Prey PC

Prey Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 685 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve intoYou awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you have to survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Prey - Gameplay Walkthrough
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 5, 2017
    100
    Prey offers one of the best gaming environments in the history and builds on it its sophisticated, exciting, and unusually entertaining gameplay. A weaker story and sometimes too high difficulty does not change the fact that Arkane studios has once again produced something special. [Issue#275]
  2. May 9, 2017
    92
    Prey is a masterpiece of the science-fiction genre. A game that hooks the player from beginning to end and creates a wonderful experience.
  3. May 24, 2017
    90
    Excellent first person action with a strong RPG element allows countless gameplay approaches with its sensitively set systems and fantastic game- and level- design. It brings an eye-catching story, a great scriptwriting, a mercilessly exciting atmosphere, and it does not allow criticism of logical deficiencies because it explains everything carefully. Technically, it is flawless and runs smoothly. A handful of minor flaws can be overlooked with no regret.
  4. May 5, 2017
    85
    Although Prey never rises to the first Bioshock for me anyway, but it does not have to be: If you are looking for a game in the style of a System Shock and do not expect an exceptionally good shooter, you'll get an exciting, comprehensive and challenging Sci- Survival adventure.
  5. Jun 21, 2017
    80
    Although Prey suffers from some issues such as lack of variety in weapons, unimpressive side-missions and a few underdeveloped gameplay mechanics, it still delivers for a wide range of gamers. Whether you approach Prey as a Run and Gun shooter, Stealth Action or Action RPG, you will get enough satisfaction through its lengthy campaign full of mysteries waiting to be unveiled.
  6. May 23, 2017
    80
    Arkane's work on PC is finally up to expectations.
  7. May 10, 2017
    40
    If the PC version of Prey hadn’t become completely unplayable from crashes and save-game corruption just as it was hitting its stride, I’d have called it a very good or perhaps even great game. Its strange alternate-history universe, sidequests, hidden threats, and detailed environmental storytelling make Talos I a joy to explore, one that’s well worth slogging through combat that doesn’t feel fresh enough to sustain it throughout a long game.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 122
  2. Negative: 15 out of 122
  1. Aug 30, 2017
    10
    This Game reminds me of a lot of other games. A singelplayer of the old school. A very very genius setting. A solid story and the Freedom toThis Game reminds me of a lot of other games. A singelplayer of the old school. A very very genius setting. A solid story and the Freedom to decide how to deal with situations. Take Bioshock, put in a little bit Systemshock and Half Life and you get e very good Game. The only problem, it is with about 30 hours playtime (if you do all the quests) a little bit short. Expand
  2. May 7, 2017
    10
    This game is superb. It took me right back to that bioshock aesthetic I felt so many years ago. Although it doesn't quite match games like theThis game is superb. It took me right back to that bioshock aesthetic I felt so many years ago. Although it doesn't quite match games like the original bioshock story wise, it more than makes up for it with slick visuals and engaging gameplay. Its like alien isolation had a baby with system shock 2. Definitely glad I picked it up. Expand
  3. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for aroundThis review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for around 25 in-game hours.

    I'm one of those people who was heavily disappointed when Bethesda cancelled Prey 2 (2006's Prey's sequel, which I played and very much enjoyed). In a way, even if I wasn't one of them, I totally understood the people who started bashing and boycotting this new Prey game. But was the hate justified?

    The short answer is no. Not at all. Based on my experience so far, I have to say this game is simply amazing in every possible way. The music is phenomenal, thanks to the talented Mick Gordon who also did the soundtrack for 2016's Doom and for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

    But what is more important though is that the game is full of very smart and intelligent gameplay design ideas. It's more than obvious that the devs well thought out every little gameplay aspect and tweaked them to achieve perfection. This game has a very high production quality.

    Also, I think I never saw a game before that so well utilized the enviroment such as this. In every single area I spent a very large amount of time to be able to discover everything, and it was a whole lot of fun. Prey mixes verticality and platforming very well with the usual, more horizontal gameplay.

    And if I mentonied exploration: the exploration/discovery is fantastic, the game is very complex and deep in terms of world building and gameplay, in fact it's more complex in a way than most AAA games out there today. The story and the lore looks promising, and I like the visual design the artists went for.

    The game clearly took inspiration from the best movies in the sci-fi genre (Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, or Ridley Scott's Alien). Other than that, it reminds me some of the best games I've played, such as Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock, Dishonored, and of course, it also has a very strong System Shock vibe. In fact, it could be called System Shock 3. It has a Dead Space feeling in a way too.

    The good news won't end here. This game is perfectly optimized. I have a rig that is around the recommended specs, and I manage to hit 100FPS average at 1080p on the absolute highest settings (EVGA GTX970 FTW, 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz RAM, i5-6500).

    This game is a joy to play. It's very impressive that it managed to grab me this much under only one hour and never let me go till I finished it. In fact, I'm still not finished (even if I completed the story). I'm starting a second playthrough now and I'll try to get the remaining achievements.
    I definitely recommend checking out this game, it well worth the money!

    If I have to say a con, it's a minor thing, but normal human-sized enemies will provide unpleasant difficulty spikes every time you face them as long as you don't get a shotgun. Fighting against them with the Glue Gun, Pistol, or Wrench is not easy, and they kill you in 3 hits on Normal difficulty. The easiest is to avoid them and/or try to throw explosives at them from a distance (red pipes).
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2017
    9
    The game is amazing! Deep lore, definitely a thinking man's game. A deep feeling of Bioshock, System Shock, dead space and Deus Ex bleedThe game is amazing! Deep lore, definitely a thinking man's game. A deep feeling of Bioshock, System Shock, dead space and Deus Ex bleed through in the gameplay (in a good way). You may feel lost in the beginning, but as events unfold and the story unravels, the world will draw you in more and more.

    Whilst I have experienced a crash or 2 on PC, it's few and far between. The game is pretty stable, especially after the Dishonored 2 disaster (which I still completed twice despite the crashes). The game is also beautiful, stunning environments.

    I'd highly reccomend picking it up.

    PS. I see the usual trolls are giving it 0's - ignore them.
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2017
    8
    Gamers familiar with Arcane Studios formula will feel right at home playing prey. The play-your-way mechanics, skill based upgrades, weaponGamers familiar with Arcane Studios formula will feel right at home playing prey. The play-your-way mechanics, skill based upgrades, weapon wheel, and overall aesthetic design that made the Dishonored series so great makes a nearly perfect transition to Prey, minus the implementation of a crafting system. I personally enjoy when developers add a crafting element into their games, however Arcane has not done a good job of balancing the crafting mechanics with the rest of the gameplay. The issue is that crafting is too critical to gameplay while being very unrewarding. It forces the player to spend too much time worrying about the minuscule amount of crafting materials found in the world just for the option to craft the small amount of supplies actually created by the crafting process. I understand that the developers were forcing players to manage their supplies, however this forces players into a fairly specific method of tacking objectives and enemies in a game that touts a play-your-way style of gameplay. Yes, the game can be tackled in a stealth-centric style while using the minimal amount of resources, however early in the game this is nearly impossible and it disregards players who do not prefer a head on style of gameplay over stealth. Arcane could rectify this by making crafting materials more abundant, especially for materials dropped by defeated enemies. This way players who prefer stealth can still make their way through the game using little resourcing a minimal crafting, while giving more combat focused players the chance to play the game the way they wish.

    Outside of this, Prey is nearly flawless. Gameplay is fun and engaging, enemies are difficult but not too difficult, the story is good, and the environment is gorgeous. Prey also does a very good job of making the game as non-linear as possible. The main story certainly has a liner plot, however players can chose when they wish to tackle main objectives and are more or less free to roam the game world as they please (assuming those areas are unlocked).

    I completely recommend that anyone who has played and enjoyed the Dishonored series or Dark Messiah to purchase Prey. The familiar Arcane Studios formula does not disappoint.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2017
    6
    I like the whole consept of the game, it looks and runs well, but i find it to be very little noob friendly, you face enemies that will makeI like the whole consept of the game, it looks and runs well, but i find it to be very little noob friendly, you face enemies that will make your day a fricking nightmare right from the get go. I find myself walking around hitting chairs and trashcans cause i never know when i will dicked on by an alien who is cloacking. Ammo is really hard to find and without ammo a wrench aint much use against the phantoms.
    I really had high hopes for this game and it sounded so promising, but so far i feel like im walking around with no real intention or dying more than i do in dark souls
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2017
    0
    The game is extremely boring, graphics are dated. No wonder it sells half price on Steam now, 3 months after the release. Not sure what allThe game is extremely boring, graphics are dated. No wonder it sells half price on Steam now, 3 months after the release. Not sure what all the hype is about. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews