Primordia PC

Primordia Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Primordia is a sci-fi adventure with an in-depth story and a philosophical bent.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Aug 22, 2014
    85
    While the story and puzzles falter a bit, there is still something utterly captivating about Primordia. The robots, broken both on the outside and on the inside, claimed for themselves a small part of my heart. And with your heart, not your mind, Primordia should really be approached.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    80
    A sci-fi adventure? Yes, and even more! A nice story, a true adventure game gameplay and a little voyage into old game melancholy. A game that every point and click lover shouldn't miss.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 6, 2013
    80
    It doesn't reinvent the genre, but Primordia's rich script, interesting world and solid puzzles make up for its minor annoyances. [Feb 2013, p.72]
  4. Games Master UK
    Feb 9, 2013
    73
    A throwback to the genre's glory days, obtuse puzzle concoctions, awkward controls and all. [March 2013, p.78]
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    There's a dark and meaningful story within Primordia and despite the rush at the end, it's a story worth hearing.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    Primordia is ticking almost every box. It has an amazing setting with a deep back-story and lore, and some wonderful gameplay ideas. It is a pity though the main storyline and the puzzles struggle so much to keep up and don't quite manage to live up to enticing prospect.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Primordia isn't a bad adventure, just not one with the spark of other recent attempts - not least Wadjet Eye's own library. The basic ideas are solid, and it's worth checking out at least the demo for the humor that the Horatio/Crispin dialogue brings.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Highly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio andHighly recommended, the great artwork and logical puzzles work together to make a truly memorable experience. The dynamic between Horatio and Crispin is a lot like the friendship between Overmann and Joey from Beneath a Steel Sky, but with their own interesting personalities and quirks. And any game with Logan Cunningham voicing the main character is worth playing. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best adventure games I've played in a long time. The story is great, which in my book, separates ok adventures from greatThis is one of the best adventure games I've played in a long time. The story is great, which in my book, separates ok adventures from great ones. The graphics leave a lot to be desired, but the story is great, the interplay between the the main characters is awesome and the puzzles are fun and challenging. Did I mention the voice acting is really good? Not many games leave me wishing for more, but this was one of them. I'm also hoping for a some sort of sequel! Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2015
    10
    One of the best adventure games I have played in my life, inspired heavily by Fallout and Planescape: Torment, but with a strong identity ofOne of the best adventure games I have played in my life, inspired heavily by Fallout and Planescape: Torment, but with a strong identity of its own.

    Beautiful-looking, despite its low resolution, and with good music and voice acting, Primordia's has an elegant design that combines entertainment and humour with clever, logical puzzles and deeply moving themes. It also features a great setting and interesting characters. I heartily recommend it for every sci-fi and/or adventure fan out there.
    Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2015
    9
    Primordia is a cyberpunk game about faith. Much like in the movie Tron, the main character is a robot with a mission he forgot. A missionPrimordia is a cyberpunk game about faith. Much like in the movie Tron, the main character is a robot with a mission he forgot. A mission given by his own creator, Man. But it is still his choice to fulfill this mission or not. He can be a faithful warrior that defeats the evil progressive mind and unites the robots, or he can fail. In the game, the robots live under a totalitarian secularist regime, where the belief that the machines were created by a mysterious being called Man is forbidden. His faith in Man keeps the protagonist alive. It is a very interesting twist for the cyberpunk genre. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Nice game, great atmosphere, awesome retro charm, memorable characters, good storyline. I felt all the soul put by developers into the game.Nice game, great atmosphere, awesome retro charm, memorable characters, good storyline. I felt all the soul put by developers into the game. Also I loved the references to my both all-time favorite games - Fallout (the whole post-apocalyptic setting and Easter Eggs about water chip and G.E.C.K.) and Planescape Torment (Horatio and Crispin are like the Nameless One and Morte, besides Horatio is mentioned to have a number of previous "lives" and some NPCs remember him - just like the Nameless One). The puzzles are mostly logical (some I felt illogical - probably I'm just an average quest-gamer: I've only played a couple of quests long ago). So thanks to Wormwood Studios for this game!
    P.S. Do not believe the "metascore"!!! The game deserves much better!
    Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    The story is good old fun. Adventure is engaging but not too difficult. All in all good value for money. In fact I'd encourage theThe story is good old fun. Adventure is engaging but not too difficult. All in all good value for money. In fact I'd encourage the author/publisher to make a sequel - the world they created allows for more stories to be told/played. Enjoy! Collapse
  7. Sep 6, 2014
    4
    The graphics are terrible, arty but ridiculously low resolution. The mechanics are clunky, with slow menus and too much time watchingThe graphics are terrible, arty but ridiculously low resolution. The mechanics are clunky, with slow menus and too much time watching pixellated figures crossing the screen painfully slowly. Some of the puzzles are good, some are annoying. It isn't consistent, e.g. most exits are identified my mousing over, but some only if you move the character to the edge of the screen. E.g. there is a system of storing info useful for solving puzzles but some of the info stored is irrelevant and some vital info is not stored. E.g. to combine items in inventory you pick up A and mouse it over B - message telling you that's a dumb idea, but it turns out you need to pick up B and mouse it over A. The story is good, though some of the elements don't fit together. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers