User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    i feel like bein in Star Wars PODRACER racing around tattooine. The feel of speed gets thru and delivers. and after addictive game session i feel like travelled a long distance. the feel of control is good and umm. Use your senses!
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    A beautiful and compelling paean to the thrill of speed and the joy of simplicity. Load up your favorite trance playlist and revel in the experience. Relaxing and challenging at the same time just a fantastic experience, honestly. Highly recommend a controller so you can just lean back and enjoy.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This game is really a special gem, I don't quite remember how I came across it before it came out on Steam, but I don't regret getting it at all.

    The game (imo) is a great and sweet spot perfect balance between epicly fast action racing survival and zen like relaxing visuals sound design etc.

    It's a little unclear to me even today how exactly level progression works or if it's just
    an "endless" kind of deal, but regardless it's really really great, and even though it would be good enough on it's own you can even unlock customization options and try custom courses made by other players or make your own!

    Anyway, really great little game.
    Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Una carrera en contra del atardecer, ese es el punto esencial de Race The Sun, un racer arcade del estudio independiente FlippFly, quienes después de un año de desarrollo y varios problemas financieros, han logrado terminarlo y hacerlo compatible con Windows, Mac y Linux. [vsw id="QmjAg0e_YYU" source="youtube" width="600" height="380" autoplay="no"] Camino sinuoso Forma parte de esta generación de juegos indie, utilizaron el modelo de negocio de Kickstarter para poder terminar sus proyectos, pero después de no llegar a la meta en dos ocasiones, logran salir a la venta por su cuenta, esperando en un futuro cercano ser aceptados en Steam mediante el programa GreenLight.

    Pero ya hablamos mucho de como se realizó Race The Sun, ahora es turno de ver el producto terminado, el cual es sencillo desde sus menús, arrancando el juego sin tutoriales ni nada.

    Race the Sun indie

    De calentadores solares a super turbinas

    Tomamos el control de una aeronave, la cual utiliza la energía solar para poder seguir avanzando, es por eso que nuestro juego llegara a su final con la puesta del sol, por lo que debemos recorrer los diversos niveles lo mas rápido posible, los cuales por cierto se van generando aleatoriamente, tomando algunos power-ups durante nuestro recorrido, podremos retrasar la caída del sol o saltar por los aires para evitar los diferentes obstáculos.

    En cuanto al gameplay, solo nos preocuparemos por movernos de manera lateral, ya que nuestra nave acelerará automáticamente, dándonos la posibilidad de concentrarnos únicamente en el manejo y la obtención de puntos, un detalle que me agradó fue la sensación de velocidad, ya que logran transmitirla de una manera excelente, al momento de ir viajando en los diferentes recorridos, sera muy satisfactorio el atravesar algunas partes estrechas o llenas de obstáculos.

    Además de esto, durante nuestra carrera iremos recogiendo triángulos, los cuales incrementaran el multiplicador de score, así como también mejoraran la velocidad de la nave, esto nos ayuda para lograr una mejor puntuación, objetivo principal del juego, pero al ir mas rápido, seremos mas propensos a chocar con algo, lo que dará por terminada nuestra partida.

    Esto es importante, ya que en Race The Sun cualquier golpe de frente con los obstáculos, sera el final de nuestra partida, y algún pequeño golpe lateral nos hará perder velocidad, por lo que evitar hacer contacto con los diversos objetos es crucial.

    Race-the-Sun-Scenario

    Buscando el camino fácil

    Y hablando de los objetos que forman las pistas, es aquí donde entra una de las fallas del juego, ya que en su mayoría son figuras geométricas tridimensionales, ya sea un cono, una esfera, cubos, etc. lo cual no está del todo mal, pero al ver diversas zonas saturadas de figuras, algunas otras lucen desiertas, esto nos permite romper un poco la mecánica del juego, ya que al utilizar las orillas de los escenarios, sera mucho mas sencillo recorrerlos, aunque no obtendremos un gran score.

    Pasando a lo que respecta a la música y efectos de sonido, el soundtrack es bueno pero tiene poca variedad y llega a ser repetitivo, en cuanto a los efectos, en realidad son pocos pero el que utilizan al momento de las colisiones, es excelente.

    ¿Carrera para comprarlo?

    En conclusión, Race The Sun, es un juego interesante, que lograra atraparte desde los primeros minutos, peca de sencillo y algunos tal vez se aburrirán muy pronto, no por esto deja de ser una buena opción si es que son fans de juegos tipo F-Zero o Wipeout, jugarlo con un control mejora mucho la experiencia, aunque el precio de $10 dlls me parece algo elevado.
    Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Best played in short bursts, Race the sun is a very satisfying game. The map layout for each stage is changed every 24 hours offering a new challenge daily.
  6. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    It's pretty a basic and minimalistic style racer that surprisingly delivers instant fun. It's a game that's not worth more than 5€, imho you should probably pick it up on steam/gog sale. The great thing about it is that you can upgrade your ship and the scenery/map changes every 24h. There are also lots of custom maps submitted by the community and readily available to play on.
  7. May 22, 2014
    6
    I liked Race the Sun at first. It has a good concept, just awful execution. You "progress" through the game by getting level upgrades, done so by completing challenges. These challenges are mostly just frustrating (ex: having to only turn left for 2 rounds in 1 run). I ended up having no fun in the experience.
  8. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Okay before I get started writing a positive review, I doubt the person who wrote the description of this game know the title well. This bares little to no relation to Starfox. This is a "reflex puzzle" type obstacle-dodging game with the endless run kind of model. This may sound crude and simple, but Race the Sun totally comes out victorious in two respects:

    First I've only played a
    few fully enjoyable titles like this - most of the time you risk stumbling upon shovelware with this kind of game - and Race the Sun is an impeccable implementation of the genre on each and every aspect of its gameplay! It'll get your full undivided attention and give you many, many "whew" moments right off the bat.

    Secondly this game could've gone bad with its design style. You'll often see artists try the simplistic approach only get bland results instead of just simplicity. Race the Sun nailed their simplistic design, using modern graphics capabilities like post processing effects and lighting to clearly show a simplistic design really does not have to be bland for one bit!

    At the price they sell it it's a no brainer. It's a casual play so you can add it to your library even if you're currently going through other bigger titles. This is a nice side-game to have to fill in those voids where you need a break from the massive large-story type gaming.
    Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    Not a bad game but it gets old very fast.
    Maybe I'm not the type of gamer who have fun memorize every obstacle in a level to get the top score.
    More variation would be nice.
  10. May 21, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A simple yet delightful little game. You are a little airplane who lies along until he finally crashes into something or runs out of sunlight. Trophies included. It's really difficult, though, Expand
  11. May 20, 2014
    4
    This game is too hard, for me. And it's really unforgiving, if you wipe out once you start all the way over from the very start of the game on level 13 if you die you back to level one. WTF is up with that whats up with some lives for gods sake. I kind of wish I would have been able to try it before I bought it.
  12. May 25, 2014
    10
    Race the Sun is one of those games that come along and hold your attention for hours upon hours, and you have no regrets. The game is beautifully made, with simple yet effective gameplay and graphics. It is a basic game, but it id pulled off well and almost hypnotises you. Such a simple idea was made the greatest it could be. It is fun and challenging without being a rage-quit game. Set out what it meant to do perfectly. I can't flaw this game. Expand
  13. May 28, 2014
    9
    This game is a gem, simple and fun. Reminds me of the days of nintendo when a games only concern was about being fun. Also it has a fantastic feeling of making you feel like your really good after a couple of playthroughs.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 80
    This games is focused on what it wants to achieve and boy, does it ever. And as it changes over time, it’ll keep you coming back for days and days. [Issue#238]
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    The game’s illusion of freedom is a bit disappointing. There are no paths surrounded by invisible walls as we have come to expect from other ‘endless runners’, and the first thing you do is try to take a peek at the edge of this world. But, in reality, there are only three ways: forward, just to the left, and just to the right.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    When you fly 350 kph, and gigantic block falls in front of your nose, don't say you weren't expecting it. Race the Sun is simply a wonderful reaction trainer. However, it could deliver a bit more than that.