User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1279 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SSavard
    Aug 4, 2006
    5
    Gameplay sucks big time, nice graphics tho tanks are cool.
  2. JacobL
    Jun 25, 2008
    5
    This game Is Okay, graphics are fine, but there should be more to the game.
  3. SebastianB
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever!
  4. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never letThe game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never let that stop them from thoroughly enjoying the game, with certain very good high population servers and clans/groups that kept the game alive and interesting. i give a lot of respect to tripwire, who even took the time to update the game a LOT after it game out. just goes to show dedication (and tripwire does it for ALL of their games, very well at that). there are only a few minor glitches and errors that arent even bothersome or inhibiting with bombs going off around you. and these glitches are few and far between. the game is immersive and a gem of an FPS. WWII buffs and realism junkies loved it. i say loved because with the NEW red orchestra: heroes of stalingrad coming out, the first game might become a little dated. i encourage you all however to buy the new one. tripwire is a very unique and talented game developer, and i encourage anyone who :loves WWII, loves FPS, loves realism, looking for a challenge/something new. to get it. although really i encourage any and everyone to check it out. im usually hesitant to dish out 50 bucks for a new game, but after playing the first RO, i have complete confidence that its worth the money and supports tripwire to make more games i love. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big.This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big. Ditching the crosshairs in favour of iron sights was a definite plus, so much so i hate having them in other games. The game is 4 years old and so the graphics look extremely dated. AI is retarded but this is an multiplayer game so not really a major issue. The sound can be misleading on some occasions as some vehicles can sound a lot closer than they actually are on some of the larger maps. The community that plays this game is generally older than that of similar games i've played so team tactics are actually used. Unlike BF2 where its just a chaotic bunny jumping, base raping free for all. If your ideal online fps is one where you run around spraying bullets everywhere, then like the 136 reviewers who gave negative scores this game isn't for you. If you fancy a bit of a challenge then this might be the game for you and as it is priced so cheaply now, could be a good way of deciding whether or not to buy its upcoming sequel without spending too much. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, noI love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, no "get-some-cover-after-a-hit-and-everything-is-fine". No, that game is totally different to all the games you have wasted your time until now. Expand
  7. StewartP.
    May 10, 2006
    3
    The glitches that remained unresolved; slow loading maps, unfixed kicks out of the game, poor animation make a a great 1990's game - the game has a nice gritty feel and is OK to play but the frustration it produces just trying to get online to play it (and to stay online) aren't really worth the effort. Had it been tested more thuroughly and put out first as a demo I The glitches that remained unresolved; slow loading maps, unfixed kicks out of the game, poor animation make a a great 1990's game - the game has a nice gritty feel and is OK to play but the frustration it produces just trying to get online to play it (and to stay online) aren't really worth the effort. Had it been tested more thuroughly and put out first as a demo I wouldn't have purchased it. This game in itself has make me very apprehensive about purchasing any games from STEAM without first being able to try a demo. Expand
  8. GregB.
    Aug 3, 2006
    0
    This game sucked, the only fun thing about it was killing team mates. Tanks are totally outranked as the nazis are nearly impossible to destroy, and every time someone wins a battle you have to wait forever for the new round to load.
  9. RadoslawCzyzewski
    Sep 9, 2006
    1
    W porownaniu z Day of Defeat (nawet starym) wypada blado. Gra jest pozbawiona akcji i realizmu (rozwalanie jednym strza?em czo?gu Tiger z 2km - jakim? ruskim szrotem... smiechu warte). Pozatym jak za t? cen? spodziewa?em si? czego? wi?cej jak tylko multiplayer... no i engine Unreala... pozostawia wiele do ?yczenia. Ta gra powinna kosztowa? najwy?ej 10$.
  10. RekitR.
    Jan 12, 2007
    3
    The game has its merits, but is really lacking. It does not even begin to use the game engine anywhere near its capability. Brings nothing new to gaming, not original, not basic either.
  11. christian
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    grad gekauft, installiert, ne stunde auf steam gewartet um updates zu ziehen und letztendlich festgestellt dass es mit abstand das dümmste spiel is was ich seit langen gekauft hab. wer behauptungen aufstell es sei eine gekonnte mischung aus battlefield 42 und sonst irgendwas, merkt ihrs noch
    is nicht im ansatz mit dem niveau von battlefield 42 zu vergleichen obwohl battlefield 42 um
    grad gekauft, installiert, ne stunde auf steam gewartet um updates zu ziehen und letztendlich festgestellt dass es mit abstand das dümmste spiel is was ich seit langen gekauft hab. wer behauptungen aufstell es sei eine gekonnte mischung aus battlefield 42 und sonst irgendwas, merkt ihrs noch
    is nicht im ansatz mit dem niveau von battlefield 42 zu vergleichen obwohl battlefield 42 um jahre älter ist, nee so ne scheiße, wenn ich nicht battlefield 2 hätte würd ich lieber battlfield 42 spielen als den dreck
    Expand
  12. RobC.
    Jun 3, 2007
    3
    Nice. An attempted effort. Good graphics, extremely discouraging gameplay, players must travel several kilometres before the are in a gunfight with an opponent. OVERALL: IT SUCKS Get BF1942/DoD/CoD instead, much better, or any other WW2 video game but not this one!!!
  13. Annoyed
    Apr 18, 2006
    0
    Only five critics bothered to rate this game, and none of them rated it higher than 85. Also, the metascore is 80, not 81, as Steam claims. As for the game itself, what's the point? Save your money for some other, better prepared game.
  14. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside you,you can hear the enemy shouting and cursing,granades explode just near you,you run to cover as if you are running for your own life.

    Second game is just about to release now,and I am still playing the first one.I don't think this game will ever get old,even when it is outdated.
    Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound isThis is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound is amazing, from the horrible death-screams on the battlefield to the deep, touching soundtrack. Wide open maps, long range combat, tank combat, close quarter combat - this game focus on realism and therefore skill, patience and planning is required to stay alive. Typical FPS behaviour often result in instant death.
    It is neither a simulation or a complete arcade game. Red Orchestra: Ostfront sits comfortable between the ArmA franchise and other FPS games.
    Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Red Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 aRed Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 a highly recommended game in my book. Even if you don't like it, it's only $9.99 on Steam and comes with 2 free mods, so it is a good value. Expand
  17. DavidM
    Jan 3, 2010
    6
    This game is quite the experiment, but ultimately falls short. From a presentation perspective, the immersion and attention to detail is quite good. The graphics are more than good enough on max settings and the music is great. The weapon sounds are crisp and feel powerful. The various ways you can get mangled and the grittiness of the game is great. However, the gameplay is obnoxious. This game is quite the experiment, but ultimately falls short. From a presentation perspective, the immersion and attention to detail is quite good. The graphics are more than good enough on max settings and the music is great. The weapon sounds are crisp and feel powerful. The various ways you can get mangled and the grittiness of the game is great. However, the gameplay is obnoxious. Many problems stem from the focus on realism (Which in itself is a ridiculous concept, did the devs fight in ww2? What is this claim based on besides ballistics and an interface that fights the user every step of the way? ) The maps are too large for the player count, even on 50 player servers. A problem also common in BF2. Getting anywhere takes an obscene amount of time and at first I was frantically trying to select my spawn point, like in Battlefield games before figuring that it's not possible. The gunplay is irritating and very unsatisfying. Aiming down the sights takes too long, and you have to be perfectly still and prone to make accurate shots, which rewards a campy playstyle that is only accentuated by the immense maps. Any attempt at moving forward is met by a hail of grenades or cross-map sniping, forcing players to stay entrenched and just wait for runners. Forcing the player to left-click a second time to rechamber the round on bolt-action rifles is superfluous and unnecessary, all other games do it for you. What people look for in FPS games, and even the hardcore population that this game seems to be aimed at, is weapon balance and satisfying gunplay. If this can not be delivered, not amount of absurd realism will make them stick with the game, which explains the failure of OR on a commercial level and the ever thriving of games like Counter-Strike and Quake Live in the competitive community. Expand
  18. OrBiTaL
    Apr 3, 2006
    5
    Having downloaded the game and played it i see nothing new here,it offers no more than CODUO only CODUO has better graphics and is easier to control.I'm sorry but the graphics are dated and the new boards out today will soit this thing out i cant give it less than 5 simply because some poor sole sat at his desk for 8 months creating this but it seems he was refused tea breaks and fellHaving downloaded the game and played it i see nothing new here,it offers no more than CODUO only CODUO has better graphics and is easier to control.I'm sorry but the graphics are dated and the new boards out today will soit this thing out i cant give it less than 5 simply because some poor sole sat at his desk for 8 months creating this but it seems he was refused tea breaks and fell asleep during programing. Expand
  19. LPoolboy
    Aug 4, 2006
    3
    I tried this game for the free trial, and boy am I glad I did, if I was to sum up this game in 3 words they would be: 'Dark', 'Laggy', 'Boring'. The enthustiasts of this game will try tot ell you that by 'Dark' I actually mean 'Gritty, atmospheric, WW2-Esque', no, I mean dark, I honestly couldn't see a thing, enemy's are I tried this game for the free trial, and boy am I glad I did, if I was to sum up this game in 3 words they would be: 'Dark', 'Laggy', 'Boring'. The enthustiasts of this game will try tot ell you that by 'Dark' I actually mean 'Gritty, atmospheric, WW2-Esque', no, I mean dark, I honestly couldn't see a thing, enemy's are constantly ot of reach and everybody wears the exact same uniform, so you can never be sure if you have spotted an enemy or not. They'll tell you that the game does not lag and that I must have a poor connection. I am running a 10mb download conn and I have a pretty good pc, the load times are horrendous and the graphics are so poor