User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 4 out of 82
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BonesJ.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    One of the best casual games i've ever played, and one that consumed (willingly) most of my game time in 2007. It's also got to be the ONLY credible game to come out on all platforms, not hard with the likes of The Simpsons, Superman etc, but definitely something worth congratulations.
  2. MaxS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    I think that the best way to describe this game is a fully emersive RPG. but instead of turn based combat you play bejeweled. I was hooked from the start I can play for a few minutes or days. and through it seems minor i plan on replaying it to do a few choices over.
  3. MarkB.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    I played it for 9 hours straight after buying it. Totally addicting and an interesting take on the puzzle genre.
  4. H.S.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    This game is terribly addictive! It's absolutly the best puzzel game I have played. I am usually more interested in the shooters, but this game has really taken ahole of me!
  5. JuanM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    I hate this game. Its to much addictive. I just want to play a few rounds and when i realize it, 3 hours have passed.
  6. AzazelG.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    At first it seems that this game HATES you and that the randomness of it all is working against you, until you start to get in the flow of how to play and then you will start to find that the randomness is working for you as well. I can not stop playing this game. I find myself doing the same quests over and over just for the sake of playing.
  7. Keno
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but Wow - this sure is an addicting game. It's got the "one-more-turn" that sucks you right in to playing and playing. This is not your typical match-three game, but more of a combination RPG and match-three. BUT - this game's insidious thing that puts it above others is that when you do the game boards you have an opponent who is trying to make you lose. Sure it seems weird, but you battle all sorts of Middle-Earth denizons - from Orcs to Trolls to Dragons. Each opponent has special abilities that you must learn to defeat. And this game isn't easy!! Try it - and I know you'll like it. It has captured me and is currently holding me prisoner. Expand
  8. SamF.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    The best way to descibe this game is bejeweled with all the elements of RPG . When you first hear this it seems like its impossible to take a simple puzzle game and use the RPG Gameplay but Puzzle Quest actually does this very well by changing the different colors into mana which you use for magic/spells. You also have coins which when matched adds to you money to buy better spells/magic The best way to descibe this game is bejeweled with all the elements of RPG . When you first hear this it seems like its impossible to take a simple puzzle game and use the RPG Gameplay but Puzzle Quest actually does this very well by changing the different colors into mana which you use for magic/spells. You also have coins which when matched adds to you money to buy better spells/magic weapons and items. Add to this skulls that you and your opponent use to attack each other instantly. There are various defence spells and offensive moves which you must really think about as every move is crucial as it may help your enemy. When your done fighting on the bejeweled like board your taken back to a map to buy items, upgrade your citadel, find quests and upgrade your character. An amazing game that changes simple puzzle games forever. Expand
  9. WebsterB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Combines everything that's addictive in RPGs with everything that's addictive in puzzle-games. The most addictive game I've ever played. Great fun, no faults, try it out.
  10. BruceM.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Both casual and deep, it's an innovative mix of a fantasy rpg combined with a puzzle game. It really surprised me. I ding it a single point because some of the battles take longer than I'd like.
  11. AnonymousMC
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I couldn't even sleep when I started playing this game and when I finally drifted off into fitful slumber, I was dreaming about this game. Addictive doesn't even begin to describe Challenge of the Warlords. the only problem is the obvious "advantage" the CPU constantly seems to have, but after getting a hang of the game, you'll start decimating your opponents.
  12. PyerIv
    May 2, 2009
    9
    At first I was reluctant to try it, but since I heard so many good things about this game, I figured I'd give it a try... this game is very, VERY, addictive! It's hard to stop playing when you've started. The artwork is splendid and the battles are quite fun in this 3-in-a-row puzzle variation. recommend this game to everyone!
  13. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Really fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you areReally fun game. It's got great RPG elements and really explores a lot of possible variations on the bejeweled gem match-up gameplay while still keeping the core elements essentially simple and enjoyable for the casual gamer. The game progresses well, the gameplay is familiar and has a lot of life to it. It doesn't feel short like other casual RPGs around. Definitely recommend if you are a fan of casual RPGs or want a Bejeweled game that is a little more involved. Expand
  14. AlexW
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a result of opponents being scaled. Less scaling would tend to make the game more of an RPG; spending time in a different area because of its higher level opponents although it PQ is not meant to be a full blown RPG anyway. The massive volume of side-quests Very addictive. Marred by a seeming lack of random board compositions and re-compositions that result in bias towards the opponent as a result of opponents being scaled. Less scaling would tend to make the game more of an RPG; spending time in a different area because of its higher level opponents although it PQ is not meant to be a full blown RPG anyway. The massive volume of side-quests makes this replayable for hours upon hours (upon days, and weeks) along with enough of a difference between the classes to warrant replaying. Lack of a central multiplayer server system makes multiplayer very community based which doesn't exist at the moment. Still a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  15. EricE.
    Feb 5, 2008
    7
    Fun game but it definitely cheats in favor of the AI in order to make it more difficult and to make up for the AI's dumbness. Many many times where the AI would get bonus after bonus after bonus with extra turn after extra turn absolutely killing the player. I couldn't get past the cheating puzzles in order to enjoy the game. My mother noticed the same thing and both of us Fun game but it definitely cheats in favor of the AI in order to make it more difficult and to make up for the AI's dumbness. Many many times where the AI would get bonus after bonus after bonus with extra turn after extra turn absolutely killing the player. I couldn't get past the cheating puzzles in order to enjoy the game. My mother noticed the same thing and both of us decided not to buy it. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jan 31, 2008
    6
    This game has the potential to be a really really fun experience, however it is often marred by a few things that turn out to be a constant annoynace. The biggest problem is that the game seems to favor your computer opponent far more often than it does you. It does not seem random at all. It's not just pure coincidence that the computer gets to take 3295623489732849 turns way way This game has the potential to be a really really fun experience, however it is often marred by a few things that turn out to be a constant annoynace. The biggest problem is that the game seems to favor your computer opponent far more often than it does you. It does not seem random at all. It's not just pure coincidence that the computer gets to take 3295623489732849 turns way way more often than you possibly can. If that was fixed, this game would be well worth its price tag. Until then, save yourself the headaches and spend your money elsewhere. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jan 28, 2009
    5
    The game is interesting, unfortunately it has two enormous flaws for me. The first one is the JRPG look and dialogs are extremely childish. They are simply an uninteresting waste of time. The game would have been much more tolerable without the "story" and the world map. The second major flaw is luck plays far too much in the outcome of a battle. It makes this game totally unsuited forThe game is interesting, unfortunately it has two enormous flaws for me. The first one is the JRPG look and dialogs are extremely childish. They are simply an uninteresting waste of time. The game would have been much more tolerable without the "story" and the world map. The second major flaw is luck plays far too much in the outcome of a battle. It makes this game totally unsuited for people who like more serious games. Basically, this is a great game for children, but not for adults. Expand
  18. Mar 11, 2015
    5
    Do you like games that claim to be random, yet you can never get a good move lined up, while an improbable number of moves "drop into place" for your opponent? Are you addicted to grinding on foes so much weaker than you that you can overcome this imbalance? I have the perfect game for you...
  19. Nov 5, 2010
    3
    Puzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is thePuzzle Quest could have been just as big - if not bigger - than casual hits such as Peggle and Bejeweled. Great art, great music, and hey, it even has a story. Unfortunately, all of the good is countered by one very serious problem: the game suffers from the worst game balance I have ever experienced. It does not play nor feel like a modern video game title, the difficulty ramp up is the stuff of late 90s JRPG developers with too much testosterone and too little supervision. Do not buy this game if you want a fun and casual experience. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 86
    The unlikely marriage of puzzle gameplay with RPG mechanics makes for one of the most addictive experiences available to gamers today.
  2. PC Format
    83
    One of the most fun puzzle games since "Bookworm Adventures." [Jan 2008, p.74]
  3. 70
    The minute-to-minute gameplay is tried and true, and when you factor in the long-tailed character progression, well, let's just say it's a wrap. Puzzle Quest's designers are certainly onto something here.