Prey PC

Prey Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve intoYou awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you have to survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. May 15, 2017
    97
    I’m having trouble remembering when I’ve had this much fun with a FPS in the dozens I’ve played over the years. The first Half-Life for sure, and BioShock. Dishonored probably. Prey is better than the recent Wolfenstein revival, as good as that was. Deus Ex? Solid, but IMHO not as good. So, anyway, bottom line, I’m giving Prey what I believe is the highest score I’ve ever given. It’s that good.
  2. May 9, 2017
    92
    Prey is a masterpiece of the science-fiction genre. A game that hooks the player from beginning to end and creates a wonderful experience.
  3. May 23, 2017
    90
    Prey truly is more than the sum of its parts. Don’t let its immediate familiarity or obvious influences fool you, because when you look under the hood, it’s not just Dishonored set in space.
  4. May 5, 2017
    85
    I just like them, these "Great scenery with lots of freedom and story-snippets" games. Whether underwater ideology as in Bioshock, transhumanist dystopia like in Deus Ex or magic steampunk as in Dishonored - as long as I am allowed to explore and experiment, I am happy. Prey satisfies both needs perfectly.
  5. May 12, 2017
    81
    Prey's dynamic gameplay adapts beautifully to players as they explore an interesting space station crawling with bizarre alien life forms. Its involving action proves entertaining when combined with a solid base of resource management. Despite a few presentation problems and minor issues, Prey is one mind-altering trip that should be played by fans of the genre.
  6. May 12, 2017
    80
    Arkane’s tale of wrench-wielding, audio log sleuthing, and human hubris wears its videogame heritage on its bright red space suit sleeve. Until such time that System Shock 3 may challenge it, Prey is the worthy follow up to System Shock 2 in everything but name.
  7. May 10, 2017
    40
    If the PC version of Prey hadn’t become completely unplayable from crashes and save-game corruption just as it was hitting its stride, I’d have called it a very good or perhaps even great game. Its strange alternate-history universe, sidequests, hidden threats, and detailed environmental storytelling make Talos I a joy to explore, one that’s well worth slogging through combat that doesn’t feel fresh enough to sustain it throughout a long game.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 85
  2. Negative: 11 out of 85
  1. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for aroundThis review is based on the game after completing it with all the side-quests available, except two (as far as I know). I played it for around 25 in-game hours.

    I'm one of those people who was heavily disappointed when Bethesda cancelled Prey 2 (2006's Prey's sequel, which I played and very much enjoyed). In a way, even if I wasn't one of them, I totally understood the people who started bashing and boycotting this new Prey game. But was the hate justified?

    The short answer is no. Not at all. Based on my experience so far, I have to say this game is simply amazing in every possible way. The music is phenomenal, thanks to the talented Mick Gordon who also did the soundtrack for 2016's Doom and for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

    But what is more important though is that the game is full of very smart and intelligent gameplay design ideas. It's more than obvious that the devs well thought out every little gameplay aspect and tweaked them to achieve perfection. This game has a very high production quality.

    Also, I think I never saw a game before that so well utilized the enviroment such as this. In every single area I spent a very large amount of time to be able to discover everything, and it was a whole lot of fun. Prey mixes verticality and platforming very well with the usual, more horizontal gameplay.

    And if I mentonied exploration: the exploration/discovery is fantastic, the game is very complex and deep in terms of world building and gameplay, in fact it's more complex in a way than most AAA games out there today. The story and the lore looks promising, and I like the visual design the artists went for.

    The game clearly took inspiration from the best movies in the sci-fi genre (Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, or Ridley Scott's Alien). Other than that, it reminds me some of the best games I've played, such as Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock, Dishonored, and of course, it also has a very strong System Shock vibe. In fact, it could be called System Shock 3. It has a Dead Space feeling in a way too.

    The good news won't end here. This game is perfectly optimized. I have a rig that is around the recommended specs, and I manage to hit 100FPS average at 1080p on the absolute highest settings (EVGA GTX970 FTW, 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz RAM, i5-6500).

    This game is a joy to play. It's very impressive that it managed to grab me this much under only one hour and never let me go till I finished it. In fact, I'm still not finished (even if I completed the story). I'm starting a second playthrough now and I'll try to get the remaining achievements.
    I definitely recommend checking out this game, it well worth the money!

    If I have to say a con, it's a minor thing, but normal human-sized enemies will provide unpleasant difficulty spikes every time you face them as long as you don't get a shotgun. Fighting against them with the Glue Gun, Pistol, or Wrench is not easy, and they kill you in 3 hits on Normal difficulty. The easiest is to avoid them and/or try to throw explosives at them from a distance (red pipes).
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2017
    10
    El mejor juego que he jugado en el año vale la pena por su historia el grafico de 4K no es importante si el juego no es bueno, si te gustaEl mejor juego que he jugado en el año vale la pena por su historia el grafico de 4K no es importante si el juego no es bueno, si te gusta explorar hacer puzzles o hacer lo quieras lo puedes hacer se siente como un mundo abierto pero sin aburrir ARKANE se merece mi diez LO RECOMIENDO.
    The best game I have played in the year is worth it for its history the 4K graphic is not important if the game is not good, if you like exploring to do puzzles or do what you want you can do it feels like an open world but without Boring ARKANE deserves my ten I RECOMMEND IT.
    Expand
  3. May 5, 2017
    10
    I'm thoroughly impressed with the game so far, I think the graphics and the level design are incredible and the atmosphere is fantastic. TheI'm thoroughly impressed with the game so far, I think the graphics and the level design are incredible and the atmosphere is fantastic. The gunplay is a bit stiff at first but you get adjusted as you go on. The story is interesting so far and the side quests are often rewarding.

    For an honest rating I'd give it a 9/10. I give it full marks because Bethesda haters are gonna inevitably spam with negative reviews. To those uninformed, they only published the game, Arkane studios developed it.
    Expand
  4. May 19, 2017
    9
    Prey isn't A Perfect game but it is a good game the semi-open world design is surprisingly done well with a pretty good Combat system the gamePrey isn't A Perfect game but it is a good game the semi-open world design is surprisingly done well with a pretty good Combat system the game does not focus on stealth as much as dishonored 1 or 2 and as much as they push you can do different approaches they don't allow you to do stealth at all and the game runs amazing on pc and even though after a while the jump scares do get repetitive after a while in the beginning i never stopped becoming paranoid hitting almost every object i found and even got suspicious of the gloo cannon in the beginning of the game and talos 1 is huge with tons of side quests that are interesting and A.I that is ok and i love the weapon variety though and the jet pack is still savage as ever the combat and story i mostly stayed for and the enemies are pretty well done and i simply adore the sound track i have nearly put 1,000 characters into this rambling about the mostly mixed feelings about this game but i had to lift it up to at least an 8 just because the game has an amazing semi-open world and in the end had nearly 50 hours into the game when i felt satisfied the game is great with an awesome combat system with ok A.I and a feeling of joy also no item in this game every feels useless just because even junk can be made to materials which is made for items and the different stories through audio logs and emails are surprisingly intriguing and the gloo cannon allows for different and unique ways of use but not as much as say a portal gun the weapons are diverse and the game never stopped becoming tense and i felt their was more stuff to learn and i was left with a huge amount of playtime and a somehow unique experience also it rewards exploration and every game needs that if their semi open world or open world without it the game will feel empty and even if you don't find humans till later in the game i felt like this is a new world and it was somehow unique and a lot of first person games or games in general can do that no other game has this feeling except maybe the 1st dead space and even i that is the closest comparison it's still somehow hundred's of miles away Prey is that unique that's why i give it a 9/10 Expand
  5. May 6, 2017
    9
    I am about half way through this game and running this at 2160p on the highest settings and I am easily staying above 60 fps. So it runs greatI am about half way through this game and running this at 2160p on the highest settings and I am easily staying above 60 fps. So it runs great if anyone is worrying about that. The game itself is alot of fun, the weapons, gadgets, and powers in this game are different then most typical FPS horror games, very fun to play with. The creatures are unique in the way they can mimic stuff around you even though there may at times feel like a lack of enemy types. The space station you are on is also very real feeling and enjoyable to explore. Not really to much I can say that hurts this game, definitely worth a buy on steam, you can always return if you don't like it. Expand
  6. May 13, 2017
    8
    This game is a sort of old but gold mix of adventure, role play game through RPG basic, horror but not survival in terms of Alien: isolationThis game is a sort of old but gold mix of adventure, role play game through RPG basic, horror but not survival in terms of Alien: isolation in my opinion and (especially) a narrative that lead the constant atmosphere of “one last man/woman standing against an incredibly dangerous and apparently unstoppable alien species” thematic that reminds me of the 1982 classic John Carpenter’s “The Thing” based on John W. Campbell Jr. novel "Who goes there?".
    The setting here is the only difference. We’re not in Antartica but in a state of emergency space station named Talos One, located just on the other side of the Moon but still outside the orbit where planet Earth is still visible. It’s the year 2032, an alternative future where John F. Kennedy survived to the attempt of murder in Texas (1963) until his presidency became crucial from avoiding the Vietnam conflict to the stable standing, geopolitical relationship between USA and USSR through space conquests. So, Talos One itself represents basically that, in memory of Mr. President JFK. The main character (that can be shaped as male or female) is Morgan Yu, an engineer that lost part of his/her memory and it’s in constant needs of recover him/her pieces of lack through the whole story made of different decisions, including your own way to play that will affect the logic of game play approach.

    Prey it’s a first person shooter that borrows many elements from the most successful hits of our times such System Shock 2, Half-Life series and Bioshock series through something that many customers tends to underestimate in regards of the developers: pure passion for what they generally do and, in this case, the science fiction matter. This game still proves (in 2017, with DirectX11 and a relative old game engine) that the best experiences are single player only, without online co-op or whatsoever multiplayer useless competition that requires too much efforts and years of development spent on building huge worlds and testing it. The immersion is total especially when you move from an area to another going outside the station with a propulsor pack at zero gravity and, of course, zero atmosphere (very well represented with the sounds from the inside of your own space suit that we suppose to hear not exactly like an underwater situation). The audio segment is enriched with a lot of narrative, Italian in my case, beautifully localized and expressed. The music is perfectly tailored to the whole atmosphere and again, very Alan Howarth/Carpenter stylized. What about the aliens? Well, they really “stole” the scenery here...maybe not so original in the highest and most dangerous shapes mixed with usual elemental stuff like electricity, fire or pure psychokinetic capacities but with behaviors that are just what we want to expect inside a nightmare: when you realize that they are completely mimic to objects like mugs, tables, suitcases, so able to hide on plain sight, is definitely enough shocking until you don’t get it and learn different approaches in order to become from prey...to predator!

    In conclusion it's a game maybe not worth at full political price and aimed to pure sci-fi lovers audiences but with a 15%-20% off easy to reach on the net (especially PC versions) it might become a bargain and well balanced overall experience considering the total amount of hours 24H-28H of game play.

    Cheers!
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2017
    0
    Doesnt run correctly on PC and deletes your saves constantly, runs fine on Consoles. I recommend getting for PS4 as it has the bestDoesnt run correctly on PC and deletes your saves constantly, runs fine on Consoles. I recommend getting for PS4 as it has the best performance........ Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers