Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.
  3. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.
  4. May 20, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 21, 2013
    75
    Revelations is definitely reminiscent of the old school days of the series, and those craving that particular experience should not miss out.
  6. May 20, 2013
    75
    This HD version shares all the problems its predecessor has, including noticeably limited enemy variety and weak allied AI that can't hit the broad side of a barn.
  7. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is a decent adventure, but it doesn't come close to reaching the heights the series has in the past.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 15 out of 53
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and mixed it in with the new school look.
    But the Controlls are a bit annoying (at the first moment) and I wasn't happy about jill's look, not the best(preffe the design from re5) but it is okay.
    so um,
    9/10.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    9
    This game is cool. I recommend it to all old fans of Resident Evil, especially of series 1, 2 and 3. I was annoyed with aiming, even with proThis game is cool. I recommend it to all old fans of Resident Evil, especially of series 1, 2 and 3. I was annoyed with aiming, even with pro mouse on pro mousepad I could not aim properly. Beside, dialogs were a bit lame, but I like a move Capcom has made. Going back to darkness, true horror. This is how Resident Evil should be. Assuming:
    - graphics, I dont mind, I like it's own unique style(RE always had very average gfx, I like that)
    - sound is great
    - story, very twisted and disappointing on start(I was like "WTF?!" when I saw second mission)
    - gameplay, cool but aiming should be corrected
    - Jill Valentine, she does not look like original character from 3rd part. Why she has changed so much?

    Capcom should defiantly go for horror mode. Otherwise they will kill entire series in matter of few years. If I want to play a shooter I will go for shooter, I want Resident Evil as i was from start. This is how game succeed and this is how it should be all time.

    9, why? Play, dont mind graphics. You'll realise.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    9
    It's better then RE4/RE5/RE6. The best RE from last ten years!
    Game have oldschool atmosphere.
    When I play game my feelings was like I play
    It's better then RE4/RE5/RE6. The best RE from last ten years!
    Game have oldschool atmosphere.
    When I play game my feelings was like I play in game from first trilogy: tensity, sometimes fear.
    It have nice soundtrack, graphics(not in videos, but in gameplay), story, gameplay! You can found here some puzzles.
    Sorry for my english.
    Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    This is a good game, that accomplishes the prerequisites for a Resident Evil game. It is far from the best Resident Evil games, but still isThis is a good game, that accomplishes the prerequisites for a Resident Evil game. It is far from the best Resident Evil games, but still is a enjoyable game. The organization in episodes is a good idea that make the story more interesting. The ship Queen Zenobia is a good location for the plot, but the game sometimes is repetitive and the enemies are boring. If you like Resident Evil series you will like Revelations, but this game does not give a millionth of the fear and the satisfaction that the old Residents gave to us. Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    6
    This game is nothing like the original Resident Evil games. For the first few chapters (the chapters last about 20 minutes at a time) the gameThis game is nothing like the original Resident Evil games. For the first few chapters (the chapters last about 20 minutes at a time) the game has a little bit of backtracking on an empty ship, then it turns into pretty hardcore action straight onto the end. It feels like a pint-sized version of Resident Evil 5. There is some backtracking included, but only after clearing out rooms filled with ooze. At that point, the ship is so uninteresting the backtracking just wastes time since there are zero interesting puzzles, just finding keys.

    There are times this feels like a kiddie game despite the overly sexual Jessica and a tiny bit of cursing because of silly anime style side characters and the weak gore factor. There is blood spurting and splashing, but you can't even get decapitated and the enemies melt into puddles of ooze. To be expected being original made for a kid's handheld console.

    After finishing the game, I have to say this is the weakest ending to a Resident Evil game ever. Good thing it wasn't a part of the main series.

    Emotions usually run high at game launches and people only want to listen to what they want to hear, but I'll say this game isn't worth full sticker price. It plays like a slightly enhanced mobile game and not the HD remake you would be expecting. There are some genuinely thrilling moments (this is an action game, not scary like survival horror), but overall I'm a bit disappointed.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    In regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was putIn regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was put into this engine via hackjob and it just feels like something that's been forced out of a handheld and onto computers.... oh yeah; right. It is.

    Taking the game from its stereoscopic 3D original and downgrading it to monoscopic 2D without even building the option to enable 3D if one has the hardware is a gigantic downgrade. I don't care how many more polygons you render, how many more colors the palette can actively use it's garbage because the depth perception or even the option to have it has been removed. To me, having loved the 3DS version this was a gigantic letdown that tore 40% of what the game had to offer away from the experience.

    What's really a letdown about the downgrade to monoscopic 2D here is this is a desperate move by Capcom to cash in over their failed Resident Evil 6 release. It's turning out to be more of a slap in the face to the gamer than anything else. It's been rushed, downgraded and it's essentially the very same game with nothing new to offer.
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    0
    absolutely terrible port. crap graphics and doesn't even have 720 or 1080p resolution so im stuck with a small screen only played it for 10absolutely terrible port. crap graphics and doesn't even have 720 or 1080p resolution so im stuck with a small screen only played it for 10 minutes its the biggest waste of money. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews