Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    45
    Primal Fears fails to create the survival horror feel and as an arcade shooter it's also a huge letdown. The only thing positive about this game is the co-op mode, but even this feels as a disappointment since you can only play with people from your friend list.
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    30
    A shooter that is frighteningly poor, both in terms of gameplay and production values.
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    40
    If you played games like Alien Breed or Dead Nation you know what to expect. But be aware that even though the lighting and sound effects are nice, virtually everything else is below par.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    45
    A generic top-down shooter that fails to deliver anything novel. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.76]
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    40
    Primal Fears does come with functional co-operative play, which isn't the worst time-killer if you and a friend are bored, but otherwise it's a disappointingly lacklustre title.
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    32
    Dead Horde, the previous offering from DnS Development, was abysmal. Primal Fears is just bad. Well, at least they're moving in the right direction.
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    A lot of these reviews aren't even true, for example I can join online servers with people who are not my steam friends so I don't know what the fck that guy was talking about that reviewed this game earlier. This is not a triple A game but that doesnt mean its not worth buying. I personally think the great was a great deal and a ton of fun. its like a lax diablo 3 with guns and zombies. Definitely a fun game for great casual co-op play with friends. anyone who likes over the top torchlight like gameplay games with a more casual setting (for example no skill tree) then this is a game you definitely want to pick up. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    No online servers i bought this game cause it had co-op but you can only play with your added friends on steam....very dissapointing because this game seems very fun "if you are playing with people" too bad they made this diffacult for people that are new to steam or dont have many friends on steam.. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    The absurdly low reviews are completely undeserved. Its direct predecessor, Dead Horde, had good concepts, but was fatally flawed. Primal Fears kept the good concepts and fixed the fatal flaws. It's a simple game with little depth, but it's fun to play and it has a nice amount of tension (though Dead Horde did tension slightly better). I've never been a fan of the checkpoint system I think it's a very lazy way to design games but at least it works in Primal Fears. It was one of the severely broken pieces in Dead Horde. Now, it's true that it isn't innovative, but sometimes you just want more of something you like and I don't mind having a bit of new scenery in the zombie/alien isometric shooter genre. Full Review »