yet it still lagged. They'll try to say that when I say it's 'boring' I am being unsophisticated and very uncouth, but I am not, the maps are badly designed. There's nothing wrong with them being so big but you should always have something to do, some sort of challenge, I don't consider travelling for minutes on foot then dying at the end and having to do it all over again. As I said you ahrdly ever see the enemy. The guns are clunky and slow, you don't ever feel in control, the models lack any dexterity. The keys are mapped poorly, the class sytem is done poorly, hell even the sound is average at best. For me this game seems to be one which will have a very strong tight knit community but it will also be very small and very hardcore. A bit like the online community of Swat 3 or other cult games. I would steer well clear, the learning curve is extremely steep and you never feel dangerous ingame due to the stupidly high recoil of the guns and the fact that you can never see the enemy. Poor effort, poor game. Expand
  20. Van
    Aug 4, 2006
    0
    This game is more than likely the absolute worst FPS game played in recent history. It's glitchy, your character moves extremely slow no matter what, the graphics are only a little better than DOD 1.6, Terrible sound quality, Whacky physics, Way too much recoil, It feels like it takes you 5 minutes to reload, maps and models are aweful and it's just plain boring. I'm glad I This game is more than likely the absolute worst FPS game played in recent history. It's glitchy, your character moves extremely slow no matter what, the graphics are only a little better than DOD 1.6, Terrible sound quality, Whacky physics, Way too much recoil, It feels like it takes you 5 minutes to reload, maps and models are aweful and it's just plain boring. I'm glad I never wasted any money on this game but I really, really regret downloading it for free. If you were into E.T. for the atari then this game is right up your ally. Honestly, i'm embarrassed for the developers of this slow paced drooling. Expand
  21. JerryB.
    Aug 7, 2006
    0
    problem #1- It takes way to long to connect to servers. problem #2- There are no crosshairs so you can't aim what your shooting at. problem # 3- Game play in general SUCKS !!!!!!!
  22. FAISALM
    Jan 1, 2009
    3
    Its so bad it didnt play it more than 4 times.
  23. MTatonka
    Apr 8, 2006
    0
    I have to agree, this game is horrid. What are you other people looking at? Weapons behave like an out of control firehose, player moves (from first person) with no fluid action. Your stance changes and you have to reset your iron site every time. There has to be some intuitive design to the player, i.e. reload your weapon when its empty or re-chamber a round after you have taken a shot.I have to agree, this game is horrid. What are you other people looking at? Weapons behave like an out of control firehose, player moves (from first person) with no fluid action. Your stance changes and you have to reset your iron site every time. There has to be some intuitive design to the player, i.e. reload your weapon when its empty or re-chamber a round after you have taken a shot. The sound is deplorable, you cannot differeniate where a shot is coming from or where someone is walking or running.
    The maps are nice and the I enjoy the teamwork necessary to complete the objectives.
    Go back to the drawing board with that and make it better.
    Expand
  24. BrianS
    May 9, 2009
    2
    This game was total crap! All people do in this game is grab a PPsH, camp, and dominate. Thats all you need! Russians are seriously over powered and as said before, this game is nothing but a total camp fest.
  25. AdamS.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    It's really cool and really realistic game ;) theres only one "-" there are only russians and germans.
  26. Skylarflan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    I dont even play cod2, or bf2 anymore! great game
  27. AnonymousMC
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. Its a WW2 simulation, SIMULATION! The graphics are awesome, some people never heard of settings (or a .cfg file) and the gameplay is the sweetest ever. Anyone who rates less than 9 wasn't born when Doom came out. Wait till you're old enough to appreciate a game before you rate it :-(
  28. ChristianS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ learning curve, plenty of room for tactics, realistic infantry and armored combat; Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is easily the best and most rewarding WW2 FPS game. Expand
  29. h0bb1tBeurskens
    Aug 6, 2008
    9
    I love playing WWII games, but when i saw this i was in love, the explosions, infantry classes, tank battle realism, artillery strike, sniper scope, bullets from MG 42 , bayonet, maps.. oh and did i mention the explosions? Al little details come together to make the most exciting WW2 game ever!
  30. TylerM.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Been playing RO since its first beta release back with ut2k3. If you want something other than your run of the mill spray and pray shooter try out RO. The level of detail and realism is amazing for a game. If you want to try out an intense, realistic and very immersive gaming experience, then go pick up a copy now. What are you waiting for?
  31. AnonymousMC
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch and a 50 part HUD - but you soon don't miss those things. In fact, I HATE playing games with those now.
    Expand
  32. FireBladeX
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Perfect game!
  33. spitfire
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    The best WWII FPS game I have ever played, I hope new maps will come soon. Excelent Job!
  34. MattG.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    this game is realidtic has great detail on the smallest things. the gameplay rules as it is challenging and not piss easy like cod2 or dod.
  35. EricS.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The feeling of being there is amazing. Really awesome game!
  36. JeffreyK.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The best WW2 sim i have ever played, and it still has potential to be so much more.
  37. JaniM.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Best War-Simulation i've ever played!
  38. CraigR.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Great game all 'round, only complaint is the loading times. The graphics are good - not great though, but the gameplay is amazing. Great work Tripware.
  39. Lucas
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Great gameplay, best first person animations/models I've ever seen, excellent maps. The graphics are surprisingly well done for such an old engine. It features such subtle things that when you switch games, you realize that every game needs what RO has. The tank combat is amazing as well as the infantry combat. Reccommended to anyone mature enough to get the hang of this game.
  40. Dillweed
    May 6, 2006
    9
    The multi player is great..Compared to COD 2 it blows the doors of of it and considering its a older engine that dosent help the COD2 cause either.
  41. Golf33
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Not for everyone but if you are after intense, highly realistic ground combat then this is for you.
  42. Shape
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Most realstic game ive ever played. Graphics could be improved, but i think when set on high are much better than Cod2.
  43. MarcO.
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try to be a hero. This requires a load of team work. Tanks also give it a boost in points. Since it's not based on the western front, which has been done 101 times, the game is unique. A Very good game. And the fact that you dont have a crosshair also gives it a boost in total realism. Expand
  44. tehem
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    The best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision ofThe best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision of the weapon => well, realistic it is (or tend to be as much as possible) and 'in real life' touching a target of a few square centimenter at 100 meter with a rifle from the 40's isn't the same as shooting fish in a barrel with an automatic weapon. About the technical problems, i must say i bought the game via Steam and had no problems whatsoever to install and run it. One quick passage on the forum of the french community and i could also shorten a good bit the loading time thanks to some very easy modifications. All in all a good game experience for mature players. But if you're looking for the 5424875th arcade shooter about WWII, just pass your way. Expand
  45. PaulT.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Red Orchestra is a great game with wonderful graphics. Gameplay is very realistic but you must have patience and read the manual. If you play the game as intended you will have a great time with many great hours of enjoyment!
  46. JosephS.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can score in the top 5 players. This game is to FPS what IL-2 was to combat flight sims. No arcade game, its a bit hard to learn but I never really tire of it. This game is about tactics teamwork (e.g. you have to resupply ammo to your machinegunners - hint: it scores you 5 points) and being smart in combat. You need to learn to use cover and actually aim to kill your opponents. Some of the new custom maps are just incredible now that they have opened up design to the user community. Tank battles are fun and realistic but I love playing infantry. Some of the most fun things are learning to shoot from the hip and using melee attack in close quarters urban combat; learning to call in artillery with devastating effect; or destroying a giant JSII or Tiger tank with your panzerfaust or satchel charge. Finally the recoil, aiming, sight view and sounds are extremely realistic. As a WW2 buff, I own (or owned) and have fired several of the rifles and pistols in the game and I can tell you its almost as fun as shooting the real thing. You have to account for bullet drop for long shots (and probably wind too). I bet the machine and submachine guns are equally realistic but have no firsthand experience. Finally, to really enjoy the game get a headset with a mic. It makes teamwork easier and the better sounds give you clues about potential dangers/ targets. You can hear the footsteps and heavy breathing of winded players nearby and hear the bullets and artillery pass by or over you. Other fun titles like Day of Defeat, Battlefield series, Counterstrike don't even come close to this title for lasting fun and realism. Go buy it - its the best $25 you'll ever spend. Expand
  47. ChrisM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    The Best FPS of all time, provides the perfect combination of realism and fun factor. those who enjoy the twitch type shooting of most other arcady First person shooters will dispise this game, everyone else will fall in love because it focuses on realism, teamplay, and strategy.
  48. KevinA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    I really like this game. I play it almost all the time that's why i gave it a 10.
  49. MichaelC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Most realistic shooter I've ever seen. The depth of the maps, and wepon realism make it worth a 10. Plus busting a Commie tank with a panzerfaust and watching gore and bodyparts come outta the commanders hatch is a big plus. I highly recommend this game. Its historically accurate and very well played. I also have to give props to the hit location system on the infantry andMost realistic shooter I've ever seen. The depth of the maps, and wepon realism make it worth a 10. Plus busting a Commie tank with a panzerfaust and watching gore and bodyparts come outta the commanders hatch is a big plus. I highly recommend this game. Its historically accurate and very well played. I also have to give props to the hit location system on the infantry and tanks...give it a shot. Expand
  50. EnricoF.
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    Just amazing! Maps are very close to reality and they make you feel like you are really fighting there! Even the sounds are spectacular! Weapons, weather, engines...all is very real-like! I'm sure i'm gonna buy this game!
  51. Mad5cout
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    The people who gave this 1's and 0's are either too young or too impatient or both to actually enjoy this game. Even reading their comments shows they did not figure out that you have to press a button to aim down the sight and fire some weapons. Likewise, some guns, such as MGs, must be deployed on a secure surface before being useful at all. If you are a plug and play type of The people who gave this 1's and 0's are either too young or too impatient or both to actually enjoy this game. Even reading their comments shows they did not figure out that you have to press a button to aim down the sight and fire some weapons. Likewise, some guns, such as MGs, must be deployed on a secure surface before being useful at all. If you are a plug and play type of person, don't even try this game. If you are an avid gamer that enjoys a challenge and depth of game play, this game is king of the WWII FPS/Sims. On the bad side, as stated previously, the engine is 2004 and the graphics are pretty good but not as good as some games coming down the line. Let's be honest $25 is half of what you pay for new games and is not that expensive but I'm sure if you go try to pick up Unreal 2004 (what the mod is based off of) it will only be $19.99 so tripwire hass overshot a bit, I think. I hope they take this game to the next level and make a newer version based on a newer engine with imporoved physics, add planes and the ability to use the AA/flak and mortar weapons on the maps. Adding a single player would be a token attempt at pleasing those who don't really understand what this game is about. Expand
  52. TobiasS.
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    The best game of its kind in the market at this time. I like the tankbattles best, but the infantry maps come as close to realism as currently possible. There are still some features to becorrected (read the forums;-)) but that will come with time, I'm sure.
  53. CharlieShentall
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    This is a lifestyle not a game - it grows and grows, as does your skill, an hour in you are totally frustrated, a day in you start to smile, a week in you can't wait, after a month - you are fully immersed. Average Time to veteran - 6 weeks
  54. RodneyF.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    A tactical masterpeice.
  55. joker3004joker3004
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    The best WWII FPS ever... but I spent about 5-7 hours to understand it :D
  56. Plesnjivec
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Play that game give to us something difference in our feeling to another game. Realism, tgame is team-play based...and thnx God without noob who running arround the map like blind chicken's... If thay do that, than they cant live so enough.
  57. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Red O is a great game. I am a history major, so realism is important to me. (It would amaze you but not even the advanced nazi sciences had a personal HUD for their soldiers so they could have cross hairs and an ammo counter //sarcasm)
  58. DannyL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Realistic, hard and the best. The hardness of the game keep small kids away.
  59. Vihkr
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses from high explosives. Historical accuracy so researched that your empty shell casings are actually the right colour. And finally, a game that tells the real story about what happened to the infamous German war machine: its fate was sealed on the Eastern Front in the most titianic conflict in the history of mankind, not by the Western Allies, as is commonly believed. Buy it, try it and love it! Expand
  60. GabrielT.
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Very good game, a lot of realism and a good playability.
  61. TawficF.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    The Game play is awesome .... tanks tactics and fps assault through. I think its not too bad at all. I only noticed that changing maps is not as smooth as counter strike source. But its not as bad as changing maps in Battlefield 2. Of course my favorite part is the explosive sound in the back ground. Makes you feel you are in the battle for real.
  62. YanisAbt
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    GREAT simulation attempt , we need more simulations , Red Orchestra ranks among IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 and Silent Hunter III as the best WWII simulations available.
  63. MatthewP.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    By far the most awesome and realistic WWII game I've ever played!
  64. RicardoL.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Best WW2 shooter ever. It could be better? Of course, they all can. This game is a big step though, for those who craves for WW2 game experience. My 10 is based on that. It is clear that mostly everyone loves very much or hate this game. In my opinion, his game is for those who likes the WW2 atmosphere and scenario, not for those who wants to play an all-round and dynamic type of game Best WW2 shooter ever. It could be better? Of course, they all can. This game is a big step though, for those who craves for WW2 game experience. My 10 is based on that. It is clear that mostly everyone loves very much or hate this game. In my opinion, his game is for those who likes the WW2 atmosphere and scenario, not for those who wants to play an all-round and dynamic type of game that have a WW2 skin. I like to play some BF2 and BF1942 (which has no realism at all) in LANs w/ friends but RO is really worth buying it! It is more like a simulator type (like some were saying) but it also have good action. The "near-missing bullets", explosion and sound effects get in your blood like a rush! Ppl there are very cool also. There is no other way I can feel a little like of the WW2 historic environment in the safe of my home. Expand
  65. AndreO.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    Once of the best Multiplayer Shooter, very real and it is not for beginners
  66. MichaelW.
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    The most realistic FPS I have ever played and completely addictive. If you are into WW2 and the eastern front type games like me you must get this game, you will not be dissapointed. All my other games are collecting dust.
  67. LewisJ.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    The most intense and strategic FPS I have ever played, I easily rate this game higher than the popular counter strike. You want an intense battle, thats challenging enough to make a single kill really rewarding? Red Orchestra....no doubt about it.
  68. UmutG.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    its very great i just bod it yesterday.
  69. @nthony7
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Red dods AA cs 1.6 ^^ Expand
  70. PaulG
    Feb 1, 2009
    8
    For any realism fans out there, this is a must have. Although I admit the controls can be a bit clunky at times (picking up weapons is much harder then it should be, for instance), other than that it's an excellent game! It's got great graphics, tons of great maps, and a handful of amazing mods that bring you from North Africa to Italy to Normandy!
  71. Mo0nBugGy1
    Apr 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of meat by a King tiger tank. This game is Brilliant the only complaint i hear is the use of the word ''Camping'' but as this game is trying to be realistic its not really camping but covering behind a wall so you dont end up like that COD noob who thinks he can blind fire a K98. If you want to go run around like rambo then be my guest but you will cop a heap of abuse for WASTING ALL THE SPAWNS!!......My only issue is i just came from playing crysis and Arma so the graphics are very dated, other than that this game is TOP NOTCH. Expand
  72. YaU
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Bought this long time ago and didn't like it much. Just tried out the new mod Darkest Hour and couldn't stop playing. This mod is way better with couple of really good maps. The atmosphere is more engaging and I see more team spirit. Look forward to the final version.
  73. MarcL
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Best game ever...got the game since 3 years now and have not seen any better game till now...the aim system is the thing that makes the game great, no stupip aiming with a circle in middle of screen like in call of duty world at war, and no silly scripted show...its real action.
  74. BanjoPants
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    This is a difficult game. But that is what makes it great. It is my favorite game, second only to BF1942. It takes what should have been included in Forgotten Hope and wraps it all into one game with 2 mods. The thing that sold me on the game was the Eastern Front.
  75. Frank
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    I love that you can use a mic and headphones to (voip) communicate with and the graphics are awesome.
  76. [DF]VARG[RUS]
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Very realistic. You've just forgot about all world around when you drive in the tank or when you prey to a god under artillery fire! Not just a multiplayer game, it's real war! Now RO available in Russia. Za Rodinu!
  77. JonB.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    I did not know that a game could feel so real, I did not know that war could be displayed that beautiful.
  78. ClausT.
    Oct 26, 2006
    8
    Very nice game. It's the most realistic game I've ever played. However, I think the bots are to easy.
  79. LasseT.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Well, This is one of the best games I've ever played. Tho' it is not good at all in the Singleplayer mode, but it works. I've never cared about graphics in games. But this graphics is very impresive. And for all people who says : "The reload feels like 5 mins!" well well well, Have you guys tried it in real life under fire? The first thing, it isn't just to swap a Well, This is one of the best games I've ever played. Tho' it is not good at all in the Singleplayer mode, but it works. I've never cared about graphics in games. But this graphics is very impresive. And for all people who says : "The reload feels like 5 mins!" well well well, Have you guys tried it in real life under fire? The first thing, it isn't just to swap a magazine in 10 second, if you are gonna spare the empty magazine, you need to lay it on the ground, get your hand on the new mag in the closed puoch, drag the mag out, lay it on the ground, put the empty mag in the pouch, push the full mag in the weapon, and make sure it is IN, then you will have to ... uhmm... how to say it.. drag that thing back so the bullet will get in.. (sry, bad english :P) And all this under fire! this game, is well.. Reloading way to fast :D but it is a nice time to reload for a game :) Also, when you didn't have any mags left in a war, you would take a mag and put one and one and one and one and one bullet at time.... Try taht under fire! That is waht takes ages.. And I've played more realistic games, like flight simulators. But, this game is of course on the top 5 realistic games in my opinion. It is worth Buying. Lasse, From Norway. Thank you! Expand
  80. GuillaumeC.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    This game is wait I was waiting for. A perfect mix between fast action and extreme realism. Considering that game is using a 2/3 years old engine graphism are very well done. And this game is sold under 30 $ ! If you're not afraid about high skill level that is required to play and if you're a fan of "true" realism game like operation flashpoint (not call of duty). This game is This game is wait I was waiting for. A perfect mix between fast action and extreme realism. Considering that game is using a 2/3 years old engine graphism are very well done. And this game is sold under 30 $ ! If you're not afraid about high skill level that is required to play and if you're a fan of "true" realism game like operation flashpoint (not call of duty). This game is for you. IMHO This game a pure bargain. A must have ! Expand
  81. TJ
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    The absolutely best WWII multiplayer FPS ever made. period.
  82. DavidF.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Outstanding game from East front WW2 era proving that small independent studios are able release top quality titles.
  83. ShooterJ.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    It cannot be described as FPS. It is something else. More like OFP and AA. But better. Much better.... Ok .. back to playing :)
  84. DanH.
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    i really like this game, and for all the ones complaining about the graphics, this game uses a slightly upgraded version of the Unreal 2004 engine, therefore it is outdated slightly. All in all, i love this game, the sound is great, the realism is awesome, and the gameply if fun as hell ps. for the one who said this game came out of DOD:S, thats not true becuz this game was a mod for i really like this game, and for all the ones complaining about the graphics, this game uses a slightly upgraded version of the Unreal 2004 engine, therefore it is outdated slightly. All in all, i love this game, the sound is great, the realism is awesome, and the gameply if fun as hell ps. for the one who said this game came out of DOD:S, thats not true becuz this game was a mod for Unreal tournament way before DOD:S even came out on steam. Expand
  85. DannyM.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    Nice graphics and gameplay.
  86. AaronL.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    absoluately brilliant, in terms of realism, there is no other ww2 games that can beat this, and i don't think there will be for a long time. (maybe if they release a second one :) )
  87. AnonymousMC
    May 24, 2006
    0
    People who believe this is realistic warfare obviously have not been in war. If you want that sort of game ditch the mouse and keyboard and get yourself conscripted. For those of you who like war with a mouse and keyboard, dont bother with this, an overengineered slow action lacking debacle
  88. ManV.
    May 7, 2006
    3
    Oh...My...God... these were the words that came out of my mouth when I first saw the game ads all over steam. I was astonished, only by the idea of a modern game that gave you the opportunity to play as a soldier in the WW2 eastern front...Oh...My...God were the words that came out of my mouth when I first played the game...but it was NOT for a good reason... First of all: The game is Oh...My...God... these were the words that came out of my mouth when I first saw the game ads all over steam. I was astonished, only by the idea of a modern game that gave you the opportunity to play as a soldier in the WW2 eastern front...Oh...My...God were the words that came out of my mouth when I first played the game...but it was NOT for a good reason... First of all: The game is slow,really slow (I even had to reduce the graphics' detail levels and resolution but no improvement). The graphics did not annoy me, but they surely were not modern-day graphics. The animation was tragic,unrealistic...almost robotic. The sound was OK. These aspects, I could easily cope with. IF!!! If the gameplay produced what every gameplay's target is...FUN. This game is surely not fun... I was sooooo dissappointed. The interface is unreasonably complicated (even if I reallocated the keys,I was still confused) There are literally 1000 commands out there, you have to familiarize with. I agree with the absense of live map, i agree with the amount of damage caused by a shot... but i totally disagree with the absense of crosshair...now, you can call me noob and underskilled, but if there was any fun in fighting with my own self, just to put an enemy in my ironsights, believe me, I would sit down and eat my keyboard to learn how to do it properly...but...there is no joy in it...no fun...the point of a game is this. FUN. If I wanted to live a totally real warfare, I would enlist myself in an army to go to a front in real life.Now,there is another thing.Maybe less importand...some of the maps are huge to walk around...it doesn't help at all. Don't get me wrong...I was eagerly anticipating this game to come out and I pre-ordered it as soon as it came out as an ad and this is the reason I am furstrated...I personally find it promising,as an idea but...unplayable. Do something for us underskilled noobs who want to play as digital soldiers in the eastern front.... Expand
  89. Sgt.Rockski
    May 7, 2006
    3
    Game is using an old engine that is clunky. In steam, this game was 25 bucks, promised a lot and delievered a lot of crashing. I run a fairly state of the art system and this game still fails. The forums on steam are filled with complaints from users, I practically don't even play this anymore because they are not fixing teh bugs in it and teh game is a drag when it is rebooting or Game is using an old engine that is clunky. In steam, this game was 25 bucks, promised a lot and delievered a lot of crashing. I run a fairly state of the art system and this game still fails. The forums on steam are filled with complaints from users, I practically don't even play this anymore because they are not fixing teh bugs in it and teh game is a drag when it is rebooting or crashing your system all the time. Thumbs down until they work it out. But something else is my advice, and researcxh this game through what the players are saying on teh steam forums about it. It is definitely not even close to an 8 rating. Expand
  90. Anacro
    Jun 29, 2006
    3
    The screenshots looked good but the game isn't very good if you compare it to Battlefield 2. The maps are poor, the gameplay isn't fun. It may well be trying to simulate vehicles, weapons and the feel of battle 100% etc but this is at a cost to the fun factor and yes you can have a game which tries to simulate things and still be fun but this game lacks it. The only good thing The screenshots looked good but the game isn't very good if you compare it to Battlefield 2. The maps are poor, the gameplay isn't fun. It may well be trying to simulate vehicles, weapons and the feel of battle 100% etc but this is at a cost to the fun factor and yes you can have a game which tries to simulate things and still be fun but this game lacks it. The only good thing about this game is you don't tend to get spawn killed as soon as you spawn. I've played Battlefield 2 for over 600 hours and still continue to play it, why? Battlefield 2 finds the middle ground between realism and fun, there are also personal goals in Battlefield 2 like medals/ribbons/badges/promotions which can take months to get and yet still fun. Red Orchestra I played for 2 hours of utter frustration, completly boring too. It staggers me some of the ratings other players have given Red Orchestra, I can obly assume they haven't played BF2. Expand
  91. MikeL.
    Jun 5, 2006
    1
    Cant say its a great game because its still loading, and loading, and loading, and verifying etc. Bought this as a non-online game, figuring it could do both and I would ignore the online half. Cant get to or find the single player mode, nor does the box indicate that this isnt a suitable game for the singles like myself. I just bought it and already am ready to throw in the garbage. Cant say its a great game because its still loading, and loading, and loading, and verifying etc. Bought this as a non-online game, figuring it could do both and I would ignore the online half. Cant get to or find the single player mode, nor does the box indicate that this isnt a suitable game for the singles like myself. I just bought it and already am ready to throw in the garbage. Better wording on the box and I would have never bought it. Expand
  92. AdrianC.
    Aug 11, 2006
    4
    The load time is of 5 minuts and is desesperable and in a online game that the server change the maps each 20 minuts shouldn't wait 5 minuts to charge each map.
  93. DexterP.
    Aug 3, 2006
    1
    Boring, too clitchy, long loading times, nothing new, poor movements, you have to be 'qualified' to use vehicles so you just get owned by everyone else who uses tanks, crap maps, terrible recoil even when in short bursts and lying down, worse than Day of defeat (yes really that bad), just another poor attempt to nock Call of Duty of the top of the ladder glossed up with Boring, too clitchy, long loading times, nothing new, poor movements, you have to be 'qualified' to use vehicles so you just get owned by everyone else who uses tanks, crap maps, terrible recoil even when in short bursts and lying down, worse than Day of defeat (yes really that bad), just another poor attempt to nock Call of Duty of the top of the ladder glossed up with supposively 'amazing graphics'. Bought it for £25 played it for a day sold it to a friend for a tenner the very next Expand
  94. AledM>
    Aug 5, 2006
    3
    Good visuals, poor game play, too many controls and way too complicated. A bad attempt at a good game idea!!
  95. JackH.
    Aug 6, 2006
    1
    As someone already related, most of the gaming community will sit and scratch their heads, wondering how to use unknown controls. Realism, schmealism. Give me a good FPS any day, and keep your 4-person tanks and anti-tank weapons that won't fire, no matter what you do. I hate to say it but this one rates a limburger.
  96. DragonsR.
    Sep 1, 2006
    3
    This game absolutley sucks!!. No manual included, no ID code and I stuck here d-loading something I don't want on my PC just to play it?? nope hell no it's going back where it came from!
  97. RobA.
    Feb 1, 2007
    2
    Boring and fantastical ballistics. Great game if that's all you do. Every server has one third of the players with high scores and everyone else is fodder. How many times can you stand running back from spawn? If you play this game my advice is to camp every time on every server...you might have a bit of fun.
  98. ZachB.
    Oct 20, 2008
    1
    I wouldnt recommend this game to anyone but those who have an extreme like of realistic WWII game play. The AI is horrible and unbalanced, while the graphics are pretty shoddy. Some of the maps have glitches such as tanks getting stuck and etc. Multiplayer is somewhat alright but bots are hideously bad on both teams while objectives often leave you wondering what you actually have to do I wouldnt recommend this game to anyone but those who have an extreme like of realistic WWII game play. The AI is horrible and unbalanced, while the graphics are pretty shoddy. Some of the maps have glitches such as tanks getting stuck and etc. Multiplayer is somewhat alright but bots are hideously bad on both teams while objectives often leave you wondering what you actually have to do to beat the game. At one point on a map involving capturing areas the game decided to glitch and make it impossible to capture the enemies points, yet even after they managed to capture our points we still won. Bottom line, the game feels like its in beta, and plays like its in alpha Expand
  99. PhilE.
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    This game is too realistic for it's own good. I would strongly advise you think before buying. The concept is good, but I am disappointed at how hard the gameplay is, and how slow it is. I may be abandoning this game.
  100. GamerTrust
    Feb 10, 2009
    0
    worst game ever
    controls are terrible as compared to the popular games like counter strike source or Day of defeat source which is a much better wwii game. The game provides no crosshair or whatsoever and its wayy to slow paced, lack of sniper classes.
    0/10 only thing that was good about it was its maps.
  101. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    the community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkestthe community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkest Hour mod for Ostfront make their own game. RIP Ostfront you were the best damn ww2 game i've ever played. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.