Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 90
    It provides a shockingly large amount of game time (with Separate Ways, expect to be playing this game in the 25-30 hour realm the first time through).
  2. An OK port of one of the greatest games ever made. [Apr 2007, p.84]
  3. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  4. Despite a terrible porting job and all the problems that come with that, enough of what makes Resident Evil 4 a great game survives to make it worth your time.
  5. It’s just a real shame that the PC port was subjected to a half-arsed effort, because on consoles Resident Evil 4 has revitalised a stagnating series.
  6. Resident Evil 4's strong gameplay somehow manages to survive, despite a lazy porting job that will leave some PC owners wondering what all the fuss was about.
  7. Survival horror and action-adventure fans cannot afford to miss this one(especially at its $19.99 price tag), even if you have to take off your glasses to appreciate it. [Oct 2007, p.62]
  8. 77
    The puzzle mechanics work smoothly, environments are introduced in skillful fashion, the fighting is always interesting and low on frustration factor, aside from the aim-to-shoot mechanic in close quarters combat.
  9. A lazy port of a great game. Do not attempt to play it without a joypad, or you may end up moaning like one of the Spanish zombies. [Apr 2007, p.69]
  10. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  11. 70
    The interface may be ugly, the transition effect between levels is crude, and we had a number of random lockups on three separate systems, but there isn't anything here that's a true deal-breaker.
  12. As my duty of reviewing the games in the state they come out of the box, I can’t give a higher score with the lack of mouse support even though the story, pacing, and puzzles are great.
  13. This is actually technically inferior to the console versions, and it badly hurts the experience. Just because it works on the PC doesn't make it a PC game - ask for your fiver back, Capcom. [Apr 2007, p.84]
  14. It's not that the PC edition of Resident Evil 4 is a bad game. It’s just dated and sloppily ported.
  15. So sloppily ported. [May 2007, p.68]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 56
  2. Negative: 14 out of 56
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    This game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though it does the horror genre and the Resident Evil series proud. This one is worth picking up and playing! Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but the reason I give it 10 is because it's challenge me as a PC gamer. Full Review »
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Dear capcom just do a one good thing in your life and give us a good PC port of RE4!
    Is it to hard to make a new PC port and release it on
    Steam?
    I think no.
    Full Review »