Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale PC

Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recettear is the story of an item shop, the girl who lives in it, and the fairy who turned her life upside down. Recette Lemongrass finds herself in charge of an item shop built into her house, in order to pay back a loan her father took and then skipped out on - and Tear, her newfound fairyRecettear is the story of an item shop, the girl who lives in it, and the fairy who turned her life upside down. Recette Lemongrass finds herself in charge of an item shop built into her house, in order to pay back a loan her father took and then skipped out on - and Tear, her newfound fairy "companion", won't take no for an answer! As Recette, you have to decide how you'll get your stock - either through playing the markets in town or going out into the wild with an adventuring friend and thrashing beasts until they give up the goodies - how much to sell things for, what the shop should look like, and how to best go about getting the money Tear needs to pay off the loan. If you can't come up with the money... well, hope you like living in a cardboard box. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    I love the synergy of all these different play mechanics. On their own, these different bits would become stale very quickly, but together each compliments the other to create what I think is a brilliant game.
  2. Deceptively simple. Don't be fooled by its cute-sy look and playful trappings. This RPG is hard as hell and incredibly addictive. Plus, with the extra post-game modes, it manages to deliver an excellent amount of value for your gaming buck.
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    Recettear is one of the best indie games to arrive this year.
  4. Dec 26, 2010
    80
    One of Steam's best kept secrets and a cracking indie title that both pokes fun at and celebrates the charming absurdity of role-playing games.
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Recettear is perhaps one of the most unusual examples of a simulation game yet; with its engaging storyline, large ensemble of characters and action-RPG sequences, this is a game that really stands out from the crowd.
  6. A shining indie gem, yours for a throat-cuttingly reasonable price.
  7. 70
    For those looking for an exceptional simulation-RPG experience chock full of great humor and charm, Recettear may be that diamond in the rough that you've been searching for.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    The simplistic graphics and presentation hide the brutal addictiveness of this (cute) beast. The marriage of a casual merchant sim with aThe simplistic graphics and presentation hide the brutal addictiveness of this (cute) beast. The marriage of a casual merchant sim with a Rogue-like dungeon crawler plus humourous Disgaea-like cutscenes would've netted a 9/10 alone, but the translations... OMG the translations...

    -PERFECT 10-
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Very fun, needs a little bit of work in the combat to make it fit in more with the rest of the game but other than that it is one of the bestVery fun, needs a little bit of work in the combat to make it fit in more with the rest of the game but other than that it is one of the best indie game I've played this year. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    I had no idea what to expect when I first got this game, other than that my friend told me it was about running a shop. That didn't exactlyI had no idea what to expect when I first got this game, other than that my friend told me it was about running a shop. That didn't exactly sell it high, but it was in a pack for $5 so I went for it. Much to my surprise, it was one of the most addicting games I've played. Quite literally I could not put it down, even after I had beaten it. Somehow it manages to get you caught up in the story with great dialogue and well executed gameplay. The only thing I didn't like was the dungeon feature, which seemed out of place in the game and wasn't up to the standard of everything else around it. However, it is entirely optional and easy to ignore with no consequences for doing so, so it isn't a problem at all. Fantastic game overall. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Very nice and relatively well-executed game concept. The adventure section lacked certain characteristics to really make Recettear reallyVery nice and relatively well-executed game concept. The adventure section lacked certain characteristics to really make Recettear really stand out but as a whole, the gameplay is solid, fun, and addictive. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    There's only a handful of games in this specific genre and this is the one that does it best. I'd love to see the concept evolved but no oneThere's only a handful of games in this specific genre and this is the one that does it best. I'd love to see the concept evolved but no one has yet to step up to that challenge.

    It's a great shop sim and there's not many games that could compete. (Swords and Potions is about the only other thing on it's level.) The dungeon crawling is meh, but it's mehness is enhanced by your shop skills being the source of your power for it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours - Great progression system you're unlikely to
    Pros:
    - Easy to pick up
    - Can be played in sessions ranging from a few minutes to a few hours
    - Great progression system you're unlikely to replace the cool item you just got for a while (common in a lot of games)
    - Trading & adventuring & story is well tied together
    - Randomly generated dungeons provide replayability
    - Item limitation and death penalty during dungeon raiding adds difficulty and dynamic

    Cons:
    - Trading cannot be sufficiently automated (vending machines are not enough)
    - Gets grindy in lategame, especially with bad luck on some items
    - Hoarding money in lategame has no real benefit
    Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2010
    2
    Fun for only about 2 hours. After you've finished the needlessly long introduction, you now realise you have basically had everything thisFun for only about 2 hours. After you've finished the needlessly long introduction, you now realise you have basically had everything this game has to offer. Pretty much all you do is: wake up, go to the adventurer's guild, do some stuff around town, sell items, repeat. The dungeons themselves aren't any less monotonous. They're randomly generated ever ytime, so they're basically repeating halls and rooms with monsters, treasures and next-floor teleporters in between. The interface and low-res graphgics makes the game feel a lot more like a console port from the PS1 console generation, than an original title. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers