User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 83
  2. Negative: 10 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyS
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    AMAZING! really good game, loads of enjoyable and very pleasant games to do could play for months and not get bored, even years for some pirates, the visual and graphics are perfect for the pirate like style, always something to do. very well designed the community involvement in the game is also excellent. good for all ages I'd say =D
  2. TomS.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    A very exciting game! Very fun in all areas. Definitely worth Subscription!
  3. TylerW.C.
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    Tetris like games + mmpog environment = fun. Not only have I subscribed but so have several of my friends. if you Enjoy puzzle style games you'll love Puzzle Pirate.s
  4. Giblaut
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    I'm a total addict. I got sucked in quickly, but I've found the game just gets more interesting and complex the more I play. You can play at a simple level or you can play a game of politics, economics, and warfare. All in all, it rocks.
  5. Elliemae
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    I'm not a "gamer", but my brother downloaded this game and as soon as I played I got hooked! I love the interaction aspect of the game - I'm part of a crew that's like family!
  6. RonM.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Great collection of puzzle games! Gfx are fantastic.
  7. Sinn
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    I'm not really into the whole MMO gaming scene but I love this game!
  8. SandyH.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I play this game and it is great.I love the whole idea of a player based econmy.And to take over isles and govern them. New isles open every month.
  9. TuukkaJuvonen
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Puzzle Pirates is a ''MMOarrrRPG''. The idea of the game is not to ''Pwn the 5 level goblin to get the level up'', but the game is built on a world of puzzles. There's a puzzle or two for anyone: Are you more interested in fine art shipwrightery or do you enjoy a fast-paced swordfight? Every mate start as a greenie (not a n00b like in other Puzzle Pirates is a ''MMOarrrRPG''. The idea of the game is not to ''Pwn the 5 level goblin to get the level up'', but the game is built on a world of puzzles. There's a puzzle or two for anyone: Are you more interested in fine art shipwrightery or do you enjoy a fast-paced swordfight? Every mate start as a greenie (not a n00b like in other games) , trying duty puzzles like carprentry (repairing the vessel). After a quick ''tutorial'', ye can take a job on a vessel and go pillaging with up to 158 other mates! The athmosphere on pillages is absolutely fantastic because of chatting and funny pirate language. I enjoy much more of a pillage than a gangfight in games like Runescape, where you die and 30 guys come repeat ''n00b'' next to you. The one of the wondurous achievements of Three Rings Inc. is the player-run economy. Thou the commodities come from NPPs (Non-player pirates), all the stalles and shoppes are owned by players. All the basics are right, you have ie. about 10 chat channels, in-game report system for bugs and players, a button for asking help from the ''Oceanmasters'' and so on. And when ye can subscribe or buy doubloons, ye don't neccasarily need any real money to play, there's great updates all the time, and ye can make friends easily, why don't ye start playing? Thou Puzzle Pirates isn't gifted with enormous budget or a huge develoment team (but they have a exprienced one), it's new ideas, great gameplay system, sociality and a nifty community make it the best MMOarrrRPG ever. Expand
  10. NickC.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    There's no such thing as Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates! It's the best free (if you play free) internet game, EVER! I would like to see a game replace it. It's even better than lots of "real console" games. You really get hooked and you can waste all day playin' it. You can always get better so the value/durability (not sure how to say it, but I hope you understand) is at max. There's no such thing as Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates! It's the best free (if you play free) internet game, EVER! I would like to see a game replace it. It's even better than lots of "real console" games. You really get hooked and you can waste all day playin' it. You can always get better so the value/durability (not sure how to say it, but I hope you understand) is at max. Graphic is a little childish, but in a good way. There's no really music in the game, but how much music kan be added to such a game? I just use Media Player to fill the need of music. Everyone can play it. Sayin' no more 'bout that. The only bad thing is that you'll spend thoundsands of hours on this game (if you really get into it). Collapse
  11. LucyK.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I love the game! I'm totaly addicted!
  12. ChrisJ
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    One of the Best games EVER to grace the internet. You can make your pirate however you like, earn money, and make your pirate life thrive.
  13. Daniel
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Puzzle Pirates is a fun game. I like it becose you can have a crew, flag ,play puzzles.
  14. AnonymousMC
    May 7, 2009
    10
    absolutely brilliant. simple but brilliant graphics, addicting puzzles and a great community. im not gonna keep it long, but this game is great
  15. CristianC
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Very addictive to play especially with friends, teaming up and co-operating with other players to beat people is fun.
  16. TylerT
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Great game. Great admin staff. Most unique puzzle game you will ever find.
  17. LaurenK.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is definitely a multiplayer game, and it's easy to make friends. All the puzzles are great, even if they are a bit plain. Almost everyone is in their own crew, which encourages teamwork, as well as individual work as you strive to move up the ranks. You might even become a Captain yourself! Whether you like sailing, sea monster hunting, expeditions, having your I LOVE this game. It is definitely a multiplayer game, and it's easy to make friends. All the puzzles are great, even if they are a bit plain. Almost everyone is in their own crew, which encourages teamwork, as well as individual work as you strive to move up the ranks. You might even become a Captain yourself! Whether you like sailing, sea monster hunting, expeditions, having your own business, shopping, buying clothes and houses, or just going to the bar to play a few puzzles with your hearties, it's a great game! Expand
  18. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This game is the ultimate MMOPG (Massively Multiplayer Online PUZZLE game) even though it did take some bits and pieces from other games. At least the grind is minimal.
  19. May 21, 2014
    10
    This is an MMO puzzle game. It has very nice cartoony graphics and fun gameplay. Since it is a "kid" game, it also lacks the annoying trolls of most "free" games. I can't think of anything to complain about in this game. I love it!
  20. D.D.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    Great fun.....other pirates get TOOOOO serious instead of just chillin...especially the captains/ship owners! addictive (hmm)
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The atmosphere more than makes up for any shortcomings in the visual department. Communication with other players is easy and the sense of community is quite refreshing.
  2. 85
    The puzzles are very interesting and there is a form of leveling, albeit abstract. A pretty deep player economy is built in as well. The entire game is well put together, even if the graphics and sounds aren't of Galaxies caliber.
  3. 85
    The graphics were an absolute delight, blatantly cartoon-y and so bright and colorful that my first sight of the game always made me smile.