Rage PC

Rage Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    This game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a reallyThis game has issues but its not a bad game. It reminds me of Doom 2; a game that I really liked. Speaking of Doom 2, back then I had a really slow computer and I had to sometimes wait a relatively long time for stages to load but I had fun. However, one thing this game does not have is dumb enemies. I liked Gears of War mostly because of the challenging enemies. However, GoW2 and GoW3 made the enemies stupid in favor of eye candy. In rage I get both eye candy and challenging enemies (I'm not big into stories, which is what so many are complaining about, what happen to those same complaints for Fallout, which had dry static animation, a slowwwww moving plot, and damn near card board npcs) -- so at least for me the game gets a 9. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You
    The technical showcase of the IdTech 5 engine, and a solid FPS game in its own right.

    The premise of the game is pretty well set up. You survived an apocalyptic asteroid impact and emerge from your cocoon into a world radically changed by this event.

    Now I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic fiction, so this review may come across as slightly biased.

    The storyline in and of itself is fairly good, well written, with some memorable characters. But it's not by any means genre-defining.

    The graphics are the main draw of RAGE. Featuring IDTech 5, it introduces a new rendering concept called "Megatexturing", in which instead of a multitude of textures comprising a game world, the world of RAGE is rendered with one massive texture over everything in the environment. An ambitious method, for sure.

    However, this technique is still very new, so there are a lot of quirks in the game such as texture pop-in and a green tint in dark environments. Not to mention that in order for the game to be able to run decently on most consumer hardware, the textures had to be greatly compressed from their original state, and the effects do show sometimes.

    One effect from this compression might be the aforementioned green tint, but also the textures in general may look fairly muddy and blurry, especially on consoles and lower-end hardware on PC.

    As Megatextures use a new transcoding method to render objects, SLI and Crossfire are not supported. The game will not even recognize anything beyond one GPU. I'm fairly optimistic that ID Software will address this with future titles though (I can't comment on Wolfenstein: New Order, as I have yet to play it myself on my SLI computer).

    But I digress...

    The gameplay itself is very solid and quite fun. ID Software is a master of the FPS genre, so as expected, the gunplay is extremely well presented and gives a visceral experience as enemies realistically react to localized damage.

    The multiplayer, however, feels a tacked on. But I had a lot of fun with co-op.

    I bought the game while it was on sale on Newegg back in late 2011, and I enjoyed the experience quite a bit.
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    5
    Very disappointed. The "bugs" everyone mentions i had no problems with after the ATI fix. It was the overall game play from start to finish.Very disappointed. The "bugs" everyone mentions i had no problems with after the ATI fix. It was the overall game play from start to finish. At $60 you better believe i was going to tough it out. Graphics were phenomenal, i can't fault them there. Yes, when racing forward it tends to get "blotchy" but it is hardly a game killer. Very small and almost unnoticeable. The problem is the game play and lack of a good story. There is absolutely nothing new to this game. It is literally Fallout plus Borderlands minus all the fun stuff equals Rage. When the price drops to around $20, only then will i say it was worth it. My pros: Great graphics. Racing, although repetitive, is pretty fun. Some of the items you can craft are really fun to play with. Cons: At $60, i expected something more. Story is dull. Lack of diversified "baddies". How many are there? 5? just with new textures? You can never have enough weapons....so being stuck with the same ones for the entire game sucks. This game only has 20 hours worth of game play. I probably could have beaten it sooner...call it my general curiosity to see if i got something new with side questing. You really don't feel that need to replay it. My only guess is that they purposely left out a lot of stuff to possibly sell add-ons? It needs bigger maps...more incentives...more weapons...a larger variety of "baddies... The user score is a lot closer to what the game should be scored at. At $60 i rate it at 4, at $20 i would rate it at 7. It is just missing too much to be fully worth that 60. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    i gave it a 2 simply because the graphics were great on my nvidia 275 oc ...if you got ati well, any game release is going to suck...Storyi gave it a 2 simply because the graphics were great on my nvidia 275 oc ...if you got ati well, any game release is going to suck...Story blows, gameplay is shallow and filled with filler... multiplayer is deserted on day 2.....i think you got the idea, worst game id has ever released to date.. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Its more than 1 month after its released. But anyway after patching and up to dating drivers. Its still HAVE crashes, textures bagging...Its more than 1 month after its released. But anyway after patching and up to dating drivers. Its still HAVE crashes, textures bagging...
    Story is intersting for the first 10 minutes. Gameplay is boring. Graph style is bad( borderlands and New Vegas have better...) I would not advice to buy this! **** game.
    I make 1 of 10 cause enemies have good mocap motions...
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 669 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.