User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 286

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertF.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Cool game. Fin to play and a different approach to things
  2. LiamP.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Prey is not only a action packed thrill ride from start to finish but also brings some great innovation including wall walks, portals,spirit exploring aswell as some cool weapons and challenging puzzles.
  3. michaelt.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    This has to one of, if not THE the best fps game ever. being built no the doom 3 engine, it has some of the best graphics i have ever seen, i fell in love with the game straight away after seeing the trailer on steam. it hs the action and adventure of quake 4, the intensity of doom 3 and the ability to captivate you all the way through the game, as in half life 2. I don't thinik iThis has to one of, if not THE the best fps game ever. being built no the doom 3 engine, it has some of the best graphics i have ever seen, i fell in love with the game straight away after seeing the trailer on steam. it hs the action and adventure of quake 4, the intensity of doom 3 and the ability to captivate you all the way through the game, as in half life 2. I don't thinik i will ever play such a great fps. Expand
  4. TomM.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Gr8 game with incredible graphics, intense combat and challenging scenarios. 5 star easily
  5. KnutV.
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Best 3d Game ever since F.E.A.R
  6. GordonJ.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    The best new concepts to come to a FPS in a very long time and excellent graphics to go with it.
  7. youngji-soo
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    great graphics, one of the best games i have EVER played!!! definitely deserves a 10/10.
  8. Hamidunknown
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Hello pc gamers, I recently played Prey on the pc and boy was it a lot of fun and i finished it withing 13 hours. The 13 hours were a lot of guts, blood, guns, aliens, and rescuing your girlfriend. You play as and Indian-American who gets abducted by aliens who want to feed off humans, along with your grandfather and girlfriend. Along the way you encounter new enemies, levels, and guns Hello pc gamers, I recently played Prey on the pc and boy was it a lot of fun and i finished it withing 13 hours. The 13 hours were a lot of guts, blood, guns, aliens, and rescuing your girlfriend. You play as and Indian-American who gets abducted by aliens who want to feed off humans, along with your grandfather and girlfriend. Along the way you encounter new enemies, levels, and guns which will help you to finish the game. The story gets more and more good, even though some people say it's cliched. I totally recommend this game to any crazy FPS gamer who likes guts and guns. This has to be one of the best game i ever played but it cannot compete with the Orange box and i mean no way!! Buy it off ebay. Only costs around ten bucks. Worth your money! Expand
  9. TedD
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Prey blows you away. The way that it takes a 3D world and (some times literally) stands it on its head makes for some of the most innovative environments ever seen in a game.
  10. PaulB.
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Very very intense and amazing game.
  11. TheVulcan
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    This game is everything Doom 3 should have been and then some! Better Graphics Better Story Better Weapons Better Levels.
  12. RyanR.
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    This is as good as a shooter can be! This is my favorite game that I've ever played. The graphics are also better than any other game I've seen out there. They need to make more of these!
  13. Craig
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Really creative puzzles. Good story Great level design and artwork. Great music.. Great enemies and weapons. Prey takes all of the best from previous FPS games, such as Doom and Quake, and combines it all in one package. 12 hours of game play by the in-game clock, but I must have spent at least twice that long on the game the first time through for replays and sight seeing the artful Really creative puzzles. Good story Great level design and artwork. Great music.. Great enemies and weapons. Prey takes all of the best from previous FPS games, such as Doom and Quake, and combines it all in one package. 12 hours of game play by the in-game clock, but I must have spent at least twice that long on the game the first time through for replays and sight seeing the artful level design. Expand
  14. ChrisK.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I am mildly surprised to see some of these reviews. Quite honestly, Prey is a breath of fresh air into the FPS world. Doom 3, Quake 4, F.E.A.R. ... let's face it, FPS games got into a rut. Prey brings something different to the table, what with its gravity dependant puzzles, and a completely different type of story (though it could be related to Q4 in some ways, it's still I am mildly surprised to see some of these reviews. Quite honestly, Prey is a breath of fresh air into the FPS world. Doom 3, Quake 4, F.E.A.R. ... let's face it, FPS games got into a rut. Prey brings something different to the table, what with its gravity dependant puzzles, and a completely different type of story (though it could be related to Q4 in some ways, it's still nowhere near the same). Humanhead also took a big gamble on their storytelling style, using a named character who actually talks, and still trying to make the game immersive. Anonymity is what most games use to fake immersion ('marine', Gordon Freeman (whose face is never seen in-game)). Prey gave you an actual character and, throughout its storytelling, made you him. Expand
  15. TerryD.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Outstanding. Best shooter since Halo and HalfLife 2. Cool deal is getting all tied up in Tommy's character - the story works. The foes work. the weapons work. The bad guys work. And man, do the environiments ever work. Perfect.
  16. PetrasescuL.
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!
  17. JackH.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Incredible game. The bizarre pan-dimensional physics alone make it a blast to play, and the story is great too!
  18. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    There's absolutely nothing to complain about in this game. The graphics are stunning (at least they were when the game was released), the story is mind-blowing, the gameplay mechanics are incredibly ergonomic and intuitive, and more. This is, in my humble opinion, one of the most underrated games in the history of the PC. Get it, get it now. Prey 2 doesn't look quite as good.
  19. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I happened to run across a used copy of this game and it is one of the best games I have played in years. The puzzles are challenging and the outcomes will stand you on your head (pun intended). I recommend this game highly. To me, its an early precursor to games like Mass Effect without the sex.
  20. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    In a world full of Call of Duty clones, it's rare to find an FPS game that brings something new and unique to the genre. Prey, from 2006, brings this in spades. The game offers a variety of new gameplay concepts and elements that make a unique and varied shooter; the classic Doom style run and gun gameplay mixed with several challenging puzzles and twists to complete a level. If you'reIn a world full of Call of Duty clones, it's rare to find an FPS game that brings something new and unique to the genre. Prey, from 2006, brings this in spades. The game offers a variety of new gameplay concepts and elements that make a unique and varied shooter; the classic Doom style run and gun gameplay mixed with several challenging puzzles and twists to complete a level. If you're looking for a new and innovative shooter (even though it's an old game) I highly recommend Prey; for the $5 it cost me, it was well worth my money. Expand
  21. Mar 23, 2015
    10
    One of the most underrated games of all time.
    Sends shivers down your spine several times through the Story and even makes you sit there in tears at some point for sure!
    I replay it every 1-2 Years and im devastated every. single. time. that there are no more games like this to enjoy these times around.
  22. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome! When i played it first time, i was blown away. When i heard that game was released 2006., i couldn't believe because graphic was so good. There is a many amazing things in the ship, like teleports, passages, many aliens... just awesome game.
  23. Deathknight
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    One of the best games I've played so far.
  24. TonyG
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    Wow everyone's a critic on this game. What do you want, Tolstoy's War and Peace? It's a game about blowing up aliens. And it's a FUN game. It's alternately funny, disgusting, and rocking, which is everything I ask out of a game. As Duke Nukem was to Doom, so is Prey to Doom 3--a fast, hard hitting romp through alien melting.
  25. MadsS.
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    Best game in that genre in years.
  26. BryanR.
    Jun 24, 2006
    9
    pros: Great graphics, gameplay, and voice acting. cons: Wall walking gets a little nauseating after a while :p
  27. Marshall
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    This game combines a well-developed plot, beautiful graphics, and gameplay that isn't repetitive thanks to a variety of areas you enter in the game. It's what Doom III should have been, rather than the "find red key, open door, find next key, open door..." that bogged it down. A blast to play from start to finish!
  28. Quark
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    Have just completed this game and its great. Buy it!
  29. FrankV.
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    I don't know why people have rated this in the 7-8 range - I think it is at least a 9 out of 10. The graphics are good, and the gameplay is refreshing and addictive. If you like FPS games with interesting storylines and some navigational puzzles, then this game will be a blast for you.
  30. Kyle
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    All i have to say is that... PREY... is amazing in all aspects but a few... too few weapons, and the multiplayer AKA MULTIPREY... is kinda dull, no servers, no one on...
  31. Eon
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    Not as good as Half-Life 2, but far better than, let's say, F.E.A.R (which is VERY overrated). The story is kinda predictable (which is relative thing to say, maybe some people would get shocked of Prey's "plot twists", so it's a minor con after all), but great visuals and level design makes up for it. Despite the fact that game looks good, I'd like to say that I wish Not as good as Half-Life 2, but far better than, let's say, F.E.A.R (which is VERY overrated). The story is kinda predictable (which is relative thing to say, maybe some people would get shocked of Prey's "plot twists", so it's a minor con after all), but great visuals and level design makes up for it. Despite the fact that game looks good, I'd like to say that I wish there were more games to be released on Half Life 2 (Source) , than Doom 3 engine. Because Source is really much more enjoyable thing in my opinion. Overall Prey is still one of the best shooters there is. Expand
  32. Thepiman
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    While the AI on the enemies sucks the game does not. Not only are the puzzles fun and different but the loading times are superior to the load times of Half life 2. The Game runs smoothly maxed out. While the Death walk and the lack of enemies makes the combat easy thus far (I have not gotten to the boss). If the Gamespot reviewer had played the game he would have noted that the game not While the AI on the enemies sucks the game does not. Not only are the puzzles fun and different but the loading times are superior to the load times of Half life 2. The Game runs smoothly maxed out. While the Death walk and the lack of enemies makes the combat easy thus far (I have not gotten to the boss). If the Gamespot reviewer had played the game he would have noted that the game not only has great voice acting , on par with quake 4 and half life 2, but also has great music and supports open AL. Other thing to note are: 1. support for the Logitech G15 gaming keyboard duel core. Expand
  33. ChunkAhoyC.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Excellent game, huge levels and incredible sound effects. Prey gave me more fun than HL2 Episode 1 and is on par with HL2 in my mind.
  34. ChadB.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Great Game... Great Multiplayer... With graphics that look great and play great (even on my 2nd gen hardware), this compelling story is filled with twists in it... making you constantly wanting to find out more... the really great thing about this game, that will keep you coming back is the incredible use of gravity defying physics and portals... both are used very well in ingame puzzles, Great Game... Great Multiplayer... With graphics that look great and play great (even on my 2nd gen hardware), this compelling story is filled with twists in it... making you constantly wanting to find out more... the really great thing about this game, that will keep you coming back is the incredible use of gravity defying physics and portals... both are used very well in ingame puzzles, and it makes the multi-'prey'-er that much more exciting, as enemies can not only come from the ground... but come from the walls, the ceilings, or even come right out of no where... Game did seem a little short, but when I looked back on it... it really wasnt... I just had such a great time playing it, I didn't feel I was playing Prey, but enjoying it. Expand
  35. RichH.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Highly entertaining FPS. Superb artistic styling. Mind-bending gravity changing fights and puzzles. Very good game. Only downside is a bit of a weak ending imo.
  36. JacobB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    While it may have 1 or 2 flaws with the AI, Prey is a amazing change in the FPS genre. Combining elements of horror, sci-fi, and supernatural in a way that just blew me away. The inovative gameplay (which is a complete mind trip in and of its self) and story are reason enough to buy this game. -ps i loved the Art Bell sequences, a true treat to all those AM coast to Coast fans out there.
  37. JasonD
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    The most memorable FPS game I have ever played. Absolutely excellent story line, voice acting, graphics, action, emotion, etc...I became quite attached to the characters and felt Tommy's frustrations throughout the game. Loved it from start o finish, everyone should play this one through to the end if only to allow a great story to be told.
  38. ChrisS
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    This game was amazing. The story and graphics plus gameplay were great. The story is very intriguing and its very intuitive because your character actually interacts with others instead of being the silent walker. The gameplay was excellent, the aliens are not stupid, and you have great abilities. The visuals are great, the aliens look incredible, some of the sickest to be seen. If you This game was amazing. The story and graphics plus gameplay were great. The story is very intriguing and its very intuitive because your character actually interacts with others instead of being the silent walker. The gameplay was excellent, the aliens are not stupid, and you have great abilities. The visuals are great, the aliens look incredible, some of the sickest to be seen. If you liked Doom 3 or quake 4, its hard not to play this game then Expand
  39. RichardC.
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    Graphics are supreb, high quality. Game is a little short but exciting. I bought this game and I will play it again. I hope there will be a number two soon.
  40. SoCo
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    TOTALLY did what quake 4 only wishes it had been creative enough to do.
  41. JamesH.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Good mazes and excellent details on the characters!!!
  42. Tom
    Jul 21, 2007
    9
    Great game but too short play time.
  43. EricE
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. I loved the walking on walls, ceilings, having mobs spawn on the floor below you, or on the walls beside you. Using portals was really a nice touch. It was exactly what I wanted out of Portal as a full 3d FPS. I also thought it was a interesting twist to use Indian lore as the backdrop of the storyline rather than most typical games do. Also enjoyed hearing Art I really enjoyed this game. I loved the walking on walls, ceilings, having mobs spawn on the floor below you, or on the walls beside you. Using portals was really a nice touch. It was exactly what I wanted out of Portal as a full 3d FPS. I also thought it was a interesting twist to use Indian lore as the backdrop of the storyline rather than most typical games do. Also enjoyed hearing Art Bell's show every once in awhile on the ship. Few things confused me like what was the deal with the spectre's that flew around every once in awhile, also the little ghost girls. Just some parts of some things you saw were not "finished" and just left hanging. Overall, I enjoyed it and it was worth my money. Wish more FPS though outside of the box like this one. While not truely 100% unique they did a lot of stuff I have never seen before. Expand
  44. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    I've never seen a game like this before. If George Noory was a Native American Indian and game developer he would create this game. I've never seen Indians and Aliens combined in a game before! It's awesome and I enjoyed it very much. It mixes first person shooting, bashing, smashing, frying and freezing, with mind screwing puzzles, zero gravity at times, 3D Space where there is no up orI've never seen a game like this before. If George Noory was a Native American Indian and game developer he would create this game. I've never seen Indians and Aliens combined in a game before! It's awesome and I enjoyed it very much. It mixes first person shooting, bashing, smashing, frying and freezing, with mind screwing puzzles, zero gravity at times, 3D Space where there is no up or down, and a strange and twisted story of a Native American who goes up against Aliens. LOL Whoever came up with this game and developed the story and game play had to be smoking some strong stuff in his peace pipe. Along with the mix of shooting and puzzles, there is comedy through out with the voice overs. Lots of swearing and blood, and a strange mix of weapons. It seems to be a nice balance of difficulty and playability for the average gamer and moves along at a good pace to keep you playing to the next level. Well, I'm going to go take something for my dizziness and go to bed and have nightmares now. Expand
  45. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    PREY: This is one of the most underrated game ever made (because little to no one knows it). Most people says that it's an Okay game. I say it was Amazing! The game was made in the id Tech 4 engine which is a Doom 3 engine. You can still feel that this game is a rip-off Doom 3, but it's made on the same game engine so maybe it has some aggreements with id Software. The gameplay is morePREY: This is one of the most underrated game ever made (because little to no one knows it). Most people says that it's an Okay game. I say it was Amazing! The game was made in the id Tech 4 engine which is a Doom 3 engine. You can still feel that this game is a rip-off Doom 3, but it's made on the same game engine so maybe it has some aggreements with id Software. The gameplay is more like Doom 3, but it's more story-based. You and your girlfriend gets abducted by aliens. You made to escape, but you must save your girlfriend. There are some sad moments too so I think the Story was great. But god, the environments and the aliens are as disgusting as Half-Life (in a good way though). It really feels that you are in there. The realism is great and still comparable to HL2. The gameplay is just your typical shooter, but it's more than that. Why? The weapons were made by aliens instead of humans, but the other reason is just like Half Life 2, Prey has puzzles. But compared to HL2, this one blows your mind completely. They are more than just puzzles, they kill gravity. Unlike any other games I've played so far (still counting Portal), the puzzle just blows your mind. There are portals that can teleport you somewhere, but it can also shrinks you into a miniature look. There are floors that kill the law of gravity, and more weird things. They used the engine perfectly on this game. I loved it. Too bad with game like this, id Software didn't put more efforts on their recent games like RAGE. So overall, Prey is an amazing game and it's one of my most favorite game of all time. [9/10] "Amazing" Expand
  46. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Considering that this game game out a year prior to Bioshock and a couple of years post Half Life 2 it is amazing that this game does not garner more praise. My biggest issue is that they combat is a little clunky, but the story, the creative game play involving the use of alternating gravity, using teleportation portals, etc. along with strong voice acting (the female lead irritate theConsidering that this game game out a year prior to Bioshock and a couple of years post Half Life 2 it is amazing that this game does not garner more praise. My biggest issue is that they combat is a little clunky, but the story, the creative game play involving the use of alternating gravity, using teleportation portals, etc. along with strong voice acting (the female lead irritate the hell out of me at times and other times it was passable the rest of the voice acting was perfect), great visuals, the creative use of spirit and a really engaging story make this one hell of a good game.

    I hope that Prey 2 comes out of development hell, but then again it apparently will not have Tommy as the main protagonist despite the ending of Prey which is disappointing. But then again I could be totally off as there is not much known about Prey 2 other than the pissing match that goes on at time about who is to blame for it being stalled.

    If you like story driven games with the need to figure some things out too as you go, I would recommend this title. Its a bit hard to find as it is not available via any download outlets and you can find only a few copies on re-sellers like Amazon. This game is well worth a try and works great on the PC.
    Expand
  47. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Great game with excellent storyline, diverse gameplay, nice graphics. The game engine from doom 3 looks very good, even in 2013, the animation is good. I look forward to continuing stories, Tommy kick ass the aliens.
  48. SteveF.
    Aug 17, 2007
    8
    It had a few weak points, like things that just don't make any sense. (Mine machines that HELP you kill the final boss? Why would that be there? Didn't she kind of create that area for the final battle?) Anyways, I felt like I was IN a scifi movie rather than playing a scifi game. It was pretty epic.
  49. James
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    The game is highly entertaining. Stunning gameplay and maps. While the story line is fantastic it lacks some in no being able to deviate from the story line, That tends to leave replayablity of the main story line low. If your a hard core FPS gamer you may or may not like this game for the story. If you a casual gamer that plays for the story, you will likely enjoy it.
  50. AndrewS.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    A good all round FPS. The doom 3 graphics engine looks as nice as ever and the sound for weapons, creatures etc are nicely done. The gameplay is very good with the basic puzzles breaking up the combat nicely. However there are some truly cliche moments in the plot and some may feel this game has little to offer in the way of a challenge as you effectively can't die. All of this taken A good all round FPS. The doom 3 graphics engine looks as nice as ever and the sound for weapons, creatures etc are nicely done. The gameplay is very good with the basic puzzles breaking up the combat nicely. However there are some truly cliche moments in the plot and some may feel this game has little to offer in the way of a challenge as you effectively can't die. All of this taken into account. I highly recommend it. Expand
  51. BobD.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    It's a good game, but I'd just like to point out to all users NOT TO BUY IT FROM STEAM at a rip-off $50 - you can get it for a fiver on play and if you're a U.S buyer, $10 on amazon.
  52. MatthewC
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    For all Doom 3, Quake 4 or any id Tech 4 engine-based game lovers like me, you will absolutely love this game. The similar doom environment and gameplay will make you feel at home with some hint of portals and anti-gravity catwalks which I find unique and fun (especially in multiplayer!). Not my favourite from the entire game library, however it's definitely a must-have. Don't For all Doom 3, Quake 4 or any id Tech 4 engine-based game lovers like me, you will absolutely love this game. The similar doom environment and gameplay will make you feel at home with some hint of portals and anti-gravity catwalks which I find unique and fun (especially in multiplayer!). Not my favourite from the entire game library, however it's definitely a must-have. Don't miss out on this one! Expand
  53. johnm
    Jul 1, 2009
    8
    Great game let down somewhat by the overuse of swear words to compensate for bad voice over acting. Storyline a little out of time with the rest of the scifi world but the game play was cool enough to make me wanna finish. Prey 2???? with better acting and storyline????
  54. MarkS.
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    This game is fun, but there is no question that it is pretty much a standard FPS. The gravity switching and wall walking is a nice twist on the genre, and doesn't really get confusing. The portal concept, while looking cool, isn't anything new. The portals, in fact, are nothing more than doors. The spirit walking puzzles are a nice addition, and I like the death walk. (It sure This game is fun, but there is no question that it is pretty much a standard FPS. The gravity switching and wall walking is a nice twist on the genre, and doesn't really get confusing. The portal concept, while looking cool, isn't anything new. The portals, in fact, are nothing more than doors. The spirit walking puzzles are a nice addition, and I like the death walk. (It sure keeps you from cursing for not quick-saving). The graphics are the same as Doom III; I really can't see the enhancement. The sound is excellent. The voice acting is very good. The game is quite short, my son has finished it already. To the people that say this game offers nothing new, I would have to counter with the fact that my son isn't really a FPS player, but when he saw this, he had to play it through to the end. It must have something, because he passed on Doom III and Quake IV. All in all, I'd say the Metascore is an acurate rating of this game. Expand
  55. Humb1est.W
    Aug 9, 2006
    8
    Forget what Knut V. said about Prey bieng Best Shooter since F.E.A.R. Prey starts of real cool than it gets really cliched and boring. Doom and Quake are better.F.E.A.R,Half-life and Halo are way better.
  56. TheJack
    Feb 9, 2007
    8
    Humans aren't nearly as convincing as those in HL2, but the enviro and creature graphics, the lighting and physics are very good (just like D3, duh). Each weapon has little touches
  57. SethB.
    May 27, 2007
    8
    I just finished this, and it was amazing. The innvoation is fantastic, the combat is decent, and the end is great. 8/10
  58. PeterU.
    Dec 8, 2006
    8
    I'm not going to repeat all the good things people are saying about the storyline and graphics, but I must add that the on-line multiplayer isn't as good as it could be.
  59. Kyleb2112jay
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    People shouldn't rate games they obviously haven't played more than 5 minutes. You may not like the game, but giving it a zero says more about your ignorance than the game. The clever portals and gravity changes are the first new things I've seen in an FPS in a long time. The game maps are often brilliant and will force you to problem solve in 3 dimensions. What the game People shouldn't rate games they obviously haven't played more than 5 minutes. You may not like the game, but giving it a zero says more about your ignorance than the game. The clever portals and gravity changes are the first new things I've seen in an FPS in a long time. The game maps are often brilliant and will force you to problem solve in 3 dimensions. What the game badly needed was more wide areas with tactical combat against a lot more enemies. You never take on more than a few at a time and it's always in cramped quarters. Even well-designed puzzles get old when they're linked back to back. And the indian chanting got real old. Expand
  60. RandyM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    An intense and visceral FPS of the highest order. Prepare to be shocked, disturbed, and utterly left satisfied with the game's amusing story and kick-butt weaponry.
  61. MichaelI.
    Jun 22, 2007
    8
    I'm liking it so far. The spirit shift and the teleport boxes add a different twist to the constant shoot it if it moves. The walking on walls and ceilings can be a bit unsettling at times, but it makes for some interesting game play.
  62. MichaelR.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    Interesting story with some game mechanics that make this a good choice for someone who has never played an FPS before. For longtime players like myself the portal and gravity shifts were a nice touch. Play could have been longer and difficulty should have been ramped up a little earlier. Very good game though.
  63. TonyM
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    This FPS is a decent game worth every penny (got it for 4.95 during a weekend special on Steam hehe). It looks great (as far as the Doom3 engine is concerned), plays great (not too hard - well, make that not really hard at all), and has enough action and story to make it worthwhile. The only problem is the voice acting seems quite, I dunno, lame or silly at times (now I understand why This FPS is a decent game worth every penny (got it for 4.95 during a weekend special on Steam hehe). It looks great (as far as the Doom3 engine is concerned), plays great (not too hard - well, make that not really hard at all), and has enough action and story to make it worthwhile. The only problem is the voice acting seems quite, I dunno, lame or silly at times (now I understand why Gordon Freeman does not talk). Expand
  64. KneelB4Zod
    Dec 13, 2006
    8
    To tha point:: The game is marvelous, and still an important buy. However, it is not a must buy because if you've already played HL2 or Doom3, then you've played this game too. The only differences are that it isn't as realistic as doom3, but it isn't as "i want to cut my wrists" boring as doom3. In general, it simply doesn't match up to the insane AI realismTo tha point:: The game is marvelous, and still an important buy. However, it is not a must buy because if you've already played HL2 or Doom3, then you've played this game too. The only differences are that it isn't as realistic as doom3, but it isn't as "i want to cut my wrists" boring as doom3. In general, it simply doesn't match up to the insane AI realism and character movement of doom3. in comparison to HL2, well, it doesn't compare, lets just say that. Finally, GAME REVOLUTION is a terrible game critic. PERIOD. I said it, you know it. Its run by some fat geek with a pony tail that is pissed bc it didn't live up to his expectations. Its still not a "58" you nincompoop. You guys are right up there with WHAM! gaming. get a new job sucking dick for crack you tools. Expand
  65. KorneelG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    When you start up the game, and u play your first half hour, it's really a nice game. It's nice to see the alien base for the first time (reminded me of half-life 2 tough....), but after that, it really doesn't get better. there are to few guns in the game, the portals really aren't thát funny, and so one... Still it was fun playing it for a while, but it was When you start up the game, and u play your first half hour, it's really a nice game. It's nice to see the alien base for the first time (reminded me of half-life 2 tough....), but after that, it really doesn't get better. there are to few guns in the game, the portals really aren't thát funny, and so one... Still it was fun playing it for a while, but it was nothing special to remember. Expand
  66. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This game really surprised me. I bought it years ago and tossed it in box and forgot about it until recently. It has a Native American storyline and characters which is very rare for all games, let alone a FPS. You get sucked up along with your girlfriend and Cherokee grandfather to an alien ship that is processing the people of Earth for food. You spend most of the game searching for yourThis game really surprised me. I bought it years ago and tossed it in box and forgot about it until recently. It has a Native American storyline and characters which is very rare for all games, let alone a FPS. You get sucked up along with your girlfriend and Cherokee grandfather to an alien ship that is processing the people of Earth for food. You spend most of the game searching for your girlfriend and that leads you to destroying the main boss. It sounds a little hokey but it works and I never rolled my eyes at the story which I can't say for a lot of games. The graphics are a bit dated with the human animations looking slightly blocky but the lighting system and textures were detailed. Since it is an older game (2006) I was not able to play at the full resolution of my monitor and had to settle for 1600x1200. The odd thing is that now matter what aspect ratio I selected all the resolutions were the same. At any rate it played fine and I had no trouble with how it looked. The game is VERY similar to Quake 4 but I liked Prey better because of the story and gameplay. One of the unique things about it was that you can't really die. When you loose all your health your are transported to the death world where you shoot wraiths to gain your health and spirit back. This helps the gameplay flow so much more smoothly than any other game I have played. It breaks the monotony of the save/load cycle which was one thing I did not enjoy about Quake. Also when you die and come back the level loads instantly, no more waiting for the whole thing to load again and making you frustrated about getting past a hard part. There is also a spirit walk mode where you leave your body and enter a spirit world to pass through force fields and access switches or other items you would be unable to normally. The sound and music fit right in with the game. Despite being a Native American game there were just a couple sections where the music matched. The death/spirit world and visiting the ancestral grounds. It's mostly short chanting and it makes sense to make it simple rather than drawn out singing chanting that may take you out of the game. The voice acting was also done well. In particular the main character and last boss. It's not often that I find myself glad to hear the main character shouting obscenities or the sickly sweet voice of the villain. And lets not forget Art Bell as himself on the call in radio station. The game has some shortcomings. It's fairly quick, I blasted through it in around 6 hours and 30 minutes. The death world has a lot to do with that though. If I did not have to constantly save and load in Quake I probably could have shaved hours off my final time. And besides, too many hours in a FPS game ruins it for me. Half Life was great, but damn was it long. The graphics are a bit dated, but again for 2006 time it was good. The difficulty may be a bit on the easy side. I would rather have it too easy than too hard however. After completing the game on normal mode you can play on the harder Cherokee mode. As much as I enjoyed this game I wouldn't go through it again just for a harder difficulty.

    I fully recommend this game to all type of game players, you don't have to be into FPS type games to enjoy it. It does have quite a bit of gore and swearing(you can turn off obscenities though), so not for the younger gamers. You can pick it up for ~$10 shipped or check your local game store. For some odd reason this game is not on the Steam network. I think it would be able to enjoy much more success if it was. The sequel is due out the end of December 2012 and I know I will be buying it.
    Expand
  67. Oct 25, 2014
    8
    Very nice FPS with innovative twists (remember that this is a 2006 game). It uses the same game engine as Doom 3, but in ways that Doom 3 didn't. The variable gravity is done very well. It is often the only way through a linear zone, but occasionally, it offers alternative ways to solve a problem. Its portal mechanism isn't as sophisticated or important as it is in Portal, which came aVery nice FPS with innovative twists (remember that this is a 2006 game). It uses the same game engine as Doom 3, but in ways that Doom 3 didn't. The variable gravity is done very well. It is often the only way through a linear zone, but occasionally, it offers alternative ways to solve a problem. Its portal mechanism isn't as sophisticated or important as it is in Portal, which came a year later, but it has some interesting unexpected consequences for the player, but that are obviously intended by the developers. If you like shooters and Portal, you'll love this combination. It's also nice to have a Cherokee who isn't a caricature as the protagonist and hero. The story is engaging and sporadically immersing. There's one point where I screwed up and both I and the character simultaneously said, "Oh, s**t! What have I done?" I never had a jinx moment with an avatar before. Expand
  68. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Prey is a great FPS that has a pretty decent story to it. If you're sick of CoD and want a good FPS, look no farther. Prey does obviously feel old, because it is, but for it's time it has good graphics and the gameplay is solid. Kind of reminds me of QUAKE 4, so if you liked that you'll probably enjoy Prey more or less. What's interesting is the atmosphere is surprisingly good in Prey,Prey is a great FPS that has a pretty decent story to it. If you're sick of CoD and want a good FPS, look no farther. Prey does obviously feel old, because it is, but for it's time it has good graphics and the gameplay is solid. Kind of reminds me of QUAKE 4, so if you liked that you'll probably enjoy Prey more or less. What's interesting is the atmosphere is surprisingly good in Prey, despite it being older and appearing to not have put too much effort into purposefully making it very atmospheric. In a couple scenes in the bar/inn it feels like you're actually there. The enemies are well balanced as well as the ammo/guns. Specifically the ammo is very well balanced, you get appropriate ammo depending on the damage of each gun that makes it feel natural, and not getting overloaded with ammo like most games. The enemies get more difficult gradually and have some very creative designs. I'm not sure if you could consider Prey a horror game, but like Dead Space or Doom it has some pretty scary monsters/scenarios. Prey also touches on some mind-bending factors which keep the game very entertaining, and it's just long enough for the story it's trying to tell, which it does very well. Expand
  69. MattB.
    Jul 14, 2006
    7
    Some mind-bending tricks with portals and gravity are a fun diversion and a welcome piece of experimentation in a fatigued genre, but that doesn't mitigate the distinctly aged model of FPS combat on show here. The environments are at times amazing, but the game mostly defaults to the usual series of "Corridors and Rooms for Fighting inTM". The plot's fairly cliché, good Some mind-bending tricks with portals and gravity are a fun diversion and a welcome piece of experimentation in a fatigued genre, but that doesn't mitigate the distinctly aged model of FPS combat on show here. The environments are at times amazing, but the game mostly defaults to the usual series of "Corridors and Rooms for Fighting inTM". The plot's fairly cliché, good enough to keep you playing to see out the epilogue, but nothing particularly memorable. Voice acting totters between average and above average. It does the job and the actors give off a sense that they did their best with what they were given. It's a good product with a smattering of new ideas, but it never gave me the impression that I was playing something special. So after the hype and on-again-off-again development time, I was left somewhat disappointed. Expand
  70. TheBlade
    Jul 24, 2006
    7
    I expected more from a game I was hearing about over eight years ago. fun if you don't think about that however, also creative and looks excellent on a good machine.
  71. AdzyW.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Very rarely do I come across a game in which I say: Wow that was amazing, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, so many new mechanics were explored. This has INSPIRED ME TO DO GREAT THINGS. Prey, was NOT one of these games. It started off well. The whole feeling of being abducted and finding yourself in a gibbering nightmare which had already broken the psyche of other people Very rarely do I come across a game in which I say: Wow that was amazing, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, so many new mechanics were explored. This has INSPIRED ME TO DO GREAT THINGS. Prey, was NOT one of these games. It started off well. The whole feeling of being abducted and finding yourself in a gibbering nightmare which had already broken the psyche of other people genuinely disturbed me. This is what I look for in a survival horror. The first few levels were real adventures in immersion and good storytelling. It was then at some point after killing that Demon Boss thing with it's own gun. (Weapons were superbly done, cannot fault the art direction in this game!) That things started to get a bit samey. I'd be walking down another strange metal hall, with another row of freudian innuendos all over the walls, with more samey enemies which I would kill with a minor stroke of annoyance when I was teleported yet again to that same blue-ish thing to kill a few red things. It suffered from the same basic problem as Bioshock, wherin death has no consequence. You can just respawn about two feet from where you died so long as you hit enough red things. So you stop defending your life out of fear and start doing it so as not to drag the whole experience out any longer than is absolutely necessary. My attitude switched from "I wonder what'll be on this level" to "Not another pissing level." The game could have been improved by cutting out the unnecessary levels and adding in a few more big concepts other than walk through forcefeild and push switch or shoot thing to change location of floor. Though despite what I have said I do think Prey is a good game. The same way that a Citreon Saxo is a good car. Sure it does what it's supposed to but you're always there wanting something more. Like how the storyline from the middle onward seemed to fall away. Moments like Tommy puking when he uses the gravity changer for the first time and catching glimpses of the resistance doing their thing as you tried to catch up to them were lost in favour of 'get here' or 'climb this tower populated with a metric asston of enemies and save the damsel in distress.' A solid seven. Pros: Art direction, first half of the story, adaptive AI, Cons: Lack of consequence for death cheapens combat, repetitive and badly paced gameplay, overused scenery. Expand
  72. clarice
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    Fun at times but falls short of its potential. They could have done much more with the gravity puzzles, and the fighting lacks something. I personally hated the weapon selection and the general feel of the weapons. Its also very short. That being said, it is a cool game and when the price drops to $35-40 it will be worth your money if you like the genre.
  73. JoshR.
    Dec 22, 2007
    7
    You know I often look for games that try to push what we currently know about certain gameplay genres (such as, in this case, First Person Shooter) and what I generally want to know first off is whether or not that clouded the judgement on every other aspect of the game. Is this innovation truly so or just a "gimmick"? Sadly, as I have read others who truly wanted more out of this You know I often look for games that try to push what we currently know about certain gameplay genres (such as, in this case, First Person Shooter) and what I generally want to know first off is whether or not that clouded the judgement on every other aspect of the game. Is this innovation truly so or just a "gimmick"? Sadly, as I have read others who truly wanted more out of this experience say, Prey has fallen short of innovation (while still adding an idea to the FPS market that I hope really catches on in some way). The great thing about this game is truly the idea of messing around with gravity, physics, and even to some extent yer own soul. Unfortunately it really felt that when the developers came up with these ideas they didnt ask the good questions like "Now will we make all this work as a cohesive whole?" because quite honestly while the puzzles were great quite often I had no idea why some sequences were there and others were kind of used then forgotten. A good example to me is a great scene that blew my mind graphically. A room was created right before my eyes while im moving around not in a movie sequence but real time. A truly inspired moment that I only recall at the moment happening once. After finishing the game all I wanted to know was why they didnt mess with your head like that more often. The portals were a great idea but to me it felt like they knew they wanted them to add a great puzzle dynamic but in interest of using them alot they lost any sense of making it a cool thing to do throughout the entire game which left it feeling stale quite rapidly and just seemed no different then walking through a door once you got used to the idea. Innovation (or lack thereof) aside we have gameplay, graphics, and story left. Gameplay was pretty standard (molded in my opinoin straight from Doom 3) run... gun... solve a puzzle... get a soda (oh wait I did that in real life)... feel alone but have some- thing that drives you to keep going on this crazy ride... you get the idea I'm sure. I enjoy this formula (dont get me wrong at all) but it's not a captivating formula nor is it new. Graphics were pretty standard as well which is why those players out there not into fantastical Sci-Fi hated it the most. A standard idea for that is develop new conceptual designs (aliens, guns, enivronments) which they did quite well but in my opinoin (I personally just like great stories so i dont care how real or straight up fantastical it turns out) they didnt push the envelop enough in the innovation department (start over if you forgot :P) to really make you care. Like Doom 3 the maps are very dark. In this they did make me happy cus i was never blind but because they used the Doom 3 engine alot of environments while great concepts did feel dull (darkness tends to create that feel in games if not done well enough) and sometimes I really just wanted to have a scene in reality (like in the town hes from or something) because of this. I really did get sick of being on that ship it bored me so much. Lastly, the story wasnt captivating enough, it was the same old anti-hero (guy who doesnt want to take responsibility for his life, family, heritage) that gets thrust into a situation that forces him to face everything he hates. Not spectacular by any means and Im not gonna give anything away but they went really sappy with it to. All in all its fun to play worth paying a small fee (like 10$ or whatever its at now) but dont expect the innovative epic experience it wants you to get if your like me and you like your games to feel truly fleshed out. I had to give it a 7 and that was because it was fun to play but not worth playing again until im bored. Expand
  74. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2009
    6
    Decent, but not much more. Level design seems to be a flaw and kill-joy: I often spent 40 minutes + to discover that what i originally had thought a puzzle was a switch hidden out of sight. Repetitive at times, some very nice moments (like the fight with the first boss) which are easily forgotten once you start backtracking a level to find a switch you missed at the beginning.
  75. 0marJ.
    Jul 13, 2006
    6
    Okay, Prey is probably one of the bigger games to come out this year. Unfortunately, it's also pretty lackluster. It commits the biggest crime possibly in the FPS genre, namely that the combat isn't very good. Your basic enemy (hunters) are dumb as rocks. Not dumb as in stand in the middle of room and not moving (they do that too), but dumb as in they refuse to shoot at you Okay, Prey is probably one of the bigger games to come out this year. Unfortunately, it's also pretty lackluster. It commits the biggest crime possibly in the FPS genre, namely that the combat isn't very good. Your basic enemy (hunters) are dumb as rocks. Not dumb as in stand in the middle of room and not moving (they do that too), but dumb as in they refuse to shoot at you unless you stand still for several seconds. There are some other monsters, but all their attacks are easily dodgable. There is simply no challenge in combat. What's worse, even if you die, you simply resurrect where you died with 50% health and 50% spirit. Booring. The story is non-existant for at least 50% of the time. There are 4-5 levels in between that simply do nothing to advance the story, give goals for the player or elaborate on the game world. They are simply there. What story there is is fairly cliched. You have the bad guys, the guys opposed to the bad guys who recruit you and that's it. There are some revelations, but nothing earth shattering. A lot of loose ends are still remaining and lots of random moments that don't get explained at all. The sounds of Prey are decent, but the music is the real highlight. It's a great soundtrack. The sound effects for the aliens are your standard shrieks, moans and grunts. There's definately nothing that will stand out after you are done with the game. Physics and interactivity border on a 2002 or 2003 game. You can't grab any physics object, which doesn't matter anyways, as 99% of all objects are boxes of one sort or another. You can't pick up grenades thrown by the enemies. After HL2, I'm surprised developers don't see the potential in having every physics object truly interactive. The puzzles are good, some of them might take a few minutes to complete, which is about the high end of not being frustrated. Spiritwalking is definately not used to it's potential though. Every time you see a forcefield, it's spiritwalk across and deactivate it. A little variety would have gone a long way. Wall-walking is definately cool though. Prey's length is definately short. Forget what you've been hearing about 8-12 hour adventure, anyone who's played a few FPS's will finish this game in 6-8 hours. Definately not a full price purchase, wait until it hits 30 or so bucks. It's not worth a purchase at full price. HL2 Episode 1 offers slightly less, but it's also half the price. Prey's graphics are 2004ish at best. Low-res textures (by today's standards) are everywhere. There is no HDR, hell I don't even think there's bloom. There are a few fancy shader effects, but nothing really impressive. You can definately see the Doom3 engine's age in this game. Everything has a shiny and/or plastic sheen. The characters are really disappointing as well. They are oddly proportioned and Jen has elf ears. The voice acting and script are about par. There are some points in the game where the voice acting truly stands out and is worthy of being in a triple A game, but then the next scene will have simply atrocious acting. The writing is also bipolar. There are some great lines, but then you'll hear "DIE DIE DIE" said in a serious way. It doesn't fit. Finally, let's end on a good note. The weapons are definately the highlight of Prey; it's a damn shame that you don't need any of them though. Your first true weapon in the game is all you'll need for 90% of the time. The other weapons are simply overkill. There are bosses, but they require zero thinking to kill and even less skill, again thanks to deathwalk. There is not a single point in the entire game where you can't deathwalk, even in the last battle. Prey is an average shooter at best. It is not the next HL or FEAR or even Q4. It's spotty, inconsistent, and uninspired. FEAR showed us that level design doesn't mean much if the combat is intense, bloody and feels good. Q4's level design is about par with Prey's (vertical walkways and spiritwalking don't particularly mask the corridor shooter that is underneath) but at least the combat was vicious. Prey suffers from a lack of focus. It's combat is weak and easy. The story is lackluster. The sounds are generic. The level design has it's moments, but often times one can accurately predict what's going to happen in the next room. The puzzles are definately a good point though; I enjoyed many of them. Unfortunately, a couple good puzzles and some cool weapons don't make up for many of Prey's negatives. Prey is pretty much an average shooter, through and through. Expand
  76. KDep
    Jul 26, 2006
    6
    This game itself is quite good and well developed. If this had been released before Doom 3, we'd all be doing cartwheels because it would be so marvelous. However, it wasn't. Prey is highly likable with a lot of nice things that are a step above D3 and Q4, but it feels more like a mod or an expansion than a real game. It's waaaay too easy, so it's basically run and gun This game itself is quite good and well developed. If this had been released before Doom 3, we'd all be doing cartwheels because it would be so marvelous. However, it wasn't. Prey is highly likable with a lot of nice things that are a step above D3 and Q4, but it feels more like a mod or an expansion than a real game. It's waaaay too easy, so it's basically run and gun your way to the end. Puzzles are easy, enemies are predictable, AI isn't that smart. Prey has so much potential, but it doesn't live up to it's own hype. I think it looks very good and then new gravity / portals idea makes the game enjoyable, but it's just one more baby step up the D3 engine ladder. Nothing revolutionary, nothing to blow your socks off, but all that said, it's a nice game idea, it looks nice and plays well. A nice game, but nowhere near worth the price tag. Wait for this one to hit the bargain bin (you likely won't have to wait too long). It's absolutely worth picking up, but not until the price is around $20, which it will be fairly quickly. Expand
  77. JonathanM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    6
    First of all, it should be recognized that everyone has different backgrounds and different tastes that dictate his/her likes and dislikes in terms of gaming. So, if the purpose of player-written reviews like this is to inform other potential players/buyers, I think it's necessary that I tell you a bit about myself and what I like, don't like, and look for in a game. I'm First of all, it should be recognized that everyone has different backgrounds and different tastes that dictate his/her likes and dislikes in terms of gaming. So, if the purpose of player-written reviews like this is to inform other potential players/buyers, I think it's necessary that I tell you a bit about myself and what I like, don't like, and look for in a game. I'm not a fan of much science fiction. I think bullets and bombs are much cooler than lasers and plasma. I prefer a backwards distopia over an advanced, scientific culture. Think Warhammer: 40K/HL2 versus Star Wars/Star Trek. The quality of a game's graphics engine is the icing on the cake, not the cake itself. For me, it goes gameplay, then immersiveness/presentation, then story, then graphics quality. I'm currently playing STALKER and Bioshock and I much prefer STALKER. My favorite games include Fallout 2, Half Life 2, both the Total War and Civilization series, Quake 1, Diablo 2, and some others. Oh, and long walks on a dystopian, refuse-strewn, toxic waste-ridden beach. ; ) Seriously this is important, so I hope that much helps. Maybe we need profiles to file this stuff in, so people can check that and get an idea of our perspective before reading the reviews. This is one of the few times I've felt that I've actually wasted my money when buying a game. Remember, it's just personal taste. You don't have to agree with me. I heard so much about Prey. "Hey! Have you seen the new Prey video?! They're walking on the CEILINGS, dude!" (something like that). It looked really freakin' cool, too, so I had reasonably high expectations. The beginning was good. I liked how everything started. Then the first hour or two went by, and I was having fun--not a lot of fun, but still fun. And then the next couple hours went by with very little change in gameplay. I was still running down bland (the graphics were pretty and things were colorful, but so much was the same) one-way sci-fi corridors, using sci-fi weapons (which were good. maybe the best part of the game), fighting typical sci-fi monsters/aliens. Rinse, repeat. Oh, wait, I forgot the portals and gravity switches. Interesting concepts. Looking/moving through the portals was entertaining, yet, they stopped there. You've got some pretty unique and possibly game-defining technology at your fingertips and all you do is use it to add minor, borderline-forgettable accents to an already very pretty, very generic fps. I felt like I was lied to. Maybe I didn't watch enough gameplay videos to be warned haha. I really thought the entire point of Prey was to blow your mind with fighting enemies up and down walls and in/out of portals for at least 50% of the game and in many different clever variations. The novelty wore down to a minimal level fairly quickly. And then came the lackluster final battle. And then it was over. 8-10 graphically pretty hours of over-hyped, lackluster fps play. And that spirit world thing? Felt like an afterthought, to me. The only thing going through my mind when I was shooting arrows at blue and red spirits was "Could we please hurry this up so I can get out of here?" Pros: Beautiful. A top-notch selection of weapons to play with. More than a few little "Hey, that was cool" moments. Cons: Story like a wallflower on prom night (ie doesn't stand out, or, "What story?"). Well-rendered, but still quite generic sci-fi environments (I cite Quake 2, Doom 3, Unreal, and Unreal 2 as games with similar stylings). Squandered opportunities for Prey to be something truly special--portals and gravity shift technology was not used often enough and cleverly enough to make much difference. Other: Is "short" a pro or a con? Expand
  78. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    Perhaps I should have played Prey when it first came out and it may have seemed a bit more innovative, but playing it in retrospect I can't help but see it as a huge missed opportunity. It's certainly an enjoyable shooter, but I found the shifting gravity and static portals to be a bit of a distraction at best and annoying at worst. There are a few instances where the mechanics work reallyPerhaps I should have played Prey when it first came out and it may have seemed a bit more innovative, but playing it in retrospect I can't help but see it as a huge missed opportunity. It's certainly an enjoyable shooter, but I found the shifting gravity and static portals to be a bit of a distraction at best and annoying at worst. There are a few instances where the mechanics work really well, and some clever environments are constructed, but otherwise it feels like a bit of a wasted opportunity. Also, there's a point right at the beginning when you are shrunk to a tiny size and appear on a sphere in a tiny box, and the idea of miniaturisation appealed to me much more than all the gravity shifting and portals, but this never happens again for the entire game!
    The combat and weapons are enjoyable, although I felt that ammo ran out too fast on most weapons, interrupting the pace of combat somewhat. Also, there weren't enough wide open arenas, and most of these came towards the end of the game. This, along with the plodding pace of the plot, means the whole game feels like it takes a really long time to hit its stride. I appreciated that the opening section of the game (after the bar section, which was a superb prologue) was meant to build the atmosphere, but it overplayed it a little too long for me, especially as the only thing you're doing for the entire game is chasing after your girlfriend to rescue her (because, you know, girls need rescuing). Again, the plot becomes more interesting towards the end, but it's too little too late.
    Another annoyance is your character's voice, which chirps in, or rather shouts in, on a regular basis. And the voice acting isn't exactly award winning, either. Another thing was irked me was that the art style was far too similar to DOOM 3 and Quake 4, which just adds to its derivative feel. I know it used the same engine, but that's no reason to ape the art style (and even your main weapon has exactly the same sound effect as your rifle from Quake 4!).
    An enjoyable shooter overall, but a bit of a waste.
    Expand
  79. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    Prey is a copy of Quake's, or Doom's. In my opinion just manages to reach to that standard and is not a game as good as those. But worth playing. .
