User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 321

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    In short, if you liked the first one, avoid this hacked together, amateur mess.
    Even if we are kind and ignore the plague of technical issues that this game shipped with (I only experienced the mouse issue and enabling vsync fixed it for me) this is still a terrible game.
    The graphics are simply dire: no shadows, no reflections, muddy textures and extremely low detail all throughout - it
    loks like a DX8 game. Running this at max details I get a very high frame rate (though it constantly bombs up and down for no reason) and it looks like a game from 10 years ago. It is a flat, boring, featureless world.
    The controls are vague and fairly unresponsive and generally you never really feel as though you are in control of the (utterly hateful and idiotic) protagonist. He is happy to bomb around, doing as he pleases, attacking what he wants, jumping where he fancies and generally ignoring the hell out of you while you miss target after target, normally as arbitrary and pointless countdowns expire meaning you fail the mission.
    The one thing I could have noted as a good point for this game is the ability to save whenever you like, rather than the usual console auto-save nonsense, but even that is broken. Saving produces a pointless replica of the previous auto-save, utterly ignoring anything you did since.
    Even if all the technical issues are fixed, the graphics will remain far below par (even for an xbox game), the port will remain horrible and utterly bereft of care and attention and the story line will be pallid and uninteresting. Do yourself a favour and install the first game - you'll be a lot happier.
    Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    0
    This game is actually unplayable on my computer. The game suffers numerous crashes, has hard locked my system, and feels like Activision has just pushed out a straight console port.

    Today steam unlocked Prototype 2 and having pre-loaded it I quickly launched it on my default computer. An Intel Core I7-3770, dual ATI 6990's, and 8GB of ram on a 64-bit Windows 7 system. The game would not
    start with all 4 graphics cards enabled (the 6990 is a dual-gpu card). As such I had to disable down to one card. I game on three 30" HP LP3065 monitors each running a resolution of 2560x1600. Prototype 2 does not even SUPPORT 2560x1600 and as such I'm forced to run at a non-native resolution of 1920x1200. With the single ati 6990 (the others are disabled using Radeon Pro) the game stutters and chugs. All of the "in engine" cut scenes are unwatchable due to the fact I'm getting 3 to 5 FPS according to the built in Radeon Pro fps counter. In play, the game behaves better but if I attempt to turn a quick 180 the game will either crash or it will lockup for a few moments and then continue on normally. While the 6990 isn't bleeding edge anymore its the equivalent of an ATI 6970 and shouldn't have these kinds of problems. From the 65 minutes that I've played Prototype 2 feels identical to Prototype. I honestly wish I could give a more in depth review but at this point I can't even play the game. I know, this might read as a rant but if you're running a crossfire configuration, a 2560x1600 resolution, or didn't care for the first Prototype I would recommend avoiding this game. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    4
    Where to begin.. horrible port. Different controllers on the PC require different in-game response. The camera is too floaty, not always responsive, and usually very choppy due to being tied to FPS. Textures are very often just blobs of blurry color mixed together. At least one main story mission is broken for a lot of people, stopping any progression at all. Way, way, WAY too many "challenges" for the kiddies to stroke their e-peens on. Seems like most of the game IS challenges now, with very little story, and nothing to do on the side except try for gold medals and the best time among your friends. I loved Prototype I and expected far more from the sequel at the price they charged. Unfortunately it fails on almost every level with a dull thud. Wait for more PC reviews and/or gameplay videos on YouTube before buying this disaster, or just pick it up when it is on sale. Note to Activision and the now-defunct development team: PC gamers expect more than e-peen stroking and bland gameplay ported from a console. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    In short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a frames per second critic then you'll hardly notice the bad fps during all this awesomeness Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    1
    This game had so much potential. It seemed like Activision just wanted to get their quick fix for money with the PC version here. Even with my i7 920 4 core 2.66 GHz processor , my GTX 560ti x2 and 8GB RAM, the game runs at about 20 fps on the very lowest possible settings. It also does not support 1080p so if you are using a 1080p resolution you will get around 5-8 fps. (This is with my current hardware). The story is fantastic so that's what I give it a 1 for, the open world is ruined by the laggy world, and constant crashes that make you redo everything all over again. Do not waste your money on this, it is not worth it. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    @ SonOfACracker: Glavius isn't the only guy having issues. He and the others are right, in technical terms this is indeed a horrible console port. The engine is horribly optimized for PC, and several people with high-end computers are having framerate problems. -- I also had FPS problems/lags, but with that said, the game is entertaining as hell. I'll have to stick with a 6/10 though because of the technical issues, otherwise this would have been an 8/10. Hope they will patch it eventually! Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    The story of the game is excellent and the characters are greatly written. However if you level up too fast, like I did, the gameplay can become very bland before you reach the third island (red zone). I didn't do this on purpose, I just thought I need the extra power and did all side missions before the main missions. The dialogues between Blackwatch and Heller are extremely amusing some times, this helps not getting to worked up about the mediocre AI. You can even turn your enemies into living bombs, but they wont get alarmed if you do that in disguise (poke a sting in the back of the neck of an enemy). Most of your actions won't cause any counteraction by your enemies. Hell, even the pedestrians are smarter: They get distressed and panic when you act strange. Took the time to do side and main missions and finished just after about 12 hours with 95%. That's a good bang for your bucks if you can get it cheap. Once you're finished there's freeroam mode wich gets boring real fast. The activities and side missions can be replayed, but they are less fun that the core game. Almost every important character is an infected (called evolved) which is annoying after a while. The consolized controls and low-res textures however ruin everything. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Gameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, he doesn't easily trust others (why would he recklessly give so many random people with shapeshifting powers in 2?), etc. Alex Mercer from 1 is my favorite protagonist of all time. The team shouldn't have made him the villain. Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
  10. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely awfull. I have a I5-2500k running at 4.5Ghz, twin HD6970, and 16gb of ram, and a 240gb ssd, yet that game laaaag all the time. It dosent even support multi-screen or resolution over 1080p. Control is absolutely failed, the mouse feel like a joystick emulation. Many visual glitches, flickering textures and the like. Visuals are outdates, with shapes made of not enought polygons "squarish".

