Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As U.S. agent Leon Kennedy looks into the abduction of the President's daughter, his investigation leads to a mysterious location in Europe. Encountering unimaginable horrors, he must find out what is behind the terror. Experience Evil 4 with new gameplay and bonus features: new chapters -As U.S. agent Leon Kennedy looks into the abduction of the President's daughter, his investigation leads to a mysterious location in Europe. Encountering unimaginable horrors, he must find out what is behind the terror. Experience Evil 4 with new gameplay and bonus features: new chapters - play as Ada Wong in "Separate Ways," 5 terrifying, adrenaline-pumping missions that reveal additional horrific surprise. New weapons, including the P.R.L.412 laser cannon and the Gunpowder Bowgun. New unlockable costumes for Leon and Ashley. New gameplay mechanics -- behind-the-back camera perspective & hit zone aiming system. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. An OK port of one of the greatest games ever made. [Apr 2007, p.84]
  2. 90
    It provides a shockingly large amount of game time (with Separate Ways, expect to be playing this game in the 25-30 hour realm the first time through).
  3. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  4. 77
    The puzzle mechanics work smoothly, environments are introduced in skillful fashion, the fighting is always interesting and low on frustration factor, aside from the aim-to-shoot mechanic in close quarters combat.
  5. A lazy port of a great game. Do not attempt to play it without a joypad, or you may end up moaning like one of the Spanish zombies. [Apr 2007, p.69]
  6. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  7. So sloppily ported. [May 2007, p.68]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 55
  2. Negative: 15 out of 55
  1. Alex
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  2. MichaelM.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Completely different than the rest of the games. Can't believe how they changed the story and the game play was awesome.
  3. RichS.
    May 22, 2007
    9
    I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to get? Before the patch I do agree that the graphics were bad, but hey, that's why they made a patch. It is pretty much required to have a controller to play this game, but if you own a PC and play any sports game then you most likely have one (or if you're like me 3) already. When buying a port, especially from Capcom, don't expect them to reinvent the wheel because they're just not going to do it because it's not going to make them as much money and that's what it's all about for them because they're a BUSINESS. Expand
  4. HashMyth
    Aug 5, 2007
    6
    All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first start the game with the auto load screen... CLICK ON SETUP idiots... I had my rez at 1600x1200 and it made the PS2 version look like crap... Also there is a patch out there, I dident play without the patch and thats what made it look way better. a 6 out of 10 due to the messed up controler issue. PS: I have a Saitek keyboard and the damn game wont pick up anything else for a game controler but the keyboards extra game pad... Capcom has no idea how to make a console game for a PC. Expand
  5. GlennM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In a game where you want to run all the time and never walk, it makes it impossible to set a controller to always run. If you have a programmable controller, you will HAVE to press 2 buttons to run or you will be constantly reloading when you don't want to. Another game without fully reconfigurable controls, drops it from a 10 to a frustrating 5. Expand
  6. TomG.
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    A great game, but a mediocre port to the PC. Numerous technical flaws make the PC port... how do you say... suck.
  7. MikeB.
    Apr 10, 2007
    0
    Having been a massive fan of the Resident Evil series since the first game came out I was eagerly anticipating a release on the pc this year. Having been a massive fan of the Resident Evil series since the first game came out I was eagerly anticipating a release on the pc this year. To say I'm disappointed is a massive understatement. This is a truly horrendous port from the gamecube, indeed it is the worst port I've EVER played. Basically what you have here is a 1st person shooter without mouse compatability. Aiming weapons is impossible with any degree of accuracy and so the game falls flat at the very first hurdle. Another complete stinker in gameplay terms is the interactive cutscenes where you are urged on screen to press certain buttons at certain times. All well and good until you realize the developers haven't bothered changing the on screen commands to relate to the pc. SO now when you see "press 1 and 2" it really means "enter and space". Its just lazy and sloppy development and results in you spending fifteen minutes at each cutscene guessing which buttons you should press. For all the games plaability issues you would think it at least has awesome graphics. It looked pretty good on the gamecube 2 years ago so you would think that would have been improved a lot for the pc. Oh dear oh dear oh dear. The pc version looks WORSE than the original! Texture are lame and choppy, with no option to change the resolution at all and the whole game in general is far too bright, killing any atmosphere. Even basic things like mist and fog elements whch were in the original have been dropped for this, leaving comedy moments were enemies, instead of running off into the fog, simply disappear into mid-air. To sum up this is a horrible port with absolutely no regards to pc players whatsoever and should be thoroughly ignored. If you MUST play this game, and believe me, it is an excellent console game, you'd be better advised to buy a second hand Gamecube with it than waste your money on this dross. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews