Prototype 2 PC

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 380
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    @Athinira: In response to your post and as an edit to my earlier post, I'm sorry to hear that so many people are having technical issues with the game. I do not feel that the technical issues with Prototype 2 are centered around people with high end computers, however, as I, and many of my friends have high end equipment. It seems to me as though there are technical difficulties within the@Athinira: In response to your post and as an edit to my earlier post, I'm sorry to hear that so many people are having technical issues with the game. I do not feel that the technical issues with Prototype 2 are centered around people with high end computers, however, as I, and many of my friends have high end equipment. It seems to me as though there are technical difficulties within the software launch that users are experiencing across the board. Although this is a terrible thing to see, I don't think it can be condoned that users simply come and spam 0's for such a great game. That is why I appreciate your honesty in giving the game a realistic score and a separate score if it did not have the primary launch software issues. As for the game itself, I think @Dudda has an excellent review. After being on the second play through of the game, still no technical difficulties what so ever--call me lucky I guess, I still find the primary storyline interesting. However, I'm not going to try and fool anyone, you shouldn't buy Prototype 2 for the storyline. If you instead want to feel like a completely badass, indestructible beast, that can scale an entire skyscraper in a single bound and probably give the Hulk a run for his money, than yeah I would totally buy this game. As for any consumers that are worried about purchasing a game that may turn out as some of these users are experiencing, wait a bit. Because on my end the game runs perfectly, so I'm sure there will be a software patch out soon that will fix any lingering issues. Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome! Playing on i7 laptop with 8GB RAM and GTX560M chip-set it's as smooth as butter, ignore comments to the contrary. Best played with a controller. If you're like me, looking for entertainment and not so much of a challenge, Prototype 2 will satisfy your destructive desires like nothing else. The violence is over the top but ridiculous in some ways because you mercilesslyAbsolutely awesome! Playing on i7 laptop with 8GB RAM and GTX560M chip-set it's as smooth as butter, ignore comments to the contrary. Best played with a controller. If you're like me, looking for entertainment and not so much of a challenge, Prototype 2 will satisfy your destructive desires like nothing else. The violence is over the top but ridiculous in some ways because you mercilessly pulverize, explode, tear apart and destroy millions of innocent people for no reason other than because you can. Cuss-filled cut-scenes may offend. Best action game in years! Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    i found pc version to be bit smooth i could get handle on it frankly my pc in my bedroom could not handle the power of this cool game i play it on my laptop which so fast i found it good game texture brilliant i got my ps3 version even that bit better but i prefer both of the game

    i think you should play it over again again
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Great game! Very good graphics animation physics, awesome gameplay. I played at full settings it looks gorgeous in fullhd AMAZING JOB! Shame that the game dont come the same time as console verison maybe it would sell more and we would have NUMBER 3.

    + VERY GOOD GAME WITH EVERYTHING BETTER AND NICER THEN IN PROTOTYPE 1

    + LOOKS AWESOME ON PC IN FULL HD UBER
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome and i don't know why most other gamers don't like this game.This game's excellent features are its wall run and gliding.My favoirite weapon is blade.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Well i don't know about everyone else but i liked the Game. and the Free Roam was awesome.
    Not to mention The dude is pumped with God knows what in his body and is missing a Child i can understand the lack of Tact and more Rage. Intellect was unnecessary for this man and i think they played it well. If he was stupid he would have sided with the bad guy. The mutation Made him evil and it
    Well i don't know about everyone else but i liked the Game. and the Free Roam was awesome.
    Not to mention The dude is pumped with God knows what in his body and is missing a Child i can understand the lack of Tact and more Rage. Intellect was unnecessary for this man and i think they played it well. If he was stupid he would have sided with the bad guy. The mutation Made him evil and it makes every one Evil including Heller and that's why he was killing Alex. Understand the story people. Open your Eyes.
    Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    Ironically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up forIronically, I bought the first Prototype game and experienced all of the lags described in the other reviews. With Prototype 2, the game ran perfectly on my I7 processor, 64 bit, 8gb, and GP200 graphics card. The game itself is exciting with alot of different powers and moves that are unique to this game. Story line was kind of boring, but the missions and fights more than made up for the shortfall. Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This is a truly fun game. You feel bad ass all the way with the powers you get. I have played for hours without getting bored at all. I didn't experience any issues on my PC. The feeling of freedom as you hover over towering blocks and choose different powers to use makes this game one of the more enjoyable games I've played lately. I personally believe Prototype 2 is more refined thanThis is a truly fun game. You feel bad ass all the way with the powers you get. I have played for hours without getting bored at all. I didn't experience any issues on my PC. The feeling of freedom as you hover over towering blocks and choose different powers to use makes this game one of the more enjoyable games I've played lately. I personally believe Prototype 2 is more refined than Prototype 1. I didn't enjoy 1 as much as I did 2. Recommended. Expand
  9. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    In short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a framesIn short: the game is amazingly fun, you really feel like a bad-ass superhero blinded by revenge who will go through anything to get his vengeance. Lots of awesome animations and powers; the city zones are interesting (the Red Zone really feels like a warzone); the story is intriguing with plenty of twists. The only downside is the performance on the PC. If you're not that big of a frames per second critic then you'll hardly notice the bad fps during all this awesomeness Expand
  10. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what IThis is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Collapse
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    There are some people **** about technical issues. I've encountered none. After finishing the entire game I have to say that I really like this game and that people are idiots for giving it scores as low as a 0... The game is quite improved look at its prequel, the new way of upgrading your powers makes you feel like you're more in control of the way you play the game. The story is niceThere are some people **** about technical issues. I've encountered none. After finishing the entire game I have to say that I really like this game and that people are idiots for giving it scores as low as a 0... The game is quite improved look at its prequel, the new way of upgrading your powers makes you feel like you're more in control of the way you play the game. The story is nice too, I love the idea of murdering your maker. Alex Mercer must and shall go down. Expand
  12. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I like this game. You get exactly what you see in the videos and that's what I wanted - ton of action, lots of fun, unlimited aggression. The graphics are pretty good (in Prototype 1 they are way worse, just install simultaneously and see for yourself). Also, I've never experienced a single bug or low fps moment on my 1920x1200 screen during 18 hours of game play. So, some user reviewsI like this game. You get exactly what you see in the videos and that's what I wanted - ton of action, lots of fun, unlimited aggression. The graphics are pretty good (in Prototype 1 they are way worse, just install simultaneously and see for yourself). Also, I've never experienced a single bug or low fps moment on my 1920x1200 screen during 18 hours of game play. So, some user reviews here seem to be stating facts that are just untrue. There won't be any technical problems on a good PC and the guy who says that 1080p is not supported just lies. Everything is stable and smooth at the top graphical settings. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Totally an kick-ass game where vengeance is everything. The only thing that i hated is the storyline. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer was. Side missions are also helpful for Heller evolution.
  14. Dec 21, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is good story is not soo special however i like this game few problems is that most of the things are similar from previous version but graphics are very good from previous games its little annoying because there are same person everywhere and cant those guys add a crouch key. at last game is really cool :) Expand
  15. May 21, 2016
    9
    This game deserves 9/10 because this game has got awesome graphics, amazing storyline, very good gameplay and this game the best game of 2012 not to mention Max Payne 3 . Max Payne 3 better than Prototype 2 , but Prototype 2 on second position . Prototype 2 very good sequel for Prototype which the even better than Prototype . Prototype 2 is very severe game as Prototype and I thinkThis game deserves 9/10 because this game has got awesome graphics, amazing storyline, very good gameplay and this game the best game of 2012 not to mention Max Payne 3 . Max Payne 3 better than Prototype 2 , but Prototype 2 on second position . Prototype 2 very good sequel for Prototype which the even better than Prototype . Prototype 2 is very severe game as Prototype and I think Prototype Series most brutal series of all time even more cruel than MK Series . 9/10 . Expand
  16. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter. The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions
    People with bad computers and no gamepad are going to red their user scores with hate.

    Prototype 2 has one flaw. The storyline from the first and into the second doesn't make any sense. Plain and simple doesn't matter.

