User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1274 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never letThe game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never let that stop them from thoroughly enjoying the game, with certain very good high population servers and clans/groups that kept the game alive and interesting. i give a lot of respect to tripwire, who even took the time to update the game a LOT after it game out. just goes to show dedication (and tripwire does it for ALL of their games, very well at that). there are only a few minor glitches and errors that arent even bothersome or inhibiting with bombs going off around you. and these glitches are few and far between. the game is immersive and a gem of an FPS. WWII buffs and realism junkies loved it. i say loved because with the NEW red orchestra: heroes of stalingrad coming out, the first game might become a little dated. i encourage you all however to buy the new one. tripwire is a very unique and talented game developer, and i encourage anyone who :loves WWII, loves FPS, loves realism, looking for a challenge/something new. to get it. although really i encourage any and everyone to check it out. im usually hesitant to dish out 50 bucks for a new game, but after playing the first RO, i have complete confidence that its worth the money and supports tripwire to make more games i love. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big.This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big. Ditching the crosshairs in favour of iron sights was a definite plus, so much so i hate having them in other games. The game is 4 years old and so the graphics look extremely dated. AI is retarded but this is an multiplayer game so not really a major issue. The sound can be misleading on some occasions as some vehicles can sound a lot closer than they actually are on some of the larger maps. The community that plays this game is generally older than that of similar games i've played so team tactics are actually used. Unlike BF2 where its just a chaotic bunny jumping, base raping free for all. If your ideal online fps is one where you run around spraying bullets everywhere, then like the 136 reviewers who gave negative scores this game isn't for you. If you fancy a bit of a challenge then this might be the game for you and as it is priced so cheaply now, could be a good way of deciding whether or not to buy its upcoming sequel without spending too much. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, noI love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, no "get-some-cover-after-a-hit-and-everything-is-fine". No, that game is totally different to all the games you have wasted your time until now. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside you,you can hear the enemy shouting and cursing,granades explode just near you,you run to cover as if you are running for your own life.

    Second game is just about to release now,and I am still playing the first one.I don't think this game will ever get old,even when it is outdated.
    Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound isThis is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound is amazing, from the horrible death-screams on the battlefield to the deep, touching soundtrack. Wide open maps, long range combat, tank combat, close quarter combat - this game focus on realism and therefore skill, patience and planning is required to stay alive. Typical FPS behaviour often result in instant death.
    It is neither a simulation or a complete arcade game. Red Orchestra: Ostfront sits comfortable between the ArmA franchise and other FPS games.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Red Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 aRed Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 a highly recommended game in my book. Even if you don't like it, it's only $9.99 on Steam and comes with 2 free mods, so it is a good value. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Has anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the freeHas anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the free modification "Darkest Hour" where the bullets snap and crackle (like rice krispies?) around you and make your screen go dizzy.
    It's a fantastic game. As has been said in the berjillion reviews, don't go into it hoping to run and gun because you'll lose your limbs faster than you can say "ACHTUNG".
    Play it like you're a real soldier in a real environment. A real soldier who can respawn...
    Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game can be described with three words: great but hard! If you manage the hard learning theres no better WW2 shooter then Red Orchestra! Intense firefights, realistic tank combat and combined arms fights like you never seen them before! It´s shipped with two mods "Darkest Hour"(West Front) and "Mare Nostrum" (African Front) that still get updates with new tanks, guns and for example mortars! Anyone who downrated this game, just isn´t good enough for this game and should go back and play CoD! Try it handle the hard learning curve and enjoy the greatest FPS of all times! Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    A breath of fresh air for the tired, worn out WW2 genre. Red Orchestra 2 is a multi-player focused game that transports you to the massive Eastern Front of the Second World War, playing as either a heroic Red Army grunt or a brave German soldier. Red Orchestra is a near perfect blend of realism, fun and atmosphere, and will leave you shaking at the end of every match.
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game, it has the charm, the immersion, the tactics and even the music to make you know what was WW2 about. Sure you can't say it's like war, but it presents it in a respectful manner.
  11. May 15, 2011
    10
    Unlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequencesUnlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequences for gritty realism. The game's pacing is perfect, and the map selection is good; the plethora of custom maps available, many of which are professional-quality, only serves to enhance the experience further. Despite the age of the engine the game's atmosphere and accuracy are superb, down to every last stitch on the uniforms of its Russian and German soldiers.

    RO isn't for everyone, but for its realism level, the learning curve really isn't that steep; TWI's approach of keeping things simple has worked wonders, and it takes most players little more than a few games to adjust to the gameplay. If you're someone who can't live without a crosshair, or think that the weapons in Counter-Strike reload too slowly, or just plain can't go without shooting someone every five seconds - stay away. No doubt some of the negative reviews here are from these kinds of gamers, and they would be within their rights to say the same to me about Counter-Strike. Don't play a game you won't enjoy. With that said, RO is a lot more accessible than games like ArmA or Jagged Alliance, and the payoffs for good teamwork are more immediately apparent.

    Overall, I'm going to have to rate RO at a 10/10 on principle. The game is immensely enjoyable for those who shy away from the twitch shooters that flood the FPS market today and it's aged well - servers are often still full around the clock. The gameplay, atmosphere and most of the level design are some of the best I've seen in any game, let alone of this class. An absolute must-buy for any serious tactical shooter fan and a must-try for anyone interested in WWII history, and I suspect it will remain so long after the sequel is released later this year.
    Expand
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    The best WW2 realism game out. I pre ordered through steam and this is one of the games I can say 100% was worth the money. I have 300+ hours in this game and I dont plan on stopping till RO2 comes out. Tripwire is the only dev team I trust any more, I know they will put out a game that is worth the money. Ill be buying RO2 day 1.
  13. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    It's possible that this was playable several years ago, but in 2013, it's useless. There are only six populated servers available, with the closest one being for custom sniper maps only and having a ping of 150, while the other servers have pings ranging from 240 to 300 and higher.
  14. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece, that has a still unmatched gameplay, and the proof of that is that there are full servers even after 5 years after its release. I recommend to pick this one up if you can.
  15. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    the community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkestthe community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkest Hour mod for Ostfront make their own game. RIP Ostfront you were the best damn ww2 game i've ever played. Expand
  16. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    A game of pure realism brilliance unmatched by any other FPS out there. This game however does have a very specific audience appealing to those who are into hardcore realism (one shot kills, no cross-hairs, etc)
    Highly recommended.
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fullyThis is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fully immersed it can be quite scary to have bullets flying over your head in the midst of battle, while desperately trying to take down some enemies with your bolt-action rifle. This game is probably the best FPS I've played. Collapse
  18. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    World War II fans will play real hardcore games! The extent of its verisimilitude makes you really want to find a cover to get on the ground, a pity that the operation is not enough close to the people
  19. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    I am a fanatic of WWII games but this one is really fantastic!
    The mods are generally weak on the new models and the new factions have a poor armory.
    The multiplayer mode is very difficult to use because you have to wait a lot of time.
    But the single player mode is wonderful, simply!
    you can personalize everything and i like it very much!
    Especially because in the Mare Nostrum mod there is Italy!
  20. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to getSingleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to get into the fight. Shooting can be brutal, constant deaths, or finding a good spot and getting several kills. I once got into a bayonet scuffle with a player in a room, my heart was pounding when I saw him storm in. It was one-on-one, I don't remember who killed who in the end, I just remember that my hands were shaking, and I loved it. Tank combat mixing with infantry is done well here, worth it if it's on sale and you enjoy experience gameplay, this is definitely not arcade fun. Mare Nostrum and Darkest Hour mods are worth a look at for this game. Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    This game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free ModsThis game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free Mods with it Darkest Hour (Western Front Scenario) and Mare Nostrum (African Scenario) and dudes it just rock on and on! Give it a try, its very cheap on steam! Expand
  22. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    A game better played against other online gamers, bots could do a better job. One thing bugs me, why should a small wooden fence or box block the movement ability of tanks.
  23. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    well this is best world war 2 simulater this game will take you to middle of the real war and you will suddenly notice that kingtiger is coming up to you and you'll freak out hell RO2 is bad but you should try DH mod and also i have to say FFUK OFF COD KIDS this place is not where you belong
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fullyThis is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fully immersed it can be quite scary to have bullets flying over your head in the midst of battle, while desperately trying to take down some enemies with your bolt-action rifle. This game is probably the best FPS I've played. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.