 2, being introduced to the magnificent world of indie games development and understanding what a real good game is. Postal 2 might fail for matters such as the graphics or the cheesyWhile certainly the older I got, the more my tastes in video games became more refined, I honestly never changed my mind so much about this game, even after playing widely acclaimed games such as Portal 2, being introduced to the magnificent world of indie games development and understanding what a real good game is. Postal 2 might fail for matters such as the graphics or the cheesy in-game references to the authors of the game (I'm talking about the various cameos of Vince Desi and the totally random Mike J as the final boss of Apocalypse Weekend), or even the grotesque and trashy sense of humor that seems to be only half ironical and self aware, but... it's fun! And I find this aspect to be seriously underrated by both official reviews and user made ones. It is also not often mentioned and quite noteworthy how the expansion Apocalypse Weekend and modding (in particular a very big mod called AWP made by a certain Kamek) really bring the game to a whole new level of addictiveness and gore for those who are into it, but it's mostly there for the laughs and the sake of exaggeration, don't get too offended for that, of all the possible dumb people who thought at that time that lame "kill Bin Laden" jokes could be funny (and subsequently made flash games and poor parodies about it) and people who think self-insertions are a good idea, these guys were probably the best ones. The result is a good game with some minor **** stains. Hell, it has Gary Coleman and tazmanian cats as gun silencers! Also... piss? (Oh, and by the way the AIs in this game are actually better than plenty of stupidly made AIs from much more famous games such as Skyrim, not much of a point but still worth mentioning) Expand
  4. PookEatMe
    Apr 13, 2003
    7
    While not as interactive as I would have liked, Postal 2 is still a hell of a lot of fun. Guns, Crude humour, Cat Silencers and the like make for a very funny game. Yes, IGN lied their assholes off - The load times are NOT 2-3 minutes. What a tosser that Ivan Anushead is. Good : Physics, Pissing :), Humour Bad : Gore NOWHERE near as violent as I had inticipated. No leg and arm While not as interactive as I would have liked, Postal 2 is still a hell of a lot of fun. Guns, Crude humour, Cat Silencers and the like make for a very funny game. Yes, IGN lied their assholes off - The load times are NOT 2-3 minutes. What a tosser that Ivan Anushead is. Good : Physics, Pissing :), Humour Bad : Gore NOWHERE near as violent as I had inticipated. No leg and arm dismemberments with a shotgun??! Cmon, SOF 1 even had full body dismemberments - Lazy punks! Only so much you can do with the weapons, and after awhile the NPC's feel waaaay to fake. Wow, ANOTHER 'KICK ME' guy.. joy... Also had some NPC bumping problems, lol, they would get stuck running into eachother. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    Ah yes, Postal 2, where to begin... This game is a strange mix of Duke Nukem humor, open world gameplay, and has some of the most bizarre characters I have ever seen. You know a game has to be good with an arsenal ranging from shovels, to the mighty napalm launcher. The controversy behind it makes it all the more enticing of a game. I grade this one down mostly on a fairly short campaign,Ah yes, Postal 2, where to begin... This game is a strange mix of Duke Nukem humor, open world gameplay, and has some of the most bizarre characters I have ever seen. You know a game has to be good with an arsenal ranging from shovels, to the mighty napalm launcher. The controversy behind it makes it all the more enticing of a game. I grade this one down mostly on a fairly short campaign, lack of multiplayer (look for the Share The Pain version for that,) some crashes and bugs, and not quite story-driven enough to be a non-linear game. However, these flaws do not make it a bad game. I doubt anyone, even I, would consider this a classic, and most likely, it never will be. Notwithstanding, however, it is still a fun and unique experience taken on other first person shooters of the time and of the day. I recommend giving it a try! Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    I highly doubt this game really is as offensive as it was made out to be. It's only that games rarely are expressive beyond social protocol.
    If not ,excessive violence, mild sex and language is used.
    This is the only game to really express humour as is with no apology and I am thankful for it. Mostly because more games should take more risk in being an art form and not a generic,
    I highly doubt this game really is as offensive as it was made out to be. It's only that games rarely are expressive beyond social protocol.
    If not ,excessive violence, mild sex and language is used.

    This is the only game to really express humour as is with no apology and I am thankful for it.
    Mostly because more games should take more risk in being an art form and not a generic,

    This doesn't mean that all games have to be ridiculous. However there has been few games that have been made regardless of who will like it.

    Thank you for postal 2.
    Expand
  7. MikeM.
    Nov 28, 2006
    6
    Postal 2 isn't so much a "game" as a series of potentially amusing and entertaining set pieces. Potential being the operative word, as the enjoyment will vary by the individual. PETA fanatics, career protesters and limpwristed pansies will no doubt be outraged and horrified (when are they not?). The majority of (male) gamers who aren't on some radical fringe and are also fairly Postal 2 isn't so much a "game" as a series of potentially amusing and entertaining set pieces. Potential being the operative word, as the enjoyment will vary by the individual. PETA fanatics, career protesters and limpwristed pansies will no doubt be outraged and horrified (when are they not?). The majority of (male) gamers who aren't on some radical fringe and are also fairly well-adjusted will surely find something to like about Postal 2. Setting a cat ablaze in the mall, and then finding that it has caused a chaotic flaming domino effect in the food court was relatively inventive and a nice break from the mostly repetetive goings-on. Technically, it's a hastily cobbled together sandbox-like mess, but the potential is there should RWS choose to go for a third try. If they do, I hope they try much harder next time. It's certainly no CBFD (that one was, and still is, a 10), and RWS is obviously no RARE (who is?). But to say it has absolutely no merit is being biased. Expand
  8. May 25, 2012
    7
    Es un juego entretenido, muy recomendable, desestresa muchísimo, se hace muy divertido jugarlo, creo que la nota de Metacritic, es muy baja este juego merece un minimo de 6, porque la idea es muy original y divertida.
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    Technically? Bad. Voice acting? Awful. Story? Let's not even talk about it.

    But this game is worth playing. It's controversial fun. Set people on fire, kick around their dead bodies before pissing on them. If you can't look past the technical issues, you're not playing this game the right way.
  10. ShawnH.
    Feb 11, 2006
    6
    Postal 2, despite its novelty subject and characters, is just an average shooter. The main character (a trenchcoat wearing, trailer park resident) is extremely shallow and not particularly interesting. The game occurs over a five day period from Monday through Friday. Each day, the player is tasked with completing 3 or 4 simple errands, like retrieving an alternator for his car or picking Postal 2, despite its novelty subject and characters, is just an average shooter. The main character (a trenchcoat wearing, trailer park resident) is extremely shallow and not particularly interesting. The game occurs over a five day period from Monday through Friday. Each day, the player is tasked with completing 3 or 4 simple errands, like retrieving an alternator for his car or picking up milk for his wife. The missions consist of "go there and get this" scenarios. That's the game in a nutshell. The game would be a complete waste of time, but it does have some redeeming value. I enjoyed exploring the game world, and I thought that the weapon selection was interesting. Also, pissing on someone and watching them vomit or feeding dog biscuits to a pitbull, and then sicing it on your enemies never get old. Even with these novel ideas, I had to force myself to finish the game. The ending was lackluster and disappointing. Graphics and sound were good. After beating the game, I was encouraged to play through the game again at a harder level, but I declined and uninstalled. Replaying this game definately did not interest me. Expand
  11. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Postal 2... can't be explained, must be experienced. The self-irony RWS put into this is amazing. This game is so bad that it becomes absolutely hilarious to play. A really fun game. Cant really be compared to any other game. Its a game in its own rights.
  12. AWG
    Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Yeah, not very funny. I never laughed or felt like I was being entertained, more like I was wasting some of my time instead. Some random violence is always welcome in videogames but another thing being highly welcome is not being force to wait 10-to-15 seconds every time you change location. Aside this the graphics is terrible (even for a 2003 games) and the jokes are not as witty asYeah, not very funny. I never laughed or felt like I was being entertained, more like I was wasting some of my time instead. Some random violence is always welcome in videogames but another thing being highly welcome is not being force to wait 10-to-15 seconds every time you change location. Aside this the graphics is terrible (even for a 2003 games) and the jokes are not as witty as they'd want. Meh. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    This game gets a lot of unnecessary hate, what with people saying it's the worst game ever, but if Postal 2 is the worst game you've ever played, then you are a lucky MF. Postal 2 would be a generic FPS were it not for it's intent to offend everyone with jokes. Some of them are funny and most of them are 2nd-rate South Park jokes. There really isn't a lot to say about Postal 2.
  14. Rem
    Jul 21, 2015
    6
    Postal 2's black humor and insane violence at short bursts provide cathartic release while still being a relatively challenging experience despite its numerous slogs through its uninspired open world that requires a loading screen every two minutes. While the warning at the beginning detailing offensive content is welcome, I found much of the humor in the game relatively lax compared toPostal 2's black humor and insane violence at short bursts provide cathartic release while still being a relatively challenging experience despite its numerous slogs through its uninspired open world that requires a loading screen every two minutes. While the warning at the beginning detailing offensive content is welcome, I found much of the humor in the game relatively lax compared to what conservatives have been telling me. Overall the game's pace is what keeps it from becoming enjoyable all the time since action is only available in setpieces, while you can cause mayhem in the open streets, much of it just devolves into pissing and killing people till you hit the next loading screen. And the Apocalypse Weekend portion of the game is so dragged out and stretched that I almost gave up on the game. The shooting mechanics work really well for the time and the weapons and their feel to use are on point despite the hit detection not always being on point. Postal 2 deserves its cult following but only because it parodies everything that wants to be politically correct, and I had good laughs while doing playing. Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2015
    7
    You can't judge 100% whether you'll like a game or not just from a review as everyone has different tastes.

    I found this game more fun than playing some other games that were highly rated but were overhyped and not as good as the reviews made out. Unique, offensive, violent, crazy, gross, crude, rude and just great fun. So don't pay attention to the so called professional reviews
    You can't judge 100% whether you'll like a game or not just from a review as everyone has different tastes.

    I found this game more fun than playing some other games that were highly rated but were overhyped and not as good as the reviews made out.

    Unique, offensive, violent, crazy, gross, crude, rude and just great fun.

    So don't pay attention to the so called professional reviews and judge for yourself. Or if not sure get it on special like I did for around $2. Iam glad I did I would even pay full price for it as Iam having fun with it. Even when completed it's likely a game that I will come back to.
    Expand
  16. Dec 21, 2015
    7
    The game is fun for the first few hours, then for me I just got tired of it.
    The game play is fun, filled with funny (but semi-repetitive) jokes, a lot of weapons and even a multi-player mode (Doesn't work on my OS so I couldn't get it to run). Not to mention load zones. Load zones are absolute hell because one area will have none but the next will have one for every house. I would be
    The game is fun for the first few hours, then for me I just got tired of it.
    The game play is fun, filled with funny (but semi-repetitive) jokes, a lot of weapons and even a multi-player mode (Doesn't work on my OS so I couldn't get it to run). Not to mention load zones. Load zones are absolute hell because one area will have none but the next will have one for every house. I would be okay with this if they weren't long but they take about 30 seconds and it makes me not want to explore the large map. Also if you get it on steam, if you get the right mods the game could become a 9/10.
    Expand
  17. Jul 4, 2016
    6
    The gameplay is nothing special, the graphics are meh, the story is absolute ****, but what makes me think this game has some potential and give it a 6/10 is its somewhat unique humor. Some people might see it as only a guy who urinates on people, but I'd rather focus more on how it views and teases the society. From "animal rights protestors" with bad arguments that say stuff like "CowsThe gameplay is nothing special, the graphics are meh, the story is absolute ****, but what makes me think this game has some potential and give it a 6/10 is its somewhat unique humor. Some people might see it as only a guy who urinates on people, but I'd rather focus more on how it views and teases the society. From "animal rights protestors" with bad arguments that say stuff like "Cows are people too." to the people who fight for nature's well-being (!) who keep shouting "Save a tree. Burn a book!"... I thought all these were great and some other offensive pointless stuff were just additional flavor to the gamers who like playing games with dark humor. But before anything else, don't play this game if you can't take dark humor. If you think you can, go ahead, "urinate on people" and have some fun with Postal 2 :) Expand
  18. Jan 6, 2017
    7
    Nehezen vallom be, de ez a játék volt gyerekkorom egyik kedvence. Az az óriási szabadság, beteg humor és persze az erőszak elegye valahogy annyira megtetszett, hogy órákig le tudott kötni.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. netjak
    60
    It's a quick fun romp that is more pleasure than pain. But, the utter lack of tact make it more of a play on marketing rather than a quality FPS.
  2. If the controversial content isn't enough to turn off players, the game's annoying technical problems will. The length and frequency of load times between levels is the biggest problem.
  3. Computer Gaming World
    0
    Until someone boxes up syphilis and tries to sell it at retail, Postal 2 is the worst product ever foisted upon consumers. [July 2003, p.90]