Prime World: Defenders PC

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prime World: Defenders merges classic tower defense gameplay with collectible card mechanic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Prime World Defenders is a lot of fun and one of the best tower defense games on the market. Its problems lie more in the lack of refinements on some great ideas.
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    75
    With a long campaign, randomly generated side missions and many cards to collect, Prime World Defenders offers fans of the Tower Defence genre a lasting and varied challenge, with new elements being added throughout.
  3. May 22, 2013
    60
    Prime World: Defenders has some good ideas, but the execution of its core mechanics lacks of dedication. If you are a fan of tower defense genre, you can get some fun, but beware: grinding between missions is required and can be a boring chore.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    60
    If you are looking for a refreshing tower defence title, then there is something in Prime World: Defenders you will enjoy. People who are more fussy with their choice of tower defence games might find this to be an ambitious title with problems.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    56
    Some things must not be mixed under any circumstances, like vodka and soda or pickled herrings and milk. This rule holds true for CCGs and tower defense. Get ready to waste hours of your time playing through the same-looking levels, so you can get a slightly more powerful card.
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    50
    Prime World: Defenders had an exceptionally low bar to clear to get me on board, but the staid design and brutal grind managed to miss even that simple goal. Because the power differential between basic and improved cards is so great, the difficulty ticks over from impossible to trivial out of nowhere. Neither extreme is much fun, and unfortunately neither is Prime World: Defenders.
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    I wanted to like Prime World: Defenders as it really had me going for the first few levels. I had a couple of close calls where my HP almost went down but I managed to keep it perfect with well placed towers. This exciting back and forth between me and the enemies rarely showed its head again during the rest of my playthrough.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    I don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between officialI don't quite understand the bad official reviews. The game is sheer fun to play from beginning to end. Even the grinding between official missions has always been fun, since it's never that long, and you always get a nice reward after every victory. Game length also seems ideal to me. I just finished the game and I feel like starting again with a different tower setup. (You have to invest in your towers, so you can never take more than half of the assortment with you really) Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This game is FUN! I cant leave once I begin to play with. The card system is cool, the towers and enemies looks awesome! This middle-ageThis game is FUN! I cant leave once I begin to play with. The card system is cool, the towers and enemies looks awesome! This middle-age fantasy world is the best for a Tower Defense game! Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Can't get enough of this game. Defence Grid was good, but this pushes it up a notch. The magic system is interesting, but the collectible cardCan't get enough of this game. Defence Grid was good, but this pushes it up a notch. The magic system is interesting, but the collectible card system and crafting where you can fuse and evolve your towers is what really makes it sweet. It connects the battles with that 'just one more game' feeling. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Tower defense with RPG elements. Some battles are too easy, but the collection of cards, levelling of those cards aspect is pretty fun.Tower defense with RPG elements. Some battles are too easy, but the collection of cards, levelling of those cards aspect is pretty fun. Overall, a nice grinding game when you have nothing else to do. Expand
  5. May 27, 2013
    6
    Overall a good game for the price, though the negative features do begin to drag as the game progresses. The graphics are great, and theOverall a good game for the price, though the negative features do begin to drag as the game progresses. The graphics are great, and the collectible card system (a first in the tower defence genre as far as I know) provides a novel way for the expansion of the range of towers available, and gives one a choice of which towers to focus on for upgrades.

    On the downside the biggest factor is the growing tedium of the grinding required between main missions in order to gain the gold and cards needed to pay for those upgrades. Not only does one need to play through a lot of side games, but these use the same maps as the main missions completed to that point, so sameness sets in quickly; they also aren't very challenging even on the Hard level.
    Collapse
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    The game is ok for the price. But I like defence grid much more which is even cheaper. So in my opinion the User Score here is MUCH to highThe game is ok for the price. But I like defence grid much more which is even cheaper. So in my opinion the User Score here is MUCH to high for the game. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2015
    0
    A really shady game. I bought the full version from steam and played through half a dozen times, no problem, was fun. They've now released theA really shady game. I bought the full version from steam and played through half a dozen times, no problem, was fun. They've now released the P2W mobile version and wadda'ya know, the game is now unplayable. I get about 1/3rd of the way through and I'm not getting the rare towers like I used to. I use stars to buy rare booster packs, all you get is a **** tower and some rubbish power ups, no rare towers.
    THEY SELL THE GAME AS A FULL GAME, THEN MAKE YOU P2W LIKE YOU WOULD ON THE *FREE* VERSION. DOUBLE DIPPING SHADY BASTARDS. **** YOU NIVAL, I"VE NEVER BOYCOTTED A COMPANY IN 30 YEARS OF GAMING, CONGRATS ON BEING THE FIRST.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews