Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    83
    The co-op is a nice topping on a delicious slice of retro action – but you might still feel hungry afterwards.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    Say explosions. Say big guns. Say over the top kick-ass action. Say Renegade Ops. The top-down vehicle-based shooter puts a smile on your face if you grew up watching the action films from the 1980s. Havoc, destruction and mayhem – renegade operations have never been this entertaining before. [Feb 2012]
  3. 80
    Substantial portion of this fast paced action comes with great technical performance and offers an enjoyable 4-man cooperative mode. Main campaign would deserve longer duration though. [Christmas 2011]
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    75
    Renegade Ops doesn't care much about story or tactics, but it's a good over-the-top and simple action game with a great presentation. And it's not expensive either.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    A bit outdated and a simple shooter game, bringing a few hours of an entertaining, action ride though. Still, there is a need for this type of game!
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    70
    Glitches and control scheme issues aside, I had a tremendous amount of fun playing through Renegade Ops. Variety of vehicles and playstyles, tons of cool powers to upgrade, and the online features make it a solid offering for PC gamers who are fans of twin-stick arcade shooters -- especially if you like some '80s action-flick machismo thrown in for good measure.
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    67
    Renegade Ops is a short brain free arcade game with some flaws and a repetitive action. It's like a Michael Bay movie.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Some potential game-breaking tech issues aside (USB headset users beware) this is a cheeky little masterpiece. To call it old school or retro I think does it something of disservice, it's actually more original than that. Renegade Ops takes the old classics, then takes them to a modern level with co-op, persistent characters and tremendous graphics. The camera angle is familiar maybe, and the style of zooming round a large map taking care of different objectives is very Desert Strike (if you can remember that far back) but it's much more intense than any of the old Strike series, reminiscent of maybe an Ikari Warriors or Mercs style shooter. Of course it's a simple as a two piece jigsaw puzzle, get car, blow stuff up, but it's challenging and immense fun with it. It's a great example of a really fun game based on a really simple idea that is executed with care and attention to detail. Plus it's cheap like the budgie. I'm not giving it a ten because I think it's the best thing I ever played, but because I can't recommend it more highly. It's definitely worth a go. Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Although it was released with some major bugs and glitches, that has all since been ironed out by the developer. Now that I can actually play the game, I am thrilled with it. The controls are awesome, though a control pad is a necessity! The missions have great pacing and are challenging. I have beaten the game once, and look forward to doing it many more times with each of the 5 playable characters. Online co-op is also a blast, although some times it can be difficult finding a game. Overall experience 10/10. Full Review »
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    really a fun title, reminds me on a mix of command&conquer and the old playstation one game vigilante 8 :D

    the graphics and animations are
    pretty nice to look at, the sounds are good too.
    the music is good, but i turned it off to hear the motor sounds better.

    in my eyes its, together with payday:the heist, the most underrated game 2011.
    you can play alone or in coop with friends.

    its worth the investment!
    Full Review »