Prey PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 293

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    5
    Archangel in the future.Despite its aspiration for advanced technology i can say only its a waste of time.A unfortunate combination between Archangel and Doom 3.Hell no.Its not for me.
  2. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2009
    6
    Decent, but not much more. Level design seems to be a flaw and kill-joy: I often spent 40 minutes + to discover that what i originally had thought a puzzle was a switch hidden out of sight. Repetitive at times, some very nice moments (like the fight with the first boss) which are easily forgotten once you start backtracking a level to find a switch you missed at the beginning.
  3. QQuanter
    Jul 23, 2006
    5
    Something new from something old .. classic shooter in same engine with same stuff in other package.. id liked it.. as far my save games were ok.. but then, corrupted saves or eved didnt saved at all, so no point to start from a 3rd autosave, last 2 were corrupted with all quicksaves .. and normal save never worked :( shame
  4. 0marJ.
    Jul 13, 2006
    6
    Okay, Prey is probably one of the bigger games to come out this year. Unfortunately, it's also pretty lackluster. It commits the biggest crime possibly in the FPS genre, namely that the combat isn't very good. Your basic enemy (hunters) are dumb as rocks. Not dumb as in stand in the middle of room and not moving (they do that too), but dumb as in they refuse to shoot at you Okay, Prey is probably one of the bigger games to come out this year. Unfortunately, it's also pretty lackluster. It commits the biggest crime possibly in the FPS genre, namely that the combat isn't very good. Your basic enemy (hunters) are dumb as rocks. Not dumb as in stand in the middle of room and not moving (they do that too), but dumb as in they refuse to shoot at you unless you stand still for several seconds. There are some other monsters, but all their attacks are easily dodgable. There is simply no challenge in combat. What's worse, even if you die, you simply resurrect where you died with 50% health and 50% spirit. Booring. The story is non-existant for at least 50% of the time. There are 4-5 levels in between that simply do nothing to advance the story, give goals for the player or elaborate on the game world. They are simply there. What story there is is fairly cliched. You have the bad guys, the guys opposed to the bad guys who recruit you and that's it. There are some revelations, but nothing earth shattering. A lot of loose ends are still remaining and lots of random moments that don't get explained at all. The sounds of Prey are decent, but the music is the real highlight. It's a great soundtrack. The sound effects for the aliens are your standard shrieks, moans and grunts. There's definately nothing that will stand out after you are done with the game. Physics and interactivity border on a 2002 or 2003 game. You can't grab any physics object, which doesn't matter anyways, as 99% of all objects are boxes of one sort or another. You can't pick up grenades thrown by the enemies. After HL2, I'm surprised developers don't see the potential in having every physics object truly interactive. The puzzles are good, some of them might take a few minutes to complete, which is about the high end of not being frustrated. Spiritwalking is definately not used to it's potential though. Every time you see a forcefield, it's spiritwalk across and deactivate it. A little variety would have gone a long way. Wall-walking is definately cool though. Prey's length is definately short. Forget what you've been hearing about 8-12 hour adventure, anyone who's played a few FPS's will finish this game in 6-8 hours. Definately not a full price purchase, wait until it hits 30 or so bucks. It's not worth a purchase at full price. HL2 Episode 1 offers slightly less, but it's also half the price. Prey's graphics are 2004ish at best. Low-res textures (by today's standards) are everywhere. There is no HDR, hell I don't even think there's bloom. There are a few fancy shader effects, but nothing really impressive. You can definately see the Doom3 engine's age in this game. Everything has a shiny and/or plastic sheen. The characters are really disappointing as well. They are oddly proportioned and Jen has elf ears. The voice acting and script are about par. There are some points in the game where the voice acting truly stands out and is worthy of being in a triple A game, but then the next scene will have simply atrocious acting. The writing is also bipolar. There are some great lines, but then you'll hear "DIE DIE DIE" said in a serious way. It doesn't fit. Finally, let's end on a good note. The weapons are definately the highlight of Prey; it's a damn shame that you don't need any of them though. Your first true weapon in the game is all you'll need for 90% of the time. The other weapons are simply overkill. There are bosses, but they require zero thinking to kill and even less skill, again thanks to deathwalk. There is not a single point in the entire game where you can't deathwalk, even in the last battle. Prey is an average shooter at best. It is not the next HL or FEAR or even Q4. It's spotty, inconsistent, and uninspired. FEAR showed us that level design doesn't mean much if the combat is intense, bloody and feels good. Q4's level design is about par with Prey's (vertical walkways and spiritwalking don't particularly mask the corridor shooter that is underneath) but at least the combat was vicious. Prey suffers from a lack of focus. It's combat is weak and easy. The story is lackluster. The sounds are generic. The level design has it's moments, but often times one can accurately predict what's going to happen in the next room. The puzzles are definately a good point though; I enjoyed many of them. Unfortunately, a couple good puzzles and some cool weapons don't make up for many of Prey's negatives. Prey is pretty much an average shooter, through and through. Expand
