Rage PC

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1623 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Honestly i dotn see why everyone is hating on the game, i havent experienced the issues others have, i guess im just lucky, but seriously...if its that much of a problem i'm sure i.d. will patch it in the coming days!
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    I purchased this game for the PC. I run it on a Asus G73 laptop with a Radeon HD 5870, with terrible texture pop-in. After tweeking with the settings by creating a config for Rage, the texture pop-in is hardly a concern at this point. My game does crash at many points in the game, but even with this issue, the game play for me is pure glee. I have a hard time thinking of the last timeI purchased this game for the PC. I run it on a Asus G73 laptop with a Radeon HD 5870, with terrible texture pop-in. After tweeking with the settings by creating a config for Rage, the texture pop-in is hardly a concern at this point. My game does crash at many points in the game, but even with this issue, the game play for me is pure glee. I have a hard time thinking of the last time I have played a FPS that felt like an FPS... Emphasis on shooter, because like any id game, this game puts the shoot in shooter... I squeal with utmost satisfaction disposing of my mutant chums... Remove the delicious eye candy, and I still have a gun and gun shooter that feeds my old soul for what is has been craving for years now. Enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    I find it funny that everyone seems to jump onto the bandwagon of saying it's a terrible game because of bugs and lack of video options, if this was developed solely by bethesda (i.e. something like fallout) no one would complain at all and yet that was literaly unplayable on release for the PC. Bethesda are a classic example of a company who force developers to put games out when they'reI find it funny that everyone seems to jump onto the bandwagon of saying it's a terrible game because of bugs and lack of video options, if this was developed solely by bethesda (i.e. something like fallout) no one would complain at all and yet that was literaly unplayable on release for the PC. Bethesda are a classic example of a company who force developers to put games out when they're not ready, look at Brink! Personally I really enjoyed the game, the story leaves a lot to be desired, but the gameplay is fun and and the worls they created is unlike any other post apocalyptic world I've ever seen. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    It's disappointing to see such bandwagoning of bad reviews from the PC crowd. Check the other platforms to get a better analysis of the game. I'm not saying it's perfect - it's not - but it's not lower than the average AAA title by far. The largest glaring issues are the lack of VSynch and the desparate need for a hi-res texture pack for the PC. But those aren't large issues. They're notIt's disappointing to see such bandwagoning of bad reviews from the PC crowd. Check the other platforms to get a better analysis of the game. I'm not saying it's perfect - it's not - but it's not lower than the average AAA title by far. The largest glaring issues are the lack of VSynch and the desparate need for a hi-res texture pack for the PC. But those aren't large issues. They're not game breaking, just disappointing. But look past that and you'll find a shooter that attempts to tie itself together with a loose plot. But who's here for the plot? I mean really, did anyone see the previews and say to themselves "This looks like an awesome story!" - no - they said "This looks like I get to kill monsters in cool ways" And truth be told - you get to kill monsters in cool ways. When it comes down to brass tacks, that's why we are all buying this game and it's got it. After turning on VSynch (through the graphic card panel) all the graphical issues went away. And the game hasn't crashed. But the fighting. Oh the fighting. I can't get enough of it. And you won't be able to either. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    i love everyone now days just wants prefect games to roll off the line. doesn't happen anymore boys and girls. computers it are custom built, plus other factors which the developer can only do so much. we had one day of bug video oh my god end of the world. as for the game-play it was solid, could have been a longer game a much longer game but it wasn't the tech 5 engine is awesome handsi love everyone now days just wants prefect games to roll off the line. doesn't happen anymore boys and girls. computers it are custom built, plus other factors which the developer can only do so much. we had one day of bug video oh my god end of the world. as for the game-play it was solid, could have been a longer game a much longer game but it wasn't the tech 5 engine is awesome hands down. I look forward to doom 4. the ID only Flaw is story is a little lacking but the game length should have been much longer. also consider the fact it this is ID 1st try at building a story based game,i mean a truly in depth story with meaningful characters* not doom story*. there not bio-ware kids. i honestly hope ID learned from building this game and improve this type of game. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    in no way this is a 3.1
    22gb? so? people playing it on stone age pcs?
    if you payed a hundred bucks for the 22 gb ok but you didnt - so dont complain! the rating, im sure, is that low because there are issues with the releae version(which i dont have- cause i fixed them) i bet most people who rated it that bad just were to stupid to fix it for themselves they should just wait for a
    in no way this is a 3.1
    22gb? so? people playing it on stone age pcs?
    if you payed a hundred bucks for the 22 gb ok but you didnt - so dont complain!
    the rating, im sure, is that low because there are issues with the releae version(which i dont have- cause i fixed them) i bet most people who rated it that bad just were to stupid to fix it for themselves
    they should just wait for a patch and then review it
    its a great shooter, it runs like a charm for me and hell it's fun
    and it dont feel like a console port (like dead space 2 or others with those terrible controls full of input lag and mouse movement restrictions)
    good game
    most reviews here just show how clueless many people are
    Expand
  7. Koo
    Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I love this game. It's easy enough to enjoy yet challenging enough to make you want to keep playing. I haven't had any of the graphics problems described by others, and it looks fantastic on my dual GTX-460 video cards (NVidia, not ATI/AMD). I hadn't heard of this game beyond a recommendation from one of my friends and I went in to it without expectations (beyond the screenshots, whichI love this game. It's easy enough to enjoy yet challenging enough to make you want to keep playing. I haven't had any of the graphics problems described by others, and it looks fantastic on my dual GTX-460 video cards (NVidia, not ATI/AMD). I hadn't heard of this game beyond a recommendation from one of my friends and I went in to it without expectations (beyond the screenshots, which didn't impress me). I say, let the hater's rage on Rage all they want; I love this game! Expand
  8. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    come on guys, this is getting ridiculous. I would LOVE to be able to look to PC gamer reviews for some reasonable information. I'm as frustrated as the next guy that we're not getting the PC love that I would like to see, but this is the market as it is. The numbers just arent there, especially since half of the ppl dropping a zero here probably pirated the damn game anyway. Why shouldcome on guys, this is getting ridiculous. I would LOVE to be able to look to PC gamer reviews for some reasonable information. I'm as frustrated as the next guy that we're not getting the PC love that I would like to see, but this is the market as it is. The numbers just arent there, especially since half of the ppl dropping a zero here probably pirated the damn game anyway. Why should they give us love, as a community we give them **** scores no matter what they do, and probably 75% of us steal there damn games.
    There is no way this game can reasonably get a zero. Visceral combat. Only buggy issue i had was some screen tearing that required a force verticle sync in my nvidia control panel. not loving the texture pop in thing, and the textures arent exactly hi-res anyway. Driving is fun. Upgrading the car, and character and making stuff is fun.
    Is it as great as I had hoped over the past 4 years? maybe not. Is it fun and enjoyable? absolutely. I'd like to give the game a 7.9 or something but I'm attempting to stem the flow of unfair reviewers a little. But i refuse to throw out a 10.
    Expand
  9. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Rage looks wonderfull with its graphics and its fluidity.
    Even if the plot of the game is far to be a deep plot, the design and the overall style is one of the most fascinating ever seen.
    But the most important thing about this game is that it is pure fun to the nth degree... this is THE real FPS.
    Thanks ID for this new piece of gold!
  10. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Gameplay:
    - For me its very much fun, nothing to complain against.
    Graphics: - They look awesome, after a Driver-Update, before it was a mess, but hey, they simply "forced" this opengl-support (which was always a mess in ati drivers, people knowing "fglrx" will know), instead of listening to ati which tells "why should we fix this, when everyone is using the old tech?" Sound: - Making a
    Gameplay:
    - For me its very much fun, nothing to complain against.

    Graphics:
    - They look awesome, after a Driver-Update, before it was a mess, but hey, they simply "forced" this opengl-support (which was always a mess in ati drivers, people knowing "fglrx" will know), instead of listening to ati which tells "why should we fix this, when everyone is using the old tech?"

    Sound:
    - Making a realy nice atmosphere

    Multiplayer:
    - Didnt check this yet

    All in all:
    - A little delay after release, however not that much that i would call it a fail. After reading through this new tech, it woul dbe amazing seeing future games using this, when it the opengl-implementation in drivers is finaly as solid as directX. Furthermore: a linux-client (which would be possible cause of the opengl), a SDK, a 64bit executable, and the original 150GB texture-pack (maybe shippable on blu-rays, or large download), would be awesome and giving this the glance it needs.
    So, when looking at the Addition: Yeah, i was in rage about rage (funny :D) at first... But: im writing a review for this game, not for the driver-problems in the first 24-hours after release. So i CAN understand people who are very upset, but imagine they got it working 100% for everyone in the next 2 days, i bet people dont realy give this product the chance then, and maybe edit the absolutely stupid reviews here, which are simply based on their emotions, and do not realy reflect the game itself.
    Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    I play RAGE and it's a really good FPS, monster are really dynamic ( if you have a any good nVidia graphic card the game quality will be just awesome ). The race mode is great and offer lots of play time. The open wasteland let the adventurer explore lots of place with monster and treasure. Maybe people expect too much from this game. In overall, it's a great FPS and a good racer with aI play RAGE and it's a really good FPS, monster are really dynamic ( if you have a any good nVidia graphic card the game quality will be just awesome ). The race mode is great and offer lots of play time. The open wasteland let the adventurer explore lots of place with monster and treasure. Maybe people expect too much from this game. In overall, it's a great FPS and a good racer with a bit of self-willing from the player to explore the game. The graphic quality is epic and run smoothly on my PC. Expand
  12. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Rage is an excellent fps. Especially if you're looking for a non-cover based, non-call of duty type game. What surprised me was how intense the firefights can get even with the lack of a cover system. The ai is pretty neat, very reactive. Even the multiplayer is fairly enjoyable, which is more than what I thought it would be initially. People looking for a good old school type fpsRage is an excellent fps. Especially if you're looking for a non-cover based, non-call of duty type game. What surprised me was how intense the firefights can get even with the lack of a cover system. The ai is pretty neat, very reactive. Even the multiplayer is fairly enjoyable, which is more than what I thought it would be initially. People looking for a good old school type fps that isn't centered around firing an m16 at questionably dressed army type guys might be served by checking into this. Expand
  13. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    One of the best games this year.High quality fallout-like gameplay.Graphics are beautiful,gameplay is addicting.There are many things to do.Shooting mechanics are awesome.
  14. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    The game is playing smoothly on my system. The graphics are really good. The wasteland experience is very immersible and the game quite enjoyable. The game has all the elements that will keep you hooked to it.
  15. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    The story is a bit generic but the graphics, gameplay, soundscape, and voice acting are superb. The game is simply and extremely enjoyable experience. Oh, and to all the people complaining about graphics customization and control: you have a "~" key for a reason.
  16. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner.
  17. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    I really do not understand the anger with this game, but I won't try to discount it. I played about 2 hours last night before bed and I am quite pleased with it thus far. To give a bit of background, I play on a laptop with a mid-level graphics card. I can run most games on med-high, but can't get much above 20 fps on witcher 2. I was quite impressed with the visual quality I as theI really do not understand the anger with this game, but I won't try to discount it. I played about 2 hours last night before bed and I am quite pleased with it thus far. To give a bit of background, I play on a laptop with a mid-level graphics card. I can run most games on med-high, but can't get much above 20 fps on witcher 2. I was quite impressed with the visual quality I as the game auto-configured it. I can certainly understand how those with monster rigs (who derive a great deal of enjoyment from micro-managing display settings) might be put off by the idea, but it is working well for me. There is some minor "tearing" (I think it's called), but I am getting higher visual quality then I ever would have expected otherwise. I also like the resilience of mobs in the game. Rarely these days do we find games where mobs can take 8 shots (if you aim center mass) before going down. I will edit this should my opinion change. What I've seen though, I like. Expand
  18. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Pleasantly surprised. I was expecting a game that was your typical run-n-gun shooter. It plays as something of a cross between Doom and Fallout. Fun and engaging with great mood and ambiance. Fortunately for me I was also not plagued by the graphics bugs - the game is GORGEOUS. I am hoping that iD releases a patch quickly to fix the HQ texture load issue for everyone else. The reasonPleasantly surprised. I was expecting a game that was your typical run-n-gun shooter. It plays as something of a cross between Doom and Fallout. Fun and engaging with great mood and ambiance. Fortunately for me I was also not plagued by the graphics bugs - the game is GORGEOUS. I am hoping that iD releases a patch quickly to fix the HQ texture load issue for everyone else. The reason it does not get a 10 is because of the lack of manual control over the graphics settings - what was iD thinking?!? Overall: if you can wait for the patches before buying, do so. If not the only way I can you being disappointed is if you were hoping for a sandbox shooter. Expand
  19. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Super fun and super awesome. Definitely the best level design I've EVER seen in a game... Definitely sets the standards for the industry higher. It's nice to have a new target of quality to shoot for as a developer as well :)
  20. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Rage is a very important game in this year. It is big game. Rage has nice world, interesting story, ideal game design, good music and many many others things. I don't understand their people, who make a bad mark to this videogame. I playing Rage with pleasure.
  21. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A superb game. The graphics are very good. Though the storyline is little predictable, the game manages to invoke interest. There is a good mix of weapons. The First person shooting and Third Person racing combo is another plus point. The game has expansive widescreen terrains.
  22. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    So it's Borderlands with less colors and more horror. I swear each mutant that attacks is an individual mini-jump scare. Really pretty exciting actually. There's also a ton of side-stuff to do if you're bored. There's racing and even a collectible-card metagame. Not to mention side-quests to keep you busy if you're bored. The story isn't anything special but it has a solid premise to keepSo it's Borderlands with less colors and more horror. I swear each mutant that attacks is an individual mini-jump scare. Really pretty exciting actually. There's also a ton of side-stuff to do if you're bored. There's racing and even a collectible-card metagame. Not to mention side-quests to keep you busy if you're bored. The story isn't anything special but it has a solid premise to keep the game rolling. Characters are pretty damn good, well acted, well designed, and well developed. Shooting is solid, looting is satisfying. There are some problems with texture pop-in due to the megatexture thing. Best version is on PC, the console versions are buggy as hell. PC version is still a little buggy but a lot better. Doesn't deserve a 10/10 but I wanted to counter the awful score users are giving it. It's much better than a 4.9/10, you guys are ridiculous. Solid 8/10, if not more. Expand
  23. May 5, 2013
    10
    Great game. Absolutely stunning. I cant believe I wasted so long to get it, because of all the negative reviews here. The graphics are truly amazing and the game play is quite original. Well worth 20 bucks if you ask me. I have had no problem with the game whatsoever. A must have for any fps fan.
  24. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    First of all, i dont wana teach people how to write reviews or match rating with the written review.. but i must say that imo 2 points out of 10 are a question of personal taste. Not only that, but i must also say that you can review black without knowing white, same goes for saying x is great is y doesnt exist... this means that rating is possible and legit when you compare to other gamesFirst of all, i dont wana teach people how to write reviews or match rating with the written review.. but i must say that imo 2 points out of 10 are a question of personal taste. Not only that, but i must also say that you can review black without knowing white, same goes for saying x is great is y doesnt exist... this means that rating is possible and legit when you compare to other games in its category or atleast with similarities... With this said... i give this game a 10 and i am surprised with the low rating and reviews...

    Where can i start? well with the fact that, this is a bethesda game... so to those complaining about graphics.. they are perfect to me.. if you want a game to escape your CoD or Battlefield addiction dont low rate a good quality game just because graphics arent similar... On the same road, i must say that i am surprised that this marvelous fps game is from bethesda, since they are renowned for their rpgs. So it was indeed a great positive surprise for me...

    The shooting is great, the combat smooth, the whole idea of wasteland violence and surprise attacks is just... 10... right of the bat i got spooked out with a bandint jumping on me. The fact that ammo keeps running low is also good imo, since it adds to the difficulty (which may i say, scales awesomely well... hard to see a fps with such a great difficulty scaling(usually its either dumb dummies or headshot bots))
    The vehicle combat is really fun and interesting. Side quests (even though it is not an rpg) exist and are great.helpful and fun...

    Now... to all negative reviews.. i just gota say that, ofcourse you cant compare this game to cod or battlefield.. this game has a great story, and alot more than mere shooting, its bethesda... Comparing it to fallout is also silly, even though both are bethesda and involves wastelands, 1 is a rpg and the other fps with little rpg elements. I must say that this is also a great point for this game, the rpg elements are genious... they are just enough to maintain fps status but still give some extra stuff to do and work on.

    This game cannot be compared to Stalker also... Stalker is also fps true, but has way more elements of rpg.. Its a great game also, BUT simply cannot be compared to RAGE. Whole different ideas, 1 has intense combat which is cohesive to the fact that you are being hunted down, the other is honest and loyal to the idea that you are a stalker... and therefore is just existing like other stalkers (scavenging)

    Compare this game to metro last light... which as i reviewed... is really really unfinished. Compare both games... both fps, both of them are post apocalyptical games and both pursue the idea of intense combat. However... metro has no side quests, no minimum rpg elements... many strings that you pull only to realise there is nothing on the other end...

    Rage does have a story and its pretty linear... you cant simply cant get lost... if you get lost playing rage.. you should stick to basic left to right games.. STILL it manages to give you room to work on smaller stuff.. Yes the story aint deep... but tell me 5 fps games that get you immersed in its story....

    I sincerly find it pretty sad, to see critics unable to match their writing to their number rating. Even more to see players and pro critics alike comparing this game to cod when it comes to shooting and graphics and story to other bethesda rpg games... seriously... giving metro last joke a 8 and this game a 4.8 user rating is just ridiculous.... If you played stalker or metro the joke and like post apocalyptical fps games... Rage is an awesome surprise... dont trust ratings from people who compare it wrongly... just give it a chance... its bethesda ffs.... ID made great game aswell... why on earth wouldnt you try it?

    Oh and to all bug this.. crash that... graphic that" seriously... people dont downvote jokes like darksouls for its pathetic unplayable pc version but will downvote this because it has better graphics on console?!? ilogical imo... The game runs fine... if by any chance you think its lagish due to low fps, press esc, go to options and there you shall find video options that you can change... judging by what i see on many reviews, this is apparently really hard to do...
    Expand
  25. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Gunplay is fast and fluid, enemies have good AI and the arsenal is fun to shoot. Just a real joy as a shooter, it feels true to id's legacy. Similar setting as Fallout, but it's more linear, more about the action, with a fresh visual design. Character animations are great. Lite rpg and racing elements work well but are simple so as to emphasize shooting.
    Performance issues killed the
    Gunplay is fast and fluid, enemies have good AI and the arsenal is fun to shoot. Just a real joy as a shooter, it feels true to id's legacy. Similar setting as Fallout, but it's more linear, more about the action, with a fresh visual design. Character animations are great. Lite rpg and racing elements work well but are simple so as to emphasize shooting.
    Performance issues killed the general reception of this game. Make sure you update your graphics drivers and patch the game. There's plenty of advice online on solving these issues.
    Expand
  26. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to all the nay-sayers. Rage is a blast, and deserves at least a play through! Game honestly deserves an 8, but someone has to offset all the people griping about the ATI issue. The combat in Rage is top notch. Interactive enemies, grenades that function correctly, and an overall impressive atmosphere. For me, the only point where the game looses out is on a weak story line. OhDon't listen to all the nay-sayers. Rage is a blast, and deserves at least a play through! Game honestly deserves an 8, but someone has to offset all the people griping about the ATI issue. The combat in Rage is top notch. Interactive enemies, grenades that function correctly, and an overall impressive atmosphere. For me, the only point where the game looses out is on a weak story line. Oh well its a fun shooter with great combat. Expand
  27. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    What with the ridiculous number of 0's and 1's here, I'd felt obliged to balance it out with a 10. Rage is initially stunning to look at, but it's easy to get used to the graphical splendor. Whoever claims this game doesn't look great needs to a) upgrade their PC and/or b) have their eyes checked. Gameplay is solid, with good enemy AI, nice guns and handling of them and an overal greatWhat with the ridiculous number of 0's and 1's here, I'd felt obliged to balance it out with a 10. Rage is initially stunning to look at, but it's easy to get used to the graphical splendor. Whoever claims this game doesn't look great needs to a) upgrade their PC and/or b) have their eyes checked. Gameplay is solid, with good enemy AI, nice guns and handling of them and an overal great level of polish. Even the voice acting is pretty solid. It might be that many of the negative reviews are simple due to unrealistic expectations ("it's ID, so it HAS to be some next level and/or the early bugs (I experienced none so far). In 2013, in a sale, Rage is a great shooter with some small but nice RPG overtones. I enjoyed it more than Borderlands 2, so far, if that's any help. On the negative side: it's a bit repetitive (like most if not all shooters), it's more lineair than it likes to pretend. A great buy at a tenner or two Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Heyyo, I'm rating this 10/10 purely becuase people gave it terrible reviews due to release bugs. Now that the game's fixed up? It's plenty fun. Screw them kids who went "RELEASE GAEMS MEOW!" and then went "WAHH GAEM'S BUGGY 1/10" :P
  29. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I tried this game in the recent Free Weekend on Steam. Other than some other posters who slate the game for it being free to try out, I think it's a great idea. You can test if it's what you expect and like, if it runs well on your rig, and then take it or leave it what the heck would be wrong with that??