    The missions are fun, the sandbox is a joy to fly around in and the battles are pretty epic even if you are able to follow a map and exp up before later game missions there is some fun to be had. Rent this. Buy it on sale but don't give it a red review just because you couldn't run it.
    Expand
  17. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Gameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, heGameplay is fantastic, just as I expected. Story is not as good. The protagonist, James Heller, is too simple minded. Playing as Heller is not as fun as playing as Alex Mercer, who underwent from avenger to redeemer. I don't think Alex from Prototype 1 would turn into the villain in 2, based on his character: He hunts down the runners, he saves the city, he cares about his sister, he doesn't easily trust others (why would he recklessly give so many random people with shapeshifting powers in 2?), etc. Alex Mercer from 1 is my favorite protagonist of all time. The team shouldn't have made him the villain. Expand
  18. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    pretty **** epic a decent 2nd game i preferred the first one myself with being such a **** badass
  19. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    An awsome game,great graphics better than prototype 1....i get that people having high resolution pc are having issues playing dis game such as game crashes hard drive being locked........it is mostly due to too much high performance computers.....i have 4 gb ram 1 gb asus graphics card and core i3 3.66Ghz processor and prototype 2 is running great on mine......for high performance pcAn awsome game,great graphics better than prototype 1....i get that people having high resolution pc are having issues playing dis game such as game crashes hard drive being locked........it is mostly due to too much high performance computers.....i have 4 gb ram 1 gb asus graphics card and core i3 3.66Ghz processor and prototype 2 is running great on mine......for high performance pc users...try to lower or performance such as removing external graphics card and ram card.... Expand
  20. Dec 6, 2012
    8
    Quite fun to play game but still lacks a good base...it has lot of errors on the pc port and mostly it provides nothing..Textures are very often blobs of blurry color mixed together
  21. pog
    Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I truly enjoyed this game all the way to the end. The story, while linear, is engaging and it's just a LOT of fun smashing things and jumping around/etc. The graphic quality might not have been top notch but the modeling, physics and animations really made me smile. I played in 1080p and did not experience any of the framerate issues others complained about. I do not have stellarI truly enjoyed this game all the way to the end. The story, while linear, is engaging and it's just a LOT of fun smashing things and jumping around/etc. The graphic quality might not have been top notch but the modeling, physics and animations really made me smile. I played in 1080p and did not experience any of the framerate issues others complained about. I do not have stellar specs, either: i5-2500k with a single 450GTS and 16GB RAM. My only complaint is that it was a bit short. Expand
  22. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Its very similar to the first game with a few improvements. If you did not like the first game, do not bother with this one.
    Personally, i think its really fun. You basically have unlimited power and few like a semi-god running around new york. Free roaming and some repetitive side missions, but very rewarding. The story is bad and does not let you relate to any character (because you
    Its very similar to the first game with a few improvements. If you did not like the first game, do not bother with this one.
    Personally, i think its really fun. You basically have unlimited power and few like a semi-god running around new york. Free roaming and some repetitive side missions, but very rewarding. The story is bad and does not let you relate to any character (because you play both "bad" and "good" guys), but the main missions are usually fun and the fact that your powers make you feel like you could kill superman with a click of your fingers compensate to all that.
    Expand
  23. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Despite the memory leak, the game was fun. I just wish more of my friends had it so i could fully appreciate the RADnet package so i could compete with them for top scores and such. Also, the helicopters take a while to get used to flying (that, or i'm just completely hopeless at flying aircraft)
  24. Aug 15, 2015
    8
    I like playing this game when im angry :)
    +smashing people and riping monsters to shreds :D
    -The story is kinda crappy and there are some technical issues :/
  25. May 9, 2013
    8
    prototype 2 is a really fun game. the gameplay is great, though its a little repetetive. the combat uses one of the greatest combat systems i have ever played. the bad stuff is the story is OK and not more than that. the characters are flat and boring. the graphics are OK as well though they are a bit outdated. some animations and effects look really bad, especially explosions.
    overall
    prototype 2 is a really fun game. the gameplay is great, though its a little repetetive. the combat uses one of the greatest combat systems i have ever played. the bad stuff is the story is OK and not more than that. the characters are flat and boring. the graphics are OK as well though they are a bit outdated. some animations and effects look really bad, especially explosions.
    overall this is a really fun game!!!!!! just dont buy it for the story or graphics. you should buy it if you want really awesome gameplay!!!!!!
    Expand
  26. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    This game is better than any Assassin's Creed will ever be.

    Although there's a difference in focus and scope, Prototype 2 grows on its predecessor's stealth and guerrilla tactics. Graphics are OK, and just like Prototype 1, the amount of cutscenes, memories and missions is astounding. The character upgrades really make you feel like a super-powered badass, but most importantly, this
    This game is better than any Assassin's Creed will ever be.

    Although there's a difference in focus and scope, Prototype 2 grows on its predecessor's stealth and guerrilla tactics. Graphics are OK, and just like Prototype 1, the amount of cutscenes, memories and missions is astounding. The character upgrades really make you feel like a super-powered badass, but most importantly, this game allows you to hunt your target, put yourself into position, drop in, take your target, and disappear by blending into the chaos. This is particularly where this game shines in comparison with other games on its category, and especially with the AC saga, thanks to an accessible and fun system that allows for almost total freedom in mission execution: not to mention collectibles that actually DO SOMETHING for the character, instead of being just another counter in your HUD to fill. No need to take a given path, no need to just smash on your "riposte" button until you go numb. On that respect, keyboard controls are poorly implemented and kinda suck. Not game-breaking, but can get kinda annoying.

    Game worked perfectly in an i7 3770, 8GB RAM DDR3, GeForce 650 2GB DDR5. If it doesn't work in your next-gen über computer... well, try without running it on crossfired dual-proc graphics card, you goddamn moron.
    Expand
  27. Aug 21, 2015
    8
    this game is only one that i can climb up across building freely, and the hitting sense is good. but the pc optiomization is poor, and mission is repetitive a little.
  28. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    This is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what IThis is one of the best Action games I have ever played! What did you expect when you were buying Prototype 2? Ponies, rainbows or detective adventures with plot twists and unexpected reveals? NO! YOU WERE BUYING BLOODY DISMEMBERMENT OF EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING! A gorgeous mosh pit with body parts of people and creatures! 9/10! Don't whine lil' **** This what I expected and this is what I got with its awesome action and gameplay, nice graphics and audio! One exception is sometimes unexpectedly difficult challenges! But this doesn't matter CUZ WE ARE MEN! MEN LIKE DIFFICULTIES! AAAARGHHH! *censored* 9 out of 10! Bloody massacre in its apocalypse! Hell will be surprised! Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Prototype 2 lets you feel like a hungry predator among defenseless chickens and it feels great. Only pity is you hit the same hennery over and over again. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    It could have been great, but this gruesome and ridiculous power fantasy is spoilt by a disgracefully shabby port to PC.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    82
    Prototype 2 (the swan song of Radical Entertainment) is a decent open-world action game, that does not invent the wheel, but it does manage to offer solid amounts of entertainment, splattered with generous servings of blood and mayhem. [September 2012]