  5. MattB.
    Jul 14, 2006
    7
    Some mind-bending tricks with portals and gravity are a fun diversion and a welcome piece of experimentation in a fatigued genre, but that doesn't mitigate the distinctly aged model of FPS combat on show here. The environments are at times amazing, but the game mostly defaults to the usual series of "Corridors and Rooms for Fighting inTM". The plot's fairly cliché, good Some mind-bending tricks with portals and gravity are a fun diversion and a welcome piece of experimentation in a fatigued genre, but that doesn't mitigate the distinctly aged model of FPS combat on show here. The environments are at times amazing, but the game mostly defaults to the usual series of "Corridors and Rooms for Fighting inTM". The plot's fairly cliché, good enough to keep you playing to see out the epilogue, but nothing particularly memorable. Voice acting totters between average and above average. It does the job and the actors give off a sense that they did their best with what they were given. It's a good product with a smattering of new ideas, but it never gave me the impression that I was playing something special. So after the hype and on-again-off-again development time, I was left somewhat disappointed. Expand
  6. TheBlade
    Jul 24, 2006
    7
    I expected more from a game I was hearing about over eight years ago. fun if you don't think about that however, also creative and looks excellent on a good machine.
  7. KDep
    Jul 26, 2006
    6
    This game itself is quite good and well developed. If this had been released before Doom 3, we'd all be doing cartwheels because it would be so marvelous. However, it wasn't. Prey is highly likable with a lot of nice things that are a step above D3 and Q4, but it feels more like a mod or an expansion than a real game. It's waaaay too easy, so it's basically run and gun This game itself is quite good and well developed. If this had been released before Doom 3, we'd all be doing cartwheels because it would be so marvelous. However, it wasn't. Prey is highly likable with a lot of nice things that are a step above D3 and Q4, but it feels more like a mod or an expansion than a real game. It's waaaay too easy, so it's basically run and gun your way to the end. Puzzles are easy, enemies are predictable, AI isn't that smart. Prey has so much potential, but it doesn't live up to it's own hype. I think it looks very good and then new gravity / portals idea makes the game enjoyable, but it's just one more baby step up the D3 engine ladder. Nothing revolutionary, nothing to blow your socks off, but all that said, it's a nice game idea, it looks nice and plays well. A nice game, but nowhere near worth the price tag. Wait for this one to hit the bargain bin (you likely won't have to wait too long). It's absolutely worth picking up, but not until the price is around $20, which it will be fairly quickly. Expand
  8. JonathanM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    First of all, it should be recognized that everyone has different backgrounds and different tastes that dictate his/her likes and dislikes in terms of gaming. So, if the purpose of player-written reviews like this is to inform other potential players/buyers, I think it's necessary that I tell you a bit about myself and what I like, don't like, and look for in a game. I'm First of all, it should be recognized that everyone has different backgrounds and different tastes that dictate his/her likes and dislikes in terms of gaming. So, if the purpose of player-written reviews like this is to inform other potential players/buyers, I think it's necessary that I tell you a bit about myself and what I like, don't like, and look for in a game. I'm not a fan of much science fiction. I think bullets and bombs are much cooler than lasers and plasma. I prefer a backwards distopia over an advanced, scientific culture. Think Warhammer: 40K/HL2 versus Star Wars/Star Trek. The quality of a game's graphics engine is the icing on the cake, not the cake itself. For me, it goes gameplay, then immersiveness/presentation, then story, then graphics quality. I'm currently playing STALKER and Bioshock and I much prefer STALKER. My favorite games include Fallout 2, Half Life 2, both the Total War and Civilization series, Quake 1, Diablo 2, and some others. Oh, and long walks on a dystopian, refuse-strewn, toxic waste-ridden beach. ; ) Seriously this is important, so I hope that much helps. Maybe we need profiles to file this stuff in, so people can check that and get an idea of our perspective before reading the reviews. This is one of the few times I've felt that I've actually wasted my money when buying a game. Remember, it's just personal taste. You don't have to agree with me. I heard so much about Prey. "Hey! Have you seen the new Prey video?! They're walking on the CEILINGS, dude!" (something like that). It looked really freakin' cool, too, so I had reasonably high expectations. The beginning was good. I liked how everything started. Then the first hour or two went by, and I was having fun--not a lot of fun, but still fun. And then the next couple hours went by with very little change in gameplay. I was still running down bland (the graphics were pretty and things were colorful, but so much was the same) one-way sci-fi corridors, using sci-fi weapons (which were good. maybe the best part of the game), fighting typical sci-fi monsters/aliens. Rinse, repeat. Oh, wait, I forgot the portals and gravity switches. Interesting concepts. Looking/moving through the portals was entertaining, yet, they stopped there. You've got some pretty unique and possibly game-defining technology at your fingertips and all you do is use it to add minor, borderline-forgettable accents to an already very pretty, very generic fps. I felt like I was lied to. Maybe I didn't watch enough gameplay videos to be warned haha. I really thought the entire point of Prey was to blow your mind with fighting enemies up and down walls and in/out of portals for at least 50% of the game and in many different clever variations. The novelty wore down to a minimal level fairly quickly. And then came the lackluster final battle. And then it was over. 8-10 graphically pretty hours of over-hyped, lackluster fps play. And that spirit world thing? Felt like an afterthought, to me. The only thing going through my mind when I was shooting arrows at blue and red spirits was "Could we please hurry this up so I can get out of here?" Pros: Beautiful. A top-notch selection of weapons to play with. More than a few little "Hey, that was cool" moments. Cons: Story like a wallflower on prom night (ie doesn't stand out, or, "What story?"). Well-rendered, but still quite generic sci-fi environments (I cite Quake 2, Doom 3, Unreal, and Unreal 2 as games with similar stylings). Squandered opportunities for Prey to be something truly special--portals and gravity shift technology was not used often enough and cleverly enough to make much difference. Other: Is "short" a pro or a con? Expand
  9. Adam
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    Below average game, nothing special, lame weapons, lame levels, extremely linear, press button here, press button there, some good sound effects, it tries to disgust you instead of scaring you or create any suspense, Doom3 all over again... Except for the out-of-place weird choice of Cherokee theme there is noting original here.
  10. AdzyW.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Very rarely do I come across a game in which I say: Wow that was amazing, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, so many new mechanics were explored. This has INSPIRED ME TO DO GREAT THINGS. Prey, was NOT one of these games. It started off well. The whole feeling of being abducted and finding yourself in a gibbering nightmare which had already broken the psyche of other people Very rarely do I come across a game in which I say: Wow that was amazing, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, so many new mechanics were explored. This has INSPIRED ME TO DO GREAT THINGS. Prey, was NOT one of these games. It started off well. The whole feeling of being abducted and finding yourself in a gibbering nightmare which had already broken the psyche of other people genuinely disturbed me. This is what I look for in a survival horror. The first few levels were real adventures in immersion and good storytelling. It was then at some point after killing that Demon Boss thing with it's own gun. (Weapons were superbly done, cannot fault the art direction in this game!) That things started to get a bit samey. I'd be walking down another strange metal hall, with another row of freudian innuendos all over the walls, with more samey enemies which I would kill with a minor stroke of annoyance when I was teleported yet again to that same blue-ish thing to kill a few red things. It suffered from the same basic problem as Bioshock, wherin death has no consequence. You can just respawn about two feet from where you died so long as you hit enough red things. So you stop defending your life out of fear and start doing it so as not to drag the whole experience out any longer than is absolutely necessary. My attitude switched from "I wonder what'll be on this level" to "Not another pissing level." The game could have been improved by cutting out the unnecessary levels and adding in a few more big concepts other than walk through forcefeild and push switch or shoot thing to change location of floor. Though despite what I have said I do think Prey is a good game. The same way that a Citreon Saxo is a good car. Sure it does what it's supposed to but you're always there wanting something more. Like how the storyline from the middle onward seemed to fall away. Moments like Tommy puking when he uses the gravity changer for the first time and catching glimpses of the resistance doing their thing as you tried to catch up to them were lost in favour of 'get here' or 'climb this tower populated with a metric asston of enemies and save the damsel in distress.' A solid seven. Pros: Art direction, first half of the story, adaptive AI, Cons: Lack of consequence for death cheapens combat, repetitive and badly paced gameplay, overused scenery. Expand
  11. clarice
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    Fun at times but falls short of its potential. They could have done much more with the gravity puzzles, and the fighting lacks something. I personally hated the weapon selection and the general feel of the weapons. Its also very short. That being said, it is a cool game and when the price drops to $35-40 it will be worth your money if you like the genre.
  12. JoshR.
    Dec 22, 2007
    7
    You know I often look for games that try to push what we currently know about certain gameplay genres (such as, in this case, First Person Shooter) and what I generally want to know first off is whether or not that clouded the judgement on every other aspect of the game. Is this innovation truly so or just a "gimmick"? Sadly, as I have read others who truly wanted more out of this You know I often look for games that try to push what we currently know about certain gameplay genres (such as, in this case, First Person Shooter) and what I generally want to know first off is whether or not that clouded the judgement on every other aspect of the game. Is this innovation truly so or just a "gimmick"? Sadly, as I have read others who truly wanted more out of this experience say, Prey has fallen short of innovation (while still adding an idea to the FPS market that I hope really catches on in some way). The great thing about this game is truly the idea of messing around with gravity, physics, and even to some extent yer own soul. Unfortunately it really felt that when the developers came up with these ideas they didnt ask the good questions like "Now will we make all this work as a cohesive whole?" because quite honestly while the puzzles were great quite often I had no idea why some sequences were there and others were kind of used then forgotten. A good example to me is a great scene that blew my mind graphically. A room was created right before my eyes while im moving around not in a movie sequence but real time. A truly inspired moment that I only recall at the moment happening once. After finishing the game all I wanted to know was why they didnt mess with your head like that more often. The portals were a great idea but to me it felt like they knew they wanted them to add a great puzzle dynamic but in interest of using them alot they lost any sense of making it a cool thing to do throughout the entire game which left it feeling stale quite rapidly and just seemed no different then walking through a door once you got used to the idea. Innovation (or lack thereof) aside we have gameplay, graphics, and story left. Gameplay was pretty standard (molded in my opinoin straight from Doom 3) run... gun... solve a puzzle... get a soda (oh wait I did that in real life)... feel alone but have some- thing that drives you to keep going on this crazy ride... you get the idea I'm sure. I enjoy this formula (dont get me wrong at all) but it's not a captivating formula nor is it new. Graphics were pretty standard as well which is why those players out there not into fantastical Sci-Fi hated it the most. A standard idea for that is develop new conceptual designs (aliens, guns, enivronments) which they did quite well but in my opinoin (I personally just like great stories so i dont care how real or straight up fantastical it turns out) they didnt push the envelop enough in the innovation department (start over if you forgot :P) to really make you care. Like Doom 3 the maps are very dark. In this they did make me happy cus i was never blind but because they used the Doom 3 engine alot of environments while great concepts did feel dull (darkness tends to create that feel in games if not done well enough) and sometimes I really just wanted to have a scene in reality (like in the town hes from or something) because of this. I really did get sick of being on that ship it bored me so much. Lastly, the story wasnt captivating enough, it was the same old anti-hero (guy who doesnt want to take responsibility for his life, family, heritage) that gets thrust into a situation that forces him to face everything he hates. Not spectacular by any means and Im not gonna give anything away but they went really sappy with it to. All in all its fun to play worth paying a small fee (like 10$ or whatever its at now) but dont expect the innovative epic experience it wants you to get if your like me and you like your games to feel truly fleshed out. I had to give it a 7 and that was because it was fun to play but not worth playing again until im bored. Expand
  13. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    Perhaps I should have played Prey when it first came out and it may have seemed a bit more innovative, but playing it in retrospect I can't help but see it as a huge missed opportunity. It's certainly an enjoyable shooter, but I found the shifting gravity and static portals to be a bit of a distraction at best and annoying at worst. There are a few instances where the mechanics work reallyPerhaps I should have played Prey when it first came out and it may have seemed a bit more innovative, but playing it in retrospect I can't help but see it as a huge missed opportunity. It's certainly an enjoyable shooter, but I found the shifting gravity and static portals to be a bit of a distraction at best and annoying at worst. There are a few instances where the mechanics work really well, and some clever environments are constructed, but otherwise it feels like a bit of a wasted opportunity. Also, there's a point right at the beginning when you are shrunk to a tiny size and appear on a sphere in a tiny box, and the idea of miniaturisation appealed to me much more than all the gravity shifting and portals, but this never happens again for the entire game!
    The combat and weapons are enjoyable, although I felt that ammo ran out too fast on most weapons, interrupting the pace of combat somewhat. Also, there weren't enough wide open arenas, and most of these came towards the end of the game. This, along with the plodding pace of the plot, means the whole game feels like it takes a really long time to hit its stride. I appreciated that the opening section of the game (after the bar section, which was a superb prologue) was meant to build the atmosphere, but it overplayed it a little too long for me, especially as the only thing you're doing for the entire game is chasing after your girlfriend to rescue her (because, you know, girls need rescuing). Again, the plot becomes more interesting towards the end, but it's too little too late.
    Another annoyance is your character's voice, which chirps in, or rather shouts in, on a regular basis. And the voice acting isn't exactly award winning, either. Another thing was irked me was that the art style was far too similar to DOOM 3 and Quake 4, which just adds to its derivative feel. I know it used the same engine, but that's no reason to ape the art style (and even your main weapon has exactly the same sound effect as your rifle from Quake 4!).
    An enjoyable shooter overall, but a bit of a waste.
    Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    Prey is a copy of Quake's, or Doom's. In my opinion just manages to reach to that standard and is not a game as good as those. But worth playing. .
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. It's so pregnant with ideas and beautiful movements that you'd be a sad fool to to deprive yourself of the experience. If the sequel is longer, a bit more difficult, and plays slightly more intelligently, then I can't imagine it being anything other than a Classic. [Aug 2006, p.58]
  2. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  3. Plot holes aside, the gameplay in Prey is nothing short of amazing. Whether you're wandering up walls, shifting gravity, shrunk down to the size of a mouse, going into spirit form, fighting in the afterlife, or floating around in a service vehicle... Prey has got everything anyone could want from a sci-fi shooter and more.