    I figure the game must have had some problems at launch, and it really looks like
    I tried this game in the recent Free Weekend on Steam. Other than some other posters who slate the game for it being free to try out, I think it's a great idea. You can test if it's what you expect and like, if it runs well on your rig, and then take it or leave it what the heck would be wrong with that??

    I figure the game must have had some problems at launch, and it really looks like some people are still in RAGE cuz they once paid €50 for this, it didn't work for them and thus they keep downvoting it forever. I guess they're hung up about their own issues you can safely ignore them. Saying it's mediocre and then giving it a score of 0 is just not honest and forthright. (If you don't know what that means, look it up, ragers!)

    So, I checked it out for about 2 hours on my ageing PC (Radeon 4870, Phenom CPU, Win Vista). It ran really well, looked gorgeous, was engaging in combat and in dialogue. It entertained me plenty, I had lots of fun, no issues with graphics, controls, all worked perfectly. Worth the €5 on special offer? Not just worth it, it's a STEAL.

    Yes the gameplay is linear (bit like Borderlands), yes there are invisible walls, yes the weapon options are limited, so is the roleplaying element. But by golly, the combat is a freakin fun-filled splatterfest! This game is what it is, don't expect it to be anything else, and you'll have a blast. No you can't mess about with objects or customise your character like in Fallout 3, it doesn't have the Fallout 3 humour, it doesn't do many things, but what it does it does brilliantly.

    Don't come to this with false hopes, and you'll love it too. You won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  30. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    The game is a solid 9 for me, but to balance the "0"-votings, i rate it a 10.

    Playing this game again at the moment and having a blast with it. Superb gunplay, intense atmosphere and well designed characters! The engine is realy impressive, you never see the same barrel or garbage twice, every location is unique. The buildings interiors are top notch, it feels so real! Sure, the engine
    The game is a solid 9 for me, but to balance the "0"-votings, i rate it a 10.

    Playing this game again at the moment and having a blast with it. Superb gunplay, intense atmosphere and well designed characters! The engine is realy impressive, you never see the same barrel or garbage twice, every location is unique. The buildings interiors are top notch, it feels so real! Sure, the engine has it's downsides, so you will see some blurry textures here and there, but who cares? When you digging in the sewers and you can almost smell the **** and be immersed into the game!

    For me this game is a clearly underrated gem. Imagine Rage with the mechanics from a Fallout New Vegas, more items, hunger and thirst! This would be my dream-game :-)

    The story in Rage is ok for a shooter, but don't expect some heavy plot here. But that's not really important. The world is unique, beautiful, lots of places to explore, tune your guns and cars, speak with the natives, do quests, take on some races and enjoy some great hours of gameplay!
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Nov 23, 2011
    80
    A pretty, fast and aggressive shooter, striving in vain to be something more. [December 2011, p.62]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Far from perfect Rage somehow is has fun post-apocalyptic action where the principles are set –fortunately – bit different than in other games of FPS genre. [Nov 2011]
  3. CD-Action
    Nov 9, 2011
    75
    It seems id Software is still living in its golden days and failed to notice that times have changed since Doom and Quake. Rage is just a decent, linear, old school shooter combined awkwardly with an arcade racing game. The world is only 'kinda openish' and the story must have been written by the coders while they were compiling the alpha version. The game looks great though – if you're lucky enough to have the it run smoothly and without technical issues that haunt the PC version. [November 2011, p.46]