Prey PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 715 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 715
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2017
    6
    If you've played Deus Ex and Bioshock/system shock 2 then you don't really need to play this game. Prey copies parts from those games and doesn't bother to put a new spin on anything. The first half of the game is ok but eventually you run out of new enemies and weapons and it just gets boring. The side quests have mostly interesting stories but there is a lot of backtracking andIf you've played Deus Ex and Bioshock/system shock 2 then you don't really need to play this game. Prey copies parts from those games and doesn't bother to put a new spin on anything. The first half of the game is ok but eventually you run out of new enemies and weapons and it just gets boring. The side quests have mostly interesting stories but there is a lot of backtracking and eventually I just got tired of it all. I played the game on nightmare and overall it was easy until the heavy robots show up at the end and then I had to emp and hack everything at which point the game became tedious 100% of the time. The devs ran out of interesting and new combat scenarios and eventually you're just running around with no interesting gameplay while you move the story forward. The story is interesting though and it certainly does provide a fun twist on a bioshock like story but without interesting combat you're just running around pushing buttons and looking at loading screens. If you are going to play this game I would suggest playing it on Normal or Hard difficulty because Nightmare will just add to the tedium for the last 30-40% of the game. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2017
    7
    I can't believe I'm saying this after getting so pissed off at the game in the beginning, but I liked it. It has its charm. It's nothing special, for sure, it nearly chokes on all the cliches. It seems well made. The battle system can be harsh but you get a better hold on things as you progress further along. It does get repetitive after a while, since the map is a "space station". TheI can't believe I'm saying this after getting so pissed off at the game in the beginning, but I liked it. It has its charm. It's nothing special, for sure, it nearly chokes on all the cliches. It seems well made. The battle system can be harsh but you get a better hold on things as you progress further along. It does get repetitive after a while, since the map is a "space station". The moments of "suspense" accompanied by ear-bleeding sounds or "music" and all the loading instances can grind you down, sure, but it was nice. The characters were well made, the twist however predictable, still managed to get a chuckle out of me. It's a good game. Nothing special, but still worth the time. Expand
  3. May 21, 2017
    6
    Prey is a slow-burning survival-shooter in the vein of System Shock. It could have been amazing, but unfortunately the developers made a lot of mistakes:

    Lots of bugs, characters and quests glitching out, some hard crashes, several occasions where you go through a door and you lose items from your inventory which is devastating. Not good. It needs a lot of patching. Severe lack of
    Prey is a slow-burning survival-shooter in the vein of System Shock. It could have been amazing, but unfortunately the developers made a lot of mistakes:

    Lots of bugs, characters and quests glitching out, some hard crashes, several occasions where you go through a door and you lose items from your inventory which is devastating. Not good. It needs a lot of patching.

    Severe lack of enemy variety. There's only like 5 different enemies in the game. Some of them are the same enemy, but they shoot fire instead of energy or are slightly harder variations.. Some of them you only encounter once or twice.

    The weapons feel very underpowered (even when upgraded) up until you get the Q Beam which kills even the toughest enemies within 5 seconds and doesn't even use up a lot of ammo. It's jarring, there's a crazy lack of balancing that would at least make everything moderately useful. You can craft a lot of things in the game, but the only things worth crafting are neuromods and Q Beam ammo.

    Because almost all the weapons are bad, you are encouraged to use turrets to do your work for you, but they are also useless. You set up a turret and, even against the weaker enemies, it's a diceroll whether they do the instant-teleport-melee attack which knocks the turret over and destroys it, or they sit there and get shot to death. You just sit there and reload until it works out. You might as well not bother and use the Gloo gun + Wrench against everything, until the enemies can't be killed by anything other than the Q Beam. Really dumb.

    There's a story, but for the first 15+ hours of the game nothing really happens. You are only fed tiny bits of information. If you play games for the story, you will probably get bored here before the story starts going.

    The sound levels are seriously broken. Playing with headphones, sounds of things that are next to you randomly disappear, while you can clearly hear an enemy that's 2 floors above you like it's licking your ear. Audiolog/dialogue/ambient sound mixing is completely broken, with ambient sounds often drowning dialogue and other important things.

    There are glimpses of brilliance in Prey (the level design, soundtrack and atmosphere are great), but they get smothered in bad decisions and technical issues. Get it on sale after they patch it up.
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2017
    5
    locate Dr via security computer hes not on it so i had to use a guide game failed.

    Runs great the enemies are no really my cup of tea its very different from the original Prey which was really good and weird this is like Dead space in first person to me.
  5. May 20, 2017
    6
    What i liked about Prey:
    - the Art-Deco design and the overall design of the environment in terms of immersion - at least in the context of a sci-fi space station that defies basic physics like gravity.
    - the general level design and complexity of the environment (meaning clutter and overall immersion of walking around something that has been lived in and used) - the story - which is
    What i liked about Prey:
    - the Art-Deco design and the overall design of the environment in terms of immersion - at least in the context of a sci-fi space station that defies basic physics like gravity.
    - the general level design and complexity of the environment (meaning clutter and overall immersion of walking around something that has been lived in and used)
    - the story - which is not very deep and complex (its rather a 101 sci-fi "wake-up-no-idea-what-happened" story) but well presented via visuals and conclusions.

    What i do not like:
    - the gunplay - i cannot pin it down to a single reason - but i find the pacing unsatisfying. Weapons feel to have very little impact imo and or feel odd.
    - the AI - and i do not mean that the AI is particularly bad. But i felt like - at least in my experience so far - the AI seemed to charge into melee range in an instant most of the time - and kind of exploited the VERY narrow field of view; with the hit indicators being quite imprecise.
    - the aliens are anything but scary. There are a few jump scares - but their design is simply too simple.

    Also - and maybe it is just me, because i only casually played the game so far - the ability to mimic objects might be too perfect. They jump out of no-where. I would have preferred it if they imitated an object "almost" perfectly - so that i would be forced to pay much more attention to detail to spot them. Since they seem to be perfect in that regard - i do not need to pay much attention at all - i just need good reflexes.

    All in all it did not quite catch me with its atmosphere and immersion. The gunplay is not satisfying and the story is average.... which leaves me with an average product.
    Is is worth playing? sure - average is not bad ...
    Will it provide an exceptional experience (like the first time one played Bioshock maybe)? - no, i don't think so - but it is a solid time waster.
    Expand
  6. May 13, 2017
    7
    An amazing adventure. I really enjoyed the story, the locations, overall creativity and complexity but simply couldn't stand these weapon and item models, design or animations. It ruined a lot of good vibe for me. It has to be someone who worked on bioshock and dishonored because I had the exact same feeling about this aspect in these titles. Absolutely the most disgusting design. NotAn amazing adventure. I really enjoyed the story, the locations, overall creativity and complexity but simply couldn't stand these weapon and item models, design or animations. It ruined a lot of good vibe for me. It has to be someone who worked on bioshock and dishonored because I had the exact same feeling about this aspect in these titles. Absolutely the most disgusting design. Not saying anything about the locations, just weapons and items. I'd give it a 9 out of 10 if it wasn't for that. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2017
    6
    So the bad guys are mostly various iterations of black goo and you even have a goo gun. Too much goo. It's hard to like Prey when it uses cryengine and doesn't look as good as Crysis 3 which is 4 years old. Mission objective's are vague, the intro tutorial is retarded, the weapons are pathetic, and there aren't enough recycler/fabricator stations to off-load all the crap you accumulate.So the bad guys are mostly various iterations of black goo and you even have a goo gun. Too much goo. It's hard to like Prey when it uses cryengine and doesn't look as good as Crysis 3 which is 4 years old. Mission objective's are vague, the intro tutorial is retarded, the weapons are pathetic, and there aren't enough recycler/fabricator stations to off-load all the crap you accumulate. Too much time is wasted finding keycards and passcodes. I'm not even going to comment on the hacking minigames. The story and ending are a bit weak too and predicable. Prey could be a lot better at all levels. Expand
  8. May 31, 2017
    7
    I initially didn't recommend this game after my first playthrough but I did something I've never done before and that's replay a game I didn't enjoy the first time and I'm glad I did. After finishing my first run I discovered I had missed a lot, mechanics, quests etc, and this was the reason I disliked the game so much so I started again and I have just finished it for a second time andI initially didn't recommend this game after my first playthrough but I did something I've never done before and that's replay a game I didn't enjoy the first time and I'm glad I did. After finishing my first run I discovered I had missed a lot, mechanics, quests etc, and this was the reason I disliked the game so much so I started again and I have just finished it for a second time and now I would recommend it.

    The story is very interesting and it's told well, with great voice work from top to bottom, Prey also has multiple endings so replayability is an option if you like to get your monies worth. The general audio is also very good, helping to create a creepy atmosphere. Gameplay wise it's solid, there are plenty of weapons and gadgets to dispose of the Typhoon and I really liked the recycle and re-purpose mechanic. Visually it was also very good, with some great character models and environments. The one area it wasn't so great was performance, while definitely not bad at all it wasn't always smooth, some areas dropped for no apparent reason and there was some hitching at times, but nothing that ruined the overall experience too badly. Overall a solid package.

    One bit of advice is to take it slow, don't rush through the main story, there are many minor and major side plots to discover and I missed almost all of them on my first run, don't make the same mistake
    Expand
  9. Jul 9, 2017
    6
    You either follow the story closely or not. I did and the game was super interesting to me. Then I hit about 70% of the game and a lot of mission failing bugs started to show, although fixable when replayed. At about the same time the game-play starts to become really annoying. The story saves it as it is super interesting, because I wasn't sure what to think most of the time. TheYou either follow the story closely or not. I did and the game was super interesting to me. Then I hit about 70% of the game and a lot of mission failing bugs started to show, although fixable when replayed. At about the same time the game-play starts to become really annoying. The story saves it as it is super interesting, because I wasn't sure what to think most of the time. The environment, while quite big, feels kind of cheap as do the enemies. In the second half of the game I juggled a lot between interested and annoyed. Good game overall, but the mediocre game-play holds it back. The exploration and story are still very good though. Expand
  10. May 7, 2017
    7
    Prey
    From Fun and Scary to Slow and Boring
    Prey is a first person survival horror game that seems to be heavily inspired by deus ex… you start the game by choosing your male or female character… You’re an experiment... and then things go wrong... the space station you’re living in has been overrun by aliens and guess who they’re after? You of course… The game starts out pretty
    Prey
    From Fun and Scary to Slow and Boring
    Prey is a first person survival horror game that seems to be heavily inspired by deus ex…
    you start the game by choosing your male or female character…
    You’re an experiment... and then things go wrong... the space station you’re living in has been overrun by aliens and guess who they’re after?
    You of course…
    The game starts out pretty interesting and terrifying...
    There are mimics around…
    this is all you know
    and at first all you have to fend for yourself is a wrench...
    And these mimics... they can be anywhere…
    as they take the shape of random items in the world…
    Randomly running into them was terrifying and made for many great jump scare moments…
    honestly a wrench and mimics is all this game needed it… but it didn’t stop there…
    it tried to do too much and they game becomes a boring drag because of it..
    This game reminded me a bit of deus ex and bioshock…
    mostly on the deus ex side though…
    There are neuromods around the world that you can pick up to unlock new skills
    these skills include the basics like being able to lift large objects, increase your health, or be able to hack locked doors…
    and you have to choose carefully because these skills are expensive and neuromods practically hardly exist compared to the prices…
    made even more ridiculous when you unlock even more mimic type skills from scanning enemies later on in the game.. it’s just too much for how little the game pays out…
    Speaking of too little to go around…
    health, and pretty much everything else…
    It doesn’t matter which difficulty you play this game on.. It’s going to be brutal…
    enemies are sponges even against fully upgraded guns... they do insane damage…
    And the food you find around only gives about 5 health... which is nothing... med kits are extremely rare…. And your health only regenerates to around 30…
    so you’re gonna die a lot…
    you can recycle trash at machines for materials or use recycle bombs for materials and then use these materials to craft medkits and ammo.. But still... these items aren’t all over the place and doesn’t necessarily make med kits or ammo extremely accessible... they’re still rare even with this crafting machine
    No worries you can just stealth around enemies…
    sort of…
    because they have magnets in their head…
    the game tricks you into believing they’re attracted to noise because of certain lure bombs you can use
    but this is a lie… I know this is a lie because there’s one mission in particular where you have to collect voice samples… one part of this mission challenges you to stay alive while a song plays.. After hiding in the room and failed I thought okay, clearly these enemies are attracted to the noise... ill click play and run down the hall and hide away from the room…
    I did this and guess which room the enemies came to?
    Not the one with the song playing... the one I was in just sitting there waiting for me to enter their line of sight to they could attack me…
    and this waiting happens a lot... they won’t move, they will sit and wait until they can see you
    it’s annoying and emersion breaking
    This game has its moments…
    its surprisingly varied considering you’re stuck in a space station…
    it’s fun and thrilling at times running from enemies while you try to find key cards and information to progress…
    But it’s also just as annoying since the game is inconsistent with telling you where to go to progress…
    sometimes your location is marked on the map.. sometimes you have to just feel your way around and search everything while dealing with monsters…
    The game also have a few progression bugs that will cause you to back in and out of a save..
    Which isn’t too bad since you can save at anytime youd like…
    As well as performance issues if you play too long..
    the inventory and weapon wheels start to lag…
    Bugs aside, Prey ultimately suffers from imbalance…
    There are far too few materials, health, or ammo for how spongy and excessive enemies are in this game..
    they become a nuisance instead of a scare…
    I could easily see this being a game of uncertainty with only a flashlight, a wrench, and some mimics…
    But instead Prey sets out to frustrate you for 16 hours… its becomes die and try again to get just a little luckier this time while dealing with over powered monsters… While I definitely did enjoy moments of prey… I didn’t enjoy most of the moments of prey… I give Prey a 7/10
    Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2017
    5
    I have to say that this game is underwhelming. It looks great in terms of graphics and style (like a combination of Dishonored and Bioshock). However, the shooting mechanics are poor, and it is a boring game. I'm probably going to play a bit more, but it feels like a chore than fun (I did pay a nice coin for it...).
  12. Aug 11, 2017
    5
    This will make me sound like a wuss, but I can't stand the sound effects of the jump scares and enemies in general. Even when I can foresee a scare, having to listen to the banging in my headphones and being unable to reasonably dodge it just rubs me the wrong way.
  13. May 27, 2017
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played through to finish.
    This game was exciting in spots, satisfying in spots, interesting and cool to explore for a while.
    Then the limited ammo and the respawning enemies started to become a drag, there were a few glitches and un-finishable quests for me, the missions and re-visiting areas became not fun at all because of the micromanaging and balancing use of scarce resources, and when I finally finished it, they tell me it was all a freaking SIMULATION and none of it meant anything?!
    I was so deflated after finishing this game, I really wish I'd never bothered, what a total lack of payoff for all the troubles and stress endured throughout the game.
    To sum up: Gaming should be fun, this was largely not fun, I persisted through it because it seemed to be going somewhere and I wanted to see how it ended, but the ending turned out rubbish.
    Don't know what the developers were thinking, this game doesnt deserve the Prey namesake.
    Expand
  14. Jun 12, 2017
    6
    Overall it's not that bad, but it's not great either. The current average rating of 7.9, almost an 8 seems a bit much to me.

    The good is the story. It's not as bad as "professional" reviewers say. it has a story with a nice twist. But as usual, intelligent (or quasi intelligent if you will) approaches have their problems. But I liked it nevertheless. Usually I'm much tougher on
    Overall it's not that bad, but it's not great either. The current average rating of 7.9, almost an 8 seems a bit much to me.

    The good is the story. It's not as bad as "professional" reviewers say. it has a story with a nice twist. But as usual, intelligent (or quasi intelligent if you will) approaches have their problems. But I liked it nevertheless. Usually I'm much tougher on incorrectness. But I think this idea has something to it.

    The bad is the graphics. It's not as good as many claim. It's only a minor improvement over the 2008 original Prey. What puts me off, is the use of straight lines, squares, cubes to form shapes. Of course things are round, curved or sculptured where it's needed, but the overall tendency is a scenery build-up by straight lines. The colors are crisp, the resolutions are high, so that might give it an illusion of quality, but it's nothing impressive for a recent game.

    Another typical minus you'll see these days in games, is the ineffective use of graphics settings. We have textures - for example - the low settings, medium, high and very high. But the visual and performance difference between these settings is minimal. Also anti-aliasing didn't perform optimal. Under certain angles, you still see the jagged lines on railings and between doors despite the highest settings. Eventually you won't notice because you're playing the game, but this is a review and I have to go by facts. Then you decide if that's fine with you.

    Now something about the game play. It was quote O.K. Nothing groundbreaking, but the good news is the upgrades one finds are useful. Many games offer a trillion upgrades and weapons and whatnot but usually only a handful - if not less - are useful. Such is not the case here.

    With this, multiple solutions can and often do exist to solve one or the other problem, which almost always is a path-finding (or item-finding) challenge. The other good thing is that there seems to be multiple ways to kill the aliens, but the bad news is that the methods are based on the same principle of "stun/incapacitate, then kill".

    Three examples follow: the player could throw a special grenade which makes the monster stare at the grenade so you can sneak up on it and bash its head in. The second method could be that you use your GLOO gun, to shoot a glue-goo at the alien which immobilize it, so you can run to it and bash its head in. A third option is to electrically stun it with your stun pistol, then run to it and bash its head in.

    After a few times you've seen it all and done it all. Most playthroughs posted on the internet eventually result in run-and-shoot more or less. i tried a more intelligent approach each time but I got bored with it. Make sure they don't notice you, so you can execute the stun-then-gun method (or go full Rambo).

    Another thing to notice is that all enemies are kinda look-a likes, though one is bigger than the other. The atmosphere on the other hand is quite nice I must say.

    So all in all, this game has a promise of some depth and story wise it works for me. This game has its ups and downs, but in the end it's an elevated shooter with straightforward graphics.
    Expand
  15. May 5, 2017
    6
    This is basically just a reskinned mixture of deus ex, dishonored, bioshock and a bit of system shock. Expected a shooter, received a semi-open-world crafting-looting-reading walking simulator with poor shooting mechanics. Points for good sound and music (Mick Gordon is a genius composer), optimization (better than dishonored 2, yeah) and somewhat "art deco" design. And I've been waitingThis is basically just a reskinned mixture of deus ex, dishonored, bioshock and a bit of system shock. Expected a shooter, received a semi-open-world crafting-looting-reading walking simulator with poor shooting mechanics. Points for good sound and music (Mick Gordon is a genius composer), optimization (better than dishonored 2, yeah) and somewhat "art deco" design. And I've been waiting for this game since trailers... made me very disappointed. Expand
  16. May 19, 2017
    6
    Prey 2017 is really a Open Room Game. More Room than Half-Life.

    Graphics: 3/5 Everything in Prey is really detailed similar to Crysis 2 but the Characters and Monsters themselves are ugly. Game's content: 3/5 It's annoying that they made to many transition to move from place to place. And it take much time for loading screens. The "Finding people" missions seem to be excessive
    Prey 2017 is really a Open Room Game. More Room than Half-Life.

    Graphics: 3/5
    Everything in Prey is really detailed similar to Crysis 2 but the Characters and Monsters themselves are ugly.

    Game's content: 3/5
    It's annoying that they made to many transition to move from place to place. And it take much time for loading screens.
    The "Finding people" missions seem to be excessive because no one there when I came to right place. The other missions are not interested. The guide icons is like a mesh because they made me lost.
    Weapon system is like Half Life, not various and few. Character's abilities are interested only with Mimic's Transformation.

    In conclusion, Prey 2017 is a Open Room game because all you have to focus is finding key to open the rooms.
    Expand
  17. Sep 3, 2017
    5
    Totally subjective review:
    I've wasted 10 hours of my life getting to know this game. To make it short: I hate lack of developed story, no dialogues, no choices, getting around empty corridors with enemies that are no fun to waste. I love space walks, saves whenever you want, shooting, RPG elements, environment.
  18. May 5, 2017
    6
    I will say this game is ok i say its not a masterpiece but not bad either. A really solid 6 for me. . Game is a bit short i finished it in 9 Hours and also really easy i mean its not that hard of a game. The monster are also not very scary yes iam a big fan of system shock and *uck me that game was scary as **** but prey the monster are really boring and not scary at all dont know theyI will say this game is ok i say its not a masterpiece but not bad either. A really solid 6 for me. . Game is a bit short i finished it in 9 Hours and also really easy i mean its not that hard of a game. The monster are also not very scary yes iam a big fan of system shock and *uck me that game was scary as **** but prey the monster are really boring and not scary at all dont know they look like placeholders did they forget to implant the real enemies ? i hope that will get patched, Expand
  19. May 26, 2017
    6
    Mezcla en una coctelera Bioshock + Half Life + Dishonored y te saldrá Prey.

    Principio brillante, lástima que haya tan poca variedad de enemigos y de situaciones, que haga que después de las 4-5 primeras horas se te haga aburrido y repetitivo... Además, ese tono cartoon no le sienta nada bien al título. Un tono más realista y oscuro le habría sentado mucho mejor. Jugado en PC (con
    Mezcla en una coctelera Bioshock + Half Life + Dishonored y te saldrá Prey.

    Principio brillante, lástima que haya tan poca variedad de enemigos y de situaciones, que haga que después de las 4-5 primeras horas se te haga aburrido y repetitivo...

    Además, ese tono cartoon no le sienta nada bien al título. Un tono más realista y oscuro le habría sentado mucho mejor. Jugado en PC (con todo en alto/muy alto).
    Expand
  20. May 5, 2017
    6
    I like the whole consept of the game, it looks and runs well, but i find it to be very little noob friendly, you face enemies that will make your day a fricking nightmare right from the get go. I find myself walking around hitting chairs and trashcans cause i never know when i will dicked on by an alien who is cloacking. Ammo is really hard to find and without ammo a wrench aint much useI like the whole consept of the game, it looks and runs well, but i find it to be very little noob friendly, you face enemies that will make your day a fricking nightmare right from the get go. I find myself walking around hitting chairs and trashcans cause i never know when i will dicked on by an alien who is cloacking. Ammo is really hard to find and without ammo a wrench aint much use against the phantoms.
    I really had high hopes for this game and it sounded so promising, but so far i feel like im walking around with no real intention or dying more than i do in dark souls
    Expand
  21. May 11, 2017
    7
    This game is very creative and annoying at the same time. The difficulty can be hard if you make it hard on yourself or it can be easy if you just think about how your approaching enemies. Its nothing like Dead Space but more like a first person "Deus Ex" or just "Dishonored" in space. I had fun playing it but the fluidness of the story is slow and pulled down by constant loading timesThis game is very creative and annoying at the same time. The difficulty can be hard if you make it hard on yourself or it can be easy if you just think about how your approaching enemies. Its nothing like Dead Space but more like a first person "Deus Ex" or just "Dishonored" in space. I had fun playing it but the fluidness of the story is slow and pulled down by constant loading times going from room to room. It almost kind of ruined the ending for me maybe a little. The graphics are good and the game runs great at 4k ultra so it gets points there. There are glitches and a few minor hiccups but the developers get major points for jumping on the issues within just two days with a beta patch. Unlike Mass Effect Andromeda's Multiplayer which will never be fixed. Also maybe this game just should have been a movie instead of a game or make it more like Alien Isolation. The game needs to be engaging but most of the time feels like a chore. Was it Worth $60 yes just barely. Expand
  22. Aug 21, 2017
    7
    Pros :

    - story and unexpected end - stressing atmosphere - technical optimization - gameplay : mix of weapons and powers like Bioshock - quite long - recycling is a very good idea Cons : - low resolution textures which make the game graphically average - world divided in areas, separated by loading times - hacking too annoying and difficult : fortunately, I solved this
    Pros :

    - story and unexpected end
    - stressing atmosphere
    - technical optimization
    - gameplay : mix of weapons and powers like Bioshock
    - quite long
    - recycling is a very good idea

    Cons :

    - low resolution textures which make the game graphically average
    - world divided in areas, separated by loading times
    - hacking too annoying and difficult : fortunately, I solved this problem by downloading a mod on nexus site which strongly facilitates hacking
    - secondary missions not very interesting.
    Expand
  23. Jul 10, 2017
    5
    Well, what do you know. You start your first, sunny day of work at TranStar Labs in a big city and soon after find yourself up to your neck in trouble on a space station orbiting Earth, where things have gone very, very wrong. The transition from the first environment to the second is very well executed, it's probably the most memorable moment in the game. The rest is essentially SystemWell, what do you know. You start your first, sunny day of work at TranStar Labs in a big city and soon after find yourself up to your neck in trouble on a space station orbiting Earth, where things have gone very, very wrong. The transition from the first environment to the second is very well executed, it's probably the most memorable moment in the game. The rest is essentially System Shock 2 in 2017, which is a good thing for me. The game even openly acknowledges its roots (for example, a new holographic tech is named Looking Glass technology). It plays as an FPS with PSI powers and tech skills, and follows System Shock tropes, where you have a series of short term goals, and everything always goes wrong. "We need to restart the reactor. Oh no, it's stopped mid-sequence, we need to get the gizmo replaced and then retry. Damn, the replacement is in an area overrun by nasties". I love the gameplay, went full PSI powers on my playthrough and don't regret it.
    What's wrong with the game, then? It's yet another male-bashing fest. Maybe not so blatantly as in Horizon ZD, where "Men only bring destruction, I want no male children" clearly complements a long string of strong female warriors and meek, emasculated male nincompoops. Here it's subtler and potentially even worse, you notice it if you dig deep into the email system of the station: the picture that soon emerges is that males are unreliable, temperamental workers at best, while females are almost always dependable, often heroic. Real examples from the game include Loyd, who smokes near fuel manifolds, Frank, who harasses Emanuella, Dayo, who has no qualms getting live subjects killed in his experiments, a guy who keeps denouncing his co-worker's supposed sloppiness to their boss in order to ingratiate her, another one who uses the high tech equivalent of duct tape to seal leaks instead of using proper parts, yet another one who constantly accuses his colleague of having stolen his ideas, a paranoid one who wants to get a shotgun and seal himself in a bunker, a demented scientist who mistreats his female assistant, a military guy willing to commmit mass murder as easily as he makes coffee, a deranged serial killer, a guy who uses company material to build his own pet robot, a drunkard who dies in a refuse tank, and many more. Male employees disregard procedures, almost invariably freak out in the face of danger, and are often class A a**holes, especially when in a position of power.
    For the females, we have the tough-as-nails security chief, the heroic Mikhaila whose insists that you don't waste time getting her life-saving medicine, the courageous Annalise, who risks her very life to expose the illegal experiments, the strong and ingenuous Danielle, who remains alive against impossible odds and gives you vital help, and a string of people who do their daily job with conscience and care, and remain calm and rational even on the threshold of death. To balance things out, there is the female chief of a smuggler ring, but she is arguably much better than her male lackey, who goes grovelling back to the director and begs for mercy.
    I wish developers put a sticker on games such as this, reading "Feminism-compliant game" or something like that, so that I would know to avoid them. I would have never bought this game had I known of its "males are sad, inferior creatures" stance.
    Expand
  24. Aug 21, 2017
    6
    The game has many things that can interest you, but I got bored at the end and want to finished it asap. Maybe I spent too much time to find all of the secrets.
  25. Oct 10, 2017
    6
    It's pretty. The typical first person shooter, with small twists. To be honest if I wasn't playing the game, due to some lawsuit, I wouldn't be playing it at all.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    100
    Prey offers one of the best gaming environments in the history and builds on it its sophisticated, exciting, and unusually entertaining gameplay. A weaker story and sometimes too high difficulty does not change the fact that Arkane studios has once again produced something special. [Issue#275]
  2. Jun 30, 2017
    80
    A great game of action and exploration, with rich, interlocking mechanics. May be a little bit derivative, but a tonne of fun nonetheless. [Issue#263, p.56]
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 30, 2017
    90
    Prey is victorious on almost every front. It’s like a compilation album which lets you listen to the greatest hits by System Shock, Dishonored, Thief and Deus Ex with some smashing original songs as a bonus. A strong contender for the Game of the Year title. [07/2017, p.34]