  80. QQuanter
    Jul 23, 2006
    5
    Something new from something old .. classic shooter in same engine with same stuff in other package.. id liked it.. as far my save games were ok.. but then, corrupted saves or eved didnt saved at all, so no point to start from a 3rd autosave, last 2 were corrupted with all quicksaves .. and normal save never worked :( shame
  81. Adam
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    Below average game, nothing special, lame weapons, lame levels, extremely linear, press button here, press button there, some good sound effects, it tries to disgust you instead of scaring you or create any suspense, Doom3 all over again... Except for the out-of-place weird choice of Cherokee theme there is noting original here.
  82. Oct 2, 2010
    5
    Archangel in the future.Despite its aspiration for advanced technology i can say only its a waste of time.A unfortunate combination between Archangel and Doom 3.Hell no.Its not for me.
  83. DanielC.
    Jul 20, 2006
    4
    The game starts out GREAT I was thinking, "wow is this actually trying to compete with the half life 2 engine?!". The pub had a lot of time spent on creating it and making it look just right. Then you get taken into the ship and that is where the game loses everything. You go on a boring ride and fall of into a big butt (you'll know what i mean if you play). So the graphics look The game starts out GREAT I was thinking, "wow is this actually trying to compete with the half life 2 engine?!". The pub had a lot of time spent on creating it and making it look just right. Then you get taken into the ship and that is where the game loses everything. You go on a boring ride and fall of into a big butt (you'll know what i mean if you play). So the graphics look good, but as you play through, pick up weapons etc it gets really tedious there are no differences of creative streeks anywhere. Everything looks the same the only plus point I can give are the gravity paths and that is about it! A disapointing game after a really good start. Expand
  84. HenryJ.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Well it has some great physics going on but completely lacks atomsphere as is the case with most FPS these days. When is somebody going to create a clever and immersive FPS and stop the cliche? System Shock 2 is about seven years old but still makes Prey feel like doom 1995.
  85. LeeU
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    Overated, overhyped schlock.
  86. SoulPaladin
    Jul 21, 2006
    4
    They are so many faacts to keep in games that it's almost impossible to meet all of them. You have the story line, the sound, the graph, interaction, AI & how long the game is. The game is ok to play to change your mind and enjoy a nice relax moment but there isn't anything into it that makes you jump or say "Damn that is nice". I agree with many of you that the game can lacks They are so many faacts to keep in games that it's almost impossible to meet all of them. You have the story line, the sound, the graph, interaction, AI & how long the game is. The game is ok to play to change your mind and enjoy a nice relax moment but there isn't anything into it that makes you jump or say "Damn that is nice". I agree with many of you that the game can lacks of AI and the graph are same as DOOM III and QUAKE 4. I think the game would have been better with some good jokes like Duke Nukem 3D and make the game much, much longer without feeling to blow your brains out cause it's getting boring. For now the top game remain in my opimion HL2. because the engine hasn't change at all and it seems a copy past from other games. Sorry to say this but ven F.E.A.R is better then this game. Hell... even Marathon from Bungie is better even if it's old. For now all I want is to see in the future a new remade and better Duke Numkem 3D with better chicks and "sex" into it, please don't forget the jokes and porn into it. Take care all and remember... spending too much money on games that end fast isn't cool. Like Episode 1 of HL2. Expand
  87. AnsonG.
    Jul 21, 2006
    3
    Dont expect this game very much better then Doom 3 or Quake 4. When starting was okay but after that u will get boring and geedy. Who is this game for? The weapons look very cliched and the combat not very serious. Sometime u board onto ship u will feel headache. The only i gave this point was graphics, display and gravity. This game was not the best series and everything u dont want in Dont expect this game very much better then Doom 3 or Quake 4. When starting was okay but after that u will get boring and geedy. Who is this game for? The weapons look very cliched and the combat not very serious. Sometime u board onto ship u will feel headache. The only i gave this point was graphics, display and gravity. This game was not the best series and everything u dont want in best FPS game. Expand
  88. MarkY.
    Jul 13, 2006
    2
    I was very unimpressed by this game. I thought that is was derviative, poorly executed and uninteresting. The AI was subpar at best and the animations were likewise poor. The gameplay was very repetitive. I am very disappointed.
  89. zac
    Aug 2, 2006
    2
    some things were cool like walking upside down but u only get 8 guns and gameplay gets boring after about 20mins.
  90. KeithB.
    Sep 18, 2006
    2
    Boring boring boring! Don't even mention F.E.A.R. or DOOM 3 in the same breath! The biggest letdown ever! Tries to be too clever with portals and upside down ramps - but what is the point of all of it but to eventually annoy! 2/10 because I was being polite. Awful and pointless.
  91. JoshH.
    Sep 15, 2006
    2
    The storyline is lame and each corner of it is expected very early into the game. In other words, no excellent plot twists to draw you in. The weapons are not innovative; it seems the developers have confused "innovation" with queerness. I hate to break the news but strange gun design is not innovation--especially since they function just like they have in many FPS shooters preceding it. The storyline is lame and each corner of it is expected very early into the game. In other words, no excellent plot twists to draw you in. The weapons are not innovative; it seems the developers have confused "innovation" with queerness. I hate to break the news but strange gun design is not innovation--especially since they function just like they have in many FPS shooters preceding it. The use of gravity is a neat idea, but in reality this only makes one nautious and serve no purpose other than to solve very simple, linear puzzles and rag dolls fall to their doom--as if that's anything new. Expand
  92. FelixE.
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    In the beginning, I thought like "wow this might just be worth that money" but already after 20 minutes or so of playing, it will get extremely boring. The storyline is really lame, real copycat game, and those upside-down walk things are quite cool the first time you see them, but they do nothing but annoy you. Sorry, but I absolutely do not recommend this game.
  93. Gamerdude
    Jul 14, 2006
    1
    It looks like any other game using the doom engine out there, the combat is really bad. All it has going for it is some interesting effects. Another hype bite the dust.
  94. Drazula
    Dec 30, 2006
    1
    This game is so completely abysmal. Why did it take 3DR this long to put out? I mean, DNF is much more inexcusable but look - here is Prey, and it looks exactly like Doom 3 - how many times must we be put through the biomechanical-aliens/save-the-world plot? How many times? Developers, pull your heads out your butts and do something DIFFERENT!
  95. RichardD.
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    I wanted to like this game so bad, as I'm a huge fan of 3D Realms' previous works. Unfortunately, Prey falls flat on its face in everything it tries... the only thing saving it from a 0 is the inclusion of the Talon segments. Everything else, however, is boring, predictable, and gimmicky.
  96. KenC.
    Aug 19, 2006
    0
    A turgid mess of switches and portals. Tries to innovate, ends up instead with a bunch of gimmicks and tired, derivative gameplay.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. It's so pregnant with ideas and beautiful movements that you'd be a sad fool to to deprive yourself of the experience. If the sequel is longer, a bit more difficult, and plays slightly more intelligently, then I can't imagine it being anything other than a Classic. [Aug 2006, p.58]
  2. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  3. Plot holes aside, the gameplay in Prey is nothing short of amazing. Whether you're wandering up walls, shifting gravity, shrunk down to the size of a mouse, going into spirit form, fighting in the afterlife, or floating around in a service vehicle... Prey has got everything anyone could want from a sci-fi shooter and more.