    Typical Activision pc port... Save your $$$ for a better game.
    Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    This game could be a lot better, but it lacks the most important thing: a good story. to know the story, you just need to read the first sentence of the game description, "kill your maker". Thats it. A few boring plot twists, nothing exciting. when i saw the trailers, i thought Sgt. Heller might be an interesting character, like Mercer was, but he isn't. He just swears the whole game. i think the wasted too much time to make the game brutal as hell, and didn't give it much thought. 6/10 because of the fun gameplay. Expand
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    3
    The story is an insult to everyone who actually enjoyed the plot in the first game. The fact that you need to read a comic that bridges the gap between the two games to understand why Alex acts the way he does now is ridiculous (and what's worse: the comic is quite bad). The camera is extremely unresponsive (and it's even worse in the indoors sections). Gameplay improved since the first installment (which I enjoyed a lot more though) but it could have been a lot better, it's like they were afraid to add more animations or give you more than 5 powers. A game like this driving me away because of its plot is new for me. Expand
  13. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter.

    The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions
    there is some fun to be had. Rent this. Buy it on sale but don't give it a red review just because you couldn't run it. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    2
    I'm a BIG fan of the frist Prototype game. But this secound game is just horrible. And here is a few reasons.
    1. Heller (the main new character) is one of the most overdone and stereotyped black man in video games. 2. Ruined the story of Prototype 1- no conspiracy-ex- Pariah, Greene, etc. 3. HEY KILLED OFF MERCER FOR NO REASON.
  15. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    @Athinira: In response to your post and as an edit to my earlier post, I'm sorry to hear that so many people are having technical issues with the game. I do not feel that the technical issues with Prototype 2 are centered around people with high end computers, however, as I, and many of my friends have high end equipment. It seems to me as though there are technical difficulties within the software launch that users are experiencing across the board. Although this is a terrible thing to see, I don't think it can be condoned that users simply come and spam 0's for such a great game. That is why I appreciate your honesty in giving the game a realistic score and a separate score if it did not have the primary launch software issues. As for the game itself, I think @Dudda has an excellent review. After being on the second play through of the game, still no technical difficulties what so ever--call me lucky I guess, I still find the primary storyline interesting. However, I'm not going to try and fool anyone, you shouldn't buy Prototype 2 for the storyline. If you instead want to feel like a completely badass, indestructible beast, that can scale an entire skyscraper in a single bound and probably give the Hulk a run for his money, than yeah I would totally buy this game. As for any consumers that are worried about purchasing a game that may turn out as some of these users are experiencing, wait a bit. Because on my end the game runs perfectly, so I'm sure there will be a software patch out soon that will fix any lingering issues. Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Expand
  17. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Its very similar to the first game with a few improvements. If you did not like the first game, do not bother with this one.
    Personally, i think its really fun. You basically have unlimited power and few like a semi-god running around new york. Free roaming and some repetitive side missions, but very rewarding. The story is bad and does not let you relate to any character (because you
    play both "bad" and "good" guys), but the main missions are usually fun and the fact that your powers make you feel like you could kill superman with a click of your fingers compensate to all that. Expand
  18. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    Meh, i don't know. On one side it was fun to run around jumping and just experiencing the incredible smoothness of the animations, but as with Prototype 1 the missions are very generic and there is no real story. On the other hand the interactions with the people in the streets are nicely done, the way they react, run away, bump into each other and everything was nice to see. Also the combat was pretty good, especially liked the battles with the giant monsters, there is a real feeling of superiority every time but you still need to put the right moves together which made for a strangely stress-less gaming experience. The length is just right for me, i was getting a little tired of the generic missions so i stopped doing the altogether after a bit and just rushed the main story. So i don't know, this game has very good gameplay and looks very good, but has a very poor story and non-existant replayability. But still it was more or less enjoyable. Expand
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    5
    In a few words.... Prototype 2 is Prototype 1 with a different story, and a couple new features.... Pretty sure all the character animations were just ripped straight from the first one... Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the game. But the game was just a bunch of lazy. Developers just waiting till Prototype died out then re-releasing it with a different campaign and fancy new black and white cut-scenes...

    As far as graphics go, they are EXACTLY the same as the first one..... Gameplay is a 7-8, but I have to dock it for being so lazy

    Invest in a gamepad (like a wired 360 controller) for best results

    This game is a straight port of a console game so playing with a controller is best
    Expand
  20. Aug 3, 2012
    0
    I was so excited to play Prototype 2, but I just can't play it because of how much of a horrible **** console port it is.
    The PC controls are horrible. But the worst of all is that it doesn't matter if I run the game on highest settings or lowest settings the game will always run on ~30 FPS with many huge lag spikes when I glide around the city, why is that? My Computer can handle the
    game just fine, why Activision WHY WHY WHY??!?!?! Expand
  21. dgn
    Aug 4, 2012
    0
    It's so boring. Same missions again and again from start to end. Also there's no difference from first game. Actually I can say that this game is kinda a mod of first game. Anyway both of them are so boring.
  22. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Ironically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up for the shortfall. Expand
  23. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    pretty **** epic a decent 2nd game i preferred the first one myself with being such a **** badass
  24. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Playing on i7 laptop with 8GB RAM and GTX560M chip-set it's as smooth as butter, ignore comments to the contrary. Best played with a controller. If you're like me, looking for entertainment and not so much of a challenge, Prototype 2 will satisfy your destructive desires like nothing else. The violence is over the top but ridiculous in some ways because you mercilessly pulverize, explode, tear apart and destroy millions of innocent people for no reason other than because you can. Cuss-filled cut-scenes may offend. Best action game in years! Expand
  25. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    i found pc version to be bit smooth i could get handle on it frankly my pc in my bedroom could not handle the power of this cool game i play it on my laptop which so fast i found it good game texture brilliant i got my ps3 version even that bit better but i prefer both of the game


    i think you should play it over again again
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    Let's start by saying that Prototype 1 is one of my all time favorites and Prototype 2 one of my all time worst sequels. I play PC games and clearly this is a bad console conversion. Apart from various crashes, the game has an awful frame rate which makes it completely unplayable. I don't have a ninja PC, but I could play every other game I tried. For me it is simply a matter of bad game design.
  27. Oct 29, 2012
    0
    WARNING! SERIOUS! Do not get this game. I installed it, every time I loaded it crashed my pc. I tried turning threading optimization on, only have 1 or 2 cores on. Finally I got a blue screen of death and said "Ah hell no!" Uninstalled the game for good. No game developer should release this crap. Anything with this many problems and this severe problems is NOT acceptable. I'm not some bot trying to stop you from buying this. I am a concerned gamer. Look me up on steam if you have to Twitch375 Is my tag. If there was a negative score, I would give it one. Please take heed. Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2012
    7
    An acceptable plot, cutscenes not overlong, voice acting not cheesy. The only thing about the satisfyingly gory gameplay is that it can be a bit repetetive when you think of it as "do mission - cutscene - run there - cutscene - end mission - cutscene - run somewhere else - repeat". Of course, like every other PC game this year, from a technical point of view, it's terrible. The game has broken mouse support, I played through it with a PS3 controller. I found, although i amlucky enough to be able to play the game, that after every 30 mins or so my frame rate had slowly dropped to such an unplayable level I would have to quit the game and restart whatever mission i was playing - the game has an obvious memory leak.

    Aside from the now common problems that PC users face with cheap, rushed, console ports, (even though this game was delayed for 2 months or so) if you can see past these problems, the game itself is quite good.
    Expand
  29. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    There are some people **** about technical issues. I've encountered none. After finishing the entire game I have to say that I really like this game and that people are idiots for giving it scores as low as a 0... The game is quite improved look at its prequel, the new way of upgrading your powers makes you feel like you're more in control of the way you play the game. The story is nice too, I love the idea of murdering your maker. Alex Mercer must and shall go down. Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Horrible port to PC, you can swim through the forums about how furious people with high-end systems are that their vid cards/processors aren't supported by craptivision's engine. Side-by-side with the first game, same person, same powers, same missions. The only difference with this one is fighting grotesque/enormous bosses, which all hail in comparison to any God of War or Darksiders boss.
    Technical specs aside, how you felt about this one compared to the first aside, and any possible bias towards Activision out the window; this game is essentially a mature renovation of a spider-man game. Same extensively repetitive button mashing, same endless and stale side quests, generic "your the good guy but actually the bad guy too" plot wherein being good/evil doesn't decide anything game changing. Bottom line, it feels like this game is 4-5 others mashed up together into an excuse for a sequel. Replay-ability is 0, and the story line is forgettable.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]