Return to Castle Wolfenstein Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As B.J. Blazkowicz, a highly decorated Army Ranger recruited into the Office of Secret Actions, you are tasked with escaping and then returning to Castle Wolfenstein in an attempt to thwart Heinrich Himmler's occult and genetic experiments. Through genetic engineering and the harnessing ofAs B.J. Blazkowicz, a highly decorated Army Ranger recruited into the Office of Secret Actions, you are tasked with escaping and then returning to Castle Wolfenstein in an attempt to thwart Heinrich Himmler's occult and genetic experiments. Through genetic engineering and the harnessing of occult powers, Himmler hopes to raise an unstoppable army to level the Allies once and for all. You must first escape from imprisonment in the castle to report the strange creatures and happenings in and around Wolfenstein to the OSA. Your mission takes a drastic turn as you learn the depth of Himmler's plans and what you must do to defeat the evil he has unleashed. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The single-player mode is good. It's...good. It's pretty good. But with the faint-praise damning out of the way, you'll be happy to hear that the multiplayer game is outstanding.
  2. The single player mode is truly amazing and very gripping. The multiplayer side of the game sets a new standard in first person shooters.
  3. Well-polished and just plain fun to play. It also held, for me at least, a warm dose of nostalgia that left me feeling all gooey inside.
  4. Return to Castle Wolfenstein has all the right pieces to become an online classic.
  5. Computer Gaming World
    70
    For all its technological wizardry, RtCW brings almost nothing new to the table gameplay-wise. [Mar 2002, p.74]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. EfrainC
    May 16, 2009
    10
    Best team based multi player game to date.
  2. SamF.
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    Being a fan of FPS Games, this ID Title is a keeper for my library. an incredble story with great graphics, sound and AI.
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Hailed as a masterpiece, polished to perfection. Return to Castle Wolfenstein took the world by storm. And was one of the biggest influencesHailed as a masterpiece, polished to perfection. Return to Castle Wolfenstein took the world by storm. And was one of the biggest influences that put Call of Duty on the map. An first person shooter game that got it all right. Keep in mind this is an 2001 year game. Powered by the Quake3 engine the movement and psychics were one of the best. Graphics for that time were also top of the top. Single player was fantastic, since so many different environments, you always felt you were somewhere else. Godlike AI, Epic Music, Fearsome firepower, And Artistic style overall is everything that a fps player needed. Now the Multiplayer was something more. It just wasnt about player vs player, deathmatches or capturing the flags like most of the games at that time. It was team based objective mode. If you are a true FPS player. This is a must have game. Collapse
  4. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    This is a wonderful game with a lot of cool new features compared to Wolfenstein 3D. The stealth-style missions are pretty wonderful, theThis is a wonderful game with a lot of cool new features compared to Wolfenstein 3D. The stealth-style missions are pretty wonderful, the enemies aren't dumb, and the story is something you should pay attention to when playing this game. Just remember, it's very, very hard. Go ahead and pick this game up on Steam or something, it's definitely worth a playthrough, trust me. Expand
  5. AndrewG.
    Jan 2, 2002
    9
    Great game overall. I love the single player, although I would have liked it even more if I could have controlled some vehicles, or squad Great game overall. I love the single player, although I would have liked it even more if I could have controlled some vehicles, or squad members. I understand this is a "FPS," but it could have been a bit more dynamic. That is the only reason that I'm leaving off the 1 to make it a perfect 10. Expand
  6. EonfgeD.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    It kicks ass, with (for it days) awesome grafics, fast action and a teambased multiplayer. while multiplayer is drying out by now, its still It kicks ass, with (for it days) awesome grafics, fast action and a teambased multiplayer. while multiplayer is drying out by now, its still worth your money. Expand
  7. Delly
    Jan 14, 2008
    0
    Once you get past the fact it's a new fps and is hard at times... you realize it's really not that great. There's less of a Once you get past the fact it's a new fps and is hard at times... you realize it's really not that great. There's less of a "story" than there is a progression... you get to z point from y action. If you're new to FPS' the game will be difficult on any setting, but once you realize how to play (As in aiming) the only "deaths" that occur will be when the game is presenting an unfair situation. (Such as random spawns in areas you've already cleared) Let alone the games "idea" of a boss fight. Typically boss's really don't have a "weakness"... and simply hit consecuitly harder. Fortunatly the final boss, which would probally kill you in 4 hits, is a MELEE boss in an FPS game. The game has been overrated. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews